Easy CGI review

This review cover a general impression of easycgi.com product features like reliability, support, data center, price & more. Brand #663, listed since .

Most Recent Customer Reviews

christian (cvr@e...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
distressing
What good is a web hosting firm if they cant keep your website safe?
My websites were affected by malware, instead of fixing the issue they remove the site from the web, blocking my emails and inform me via one email after the fact. The issue was discovered on the 1 of the month, combined with a request to pay additional funds to solve the matter. After providing payable services of no greater use and spamming with continued offers, troubling trust expired.
Finalizing the relationship with blaming me for the breach!
I recommend to move from web-hosting to full blown criminality, with such talent it would just be an opportunity missed.
Charliebrm (charlie@l...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Killed my faith in hosting serivces
The most disappointing part is that Netfirms - that hasn't given me an ounce of trouble - referred me to EasyCGI to host a Windows site they don't support. The companies seem to be sistered. Their sales and service pages are almost identical, it's actually easy to confuse the two.

EasyCGI is like talking to a brick wall. They don't seem to have any interest in making things simple or standard. My site's basic coding and dozens of application files had to be modified to suit their way of hosting. It is something to do with the paths through the server to my domain. I'm not an expert on that but that's why I count on hosting and tech support to be there.

eg. I have the creators of a very popular server module telling me it's not responding on my site. I pass their comments to EasyCGI and ..... nothing.
I wish I'd done due diligence like I usually do and found this review site first. However it was only because of the Netfirms referral that I even knew EasyCGI existed.
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Very poor service, support, and skills.
Passwords seem to mysteriously get reset.
Requests to transfer hosting do not proceed smoothly.
Run away, if you can.
MORE REVIEWS
Award winner 2005

Overview

About Easy CGI

World Class Web Hosting Services

Consistently ranked among the top ten web hosting providers worldwide, EasyCGI has demonstrated its ability to provide reliable and advanced hosting services.

EasyCGI has custom developed an infinitely-expandable shared web hosting platform, which allows for complete flexibility. This enhances our ability to offer new features and cutting edge technology upon availability. Our control panel allows our customers to administer every aspect of their account at any time, from any location. EasyCGI's three tiers of shared web hosting solutions make the company's services suitable for a wide range of individuals and companies looking to host web sites ranging from simple to complex.

Source: https://www.easycgi.com/easycgi/about-us/

Special pages


easycgi.com Screenshot
Website research for Easy CGI on August 17, 2016 by WebHostingTop

Promotions

No website coupons announced! Looking to get a great webhosting deal using vouchers ? Checkout our current web hosting coupons list!
If you manage this brand, you must be logged in to update your promotions!

Add your promo code

Promotion:
Provide the start date
and end date if the promotions expires!
Your email
(will not be displayed)
How much is 2+2 ? Respond with 4
 

PlansWebsite Products

Linux - VPS Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedRAM /
Dedicated IPs
Linux VPS X featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : OpenVZ
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 256 MB
CPU : Quad-Core Xeon
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 1

Key Features
Choice of Linux OS

OpenVZ Virtualization Software
500 GB Monthly Data Transfer
20 GB Disk Space
256 MB Memory (512 MB Burstable)
Unlimited Web Sites
Same Day Setup
30-day Money-back Guarantee information
One IP Address
Firewall [...]
Plan URL : https://www.easycgi.com/easycgi/vps/linux-vps-x.bml
$39.96/mo. 20 GB500 GB 256 MB / 1
Linux VPS X2 featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : OpenVZ
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 512 MB
CPU : Quad-Core Xeon
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 1

Key Features
Choice of Linux OS
OpenVZ Virtualization Software
1000 GB Monthly Data Transfer
30 GB Disk Space
512 MB Memory (1 GB Burstable)
Unlimited Web Sites
Same Day Setup
30-day Money-back Guarantee information
One IP Address
Firewall [...]
Plan URL : https://www.easycgi.com/easycgi/vps/linux-vps-x2.bml
$55.96/mo. 30 GB1 TB 512 MB / 1
Linux VPS X4 featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : OpenVZ
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 1000 MB
CPU : Quad-Core Xeon
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 1

With 1 GB of memory and 50 GB of disk space, the hosting possibilities are endless! The X4 offers all of the same great features of the X2 plan, and so much more.


Key Features
Choice of Linux OS
OpenVZ Virtualization Software
2000 GB Monthly Data [...]
Plan URL : https://www.easycgi.com/easycgi/vps/linux-vps-x4.bml
$95.96/mo. 50 GB2 TB 1 GB / 1
Linux VPS X10 featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : OpenVZ
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 2000 MB
CPU : Quad-Core Xeon
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 1

Our most powerful Linux VPS Plan, X10 allows you freedom and flexibility similar to a dedicated server, with 2 GB of memory, 100 GB of disk space, and 2,000 GB of monthly data transfer, we've got all of your hosting needs covered.

Key [...]
Plan URL : https://www.easycgi.com/easycgi/vps/linux-vps-x10.bml
$143.96/mo. 100 GB2 TB 2 GB / 1
Windows - Shared Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
Advance X featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : vDeck
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 0

Hosting Environment Windows 2008/2003
Web Server IIS7/IIS6
30-day Money-back Guarantee
99.9% Uptime

Account Features
Control Panel
No Setup Fee
Same Day Setup
CM4all Web Site Builder
Host Unlimited Domains Unlimited
FTP Accounts [...]
Plan URL : https://www.easycgi.com/easycgi/shared-hosting/advanced-x.bml
$7.96/mo.
($ 12.95 after first term)
350 GB3500 GB 0 / unlimited
Advance X2 featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : vDeck
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 0

Hosting Environment Windows 2008/2003
Web Server IIS7/IIS6
30-day Money-back Guarantee
99.9% Uptime

Account Features
Control Panel
No Setup Fee
Same Day Setup
CM4all Web Site Builder
Host Unlimited Domains Unlimited
FTP Accounts [...]
Plan URL : https://www.easycgi.com/easycgi/shared-hosting/advanced-x2.bml
$15.99/mo. 500 GB5 TB 0 / unlimited
Advance X4 featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : vDeck
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 0

Hosting Environment Windows 2008/2003
Web Server IIS7/IIS6
30-day Money-back Guarantee
99.9% Uptime

Account Features
Control Panel
No Setup Fee
Same Day Setup
CM4all Web Site Builder
Host Unlimited Domains Unlimited
FTP Accounts [...]
Plan URL : https://www.easycgi.com/easycgi/shared-hosting/advanced-x4.bml
$21.56/mo. 7500 GB7500 GB 0 / unlimited
Domains Keep mouse
over features!
Price Updated
.com featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : [In-house]
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7

.com $8.99
.co $12.99
.net $11.99
.website $6.98
.us $12.99
.org $17.99
.me $16.95
.info $17.99
.biz $17.99
.mobi $16.95
.tv $34.95

Domain Privacy to selected domains for $9.99 per year

The Biggest New Domains to Hit the Internet Are Here!

The [...]
Plan URL : https://www.easycgi.com/product/domainRegistration.bml
$8.99/yr.

Marketing information is managed by paulb@easycgi.com [login] | Last company update:

TestimonialsCustomer testimonials

Specializing in seminars on web site promotion, I'm often asked during the FAQ session, who I trust most when it comes to web hosting. Since I found myself in Easy CGI client-oriented and business-driven environment 2 years ago, I always recommend it for incredible connectivity and speed of data maintenance. It's not so simple to get across such level of professional integrity as Easy CGI features ... I mean that

Add your own testimonial

This form is used exclusively for positive feedback, for a regular review click here

Your Name
Email(will be obfuscated)
One Hosted domain name with this company
Testimonial
(HTML tags are NOT allowed!)
Minim 100 characters!
How much is 2+2 ? Respond with 4
 

News

Easy CGI Offers Password Protection - Web hosting provider Easy CGI (easycgi.com) announced on Thursday it now provides a form-based password protection option for all its Windows 2008 hosting products.
This new option enables customizable forms authentication for any website, providing greater online security. The Windows Server 2008 password protection is offered as a free option for customers. Customizable forms authentication enables users to selectively restrict access to particular areas. When an unauthenticated visitor lands on a restricted page, they are automatically re-directed to a login form or a registration page. "This provides an optimal, flexible development environment for our customers, which has always been a priority for us," says Easy CGI president Dan Richfield. "Where many other providers still only offer solutions with no method of customization, and often cannot secure all content equally, Easy CGI offers a cutting-edge, fully customizable Forms Authentication solution for all of its Windows ... [search all easycgi.com news]

Social Networks

No official account on Linkedin yet!
No official account on Google+ yet!
No official Blog yet!

Domains trend

ReviewsCustomer Ratings

The quick stats of Easy CGI profile shows a note average of 1.6 out of 10, counting 78 opinions. (few listed on the top of the page)
As visitor you can rate this provider directly here! If you are part of support team, you can respond to these reviews by going to login

Add your own review [Toggle to basic/advance form]

Required info

Select Hosting Plan
Overall Rating
Time Hosted
Features
Price / Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Your Social URL, Name or Usernameeg. https://twitter.com/YOURID or https://facebook.com/YOURID or https://plus.google.com/+YOURID
Your Email Or login and come back to this page
Customer identification(Not public visible. eg Customer=1120 or Account=2121 or Order ID=511AAS3)
Your hosted domaineg. mysite.net. If you have multiple domains, mention at least one!
Summary of your posteg. easycgi.com is best!
Your review HTML tags are NOT allowed! MINIM 100 characters!
Provide as much information as possible in your review! Too less information may be counted as not relevant and not approved!
How much is 2+2 ? Respond with 4
 
Chris Sanderson (chris@a...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
A monkey, 2 mules and a goat could provide better and more intelligent support than this firm. Clueless and simply frustrating. I have stayed with them simply because the hassle of moving and the ending hosting firm may simply be just as bad...
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Absolute morons. I could write a 400 page novel about how completely inept they are. I have read through several reviews here and I completely agree with all of them - STAY AWAY!!!
roger (roger@t...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
at first Easy CGI seems ok, no issues with hosting, however if you have a problem with your site, watchout! Their customer service is abysmal and they do not have the technical expertise to fix problems that their system causes. Our site has been down for 2 weeks after an SSL renewal with them, and they have on numerous occasions told me their highest level tech people were working on it, made numerous promises to call me, and guess what? Nothing has been done, and no communication from them.
Never again!
Daniel (jezo21@l...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Unbelievably bad! At a first glance they look good, their website looks professional and they offer a range of services. In reality they are completely unreliable, their servers often run very slow and our site goes offline at least once a month. Their tech support sometimes give a fast response but the problem is that they are completely incompetent. I am often in complete disbelief when reading some of their replies. I'm sure the job interview for a tech support position at EasyCGI consists of one question - "Have you used a computer before?" Anyone that answers "Yes" to the question will get hired. ASP.net support for our site fell over three days ago and we are still waiting for them to fix it. This is costing us $$$ in lost sales per day and we will be moving hosts ASAP.
With over 10 years of experience running websites, EasyCGI are by far the worst hosts I have ever encountered! We only ended up with them because they took over Webstrike Solutions - our previous hosts who were [read more...]
justin snyder (justinahsnyder@g...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
EasyCgi is shocking!! Stay away - forced password changes, slow servers, constantly disabling email addresses when no activity for a few weeks.. shocking service. You have been warned!!!
Manar (manarasoft@g...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Stay away.

Hosting 10+ domains with EasyCGI (previously 20+). Was "sold" to EasyCGI by my ex-hosting service (webstrikesolutions).

Although EasyCGI hosting packages are full of features for a relatively reasonable cost, no owner or administrator wants his/her website to be down for 3 or more days due to failure of tech support to solve the problem or at least read the support ticket and respond to the complaint. Downs are even much more frequent in the past 6-9 months. Their "24x7 Live Support" is a big lie--you will always find somebody to chat with you (sometimes with delays), but they don't provide any help at all except relay the problem to the "untouchables" (whom you're not allowed to get in touch with) through a written support ticket!!!!! Not recommended at all.
George Sklavounos (george@g...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
The worst hosting I've come across ever, it starts at the most stupid control panel, worst live support, honestly I dont know how they hire staff that is no help what so ever, and everyday my site but down for at least 5minutes at a time, and support all the times didnt even acknowledge it. No dignity, no service, close down please and do the world a favor, its to bad hostgator (they rock, every time!!) doesnt have windows server yet. unfortunately im moving my site before i move it to HG windows plan.

I sincerely recommend do NOT use Easy CGI. unless you want to waste your time & money and nerves.
Nemo (Nemo@a...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Absolutely most horrible hosting company I have every signed up with, and I currently use 40+ companies! NEVER agree to a 1-year contract w/ a dodgy company like this! There's a reason they don't let you pay by the month!
Al (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I can only say one thing - stay away from this company!

I was a happy customer of an excellent hosting company called WebStrikeSolution.
Unfortunately, EasyCGI bought Webstrike business along with all the customers database on March 2009, along with my hosting account which was migrated to EasyCGI.
The migration process itself was terrible and unprofessional with many unacceptable problems:
1. EasyCGI copied the site to the wrong location on their server (IIS was not pointing to the root folder).
2. They restored a copy of the site that was 3 weeks old and put it online - until I figured out the problem, users have already created new data in the database, so I had to waste many hours trying to sync between the two access database records (I had a duplicate key issues because of that). Of course EasyCGI did not have an up to date backup (luckily I had).

Since then my site experienced many hours of downtime and it took them way too long to respond to each downtime incident [read more...]
Royally Ticked Off (lynnwalder@t...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Hmmm, everything said below actually sums up my own experience - We were with Webstrike for about 4 years and up-time/service was pretty good. Then EasyCGI came into the picture and it has been nothing but hell ever since. There really needs to be a class-action law-suit brought against these guys because seriously, they are screwing hundreds, if not thousands of customers with completely UNNACCEPTABLE downtimes (especially for email) and then just say they are sorry and decided to take care of it when they feel like it.

We have had email downtime at least 3 times within the past 3 months - one of those downtimes were for more then 48 hours!!! To top it off they lost a bunch of critical emails that somehow just never came out of queue from their servers. HOW CAN A BUSINESS FUNCTION WITH THIS KIND OF DOWNTIME??!!! Does that sound like 99.9% uptime to you? False advertising and loss of data with no compensation seems very shady to me.

If you are looking to sign up with these [read more...]
Valeria (vthibeault@h...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Since 1999 I have been hosting websites. I was with Webstrike when they were babies. Never was I disappointed with their support. They did screw up a couple of times but they knew their stuff and they were quick and witty.

With Easy CGI, my world went upside down. I am hosting 12 websites with them and 4 of them are database driven. I started growing an ulcer from the day Webstrike was bought. After the merge, they planned to roll out some kind of automated transfer and for sure it crapped each and every one of my sites.

We spent days fixing the scripts, begging them to haul their asses to install all the missing Perl and PHP components for our scripts to work. When everything was finally working fine, not 1 but 2 TIMES they uninstalled a Perl module that was required for our scripts to work. Not 1 but 2 TIMES it took them about a week to re-install it.

They changed our scripts without any authorization and stated that is was part of an phantom agreement that we were [read more...]
Joe Gilmore (the-cne@w...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
EasyCGI just plain sucks. They had an issue with their NetApps (I think they said they had misconfigured clustering or maybe snapshoting) so I was down while the issue was corrected a day or so then today 10/01/09 we get this alert:
"System Alert
Alert
We are currently experiencing accessibility issues with one of our data centers and apologize for the inconvenience. In the interim, we are disabling access to control panel tools, to minimize the effects to your site. "
In the meanwhile, ALL my customers are down with no email, I look like an idiot (and am for going with them) , and there is nothing I can tell MY customers without them jumping on, "Well, why did you select EasyCGI?" I wish I didn't!
Chris (topherpsu@g...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Easy CGI used to be a good company. I had used them for years and years. In fact, I used to work for them! They had recently sold the company to another company, and since then, nothing has worked for me.
I have multiple domains hosted with them. Multiple email accounts, and have had nothing but trouble with them since the switch.
After about a week of back and forth over the phone, I finally got my email working again. My websites? Not so much. I've been having trouble for months since the switch, 99.9% uptime is incorrect. 99.9% downtime IS correct.
They felt that "my issue" was something that was simple and could be taken care of at their leisure. This was COMPLETELY UNACCEPTABLE. One of the websites that is not working (none of them are, but the important one) is a website put up to memorialize my sister who had been killed in a car accident a few years back. I explained repeatedly how important it was to get the site up and running, as the anniversary of her death [read more...]
jonas (jonas@f...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
I was a customer with easycgi for many years (as well as a reseller), when i started receiving notices that some domains were due for renewal i did the logical thing and tried to navigate to the renewals page, but wait... it didn't exist? they had somehow deleted that page so i notified them via email & support ticket only to have them tell me it was a fault at my end, like every single computer & browser i checked all had the same fault.

eventually they told me they would fix it and i should check back in a week (when my domains were about to expire). a week went by, i checked back, the page was up "hooray" i thought, but no. the renew button refused to function. it was there, almost like an image left to taunt me that i was about to lose my domains to the abyss. i also noticed i wasn't able to change any DNS or other details (admin, tech contacts, etc).

i opened more support tickets & sent more emails, eventually i got my domain renewed, but boy was it a headache. i started [read more...]
siteisdown (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I could write pages about how Easycgi has gone from good to the most horrible hosting place on Earth. As of now my website has been down for 24 hours and there has been no activity on the ticket I opened. This has happened twice just in the last two weeks. Our site is frequently down, the 99.99% uptime is a huge fraud - and that is an understatement.
Today, I am done with them. I am moving. I have redone the site twice. I feel bad that I ever suggested them to anyone, because they are in the same shoes as me. Last year when they switched their servers it was done extremely unprofessionally. They broke our website to the point that I had to rebuild it. They overwrote our event calendar (that contains at least 10 events per day) with a backup that was 3 months old. They broke our forum then overwrote it with an old version as well. When I asked them for the latest backup they kept saying that is the latest. They pretend to be stupid or they are stupid I don’t know but one runs in [read more...]
Stu (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
EASYCGI problems.
their technology fails to deliver, their support staff are not well trained and their sales people slogans and people lie.

I even had to pay to get a full download of my website so I could close my accounts out!

Unless you like to waste money and a huge amount of time dealing with complaints from your own clients I would not use EasyCGI.

Last time I dealt wit them I asked to speak to the manager and they would not put me through I then asked who owned the company and they would not tell me, yet the info legally should be publicly available!

I've been building and hosting WebSite's for others since the beginning of internet time and have never had such bad service. unfortunately was lobbed into this hell hole when my former provider sold out to EasyCGI.

Do as I did.... get out before you lose your business!
lance (firehouse_design@b...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have 2 and half dozen sites hosted with Easy CGI. Plan on migrating off as individual renewal times are up.

I have sites sparatically dissappear. Down time/failures occur way too often. Customer Service is politely useless. Takes too long to resolve issues. Disconnect between tech and CSR - nobody knows what's going on.

It's not my customers' fault - I've had to eat thousands of dollars chasing a CSR or having to rebuild databases. I would be suprised if EasyCGI is around long enough to face a class action lawsuit. Then again, look at their pattern of sites hosted. Appears they may have cycle of acquiring another host followed by a mass exodus. Their mission is definitely NOT customer service - it is the constant grinding through numbers of people to stay in motion like Hebrew slaves building a pyramid.
Ken (kenpalmer@h...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I'm a former Webstrike customer. Let me start with something positive. Will Kruss at Webstrike Solutions rocked the house! You will be severely missed, and I hope some day when you guys come back out of the buyout retirement you start another hosting company.

I had a half dozen personal and client websites that were hosted at Webstrike. And I do contract work for a small business that has 29 client websites hosted with Webstrike.

The EasyCGI takeover has been absolutely terrible. Here are just a few issues:
1. No backup strategy. They wiped out a client database after cutting it over to a new server. They had no backups, and since I last worked on it in 2003 I had no backup of the structure either. Had to recode that from scratch.
2. It's so bad right now, I've got multiple sites down due to their inept migrations. One client has been down for weeks due to configuration problems.
3. Tech support is terrible. This has exacerbated the problem. I've tried phone calls [read more...]
Mike (usf99fan@g...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I am also a former Webstrike reseller and this migration has been the worst experience in the 10 years I have been hosting sites.

I have never dealt with a company that is soo clueless and incompetent! No one in support knows what they are doing! I will state what the problem is in a chat or email and they will continually ask me what the problem is. I tell the over and over and I am pretty sure they know how to read and figure it out!

After migration, one of my biggest e-commerce site goes down. Support claims that they didn’t know there was a SQL server associated with the account and that they could not find it or even turn the old servers back on. What kind of crap is that!!!?? How can you NOT know??

From a business standpoint, it makes no sense to turn off servers or wipe them after sites have been migrated. They should have had backups of backups and even kept the old servers online - just in case there was a problem. I have lost all of my backups and my database. I had [read more...]
Tim (sacomoney@h...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I've dealt with quite a few hosts... this is by far the worst. I used to host with WebStrike and NEVER had any trouble... for the past few months though, since EasyCGI took over, the same problems keep cropping up. For over month our sites would go down at least twice a week and stay offline for a couple of hours... and today even www.easycgi.com has gone down (for over half an hour and counting)... That says a lot when they can't even keep their own site up and running.
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Just terrible. Stay away. I was moved here when webstrike was bought out, and it has been a complete disaster. Most of my sites are still not fully functional. The support desk takes days to answer tickets with scripted replies not relating to the issue.
Simon (simonschofield@h...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
They are a complete disaster. I have never dealt with a more infuriating bunch of idiots. I was happily hosting my sites with Webstrike until the Endurance International Group bought out Webstrike and pushed all of the customers across to EasyCGI.

When they performed the migration they actually changed the code in my websites to fit with their new hosting platform. And that is surely enough to avoid them right there. Of course, after the migration none of my sites worked , despite numerous attempts to get the support team to fix it. They simply won’t fix it.

I had to bail out and move to another host. Trust me, these guys have few clues as to what they are doing, and really don’t seem to care. It’s like they have given up on what they do.

To all of the top executives at the Endurance International Group, which includes:

Steve Sydness — Chief Executive Officer
Hari Ravichandran — Founder and Executive Vice President
Joe Bardenheier — VP, Corporate Development
Gary Engel [read more...]
Extremely Upset (craphosting@e...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I too was merged over from webstrikesolutions to easy cgi unwillingly, I have about 30 sites and was with webstrike since 98. I was hoping Will Kruss put us in good hands, but that couldnt be farther from the truth.

Tech support at easycgi is the worst, cancelling sites takes days (they will charge your card even if you cancel them 2 days ahead of time, still waitng for refund), they deleted the wrong account on request, although I moved the deleted account to another host, I am still waiting to see how long it will take for them to restore it it, its been 4 days now with no response.

If your a reseller and you want to log into a clients control panel, they make you change the password frequently, now you need to infom your client their password is changed and its f-uped it cause it needs a captiol letter, number and a symbol in it.. If a client logs in to control panel and adds an email address, they will have to change thier password, now as thier webmaster I cant make [read more...]
GoofyDawg (thedawg@g...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Worst hosting I've ever experienced in over 14 years of hosting sites. The frontline technicians (if you can call them that) are some of the most inept people in the world! Or perhaps I should show some compassion in that it's clear they are given a script of responses to use. It's pure bullshit, and an insult to highly technical people. If you're a reseller, you typically know quite a bit about how hosting works - EasyCGI must think their customers are all stupid, which is evidenced by their canned responses.

After going through several phone calls, I finally demanded to speak to a supervisor about an problem I had with a customer site. I HAD TO TELL THE SUPERVISOR HOW TO FIX MY CUSTOMER SITE'S PROBLEM!!! She was just a supervisor, but I had to give her explicit instructions to relay to a "senior" technician, who are even bigger idiots. So a two minute fix turned into almost two weeks of down time. MORONS!!!
Andre Linssen (andre@s...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
If these guys (Easy CGI) would own a funeral parlour nobody would die! The only "easy" thing about Easy CGI is the way they collect your money. Resetting passwords without permission far beyond stupidity. To everybody who uses their hosting "services": GET THE HELL OUT OF THERE!!! Easy CGI sucks harder then a vacum cleaner in outer space.
Freekvt (freek@s...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
As others here in the reviews, we are a reseller that were previously perfectly happy with webstrike. been there for years. Great hosting, nice price and good service. recently we moved to EasyCGI (unasked for) and ever since we are having trouble trouble and more trouble. Moved but not working, errors keep coming up. sites offline for a week or so, no matter how often you contact 24/7 support.. etc etc.. These boys and girls are really really horrible in their service. The price may seem good as to what they (promise to) offer. DO NOT GO HERE. You'll regret it. Several of my resell-clients have already left because easyCGI did not deliver any support whatsoever.
Sid (sido.ws@g...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Was with webstrike and everything was fine. Then these EasyCGI took over and everything tuned in to a DISASTER.
First they changed the IP address and since I use separate name servers the website broke immediately. When I found this out it took almost a day for the mickey at tech support to figure this out.
So then I point to the new IP address and strangely no PHP script executes. But they blame it on my name servers.
So now I change the nameservers (breaking some other services that I have paid for) and the website somehow magically starts working (Same IP address and all). I was still going to continue with this service and then I realize that the technical mickeys at EasyCGI have managed to deleted all MySQL database updates for the last 3 months.
Of course when I contacted tech support they are just mickeys on the phone who are supposed to be 'technical support', but don't know anything technical. They have no f******* idea as to where 3 months of updates have gone.

This [read more...]
afriBUSINESS (afribizmail@y...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
EasyCGI is a true rip-off.

I'm a developer/reseller. My database-driven websites (that have been moved to EasyCGI because of an acquisition that I never opted for) now crash all the time.

Tech support are very weak and have a very wrong understanding of client's needs. When I report a "dead" website, which happens VERY frequently, their final reply is always "our engineers will fix the issue within 48 hours and have you informed". Imagine my client's business crashing very often and then waiting 48 hours for the "engineers" of EasyCGI to bring it back to life!!!!!!!

My recommendation is to keep away. I'm doing the same, but after loosing some money, some clients, and a LOT of market credibility!!
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Count me as as a VERY SATISFIED WEBSTRIKE CUSTOMER for years. And VERY DISSATISFIED WITH EASYCGI.

Five sites but two very critical, blow out of the water during transition and a very embarrassing and costly time for me. They could transition some but not all simple Wordpress Linux sites. Took days to fix a .net site.

Now I have three Wordpress sites all down at once, and chat person thinking it is my problem, telling me to check a config file, but he gave up when I asked him a tough question: The directory and name of the config file he asked me to check.
albasha21 (albasha21@h...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Hi,
I am an esycgi customer.
since they did their upgrade I am facing a problem with databases ( MYSQL)

weekly I will lose at least 3 hourse of my forum submessions and threeds

I do not trust the compay and do not recomend it for a frend
Margot (margotspin@y...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Uhoh. my clients site has been on webstrike for the last year, successfully. then the migration happened and we are having all sorts of php problems. we are novices, and we thought it was us... could it be easycgi? does anyone have a suggestion about a different, safe, good web hoster?
Brent (twitchyeye@y...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Wow, I got a scare today.
I've been using webstrikesolutions for years with excellent support.
My site went down today and I find out that they were bought out by easyCGI and my account was cancelled without notice.

I called the easycgi help desk and they say they notified me via email (never received) and my website has been shutdown and all files unavailable. I can't explain to you the sick feeling I had hearing this.

Eventually I get a person on the phone that seemed to know more. He says I have until end of the month to move my old site because it's all being unplugged. They tried to migrate my site but it doesn't work on the EASYCGI platform. At least they were able to get my site back online temporarily until the big unplug in a couple weeks.

I did some checking on EASYCGI and am hearing other horror stories. I'm gone too!
Jeremy (Jeremy@a...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I was a customer with webstrike solutions, in the change over they broke my sites and still have not fixed them completely after a month. Getting anything done re: tech support through their chat interface takes for ever. The main part of my site has been going down repeatedly, sometimes daily. They have a response policy of 24 to 48 hours. As a webstrike customer I was used to less than an hour. I tried to talk with the owner to warn him he was probably close to losing his investment in purchasing webstrikesolution as if other clients were experienccing what I was everyone would surely leave, but he would not return my call and was not available.

To everyone at webstrike, I hope you made a lot of money, but I feel shafted, and the guys you sold to are beyond incompetent.
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Easy CGI transitioned all 15 of my sites. Slow transfer rates, some Mysql driven sites take 180 seconds to load. Please list class action info when possible.
Alan Andrews (alan.andrews@k...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
This is a follow up
I am a WEBSTRIKE victim
After way too much hassle I started moving my websites. I requested in writing that 2 sites be cancelled
THEY JUST WENT AND CANCELLED ALL MY SITES ..EVERY ONE OF THEM

I am looking for people interested in a Class Action Lawsuit. I will even be happy to setup a website specific to this in order to gather information

PLEASE SPREAD THE WORD AND LETS MAKE THIS HAPPEN.

I LOST ALL JUST ABOUT MY BUSINESS THIS WEEK

This is not just erratic rage this is REAL people. They went and did SO MUCH DAMAGE

I can be reached at alan.andrews@kitcofo.com
Gordon S (gorshar@g...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
THE HORROR, THE HORROR

I am another former and then VERY HAPPY customer of Webstrikesolutions for nine years. Now I am a present and VERY UNHAPPY customer of CGI for one month. I have only two sites - but they are for my two small businesses. One migrated fine but the other was completely botched causing two mySQL driven sections of the site (forum and blog) to be rendered unusable to the users of my site and it appears at least one year's worth of data may have been lost from both sections.

Several calls to customer support - I won't waste my time with support tickets, just read other people's experiences below - have seen no progress on this front and it's been a week.

It is a real shame that such a responsive company such as Webstrikesolutions had to be swallowed up by such crap. When I first heard of the sale I felt a strange churning sensation in my gut.... it's now a full-blown ulcer.

I'm looking for a new hosting service. This company is not only useless, it's [read more...]
Steve Kirchuk (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
HORRIBLE EASY CGI EXPERIENCE

We are customers of Easycgi as a result of Easycgi's purchase of Webstrikesolutions .. we had 68 websites moved and just about all of them had problems .. yet, when I moved the non-functioning websites to another host like 1and1 and fortehosting .. the sites worked without any modification of code.

Although tech support has been courteous, they seem to have problems configuring the server properly. Some sites have been down over 5 days and after going around with support I decided to move to another host and in an hour had it working ..

My company has lost thousands of dollars because of this and because I pride myself on customer support I am not charging my clients for this easycgi debacle .. Daniel Richfield says he built easycgi on Customer Service? well somewhere along the line he lost it.
Greg (greg@p...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Customer Relation
I had been a VERY content customer of Webstrike Solutions for over 10 years. Great support and NEVER had my sight go down (that I'm aware of).

In the last week since the migration to EasyCGI, my site has been down 3 times. Support has been no quicker than a 12 hour response. They blamed my code... the same code that has been working perfectly with Webstrike.

I can't imagine any reason for staying with them. I'll be taking all 3 of my sites to another provider. I'd gladly pay twice the price for the service I became accustomed to that to stay with this pathetic hosting company.
Johan Brittz (-no email-)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Customer Relation
I signed up with Webstrike in February and In March I was informed that I had to move to EasyCGI. Nightmare starts! I request migration for the 9th for various business reasons. After 18 days of being given the runaround and the same robotic responses after the other, the site was still not migrated. I gave up and paid again for another host.
Useless! Utterly useless Stay away!!
Gary Biggs (biggs@t...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
EasyCGI is the Katrina of web hosts. We were satisfied Webstrike customers but the EasyCGI migration has been a nightmare. We are biting the bullet and moving 16 sites to different hosts. Of course we won't be able to bill a penny of that work.

EasyCGI migrated three commerce sites this weekend and killed all three of them. They disabled the SSL directories and moved the sites to a shared IP from the unique IPs we've been paying for. I submitted trouble tickets which have been ignored. The sites are still down. In our last trouble ticket we asked them to export the ssl certs - or provide instructions for how we can do it. Same result - the trouble ticket is being ignored.

On their support page they have a contact phone number: 555-1212. For those of you not in the U.S. that's the phone number for telephone company directory assistance.

When you post a trouble ticket they ask you if you want to "Submit with normal priority" or " Purchase Premium Support Subscription" This is [read more...]
Manarasoft (-no email-)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Not a serious hosting service. I was moved here recently after EasyCGI acquired Webstrikesolutions which was a respectful and responsible service.

Now with only a week of hosting with EasyCGI I'm facing many sorts of problems. They have changed account name from those I had on Webstrikesolutions. This might be their right, but after keeping old password for a few days, they're also forcing clients, without prior notice, to change their passwords. It could have been fine if I had only one or two domains, but as a reseller with over 20 accounts hosted at EasyCGI, it's a disaster.

An "urgent" support email request was answered after 36 hours.

Now I'm even more frustrated and scared with all these reviews about service down time.
Jon (jcabotl@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Be VERY wary of EasyCGI. We, like others here, loved them for years. The last 12 months, however, have been an absolute nightmare!

1. For prior 5 years, virtually no down-time. Past 12 months, down at least 2 days/month.
2. Prior 5 years, no problems ever logging in or loading files. Past 12 months, they have reset passwords on a crazy scale (must have had security breaches), but they send the passwords into oblivion. They will tell you they sent you an email with the updates, but it won't go to you or any of your email accounts (even though they'll read it to you). I think they have email server issues too.
3. Prior 5 years, ASPEmail, ASPJPEG, CDONTS all worked. Past 12 months, they destroyed those capabilities. On top of that, they must have done a search and replace of CODE during the migration (UNBELIEVABLE MIGRATION MIGRAINES) and destroyed weeks worth of work on about 30 sites we hosted with them.
4. Tech Support is now in India. I don't know if its a language [read more...]
Philip Sasser (philip@s...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Like another reviewer here, I have long been an EasyCGI customer. In fact, I am a reseller with 10+ sites hosted with them. Their migration to the "new platform" (perhaps they were bought out?) has been a living hell. I cringed when I got the emails announcing their excitement over transferring to this so-called new platform. And when it finally happened, site after site fell into one problem after another. I have had to deal with upset clients asking why their email wouldn't work, why their reseller accounts had disappeared, why they can't manage different aspects of their accounts. My master FTP account is gone…they don't have those any more! I now must maintain a long list of separate usernames and passwords to access my hosted accounts. Half the time, they will not load up to ftp. I came within days of losing two different domains, because the renewal function did not work. Email forwards largely fell apart due to some new way of formatting forwards. Web-based FTP left some of my [read more...]
Poe (listmania3000@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
My opinion of EasyCGI? CRAP CRAP CRAP. After several years of faithful patronage a whole website is deleted without any explanation, or even an apology. EasyCGI have a lot to answer for, but I doubt they will. IF YOU VALUE YOUR WEBSITE DO NOT USE EASYCGI!!!!
www.paisleycreek.com (support@p...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
DO NOT CONSIDER EasyCGI under any circumstances!! I was a loyal customer for 5 years and this recent forced migration brought my site down and I've been told after weeks of tech support promises that I now need to find a new hosting company. EasyCGI is completely incompetent. They migrated my site without any testing and they had no backout plan. There was no sense of urgency to restore my site once I notified them of the outage. I've lost weeks worth of revenue, all of my advertisers have canceled and they unraveled 5 years worth of hard search engine optimization efforts. I may end up out of business. I plan to file a lawsuit. DO NOT CONSIDER EasyCGI under any circumstances!!
VCF (KeithD@v...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
As with the last two reviews the last month has been horrible.
I gave them a chance. They eventually fixed one thing and broke another.
This went on for support ticket after support ticket,
The Site was working OK after three weeks of problems big and small,
Then it looked like we were out of the woods Just one thing to fix.

Wow they have done it its all working again, just as it was before the migration
Yep that's correct the data is 4 weeks out of date hells teeth, Fix It ECGI quick,
They did, they removed the databases from the web site. All gone. Lost. Disappeared. Vanished.
Nothing there at all, Fix it ECGI, No answer, Fix it ,No Answer, NO Site. NO FIX.
Unlike some I thought they would get through the bad time and be good again,
This was the biggest mistake since John Wayne Bobbitt said to his wife, "Oh Boy! am I tired,"
Will I recommend ECGI?, Only If I see Saitain skiing to work.
John P (john888@g...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
After a week long outage they destroyed my web site because EASYCGI DOES NOT DO REGULAR BACKUPS! DO NOT HOST SITES WITH THEM IF YOU COUNT ON ANY TYPE OF BACKUP or HIGH UPTIME In last 2 months we had over 5 outages that lasted 1-2 days each. Starting last week our web site has been down for over 5 days. When I finally start work on it myself and created new SQL connection, I discovered that SQL Database has been lost! They managed to restore SQL DB to version that is 10-12 months OLD! We LOST ALMOST ONE YEAR OF WORK. Tech Support Service is HORRIBLE. There is no way to escalate issues. We are stuck with no service. Everytime we try to explain the issue that our problem is still unresolved, tech support says they do not see error because they can open web site that is almost 1 year old.

DO NOT HOST WITH EASYCGI UNLESS YOU UNDERSTAND EXTREME RISKS INVOLVED IN UNPROFESSIONAL TECH SUPPORT. THIS COMPANY DOES NOT FOLLOW ANY REGULAR MAINTENANCE ON THE SERVERS, DOES NOT DO BACKUPS [read more...]
Peter Wegy (PeterWegy@y...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
They are collapsing. Grab your backup (if you can) and run away. After fatal migration 2 months ago nothing works (my web sites, control panel, ftp, sql access) at least couple times a week. We have been down on daily basis for over a week. They moved tech support to Indian and you will not be able to get any updates on the status for 24 hours at least if you are very lucky. This company will not last long. RUN IF YOU CAN. EASYCGI IS CRAP!
Lucas (Lucas@L...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Just like everybody else who already posted reviews here I agree that easycgi is under and should be avoided for any more complex hosting solutions. It is Thanksgiving week and our ecommerce is down! We just started the move to new place after going through major outages and no support. Do waste your hard earned money on the company that does not appreciate your business. We have been patient with them for 2 months yet they were never able to esclate our issues, provide any updates on the problems. They actually increase window for the ticket resolution from 24 hours to 48 hours so you can sit there without help for up to 2 days now! AVOID!
Kelvin (kgreen@c...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Their customer service is terrible, they dont listen, they can fix simple problems... It took 80 hours plus to reload front page server extensions...

They did not appear to even keep the data on the old platform as a backup. Incompetent, stay away!
John (john85851@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
For the past few years, I have hosted my site with EasyCGI. However, on Nov 18, 2008, my site was "migrated" to a new server as part of their "upgrade process". Like the other reviewers have said, this migration process caused my site to collapse.

First, the site wouldn't send mail, then the pages could no longer connect to the database. I opened two "trouble tickets" about these issues and the only replies I received were "we'll have someone get back to you within 24-48 hours". Does this really mean that no one will even talk to me for TWO DAYS (48 hours)?? Meanwhile, as my site continues to be down while someone "gets back to me", customers can't purchase products from me, I can't make any sales, and I can't earn an income!

Yes, websites can go down sometimes, but I am completely dissatisfied with their total lack of support. No one replied to my trouble ticket for two days, even when I kept asking when the site would be fixed. No one bothered to even give me any advice on how [read more...]
Jones (kurtjonesc@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
After having my website hosted there for over 3 years, they migrated me to a new system. Their technical support is TERRIBLE. I am now going on 7 days of having my website down and they cannot explain why.

I have been told that my website cannot handle PHP because of my MySQL database being the issue. These are the types of responses that you will hear as a client.\

STAY AWAY UNLESS YOU CAN LIVE WITHOUT YOUR WEBSITE BEING UP!
Iain Masson (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I run a website call www.iwantvouchers.com it has been off line for 48 hours and the support has been very very bad, all we are told is please wait another 24 hours and we get back to you.

They are Rusbish
michael (michael@i...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Easycgi is going bankrupt or is already under. We are trying to get our backups to relocate somewhere else. Our ecommerce suffered major outages this fall. Even now during busy pre holiday season we continue to be down for 12-24 hours every couple days. Call center provides horrible support. All technical work is done in India that is why you will not get any technical help till next day if you are lucky. Stay away. EASYCGI IS CRAP
Ray (uramula@y...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Stay away. They are collapsing. Last 2 months is never ending string of outages with terrible tech support. When you call them some collage kids will pickup and they are unable to esclate issue, provide update on the outage, or transfer to the second level of tech support or supervisor. In most cases they will give you fake name so you will not be able to find them when you call back. HORRIBLE and UNPROFFESIONAL attiude to anybody who is counting on 24/7 operations and support. Low price is worth the trouble.
Gary Truesdale (gtruesdale@w...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
easycgi did very well for me for a number of years. they recently migrated to a new platform and nothing works. its why their sitecount is going down. easycgi is in disarray. do not sign up for their service.
Sohail (sohailsmerchant@g...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I also don't know where to begin. We are with them since last 2 years it was working fine and i was extremely happy to recommend to anyone. BUT NOW! Chat Service/call center based in India ... "saying i have just spoken with a senior engineer and has assured it will be fix within few hours" Since last five day i have been hearing this s***t no result. everyday before dinner and after i spend 30mins with them on phone yet no result. and you can imagine 5 days downtime for ecommence site. AVOID AVOID PLEASE AVOID THIS HOSTING SERVICE.
salameh Allan (sal.allan@g...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
easycgi is the worste company I have ever dealt with, my site was down for a day, they held me to ransom with their preimum support and forced me to pay 25$ a month for easycgi premium support to fix my problem. There support team is useless with no technical skills. The easycgi manager are as bad. I called from the UK and spend 200£ on telephone bills trying to get the site back on online and all they do is tell me wait 5 minutes while we look at the problem. Easycgi is the worse company I would not recommend them to anyone. It is not the first time I had problem with them. I am now trying to get back access to DNS they have taken away from me so I cannot change suppliers. All the things they do is illiage and they dont care about customer support.

They dont know nothing about SLA (Service Level Agrement) nor do they have any KPIs. The whole easycgi company is made up clown land.

All the do is appologies for the crap service but never deliver.

DONT USE EASYCGI THEY ARE [read more...]
E.M. (hispanosnba@h...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Stay away from these guys! I've never seen a more negligent behaviour about their customers than the one EasyCgi has had in relation with their migration process. A lot of sites, including mine, are down for days, even weeks, and they offer no solution to us because of their lack of planification and technical skills.

Their support doesn't answer, the company doesn't give a response for this absolute mess that is causing a great damage to many of their customers. They lie about the situation over and over again. They don't care about you. Unfortunately, I realise too late. My piece of advice is: search for another hosting provider... it's what I'm going to do.
Max (mrmax@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have been easycgi for over 3 years now but have been going through never ending outages in last months. Site down couple times. They claim some migration, etc. yet they never notified about it in email and the site is down for over 4 days. When I call or start online ticket, they completely do not seem to pay attention to your comments and act like 4 days is not a big deal for ecommerce site to be down. I am ready to pack the bags and move on. This is horrible experience and suggest to you stay away as well.
Michael (uramula@y...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Guys. I have been with them for last two years. Service used to be fine but know this is horrible what is going with them. They misconfigured my web site twice in two weeks. My web site is currently down and when I call in I am getting crappy service typical for call centers in Indian such as Vonage. They just deny to fix IIS authentication on my web site even though it has been done by the administator. My web site is down for a day and it looks like this company is going under or already bankrupt. I just hope I can get access to backups so we can relocate to different service provider. Anyway stay way and save yourself trouble to deal with company that is already bankrupt or will be soon.
ali (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
i agree with :
Gerald Enright Ethan Mike Walters Kate Wilson ... and any one says
Absolute worst hosting company
just by smart or dont be stupid .... so AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS.

im writing this message w
CG (info@v...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
This migration has been horrific. It's taken so much time and energy trying to get their support staff to understand what, apparently, were common problems. And the answer is 'sorry we can't fix this problem we created'.

The site was in QA for a week. The result - they've potentially cost us thousands of dollars in lost sales with the terrible job migrating email accounts.
Gerald Enright (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Avoid at all costs. Unreliable. 8 day migration "fiasco" that was supposed to be 24 hour. No advanced notice of potential downtime, no accurate progress reporting. Cost me more money in lost business than I care to admit. DO NOT use this service.
Ethan (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Absolute worst hosting company. Almost as bad as Micfo International Inc. A bunch of crooks. Read the reviews here and know to AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COSTS.
James Underhill (service@m...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
We have now been down for 5 days and all I can get out of EasyCGI is " We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you" !!! I am now being told that it will be another 12-24 hours before it is up and running.

I have 12 people sitting here with no email and no website orders to fill. We have spent 3 day calling customers with damage control. Some customers were wondering if we had gone out of business. DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THESE PEOPLE!!!!
Mike Walters (info@T...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
The worst hosting company on planet Earth. Other than that, they're fine.
Kate Wilson (kate@d...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
EasyCGI.com. Where do i begin? Initially, an excellent hosting provider. Great prices, great features, great support.

For the last twelve months however, they have been abysmal. Our site has been down twice a month for the past year. Support has either been non-existent, very slow or just plain incompetent.

I would highly recommend you select a different hosting provider than EasyCGI, unless you want your website to suffer enough downtime to kill it dead within 2 months. They really have become dreadful.
anthony watson (anthonyuk12@a...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
EasyCGI.com are their own worst enemies. They offer excellent packages, great features, tons of disk space and more. And you really do get all that.

Then, there's the downtime. Our site goes down on average for 2 days a month. When it does go down, support is - and I'm being generous here - abysmal. They blame anyone but themselves even when it's glaringly obvious they are at fault. The last time our site went down, we waited almost 20 hours for an acknowledgement there was a problem let alone a resolution.

They then send you an email saying "It works fine now" (it didn't) and ignore you for another day. It's beyond frustrating trying to get EasyCGI to deal with technical problems - we even sent them the solution to the problem but still they didn't correct it.

I would advise any reader to this review to think very carefully before signing up with EasyCGI.com. Their features and pricing look attractive but boy oh boy, will you be sorry you signed up for them if and [read more...]
Sai Mysticlenz.com (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I am hosting my photography forum related website on easycgi and till now its a very satisfactory investment.Support is very good.They dont have live chat support as of now but if added can be nice feature.Relatively cheaper and user friendly control panel.
Robert Lindauer (Rlindauer@L...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I am a consultant who works with several clients, and hosts.

EasyCGI offered relatively inexpensive hosting, so I set up several clients with them. At first they were decent, but as time went on, they began having a number of problems. The problems they had weren't horrible (downtime, failing web usage reports, failing web e-mail, etc.. ), but it was very difficult to get them resolved. I understand that mistakes happen, and I could have lived with them if they had been fixed on a timely basis, and didn't keep recurring. Unfortunately, they were almost never resolved on the first call, and sometimes kept occurring even after they assured me that they had fixed the problem.

The main reason not to host with them, however, is that once you have signed up with them, they make it extremely difficult to transfer your domain name away from them, and to close your account.

The final straw occurred recently -
I still have one client that I host with them. It looked like I [read more...]
Hatake (hlchin77@h...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I've subscribe to easy cgi hosting for almost 5 months. Guess what? The hosting is not reliable at all.

1. Downtime is quite frequent, it's kinda irritating (2 mins in every 10 hours, roughly).

2. They packed too many hosting account in one server. You can always see "System.Out of memory exception". If this error happens, they need to reset your application. If they don't, you will never able to fix it.

3. Talking about fixing the errors, they do provide a 24/7 answering machine asking you to leave a message. If support is needed urgently, I would recommend you to forget about it, get a cup of coffee and hope there is a luckly guy who managed to call up the support and reset it. It will then solve the issue for that particular server if it happens that you are hosting in the same server as the lucky guy.

That is all and if you think I'm kidding, go ahead and try. You will definitely regret it.

If you believe me, look for other hosting company. I've none to recommend [read more...]
snake_314 (snake_314@h...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Intermediate Co-Located Server Advanced Co-Located Server
John (jchoagland@y...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
More downtime:

Over the past few months, there have been a number of outages:

It is 10/17/07 and both of my websites hosted on easycgi.com have been down for over four hours. Their home page is down also, which means users can not create a "trouble ticket".
I sent them an e-mail earlier in the evening, but have received no reply.
I tried calling the 866 number listed next to the review and got an operator saying "All of the circuits are busy. Please try again later."

Other downtimes include:
Aug 2007: overall slowness (may be due to too many databases on their servers, as another reviewer mentioned, but I'm unable to verify)

Aug 2007: complained to me that someone complained to them that my newsletter was spam, yet easycgi routinely lets 20-30 spam messages A DAY through their "filters".

July 2007: intermittent slowness and "problem loading pages" error.
July 10, 2007: site down for over 4 hours for an unknown reason

6/8/07: sites down, received an e-mail later [read more...]
Howard Moseley (moseleyh@h...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
What was promised to be a FREE set up very quickly become a $25.00 charge + a $25.00 + a $25.00 + a $25.00 charge. I was setting up an ASP site and they charged to register every DLL .... isn't this simply a part of setting up an ASP site? You can also forget the Disk space... Yes, plenty of disk space but extremely low space allowed for your Database. I ended up purchasing 12 gigs of disk space to run a 2.5 gB database.... and the price that was advertised at $26.95 per month quickly grew to $66.95 per month.
Overall, I would not recommend this Host to anyone. They have a multitude of ways to charge you and when you are in the process of setting up or transfering a site to them... you have little choose but to pay all the fees they gouge you with.
I have since changed to another Host and must say.... NO set up fees and the monthly fee is Exactly what they advertised. I have not checked the page load speed, but off hand it seems much faster.
Stay far away from this Host [read more...]
These Easy CGI testimonial(s) and rating(s) are the subjective opinion of our visitors and not of whtop.com staff.
Trademarks, logos & names are properties of their respective owners and protected by law.
Disclosure: Although we attempt to provide useful and accurate information we can not guarantee that it is always right. This is a professional website that may receive compensation from some providers which we review and promote or advertise, however that does not affect our reviews ratings!