Netfirms review

This review cover a general impression of netfirms.com product features like reliability, support, data center, price & more. Brand #2584, listed since .

Most Recent Customer Reviews

-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Netfirms sucks! They are horrible. Customer service people ditch you all the time. Not recommended at all. Do not work with them u will ruin ur business. Since I started using their webmail account I wasn't able to send out emails. they kept telling me they will fix the problem, however they never did. after one week trying hard to get their headoffice number, the number is out of service and nobody answers ur calls. please for the sake of your time and business do not creat an account with them.
Frank (frank@s...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Awful service since they were bought
I'm an I.T. consultant and I used to recommend this company to any of the businesses I looked after. That was until they were bought, since then it's been nothing but outages, web, email both etc.. Their support is garbage, for the most part they refuse to accept responsibility for undelivered email or any other server-side issue. I believe they are trying to force people to their exchange platform but why would we pay you $100s/month when you can't even deal with pop mail?
ootws (jaretbartsch@y...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Netfirms Panel Stinks!
We started hosting our domain with Netfirms over two years ago. Since we have had our domain there, there have been many issues trying to get everything for our domain and subdomains set up correctly to suit our needs. Netfirms refuses to co-operate with us and add records to the addresses we need records assigned to. Their hosting and domain control panel is rather featureless and things in their hosting department are always broken such as curl which was broken for over a year. When we needed stealth URL forwarding (though the option was there) the option in the panel failed and probably still does fail. We simply gave up on trying to use that feature because creating the workaround pages they want people to use was such a waste of time for us.

Now, our website is pending new reconstruction because everything was designed to work (on our servers) with Netfirms domain registration and setup, but now that we have experienced these issues growing larger and not being addressed by [read more...]
MORE REVIEWS
Award winner: BEST PHP Web Hosting 2010

Editorial Review


They started as a group of industry leading who were passionate about helping anyone who wants to get their websites online.

Founded in 1998 (with netfirms.ca), they still provide webhosting technology and solutions to individuals, entrepreneurs other business around the world.

Recently acquired by Endurance International Group they keep providing same good quality services.

Control Panel

They developed in-house their control panel, which allows integration of all features (including account management).

Conclusion

Quick links:

Support
Sign-up
Control Panel
Webmail

Special pages


netfirms.com Facebook Cover
Website research for Netfirms on April 21, 2013 by WebHostingTop

Promotions

No website coupons announced! Looking to get a great webhosting deal using vouchers ? Checkout our current web hosting coupons list!
If you manage this brand, you must be logged in to update your promotions!

Add your promo code

Promotion:
Provide the start date
and end date if the promotions expires!
Your email
(will not be displayed)
How much is 2+2 ? Respond with 4
 

PlansWebsite Products

Linux - Shared Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
Plus featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : [In-house]
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IP's : 0

Drag and Drop Builder
Ready-to-go Websites
1-Click Applications
Customer Support 24/7 E-mail, Chat, Phone
Clustered Hosting
Multi-Website Hosting
E-commerce Enabled
Dedicated SSL Cert.
Google Adwords $100 Bonus
yellowpages.com Free $50 Credit
Bing [...]
Plan URL : http://www.netfirms.com/netfirms/web-hosting/
$3.49/mo.
($ 4.95 after first term)
unlimitedunmetered 1 / unlimited
Advantage featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : [In-house]
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 2
Dedicated IP's : 0

Drag and Drop Builder
Ready-to-go Websites
1-Click Applications
Customer Support 24/7 E-mail, Chat, Phone
Clustered Hosting
Multi-Website Hosting
E-commerce Enabled
Dedicated SSL Cert.
Google Adwords $100 Bonus
yellowpages.com Free $50 Credit
Bing [...]
Plan URL : http://www.netfirms.com/netfirms/web-hosting/
$7.99/mo.
($ 9.99 after first term)
unlimitedunmetered 2 / unlimited
Business featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : [In-house]
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 5
Dedicated IP's : 0

Drag and Drop Builder
Ready-to-go Websites
1-Click Applications
Customer Support 24/7 E-mail, Chat, Phone, Premium Customer Support
Clustered Hosting
Multi-Website Hosting
E-commerce Enabled
Dedicated SSL Cert.
Google Adwords $100 [...]
Plan URL : http://www.netfirms.com/netfirms/web-hosting/
$10.99/mo.
($ 14.99 after first term)
unlimitedunmetered 5 / unlimited

Marketing information is managed by flora.chan@netfirms.com [login] | Last company update:

Web stats

Targeting: Canada, United States
Netfirms daily Global Rank trend
Daily Global Rank Trend
Netfirms Search Visits
Search Visits

Customer Testimonials

There are no customer testimonials listed yet. You can be the first one to add your testimonial here.

Add your own testimonial

This form is used exclusively for positive feedback, for a regular review click here

Your Name
Email(will be obfuscated)
One Hosted domain name with this company
Testimonial
(HTML tags are NOT allowed!)
Minim 100 characters!
How much is 2+2 ? Respond with 4
 

News

Web Host Netfirms Expands Data Center - Canadian web hosting provider provider Netfirms (www.netfirms.com) announced on Monday it has expanded and moved into its new data center and headquarters in Markham, a suburb of Toronto.
The news comes off the heels of another Canadian web host, Webnames.ca, recently announced it moved to a new location in Vancouver's Gastown district.
With 200 percent more office space he, Netfirms will be able to continue to expand its growing staff and hosting solutions.
The expansion, which marks the company's fifth since 1998, includes an aggressive hiring campaign to fulfill new positions in customer service, marketing, software development and senior executives.
Netfirms will also be launching a 40,000 server capacity Tier 1 data center in Markham in June.
The company's current data center serves the banking industry and will be upgraded to provide more features for customers.
"Our reputation for a solid service offering coupled with our strong incentives we have seen a tremendous growth in ... [search all netfirms.com news]

Social Networks

https://www.linkedin.com/company/netfirms
About: Netfirms, founded in 1998, is one of the world's largest web hosting companies, trusted to power over 1.2 million websites. Netfirms helps customers get their ideas online with simple, reliable and easy to use solutions. Netfirms has democratized website and domain name ownership with affordable hosting plans starting at just $4.95/month. Today Netfirms is proud to offer a comprehensive range of proven cloud services including website hosting, e-commerce, VPS and enterprise hosting plans. At its core, Netfirms helps small business succeed. Its website hosting plans include brilliant features such as Netfirms AppUniverse, Ready-to-go Websites and rock solid Clustered Hosting. Unlike most other hosts, Netfirms customers are hosted on pool of servers ensuring maximum uptime and speed. Traffic spikes are welcomed at Netfirms.Netfirms offers the best value on domain name registration. Popular domain extensions such as .com, .net, .org and .ca are made available to its customers at the world's lowest price. Its clutter free domain management tools are loved by customers. Registered domains are available within minutes and come standard with the industry's best domain satisfaction guarantee.Join the Netfirms community of thousands of entrepreneurs, designers, inventors and developers worldwide by registering your domain name and adding a hosting plan with www.netfirms.com
Netfirms (est. 1998) is a Privately Held entity having 676 followers on LinkedIn and 51-200 employees, industry Internet.
No official account on Google+ yet!
http://www.netfirms.com/blog

Domains trend

ReviewsCustomer Ratings

The quick stats of Netfirms profile shows a note average of 2.5 out of 10, counting 37 opinions. (few listed on the top of the page)
As visitor you can rate this provider directly here! If you are part of support team, you can respond to these reviews by going to login

Add your own review [Toggle to basic/advance form]

Required info

Select Hosting Plan
Overall Rating
Time Hosted
Features
Price / Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Your Social URL, Name or Usernameeg. https://twitter.com/YOURID or https://facebook.com/YOURID or https://plus.google.com/+YOURID
Your Email Or login and come back to this page
Customer identification(Not public visible. eg Customer=1120 or Account=2121 or Order ID=511AAS3)
Your hosted domaineg. mysite.net. If you have multiple domains, mention at least one!
Summary of your posteg. netfirms.com is best!
Your review HTML tags are NOT allowed! MINIM 100 characters!
Provide as much information as possible in your review! Too less information may be counted as not relevant and not approved!
How much is 2+2 ? Respond with 4
 
Caroline (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
once might, now dreadful
Netfirms was terrific until they were purchased and then they just fell apart. They don't seem to know the answer to anything; poor customer service. Very sad
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Customer Relation
Netfirms is the worst host imaginable. Never ever-ever-ever use them!!!

They deleted hundreds of emails by mistake and kept deleting more each week after that. They did not tell me any of this.

I asked them to fix problems and they said they did but they actually didn't.

When I wanted to transfer to a different host they made my life miserable for weeks
Etienne (info@z...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Netfirms has lost the plot
I have been very happy with Netfirms until a few months ago (about the same time that they started their migration). Since then there has been a poor response to support tickets, my clients having their sites hacked, my perl forms stopped working, Netfirm's nameservers suddenly gives errors when trying to register new domains, they do not provide a login for their clients that registered PRIOR to their migration, and all my sites are becoming SLOW.

Do not use Netfirms. I am now in the process of transferring my 30+ sites to a more reliable provider. Thanks for sidelining your long-standing clients, Netfirms!
-anonymous- (benjamin.bernier@g...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
They don't know what they are doing
netfirms is worthless.

their managers only work 9 to 5, monday to friday, yet site issues will happen round the clock.

the quality of their service is low, with painfully slow response times to DNS queries, bad techs who lack access to help issues, and rude people who are willing to hang up on long time customers.

things are at their worst when they transition systems, because they have no project management.

the entire company has two admins, not nearly enough to deal with comprehensive and unforeseen issues


only use netfirms if you want budget service without quality that you don't mind if they break when it's running
Jones (highwayismyway@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
You'll lose your google rank while their idiots pick their arse and let your site disappear without a trace. Files will mysteriously disappear. I'm waiting for the company who bought this lemon out to crack the whip and hire have the non intellectuals working at netfirms. I'm not holding my breath and actually am prepared for more incompetence after the merger. Today was a grand example as they state the migration will start on April 1st. Tried to login into their new control panel and it doesn't recognize my site despite me being around for over 8 years. This used to be a good company, but all the good people obviously quit, and the sludge is left in the Salton Sea.

Jones
Bru Swayne (bruswayne@l...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I've been with Netfirms for over 4 years and currently have 3 BUSINESS web hosting accounts with multiple domains in each account. I did extensive research before I signed up with Netfirms and have been generally happy with the feature set, pricing and service & support. Sure once in a while they have problems, but all web hosting companies do. During 2010 they went through a data centre migration which wasn't without a few glitches, but my issue was resolved fairly quickly after I contacted them.

The reason I felt compelled to post this review is to let everyone know that Netfirms has been sold and will be moved to the US. (Another data centre move within 12 months!) This was revealed in an e-mail curiously entitled "Netfirms Is Moving to a New Hosting Platform". This e-mail was sent by CEO Thomas Savundra on March 2, 2011.

It was all typical marketing fluff and nonsense about vision and passion, until near the end where he states "...one of the top web hosting and domain [read more...]
Tarek (tarek@k...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Worst web hosting service I ever saw. You call them 10 times, never find someone to give you support. their E-mail server works 1 week and doesn't respond the other week. If you have the chance to talk to the customer service, they will tell you that the problem will be fixed withing a couple of days. In a couple of weeks the problem still here.
I migrated to another web hosting provider. I have no problem now.
Thomas Wilson (Thomas@g...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
They simply suck. mail servers don't work. employees are raging idiots with no answers. service goes down arbitrarily for days and no one bothers to fix it or email you, then they drag their feet repairing the thing. Mail server eats emails and sends multiple repeats at will. Then they have the audacity to offer a month more of free, crap service to rectify the stupid ass service. Apparently everyone hates them.
I think I'll just relax and read about more aggressive and official means of formal complaining.

SHITE SERVICE BY RETARDS.
Bandara (bandara1988@g...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Free host providers are better than Netfirms.com.because i have moved netfirms from a free host (000webhost) both host are like the same.the only differnt is i have to pay for netfirms shit.Networks speed of netfirms is nearly 50KBps .and no propper control panel Jailed SSh and many more reasons to tell netfirms really sucks.Their everything sucks.
Andrew Dennis (omegawar@s...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I use to have a static web site with simple HTML code that was hosted at Netfirms. Good response and never really had an issue. This was back in 2006. So when I recently decided to launch a new site and take advantage of a Content Management System I decided to stay with Netfirms. However, using Netfirms hosting has been a nightmare.

Friday May 21, 2010 – Created my new site online. No issues.

Sunday May 23, 2010 – Installed Joomla using their control panel. Unloaded my Joomla templet and started building my site. Very easy and simple to use.

Friday May 28, 2010 – Sent support ticket about 500 errors and timeouts while just uploading content.

Saturday May 29, 2010 – Got first reply that they got my ticket and were looking into the issue. No ETA

Friday June 4, 2010 - Sent another ticket for very slow response times and time out errors on my site.

Saturday June 5, 2010 – My site went down. Called support center to get answer as to why my site was down and why they [read more...]
Annon (none@n...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
If you use Netfirms.com webmail to retrieve emails (webmail.netfirms.com) you may have noticed that Netfirms has a link on their webmail log in screen labeled "Enter Secure Mode"

Netfirms tech support has informed me that as of mid July 2010, when you "Enter Secure Mode" and then send your username and password over the internet your user name and password are NO LONGER SENT SENT IN A SECURE MANNER even though you might think that it is secure because they have a link saying "Enter Secure Mode".

Not only did Netfirms decide to disable Secure sending of user names and passwords, they lead you to believe that clicking on Enter Secure Mode actually sends you to a secure connection.

It doesn't!! According to Netfirms tech support, it doesn't work.

It is a grave mistake to use an Unsecure webmail connection.

Find a better host, netfirms webmail is clearly not secure. After many years, I am moving all of my business elsewhere asap.
Allen (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
There is virtually no customer service / tech support. Most recent problem was answered by three different reps in sequence, and they gave conflicting solutions, none of which was a real solution. They created the problem with the recent server migration, and refused to fix it.

Excessive down time. More than 100 hours per year. Worst case was down for parts of 5 days!

Pricing is double that of other services.

Features are not as good as less-expensive services.

E-mail is poor.

Statitics are very poor.

MySQL is horrible.

After being with Netfirms for many years, my frustraion is getting to the point of biting the bullet and moving to another service.
Donna Karlin (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Webhosting is great and features are terrific. It is the worst email system of any I have tried. There is no spam filtering, they have no date as to when they will have one in place that can filter out the most basic of spam. It costs me the equivalent per month in overage fees for my Blackberry to what I pay a year to host. Customer service / tech service is non existent on this front.
John Moore (jhnmr123@g...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have been with Netfirms for a few years. Until recently few complaints.

I have a photo gallery plus Joomla blog site.

Recently I was informed they were migrating my site for faster better service etc. After the migration my Blog layout/formatting was totally lost after much work. I asked them to fix this and they suggested I do it. I told them I expected the site to be the same after migration but they did not fix my site. In desperation I tried to fix my blog and in the process lost my gallery which is very important to me. No doubt something simple for a techie but not for me. I worked hard to get it all working well.

I'm now filing complaints every day but being ignored and my web site is effectively gone after recently building up traffic to my gallery. Contacting a real person is impossible so far. You can't reply to tech support messages they just bounce back. This is costing me a lot and I can't recommend Netfirms to anyone. Go somewhere else.
Hi John,

The issues you experienced seemed to be an oversight on our part and I apologize for that. Part of your Joomla site was using a feature that we overlooked at our new data center.

I have fixed all of the issues you reported and your website, blog, and gallery are all up and running.

Regarding your support requests, please ensure they are being sent to support@netfirms.com or that you are filling out the request from our contact form inside your Control Panel. I have looked through our ticketing system and the last email we have from you was last month on an unrelated matter. I have not found any emails pertaining to this issue using your gmail address.

Marketing representative (flora.chan@netfirms.com, ).
Jeff (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Well I've been with them. I mean its easy to use and as a Rookie, it was very nice to start with them. However, as time goes by, you would realize their reliability is pretty crap :D i mean stuff goes offline, database connection dropped, or FTP accounts that can't connect.

Downtime is quite a lot. I'd say a total of 100hrs per year.

If you can deal with downtime, then netfirms is okay in general.
Rocky (rocky@n...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Netfirms Sucks. It has always been slow and now you can't even access the site and the control panel... What to expect from a shitty company like this?
Eric (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
The load-time for a Netfirms hosted webpage is frequently very slow.

If using their email system (instead of say, Outlook Express), there is not proper spacing between paragraphs ... and if you take too long to write the email, you get timed out.

My website stats have been "unavailable" for the past several days, and although Netfirms was advised, they have done nothing to fix it, nor have they properly gotten back to me on it.
GoogleGuy (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Been with Netfirms for 4 years. Had a few outages, but nothing critical. Server timeouts mostly. However, this March (2010) it's nothing short of disaster. NONE of my domains are working (fail with a server error, and I haven't touched anything in weeks), SSH login fails with a server error, and the so called tech-support team (if it exists) will not even answer emails. 3 days straight and no answer.

No phone number for support, no ticket system that lets you track the status of your ticket, no live chat. Serves me right, should have switched long ago.

NON-EXISTING SUPPORT. LITERALLY.

Maybe I'll try hostgator.com, or something.
We are aware of the server issues that have occurred this month. We are in the process of migrating all of our clients to our new data center here in Markham, Ontario, Canada. This past weekend we needed to perform emergency maintenance at our old data center to prepare for the next wave of migrations.

Regarding our support availability, please note that our phone number is posted in the top right corner of every single web page at www.netfirms.com and www.netfirms.ca, and is open 24/7. There is also a Live Chat button on all of our web pages. 1-888-334-3833

If you are still having issues please post your domain name or email it to me at daniel at netfirms.com and I'll look into it for you.

We do apologize for the length of time it has taken for email responses.

Marketing representative (flora.chan@netfirms.com, ).
Frank (fkc8091@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
We have been hosting with Netfirms since March of 2004. It started out as a decent relationship, with only occasional problems (email issues or server timeouts). As time went on, they offered more features without additional cost - very nice. However I do have a few particular issues that I feel could have been handled better.

Firstly, the price of $10 per month for the Business service is a little on the pricey side, considering that much of their competition offers more for less.

Secondly, about three years back, our club photo album was accidentally erased. They refused to retrieve what would have ultimately been about 10Mb of photos, many irreplaceable, from their daily backups.

Thirdly, they have instituted an automatic renewal program which does not notify the site owner of the impending renewal. On top of this, they renew 9 days before the renewal date.

On this third point: I manage this Netfirms site for our social club. They received a charge to their card, out of [read more...]
I would like to take the time to respond to your review. While I can't speak specifically as to what happened a few years ago with your photo album, I can assure you that if we were not able to restore it for you then it was because it was simply not available or accessible. We would not flat out refuse to restore something if it was available to us. Daily backups is not a service that we have offered in the past.

Regarding the automatic renewal, this is a service that has always been in place at Netfirms. We do provide the ability to our clients to have automatic renewals disabled by contacting our customer care department.

We send out automated emails at 30 days, 15 days and 7 days prior to expiration/automatic renewal of a product at Netfirms and in some cases we also have one of our customer care reps call our clients directly. We never bill our clients without notification first.

The email notifications and calls are made to whoever is listed under the Billing [...]

Marketing representative (flora.chan@netfirms.com, ).
George (post58364ca@h...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Issues with slow speeds and email issues seem to arise soon after a repair or reboot was preformed.. Mysql servers are overloaded creating slow speeds.
Official response from us, Netfirms.

My name is Dan and I'm the webmaster at Netfirms. I wanted to take the time to address some of the concerns that have been listed here over the last little while.

I am not here to deny or rebut any of the complaints listed below. In fact I can attest that most of the issues brought up have been genuine concerns of ours and have not gone unnoticed.

Please note that over the last year and a half Netfirms has completed a move to a brand new office location and on-site data center. We have greatly expanded our capabilities with this new 21,000 sq ft. server room and have already begun the migration process for some of our clients. The move to this new location will allow us to address a lot of the performance issues that some people have complained about.

As email and webmail have been a recurring complaint we have launched a brand new webmail service which has addressed the concerns our clients have had.

Including the upgrades to our [...]

Marketing representative (flora.chan@netfirms.com, ).
Tim (tjweb@g...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Control Panel
Netfirms works well for me. Worked out of the box for hosting Wordpress. My only complaint is that I have to turn off domain privacy. I guess its enabled automatically when I signup. For some this is a benefit but for me, I wanted our whois record to be our address. Was an easy fix by going to the domain manager.

I have hosted at other Cpanel hosts and found Netfirms to be more reliable. Of course being a large host with over 800,000+ sites hosted, they wait time to get in touch with a rep was over 5 mins. It used to be 1 min about 2 yrs ago. Hopefully they will see this an improve. They are good via phone when you reach them. Their webmail needs to be better.

Overall an 8/10
Jeremy Sturgell (esbyoda@y...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
The last few days webmail service for my netfirms accounts has been unreliable (to put it mildly). Now, it's been completely down for most of today.

Their supposed "24 hour customer service" rang busy all day, and now that I've actually gotten a response I've been on hold for an hour. Useless.

This is madness, now I'm going to have to switch.
Bruce E. Quinn (bruce@t...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have no complaints about the price but apparently the adage you get what you pay for rings true again. After multiple attempts to find a resolution to webmail issues, i have still yet to hear from someone. To be fair, i have had very few problems that visitors to the website would experience, but then again, my sites are simple. My only issue is with netfirms webmail. if they can get that fixed, i'd be a fairly happy camper.
Kiandra (shestarrrrr@y...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I just got off of the phone with the "Retention Manager", named "Matt" and he and "Michelle" are the worst scammers in Web-Hosting history. I purchased the Business Hosting Plan that included "5 Free Domain Names for ONLY 119.00" and after I hit "submit" to authorize the charge to my card, they ended up charging my card for the full price of 175.40! This happened Feb 12, 2009 and even though their website boasts of a 24/7 phone customer service support, there was no phone support available until today (Monday, Feb 16, 2009).

This morning, after acting like he was fixing the problem by cancelling the previous account and charging me for another $119.00, it turned out that he "could not fix the problem". After getting disconnected, I had the pleasure of speaking with the rudest Customer Service reporesentative named "Michelle", who then told me that I could not get reimbursed for the domain names (even though they were "free"). After she finally transferred me to Matt, he informed [read more...]
andres (vilerandre@h...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I’m really upset, I know that they do not charge a lot for domain registration and for that reason plus tons of advertising they have many businesses but this could be the cause that they have been making “mistakes or failures” frequently.

I bough my domain name whit them, some days after I try to get it for the first time but I can not get access, I sent a email about this issue, they answer me that the payments was not executed… next I contact then, and the answer was that they need a scan of my credit card.. I did it so and email to them.. But after that they said that they do no receive the mail “sorry…

I reviewed my sent folder emails and everything works well, no deliveries failures etc.

I was so worry, that my info is floating around the internet (nobody knows) jeopardizing my identity, money etc.
I have to call my bank to cancel my credit card and they told me that they have 2 cases more with the same firm…

So do match… failures on systems or corrupted [read more...]
Ionut Sandru (isandru@g...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Go get ur services somewhere else, netfirms just can't do it right....
applego (fgmubqczx@w...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Customer Relation
Control Panel
it is a took had probably then eventually We had where I spent planted gardening one night, rich flavor. their names a scientist. about because magnificent
Tom (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Netfirms is super reliable and secure. Their control panel is easy to use.

Thomas
CJ (c.nguyen@e...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I've been on the advantage plan for 2 years. BI've been trying to move my domain for the last 2 years due to bad service and poor up time. They are refusing/delaying the release of my domain to my current host. It is now in "redemption status." Customer service just told me I have to pay them an additional $135 this year or I won't see my domain name back until 10/08. I paid it because I can't afford to have my site down that long. I felt like I just been through an exthortion scheme.
Betty (betty@h...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
It seems like it is the luck of the draw whether or not I will get an attachment. I use the webmail on their site and I can not even gat a 60K file. It is stuck in limbo. This is a repeated problem I have. My hotmail account is more reliable with attachments. Also, seems like it takes hours at time to get an email. Besides the email issues, the rest I have had no problems.
Zhida Lan (zhida@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Their database size has limit. It is 25MB per database. This information is not listed in their ad. You will have this problem until your web site has setup and data is large. Then you were told that the database has reached the limit.
Otmar Koenig (otmar.koenig@a...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Hi,

I'm using now Netfirm advantage since 2 months, before I have been using the basic package netfirms plus for long time. My main concern was to build a forum using php and MySql, this I executed about 6 weeks ago. The first two weeks it worked not so bad (irrespective relatively low speed), but then the troubles began about 4 weeks ago. The errors at calling the database was getting more and more, and sometimes (two or three times per day, up to one hours) the forum was not accessible. I tried to find help and wrote a lot of E-Mails to the support team, but all was in vane, they have only four stereotypic different answers, that they gave me cyclical (shown here below abbreviated):
1. I shall clean my explorers cache, then everything will work fine, and then a long description how to do this.
2. My Internet service provider is not functioning right
3. Everything is Ok, they tried to reach my forum, and everything was alright.
4. They asked me questions about frequency of [read more...]
Fred linkus (ebonyleg@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have been with netfirms since 1998. The problem with netfirms is that they used to be good and cared about cutomers concerns.. Now that they have quite too many hostings..they are arrogant. Pompous and self assuming. Their attidude is that we dont care about you. After all we netfirms are one of the largest hosts and we can do without your business. I tried to get netfirms to install PHP Zend. They were really arrogant and told me that if php zend was that needed and they dont have it, how come they are still one of the largest hosting companies without it.
You also have to watch and make sure you check out nefirms billing. They have a negative billing system. That is they will automatically charge your credit card and renew your domain to the next upgraded hosting plan without your approval. They have a very shady billing system. If they fail to renew your domain automatically, They will send you an email. But what happens is that after you renew it Manually ...they enter your [read more...]
Wooster (fake@e...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Currently, my experience is with the Netfirms advantage Plan. I have to admit they are out right generous with the bandwith and the amount of space they provide. PHP, CGI, FTP, and MySQL are a ton of nice features.

But... they like to dummy things. phpMyAdmin has been striped of some of the more flexible abilities. Also, Additional FTP accounts are obligated to have username.# afterwards. MySQL User Accounts have Cryptic Usernames, Database names and Passwords attached to them. Granted, that makes hacking into the databases difficult, but retrieving those values if/when forgotten becomes a hassel.

Also, Backing up Large SQL databases is next to impossible. With the 5-3 meg timeout limit users are obligated to send a request e-mail to Netfirms to back the database up. Netfirms support E-mails have historically been very unhelpful.

Also, their automated phpBB install script is running 2.0.6, As of now, phpBB is running 2.0.19; Inbetween there have been many security holes [read more...]
These Netfirms customer review(s) and ranks are the subjective opinion of our visitors and not of whtop.com staff.
Trademarks, logos & names are properties of their respective owners and protected by law.
Disclosure: Although we attempt to provide useful and accurate information we can not guarantee that it is always right. This is a professional website that may receive compensation from some providers which we review and promote or advertise, however that does not affect our reviews ratings!