123 Reg negative review #712 by Annoyed123 (tommy@s...) on Oct 2006

123 Reg got a negative review on

123-reg.co.uk
123 Reg
The Shipping Building, Old Vinyl Factory, 252 – 254 Blyth Road
Hayes , MIDDLESEX UB3 1HA
UK
Tel 0345 450 2310
Customer review #712
1/10
Annoyed123 ( tommy@s... )
Time Hosted 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Prices / Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
123-Reg Warning

This is a heads up warning to all of you that are considering committing yourself to any sort of dealings with 123-reg.

My saga started in March 2006, is still ongoing as of 22 October 2006 and is completely unresolved.

Unwittingly, in March 2006, I called on the services of 123-reg to pre-register many .eu domains on my behalf. In April 2006 I was informed that the majority of my chosen domains were unsuccessful and I would be getting a refund. I was disappointed with the failures but at least I knew I would be getting my money returned.

On 28 April 2006 I received many automated emails from 123-reg informing me that I could set up a credit account for the refunds and that this credit could be used to purchase any of the 123-reg services. I decided to take up this offer as I intended to purchase more domains, InstantSite Pro and web hosting packages.

Many weeks elapsed without any sign of the refund. Scores of emails later, 123-reg eventually apologised and informed me that they were doing their level best to satisfy the overwhelming demand in response to refunds on .eu domains. Stay calm, at least they have apologised for the outrageous delay.

During June 2006 credit finally started appearing on my account. However, by the end of June 2006 over £400 had still not been credited back to my account and so I demanded an explanation. After not getting any response to my many additional emails I decided to call on the assistance of the so called 'Consumer Champion' from the WebUser magazine. Unfortunately, WebUser did not take up my cause and never even acknowledged my complaint. I found this rather strange because 123-reg had been awarded best host 2006 by WebUser readers so one would have thought that WebUser themselves would have wanted to get to the bottom of my grievance.

On 3 August 2006 although I was still missing a lot of credit, I decided to purchase a domain with the credit facility I had with 123-reg. Unbelievable as it may seem I discovered that I could not purchase the domain with my credit facility. 123-reg agreed that it was a problem and it would be sorted within the week.

On 4 August 2006 123-reg and I disagreed as to what amount of money was showing on my credit account. According to my figures I was short by over £100.

On 8 August 2006 I was still unable to purchase domains with my credit facility that had been set up on 28 April 2006. The following day 123-reg told me that a bug sheet had now been raised and the problem would be resolved by the end of the week or early next week.

On 19 August 2006 in desperation I again contacted the 'Consumer Champion' of the WebUser magazine. Again they never acknowledged my communication.

On 23 August 2006 I was told by 123-reg that my problem was now being escalated to the Product Development Department.

On 5 September 2006 I was finally informed by 123-reg that I could now use my credit facility to purchase domains. It had now taken 123-reg five months for me to be able to use my credit facility that was agreed on 28 April 2006.

On 7 September 2006 a ticket was raised by 123-reg in order to sort out the £100 shortfall on my credit account.

On 24 September 2006 I eventually took the plunge and decided that I was now ready to purchase InstantSite Pro and web hosting packages with the funds that 123-reg held in my credit account. After all, 123-reg had somehow been voted 'best host for 2006' desite my traumas. Guess what? To my amazement, I discovered that I could not purchase InstantSite or web hosting packages with my credit facility that stood at over £300.

On 29 September 2006 after many emails on my behalf and weeks of investigation by 123-reg it was discovered that despite my instruction via email and by telephone, 123-reg had taken it upon themselves to issue some of the refunds back to my credit card. Okay so this explains the missing money but what did they not understand about "Put the refunds into my credit account"? Why oh why, put the majority of funds onto my credit account and then transfer some funds back to my card. Perhaps a case of the left hand not knowing what the right hand is doing?

On 19 October 2006 again after another batch of frustrating emails, 123-reg eventually informed me that they never intended credit accounts being used for anything other than domain purchases. I again complained to 123-reg by saying that their policy is the same as a bank telling me that I can only use my funds to purchase red hot chilly peppers and nothing else. They responded by saying that banks do actually place similar restrictions on funds by only allowing a withdrawal of £300 per day. What utter, utter tosh. Anyone can withdraw all of their funds immediately, granted not via a hole in the wall. Anyway, I didn't want £300 a day, all I wanted was to be able to purchase InstantSite Pro and a web hosting package. Surely no big deal really!!!

Conclusion (well not yet anyway): 123-reg has had my money on credit since 28 April 2006 and to date, on 22 October 2006 I am still unable to get at my funds to purchase anything other than red hot chilly peppers. So I guess I now need to purchase about 150 of the .co.uk type red hot chilly peppers to bring my credit balance to nil.

Oh by the way, to add insult to injury, I am now getting emails from 123-reg offering me a substantial discount if I purchase InstantSite Pro within 3 weeks of receiving their email. If only!!!

Be warned, be very warned about having any dealings whatsoever with 123-reg.

Is there anyone in the world wide web interested in taking up my cause? If so please email annoyed@123-reg-warning.co.uk

308 out of 450 users found this review to be helpful!