Verio review

25 user reviews, 0 support responses, 1 testimonial, 7 products, 0 promotions, 3 social accounts, 112608 domains, Alexa #120816, listed 2005 (#2230)

Most Recent Customer Reviews

-hidden- (-hidden-) / udenap.org
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Do not blame Verio for everything !
Do not blame Verio for everything.
From what I have experienced corresponding and talking to their staff, they're doing everuthing they can.

My ex-WEB provider too was bought by Verio except they did not provide Verio with my e-mail addres (except theirs which I never used) nor where my Domain names were registered, nor my credit card number, etc.

About early August, I noiticed that the changes I was making to my sites weren't being accepted. Of course not : I was still sending them to my former Provider and not to Verio.

Verio had sent me a very police and quite detailed later telling me that they were taking over and how me to update my profile, where and how to send my sites changes (through FTP) and so on which, of course, got back to them in their address which had taken over from my previous provider etc.

Finally, following a phone call to my ex-provider, I was directed to Verio where everything was confusing until I finally phoned them and got everything cleared [read more...]
-anonymous- (canaglobe@g...) / couponcity.ca
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
I have been customer of IX webhosting for years, and all our websites under my account were fully functional up until migration of the websites to Verio started on July 18, 2018, suddenly and without warning. I contacted IX Webhosting customer service after first few days of interruption and I received no help from them; they also refused to refund my money for this year which was paid just before the start of the migration.
I have been constantly in contact with Verio via chat room with technical support staff and via phone with a couple of supervisors, wasting countless hours, to no avail.
Two weeks of emails belong to my colleagues and I lost, and at the end I had to spend hours to recreate the accounts.
All our main Windows-based websites and one of our Word Press website have been down for the whole month, showing errors, and Verio staff keep telling me that their “specialist” are working on them.
Verio also refuses to provide stats for each of our HTML websites that were [read more...]
-anonymous- (contact@e...) / eontek.net
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
terrible service, terrible tech, overall worst experience I've had with a hosting company in 20 years!! In the process of filing legal suit for loss of business against company, and Hideyuki Yamasawa, ceo.
MORE REVIEWS
Listed and verified since 2005
verio.com logo!

Overview

Verio is part of Endurance International Group, Services: Web HostingDomain Registration

About Verio

Verio offers shared website hosting solutions, domain name registrations, VPS hosting and other online services to individuals and small- to medium-sized businesses. Our hosting plans include free site-building software, as well as access to more than 200 other tools and services- everything you’ll need to put your business, blog or hobby online!

Source: http://www.verio.com/verio/about.bml

Verio utilizes two data centers in the Boston, MA area. Combined, they occupy over 2400 square feet of space, comprised of thousands of servers and multiple Petabytes of storage.

Source: https://www.verio.com/about/technology.bml

Being part of Endurance International Group (EIG) they offer similar products like:
Windows/Linux Shared Hosting, Domain Registration, SSL certificates, Web Design, Marketing Services, Microsoft Exchange

Special pages

Server locations:

Boston

verio.com Cover
Website research for Verio on August 17, 2018 by WebHostingTop

Promotions

No website coupons announced! Looking to get a great webhosting deal using vouchers ? Checkout our current web hosting coupons list!
If you manage this brand, you must be logged in to update your promotions!

Add your promo code

Promotion:
Provide the start and end date
if the promotions expires!
Your email (will not be displayed)
How much is 4 + 3 ? Respond with 7
 

PlansWebsite Products

Shared - Windows Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
Verio WindowsfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : Website Builder
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IP's : 0

MySQL Database . 25
Personalized Domain Name (YourName.com) . 1 Free
ShopSite Shopping Cart Starter (15 Products)
Weebly Basic
Website Creator Pages 6
Website Creator Design Templates 100's

POP3/IMAP Email Accounts . Unlimited
Forwarding Accounts [...]
Plan URL : https://www.verio.com/verio/windows-hosting.bml
$9.99/mo.
($ 11.95 after first term)
unlimitedunmetered 1 / unlimited
Shared - Linux Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
Verio BasicfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : Website Builder
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : 1
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 0

MySQL Database . 1
Personalized Domain Name (YourName.com) . $17.99/yr.
Weebly Basic
Website Creator Pages 6
Website Creator Design Templates 100's

POP3/IMAP Email Accounts . 1
Forwarding Accounts & Autoresponder .
Spam Email Filtering [...]
Plan URL : https://www.verio.com/verio/hosting.bml
$9.99/mo.
($ 11.95 after first term)
unlimitedunmetered 0 / 1
Verio EnhancedfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : Website Builder
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IP's : 0

MySQL Database . 50
Personalized Domain Name (YourName.com) 1 Free for a year**
Weebly Premium
Website Creator Pages Unlimited
Website Creator Design Templates 100's

ShopSite Shopping Cart .
osCommerce Shopping Cart
AgoraCart Shopping Cart [...]
Plan URL : https://www.verio.com/verio/hosting.bml
$18.99/mo.unlimitedunmetered 1 / unlimited
Exchange - Windows Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
Exchange BasicfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : 1

$12.95 per month (155.40 billed for 12 months)
5GB mailboxes

With Microsoft Exchange you can...

View your email, contacts and schedule from any location
Use your smartphone to automatically sync your email, contacts and calendar
Share [...]
Plan URL : http://www.verio.com/product/exchange-hosting.html
$12.95/mo.5 GBunmetered / 1
Domains Keep mouse
over features!
Price Updated
.comfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7

TLD Registration Price Renewal Price Minimum Term
.com $11.59 per year $11.59 per year 1 Year
.org.za $20.99 per year $20.99 per year 1 Year
.academy $33.99 per year $33.99 per year 1 Year
.accountant $37.99 per year $37.99 per year [...]
Plan URL : https://www.verio.com/verio/windows-hosting.bml
$11.59/yr.
SSL Certificates Keep mouse
over features!
Price Updated
Domain Validated SSLfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : 1

$10,000 warranty
Secure customer information
May help boost Google rankings
Seal of Trust Logo

A Comodo SSL with Verio will:

Improve customer confidence in your website
Help boost Google rankings
Enjoy the highest encryption at the [...]
Plan URL : https://shop.verio.com/ssl-certificate
$35.99/yr. / 1
Web Design Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
Marketing and Informational SitesfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7

Establish a professional Web presence to promote your business or organization and blow your competition out of the water!

Marketing site design includes:

Five or more standard Web pages
Choice of over 150 template layouts
Choice of [...]
Plan URL : http://www.verio.com/product/MarketingServices/
on request

Contact information is managed by verio.com representatives domainadmin@v..., compliance@v..., veriomedia@v..., webmaster@v..., admin@v..., support@v..., sales@v..., contact@v..., info@v... [login] Claim this businessCreate a free account to manage verio.com listing!

Web stats

Targeting: United States
Details for http://www.verio.com/
Website DNS: ns1.verio.com => 66.96.142.149 ( Burlington ) / The Endurance International Group Inc. - enduranceinternational.com
ns2.verio.com => 65.254.254.161 ( Burlington ) / The Endurance International Group Inc. - enduranceinternational.com
MX::mx.verio.com => 66.96.142.52 ( Burlington ) / The Endurance International Group Inc. - enduranceinternational.com
Server Software: Apache
Website IP: 65.254.228.152
IP Location Country/State/City: United states / Massachusetts / Burlington - see top providers in United States, Massachusetts
ISP Name / ISP URL: The Endurance International Group Inc. / enduranceinternational.com

TestimonialsCustomer testimonials

I don't want to list my site, but I have been a Verio customer, but not for much longer, but oly because I can't afford the cost. Service, uptime, and tech support are amazing however. The tech's are Redhat certified engineers and I found them quite competent as they debugged by Apache server config mistakes. Bandwidth and latency are quite good. The only pro! blem is price... if you need instant access anytime day or night to data center engineers, then go with Verio. Me, I'm looking for less support at less cost.

Add your own testimonial

This form is used exclusively for positive feedback, for a regular review click here

Your Name
Email (will be obfuscated)
One Hosted domain name with this company
Testimonial
(HTML tags are NOT allowed!)
Minim 100 characters!
How much is 4 + 3 ? Respond with 7
 

News / Press release

WHIR Editor Presents at ViaVerio Summit - The Web Host Industry Review is happy to report that its editor in chief Liam Eagle contributed to the content at this week's viaVerio (www.viaverio.com) Partner Summit, held from March 15-17 in Reston, Virginia, delivering a keynote presentation on Tuesday Morning.
Other keynote presenters at the event included Verio's president and CEO Kiyoshi Maeda, senior vice president of global development and products Toshiyuki Yamasaki and VP of sales and marketing Steve Renda.
Officially titled "Trends
Verio Offers Partner Stimulus Package - Web hosting provider Verio (www.verio.com) announced Monday at its partner conference in Reston, Virginia, that it has launched a "stimulus package" for participants in its viaVerio partner program. While the package doesn't seem to include the generous offering up of cash that defines the US government stimulus package this Verio offering is presumably referencing, it is a set of services designed "to help partners grow their businesses and secure new customers." The offering is a set of tools
Verio Plans Partner Summit for March - Hosting provider Verio (www.verio.com) announced on Wednesday that its annual viaVerio partner summit will take place from March 15 to 17, 2009 at the Hyatt Regency Reston in Reston, Virginia.
Addressing the large group of participants in the company's viaVerio reseller program, the three-day event will tackle a variety of issues intended to help partners grow their businesses during a period of economic decline.
Specifically, the event will include technical an expert track featuring speakers ...
[search all verio.com news]

Social Networks

https://www.linkedin.com/company/verio
Verio (est. 1996) is a Privately Held entity having 1503 followers on LinkedIn and 201-500 employees, industry Internet.
https://plus.google.com/+verio
Verio account is having 44 followers and 0 plus one count. Last activity on Jan 6, 2015. See recent Google Plus Posts:
verio.com Icon
- Inc. Magazine sheds light on why experience design is becoming more and more important to stand out: The 9 Must-Read Social Media Articles of 2014
- Streamline your business's processes, and get more done in less time with less people!See why else cloud computing may be right for your growing business: http://ow.ly/CPfLR 10 Benefits of Cloud Computing
- Introducing, Cloud(n)!Get flexibility and scalability with our new public cloud offering: Cloud Computing | Cloud Servers from Cloud Hosting Provider Verio
No official Blog yet!

Domains trend


Verio domain trend

ReviewsCustomer Ratings

The quick stats of Verio profile shows a note average of 2.4 out of 10, counting 25 opinions. (few listed on the top of the page)
As visitor you can rate this provider directly here! If you are part of support team, you can respond to these reviews by going to login

Add your own review [Toggle to basic/advance form]

Required info

Select Hosting Plan
Overall Rating
Time Hosted
Features
Price / Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Your Social URL, Name or Usernameeg. https://twitter.com/YOURID or https://facebook.com/YOURID or https://plus.google.com/+YOURID
Your Email
(will be obfuscated)
Or login and come back to this page
Customer identification(Not public visible. eg Customer=1120 or Account=2121 or Order ID=511AAS3)
Your hosted domaineg. mysite.net. If you have multiple domains, mention at least one!
Summary of your posteg. verio.com is best!
Your review HTML tags are NOT allowed! MINIM 100 characters!
Provide as much information as possible in your review! Too less information may be counted as not relevant and not approved!
Some customers might say good things like: "i'm happy with Verio" or bad things and complaints like: "this company sucks", or "is horrible", "verio.com generated only problems", "scam or ripoff provider", but is your turn now to share your experience!
How much is 4 + 3 ? Respond with 7
 
(3 = 12%)
(1 = 4%)
(21 = 84%)
-hidden- (-hidden-) / wwk.com
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Worst Tech Support on the Planet
Our VPS server was forced to migrate to a new VPS platform. We had been on the previous platform since 1995. First we were told Verio would do the migration, then we were told that they didn't have time to get to it but there was an automated migration tool that would do it for us, then we were told the migration tool did work for VPS accounts, so we were forced to migrate the entire server contents by ourselves.

Now, if you have an issue, and there are many, you have to wait on hold (either phone or chat) for 1-2 hours and then be told by someone from India that they can't help you but they will open a trouble ticket. I have 5-6 trouble tickets open since December and all have gone unanswered. Liars, cheats, and incompetents.
Tim (usadrivesafe@a...) / usadrivesafe.net
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Worst Web Host
I had a hosting account with Verio until 11/28/2016. Verio sent me an email in October of 2016 stating that they were changing servers and that they would not move my website to the new server and that I had to move my website on my own. They gave me a timeline to move my website to their new server or my website would be permanently deleted. I do not have the proper software to move my website from one server to another and would not know how to go about performing this task. Since Verio would not move my website to their new server and I could not move my website to their new server, I created a new account with a web host that offered to move my website from the Verio server to their own server. I had the new hosting company perform the move to their server in November 2016. I then contacted Verio on 11/28/2016 to cancel my account with them. I spoke with a representative and was told that my account was "closed, deleted and I would not incur any future charges". I have the [read more...]
Guido van Es (guido@r...) / responsibletravelperu.com
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Truly horrible services
Have been a Verio clients for a year and a half, hosting two domain names and using them for email services. After about a year things started to go wrong, and my first ticket was opened in May 2015 (writing this in october 2014) asking for help because we were experiencing huge email delays.
To make a long story short I was firstly helped OK by the helpdesks, but soon found out that solutions to minimize the delays were only temporary.
I am now many tickets further, support is getting worse and worse, both from the Phillipines and the States. Promises are made but not fulfilled, and each helpdesk guy has a different opinion. When I asked to speak to a manager they would send me emails saying the issue has been escalated, but never a word from a manager.
Finally, I was talked into buying a more expensive service, where I would not be sharing the server with many others anymore (according to them, spammers were causing huge email queues: sounded plausible) and as such no more [read more...]
brianbhc (brianbhc@g...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
So long verio
We have been with Verio for over 10 years and have seen nothing but horrific service and support for past 4 months. Daily outages with no real followup. I've been discounting some of the previous negative posts, but I've been a fool in doing so. Stay are far as possible from Verio.
Joel (jlibove@u...) / ultraviewcorp.com
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Verio is not viable hosting service for a business
Not a viable webhosting firm for any serious business. Our website has been down for two days now, and Verio cannot determine what is wrong. Verio used to be good, but in the past few years, we've seen an increasing number of outages in their webhosting and e-mail service. With our website now down, we're losing thousands of dollars a day, and Verio just hands us from one useless customer support person to another. Would be laughable, except that their negligence is destroying my business.
ccarr1752 (ccarr@f...) / reliant-inv.com
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Control Panel
Worst host ever
Hands down the worst company i have ever worked with. Their support is pathetic. Supervisors are never available. Their control panel never works. Please hear me when I say that 1 star is a huge compliment. They are like a -50 star company.
rick torres (rick@r...) / ricktorres.com
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
VERIO SUCKS
STAY AWAY! Verio de-activated and deleted my domain name of seven years without any email warning, and then released it to the public where someone else bought my domain name. This should be , and probably is , illegal. Scum. VERIO SUCKS!
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Very outdated packages, low level tech support, every customization is almost impossible.
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Verio is to be avoided
In order to get out of Verio, I had to spend hours (no kidding) working with tech support to release my domain registrations and to cancel the hosting service. It was a nightmare.
verioVICTIM (john@e...) / verio.com
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Verio has diminished to a shadow of its former self.
~ HOLD TIMES OF HOURS
~ NO FOLLOWUP TO SUPPORT TICKETS
~ TICKETS CLOSED WITHOUT ACTION
~ DOMAINS EXPIRE WITH AUTORENEW STATUS
~ DOMAINS RENEW AFTER CANCELLATION
~ THEIR CONTRACT LIMITS LIABILITY FOR THEIR FAILURES AND LOSSES

EVEN McDADDY IS A BETTER REGISTRAR & HOST FOR A WEBMASTER SERVICE!
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I like hosting with Verio. You get useful answers if you need to contact support and the hosting products are robust. Maybe others have more feature, or a lower price, but Verio holds up to the offered SLA and support and customer care works.
Denny (softbaked@m...) / I am afraid they will punish me
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Run From This Host
I'm actually afraid to give this review because the last time I did this, Verio found out and they punished me hard.
I've been with Verio for over 10 years (I host with other companies too). The number one complaint is speed, this is the slowest provider in the market, you complain for 6 months, they charge you to move to another server and in less than 1 year you are slow again, the reason is obvious, they oversell the server(s). The number two problem is the tech support, you have to threaten people to actually get to someone who can even spell "internet" and even they are useless, you are on your own. The number three issue is price, compared to what you can find in the market for the same price is amazing, Verio is charging more because of their name brand, that is it, nothing makes them special unless of course you let expensive slow service. The next problem is the account managers, most of them are useless and will tell you anything to make you happy in the moment. I could go [read more...]
matt (pops_mccoy@y...) / wynesnser.com
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Had 3 domains for 2 years. Recieved several notices that my domains would expire if I didn't renew so I let them go. Verio outo reneweed domains i didn't want and billed me $9.95 each. Refused to refund the charges and then charged $8.95 to cancel service without telling me.
Johnny Glazner (glaznerd@y...) / none
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
The OWNER "JASON COOK" of VERIO has a website designed in MY name with MY pictures posted on it full of LIES and THREATS. HE designed it for a man named RICK TYLER who has kept my 2 sons hidden from me for 14yrs. I have asked MR. COOK to remove this site and he refuses. This is UNPROFFESIONAL as well as CRIMINAL iin my book.
Kathy (kathyryan119@o...) / Covingtonhoa.com
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
They are good as long as you don't need help. They can't even manage a simple renewal of a domain name, I lost my domain due to a one day billing problem. Then I was told by customer service it was my fault because I didn't reply to their email within 24 hours, (I correct my billing info and was charged within 48 hours). I also love how they were able to charge me for webhosting but couldn't manage to process the bill for the registration.
New Customer (-no email-)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I didn't know they can have a domain service this bad.

I'm a very new costumer and I'm already experiencing problems. Ordering went okay but after that, everything went South. The interface is horrible!
The site itself have SO many bugs!!! everyone's right, the site is super slow.

The domain manager is just horrible! I don't have hosting from them (thank goodness!!) however, I get a cpanel anyways?! It's really annoying b/c when you log in you log into cpanel whether you like it or not. I just want to register and manage my domain names--so each time I have to log into cpanel--again the interface is really really bad.

I wish I read some reviews before I purchased from verio before I got myself into this mess! :(
JM Tosses (verio.jm@t...) / tosses.info
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I've been with NTT/Verio for seven years now. I've been a happy puppy because I used to handle everything myself. Now that I need something from NTT/Verio, they let me down. To make matters worse, they stopped communicating. I'm moving away from NTT/Verio - I'm just looking around for some better service before I make the switch. I'm impressed they cannot even follow simple instructions - overall they just don't care for me as a customer at all. They don't listen, they don't escalate, they don't know the simplest things. Never dealt with such a bad support department ever. That's impressive, though. O_o
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Verio - now NTT Europeonline are a terrible service provider. - there is no good customer relations - they are terrible at helping out. They are inefficient and have a major fault with their MSQL service which causes database corruptions and grinds to a halt frequently. This all happened after moving their servers from the UK to Germany at the end of 2008. They have grown too big and are not organised and care very little for the customer - shame on them!!!!!
Frank Wells (sestar@a...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Private web hosting service for 10 years. Verio is failing we had some problems and they dont get resolve the just send you from one tec to another. You never speak to anyone above the avg. customer relations person. We are running on windows server the email failed never to be fixed and now we cant export a sql database. Our company has been impacted greatly and all we do is call and call. They dont care, we even try establishing a shared hosting account we were charged the $10.00 and they never established the account.

We are concern they are going out of business... dont trust them or use them.
Network Support (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Verio's domain service is terrible. The domain manager cannot handle large numbers of domains and is extremely slow. Errors occur regularly. They've spent 5 years claiming to be redesigning the interface and after finally udpating it they made it slower.

WATCH OUT FOR EARLY RENEWALS. Verio will renew your services days in advance of the expiration date without prior notice.

All in all I'd recommend against them. I am currently moving my 400+ domains to another provider.
LD (tkn@t...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Recommend this hosting service. We have had them since the old TABNET days in 1994. Tabnet got bought out by VERIO in 1997.

Tech support is great, and is 24/7. They have been with our growth since 1994 and will continue to host us.

Shared hosting is great for starting. We are now moving up to dedicated servers in the UNIX platform.

Prices are a little higher than competition BUT the service is second to none. Never have a problem getting a techie online.
Charles (toona26157@h...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Hosting 2000. Database and Apache and Joomla ready. You are paying extra for the Tech Support.

Alternate top web hosting companies in Colorado, United States


Compare to best hosting brands from Colorado, United States new

These Verio testimonial(s) and rating(s) are the subjective opinion of our visitors and not of whtop.com staff.
Trademarks, logos & names are properties of their respective owners and protected by law.