Yahoo Web Hosting review

51 user reviews, 0 support responses, 2 testimonials, 13 products, 0 promotions, 5 social accounts, 563482 domains, 552483 hosted, Alexa #6, listed 2005 (#2477)

Most Recent Customer Reviews

-anonymous- (bill.durant@g...) / esfitnessgear.com
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Every time you call tech support for design help, you should plan on staying on the phone for 1 to 2 hours. These are simple questions that they cant figure out. The design program is so ass backwards. one day im adding items and the next day I cant add items because the add items section is gone??? No one knows how to add items so you're screwed. Your website is done and finished when you cant figure out how to fix the simple issue. Try editing your text under the item...lol go to the right when u want to type on the left and vice versa. Go to the beginning when you want to type at the end??? Just weird. I've been designing sites for 28 years. wow. You have no control and support can't help you. I use chat now because I can't understand the Indian accents. These people are very patient but the end result is...I'm sorry, we can't help you solve your simple problem. Poor design
training-for-work.com (trainingforwork@b...) / training-for-work
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Awful awful awful
Do not go with this company there customer service is non-existent. I have been trying to solve a password problem so I can access my management panel for the past 4 months and I have got nowhere. This has essentially made my website useless. They took payment in December and ran a mile.

Don't go there!!!!!
johnnyB (none@n...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Yahoo webhosting is the worst!
I have a client who insisted on going BACK to Yahoo Webhosting after I switched them to Bluehost. It was right when Bluehost got hacked/attacked and they had serious downtime issues for nearly an entire week sometime around August of 2013. The clients reason for wanting to go back was some issues they were having receiving/sending email which I think was some conflict between their ISP (verizon) and Bluehost. It was never resolved as they don't have an in-house IT people so I told him, "Find, ok I'll move your Wordpress based website back to Yahoo."

Well, what a &*#@ing nightmare it has been dealing with Yahoo webhosting. Guaranteed hold time of more than 1 hour each time I call their 'tech' support. Their control panel (if you can call it that) is the worst p.o.s. control panel I've ever seen. It's massively confusing, extremely limited in options and doesn't make any sense. Even the tech support guy admitted that their service is really messed up. In fact, the tech support guy [read more...]
MORE REVIEWS
Listed and verified since 2005
smallbusiness.yahoo.com logo!

Editorial Review

Services: Web HostingDomain Registration Own datacenter | Redirected from: webhosting.yahoo.com

Yahoo! Small Business has now back from using experimental Aabaco Small Business brand.

In early 2015, it was announced that Yahoo Small Business would be a part of a spin-off transaction of Yahoo!’s 40 billion shares in Chinese retailer, Alibaba.
The Yahoo Small Business product line was renamed Luminate, from Aabaco Small Business in preparation for the spin-off. In November 2015, Yahoo decided to no longer use the Luminate brand for its product line, and instead use Aabaco Small Business as the brand to more closely align with the then to-be parent company, Aabaco Holdings. In December 2015, Yahoo ultimately decided to postpone the spin-off transaction, with Aabaco Small Business remaining a part of Yahoo (Source wikipedia)

Yahoo! is top Internet brand globally and attracts the largest audience worldwide - over 237 million unique users per month. You can benefit from Yahoo!'s extensive reach, leveraging the Yahoo! Network to access potential customers and increase awareness of your business brand.

Over the past eight years, Yahoo! has become the Internet's leading global business services company, offering a comprehensive network of essential services for businesses of all sizes. When you choose Yahoo!, you're joining forces with a company that stands for Internet best-practices and expertise.

In 1998, Yahoo! acquired Viaweb, makers of a web-based application that allowed users to build and host their own online stores with little technical expertise. Viaweb was purchased for 455,000 shares of Yahoo! stock, valued at about $49 million. Started in 1995 by Paul Graham, Robert Morris, and Trevor Blackwell,[2] Viaweb was claimed to be the world’s first ecommerce application. Upon acquisition, Yahoo! renamed the Viaweb product to Yahoo! Store.

Scalability
Yahoo! Web Hosting can support your growing business now and in the future.
* They host more than 30 million web sites and blogs.
* They manage more than 50 terabytes of data.

Ease of Use
You can build your own web site! Their easy-to-use tools and services guide you through the process, step-by-step.
* PC Magazine says they offer "exceptional ease of use"
* Their tools make complex tasks easy for everyone.
* 24-hour support and Getting Started guides quickly answer your questions.

Blogging at https://help.smallbusiness.yahoo.net/s/community-blog

Price & Cost

As a Yahoo! Web Hosting customer, you'll get many extra benefits:
* Free domain name
* No extra charge for our web site building tool
* Huge storage and data transfer capacity
* Virtually unlimited databases
* Multiple email addresses with plenty of storage
* Advanced scripting and database tools

Reliability

They provide a reliable platform for online business services so you can avoid costly investments in hardware, software, and IT staffing. Their systems are monitored around the clock and we devote significant resources to maintaining highly reliable facilities. These measures allow them to support your growing business and to help you deliver a superior customer experience.

You get the same trusted back-end technology that supports the Yahoo! network.

* Consistent 99.9% uptime helps ensure that customers can access your site.
* They frequently back up your web pages - so you don't lose changes.
* Redundant links to Internet backbones help your site load faster.
* Multiple data centers help keep your web site up and running.

They are serious about security and provide many ways to help safeguard your data
* Extensive physical and electronic security measures protect our data centers.
* Shared SSL certificates help protect your customers' data.
* Passwords can be used to control access to your site.
* Advanced anti-spam and virus software helps protect your email.

Data Center

Yahoo! Small Business devotes significant resources to maintaining highly reliable facilities that store your web site, store or email data.

Always Available
These facilities are staffed 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year, so someone is always monitoring the hardware that your email, web site, or store needs to run. They provide the support for your growing online business needs and help prevent your site or email from going down.

Security Measures
They have implemented a number of safeguards and policies to protect against unauthorized users and environmental hazards that could compromise your data.

Customer Support

Unfortunately, this is not their strong point, but you can still contact them over the phone and email/ticket system.

Control Panel

Yahoo!'s intuitive, powerful tools, extensive help resources, and skilled customer care associates make it easy to take your business online -- no matter what level of experience you have. It truly has never been easier get your business online.

Conclusion

All the benefits you get as a Yahoo! Web Hosting customer add up to one incredible value.

Special pages

Server locations:


smallbusiness.yahoo.com Cover
Website research for Yahoo Web Hosting on May 25, 2018 by WebHostingTop

Promotions

No website coupons announced! Looking to get a great webhosting deal using vouchers ? Checkout our current web hosting coupons list!
If you manage this brand, you must be logged in to update your promotions!

Add your promo code

Promotion:
Provide the start and end date
if the promotions expires!
Your email (will not be displayed)
How much is 4 + 3 ? Respond with 7
 

PlansWebsite Products

Shared - Linux Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
Store EnterprisefeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal, Wire Transfer
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : E-Commerce
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IP's : 0

Hands-on help
A full-service team with 20 years of ecommerce experience
Plan URL : https://smallbusiness.yahoo.com/stores
on requestunlimitedunmetered 1 / unlimited
BasicfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal, Wire Transfer
Control Panel : [In-house]
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : 1
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IP's : 0

For personal sites and blogs
100 subdomains
Free domain
Select a 1, 3, or 5 year plan to receive a free associated domain, including renewal costs, for as long as your subscription is active. Additional domain extension options are also available [...]
Plan URL : https://smallbusiness.yahoo.com/hosting
$4.49/mo.100 GB1 TB 1 / 1
AdvancedfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal, Wire Transfer
Control Panel : [In-house]
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : 1
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IP's : 0

For businesses sites
Includes all features in Basic
Unlimited site pages
Unlimited resources
Yahoo Small Business services are intended and designed to meet the needs of personal and small business websites. This is why some of our [...]
Plan URL : https://smallbusiness.yahoo.com/hosting
$5.89/mo.500 GB5 TB 1 / 1
PremierfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal, Wire Transfer
Control Panel : [In-house]
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : 1
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IP's : 0

For websites with high traffic

Includes all features in Advanced
1000 email addresses
Unlimited disk space

Unlimited resources
Yahoo Small Business services are intended and designed to meet the needs of personal and small business websites. This [...]
Plan URL : https://smallbusiness.yahoo.com/hosting
$6.79/mo.unlimitedunmetered 1 / 1
Store BasicfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal, Wire Transfer
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : E-Commerce
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IP's : 0

Unlimited product listings
Unlimited storage space and bandwidth
Unlimited resources
Yahoo Small Business services are intended and designed to meet the needs of personal and small business websites. This is why some of our plans offer [...]
Plan URL : https://smallbusiness.yahoo.com/stores
$20.75/mo.unlimitedunmetered 1 / unlimited
Store ProfessionalfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal, Wire Transfer
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : E-Commerce
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IP's : 0

Lower transaction fees and more email

1% transaction fee
30 email accounts
API access for 3rd party solutions

Unlimited product listings
Unlimited storage space and bandwidth
Unlimited resources
Yahoo Small Business services are [...]
Plan URL : https://smallbusiness.yahoo.com/stores
$48.25/mo.unlimitedunmetered 1 / unlimited
Store PremierfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal, Wire Transfer
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : E-Commerce
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IP's : 0

The lowest overhead for larger businesses

.75% transaction fee
1,000 email accounts
API access for 3rd party solutions

Unlimited product listings
Unlimited storage space and bandwidth
Unlimited resources
Yahoo Small Business services [...]
Plan URL : https://smallbusiness.yahoo.com/stores
$149.33/mo.unlimitedunmetered 1 / unlimited
Domains Keep mouse
over features!
Price Updated
.comfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal, Wire Transfer
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7

* Pricing limitations
Offer applies to the first year price only when you buy a new domain for 2 years or more.
$0.95 for first year when you buy 2 years or more for domain extensions: .in, .us, .click, .co.in, .net.in, .shop, .org.in
$1.95 for [...]
Plan URL : https://smallbusiness.yahoo.com/domains
$3.95/yr.
($ 15.99 after 12 mo.)
Website Builder Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
LitefeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal, Wire Transfer
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : E-Commerce
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 0

A free month so you can start now
Free yahoosites.com domain
150+ templates to choose from
Mobile-optimized website
Unlimited site pages
Unlimited
Our services and products are intended and designed to meet the needs of small [...]
Plan URL : https://smallbusiness.yahoo.com/websites
$5.00/mo.3 GBunmetered 0 / unlimited
BasicfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal, Wire Transfer
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : E-Commerce
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IP's : 0

Everything your business needs to get online!
1 email mailbox + multiple email aliases

Free yahoosites.com domain
150+ templates to choose from
Mobile-optimized website
Unlimited site pages
Unlimited
Our services and products [...]
Plan URL : https://smallbusiness.yahoo.com/websites
$7.00/mo.5 GBunmetered 1 / unlimited
ProfessionalfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal, Wire Transfer
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : E-Commerce
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IP's : 0

More functionality for your website!
Private domain registration
5 email inboxes + multiple email aliases

Free yahoosites.com domain
150+ templates to choose from
Mobile-optimized website
Unlimited site pages
Unlimited
Our [...]
Plan URL : https://smallbusiness.yahoo.com/websites
$10.00/mo.10 GBunmetered 1 / unlimited
Emails - Linux Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
20+ MailboxesfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal, Wire Transfer
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7

Bulk discounts for larger businesses. Call (866) 781-9246 to get started
Plan URL : https://smallbusiness.yahoo.com/mail
on requestunlimitedunmetered
1 MailboxfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal, Wire Transfer
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7

1 Mailbox Just for you As low as $3.19 per mailbox, per month, billed annually

Our servers are secure and trusted. Join savvy business owners and separate your professional life from your personal email.

Business Mail is email that was [...]
Plan URL : https://smallbusiness.yahoo.com/mail
$3.19/mo.unlimitedunmetered

Contact information is managed by smallbusiness.yahoo.com representatives webmaster@y..., webmaster@y..., hosting-support@c... [login] Claim this businessCreate a free account to manage smallbusiness.yahoo.com listing!

Web stats

Targeting: United States
Details for https://smallbusiness.yahoo.com/
Website DNS: presalesats.sbs.g03.yahoodns.net => 98.139.28.144 ( Lockport ) / Yahoo! Inc. - yahoo.com
cname => :presalesats.sbs.g03.yahoodns.net:98.139.28.144
Server Software: ATS
Website IP: 98.139.28.144
IP Location Country/State/City: United states / New york / Lockport - see top providers in United States, New York
ISP Name / ISP URL: Yahoo! Inc. / yahoo.com

TestimonialsCustomer testimonials

You guys are excellent! I really appreciate all your help and all that you've done to keep our websites going. We'll keep recommending your services where/when ever we can
I have been looking at for a different hosting service to host my website, but after looking at other testimonials for the other websites I believe I will leave it where it is longer.
The good thing about it is my website has never been down. My emails , never lost.
The thing I wish where different, being able to use PHP 5 and being able to edit the config file.
I have never had a SQL problem and have the basic bus. plan.
At one time I had a custom php shopping cart and on the fly php picture resizing. No problems.
They are hard to get a hold of but never had too.
I have hosted here for about 2 years, and now have unlimited space and bandwidth and email space.
Again, after reading the other testimonials , especially about the emails, I will probably stay. Losing emails would just about end our business.


However, you can only have one domain name per plan.

Add your own testimonial

This form is used exclusively for positive feedback, for a regular review click here

Your Name
Email (will be obfuscated)
One Hosted domain name with this company
Testimonial
(HTML tags are NOT allowed!)
Minim 100 characters!
How much is 4 + 3 ? Respond with 7
 

News / Press release

Yahoo Offers Grants for Women - Yahoo! Small Business (smallbusiness.yahoo.com) announced on Tuesday that along with entrepreneur Carolyn Kepcher and her multimedia company Carolyn and Co Media LLC (carolynandco.com), it has launched a new grant program to promote women's entrepreneurship enabled by the Internet.
The new program called "Seeds for Success: Empowering Women Entrepreneurs," (seedsforsuccess.smallbusiness.yahoo.com) will award three women with business grants including cash, mentorship and technical services for
Yahoo! Studies Holiday Shopping - Internet service provider Yahoo! Small Business (smallbusiness.yahoo.com) and research firm Harris Interactive Survey (harrisinteractive.com) released the results of a study this week that found three out of four holiday shoppers will buy gifts online this holiday season and that most are likely to purchase from a small business.
Survey respondents also expressed strong support for e-commerce with small businesses that offer a secure payment system, easy customer checkout and free shipping. ...
Yahoo! Enhances SMB E-commerce Service - Yahoo! Small Business (smallbusiness.yahoo.com) announced this week that it had completely re-designed the checkout process for its hosted e-commerce solution Yahoo! Merchant Solutions.
 The company says the new enhancements enable Yahoo! merchants to customize their online stores, helping them streamline the checkout process and improving the overall shopping experience for their customers.  The new features, available in a beta release, include checkout page branding and customization, ...
[search all smallbusiness.yahoo.com news]

Social Networks

https://www.linkedin.com/company/yahoo
Yahoo (est. 1994) is a Public Company entity having 405294 followers on LinkedIn and 10001+ employees, industry Internet.
https://plus.google.com/+yahoosmallbusiness
Aabaco Small Business from Yahoo account is having 994 followers and 0 plus one count. Last activity on Feb 25, 2015. See recent Google Plus Posts:
smallbusiness.yahoo.com Icon
- Is your SEO investment working? #SEO #smallbiz Local SEO: Is the ROI Worth the Billing?
- Great insight on marketing automation. #marketing #automation ​Is Marketing Automation A Big Investment?
- Yahoo merchants taking shipping labels to the next level! #shipping #ups Yahoo merchant makes it easy to print branded color UPS labels
Yahoo Web Hosting Blog  Using Tumblr (3.0; @yahoosmallbusiness). First post from Apr, 2016, with total 25 articles. See recent blogs summary posts:
- Celebrate early with a treat for your small business - The holidays are in full swing and there’s no better time to treat yourself to 30% off on website and business mail products that can help you launch your own small business before the new year. Thes
- It’s now free to launch and build a business online with Website Builder Starter - By Ramesh Padmanabhan Product Manager, Hosting and Website Builder Yahoo Small Business Today Yahoo Small Business introduced a Starter plan for our Website Builder product that allows users to ...
- Yahoo Small Business launches improved Localworks for small businesses - By Dilip Deshpande Yahoo Small Business, Product Manager We’ve updated our Localworks product that allows businesses to build and control an local online digital presence. Localworks is not just a pa

Domains trend


Yahoo Web Hosting domain trend

ReviewsCustomer Ratings

The quick stats of Yahoo Web Hosting profile shows a note average of 2 out of 10, counting 51 opinions. (few listed on the top of the page)
As visitor you can rate this provider directly here! If you are part of support team, you can respond to these reviews by going to login

Add your own review [Toggle to basic/advance form]

Required info

Select Hosting Plan
Overall Rating
Time Hosted
Features
Price / Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Your Social URL, Name or Usernameeg. https://twitter.com/YOURID or https://facebook.com/YOURID or https://plus.google.com/+YOURID
Your Email
(will be obfuscated)
Or login and come back to this page
Customer identification(Not public visible. eg Customer=1120 or Account=2121 or Order ID=511AAS3)
Your hosted domaineg. mysite.net. If you have multiple domains, mention at least one!
Summary of your posteg. smallbusiness.yahoo.com is best!
Your review HTML tags are NOT allowed! MINIM 100 characters!
Provide as much information as possible in your review! Too less information may be counted as not relevant and not approved!
Some customers might say good things like: "i'm happy with Yahoo Web Hosting" or bad things and complaints like: "this company sucks", or "is horrible", "smallbusiness.yahoo.com generated only problems", "scam or ripoff provider", but is your turn now to share your experience!
How much is 4 + 3 ? Respond with 7
 
(1 = 1.96%)
(1 = 1.96%)
(4 = 7.84%)
(7 = 13.73%)
(38 = 74.51%)
unimpressed (doesntmatter@y...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Yahoo Small Business Free Listing
Don't bother listing your business for free with Yahoo. You sign up and then you verify your business if you are lucky that works. Then you wait years for it to go live. I don't know what kinda team they have for reviewing listings but they never get around to it obviously. Customer Service is a waste of time they direct you to a form that never does anything for you. Don't waste your time. We have a few clients that host with them too and its nothing but problems everytime. The only thing Yahoo is good for is spam emails. Why haven't they shut down yet?
Jean Jean (eguagii@g...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
smallbusiness.yahoo.com is the worst web hosting ever!!!
sure the sales department will pick up the phone within 1 munte, then for customer care over an hour and maybe more with useless assistance.
Justin (bank@n...) / UPhZDoVQYirAHhUuNh
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
hNJPBNGFHGIOWh
free hosts should be your last rrsoet, if you want reliable service without advertising sind.dcberraschenderweise Ebay tons of ads for web hosting resellers. Accommodation you can from a dealer on Ebay 10/year for very little money sometimes as little as $ or less! To find out which companies are visiting the best and most reliable: . com / If you operate a website or critical business plan wouldnt, I even reseller cheap from Ebay. Your best bet would be a monthly fee of somewhere or how Inmotion FatCow be.
mabiena (mabiena@y...) / northerncountrymusicassociation.org
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Probelm with Java outweighs advantages
I like Yahoo site builder. As a newcomer to site building I found it easy to manage. This is why I have stuck with it. However, I'm now looking around to find another hosting pregram. I am frustrated by the fact that I cannot run Java 7 on my computer without causing problems with Sitebuilder. Running an older version of Java is not acceptable. I want to know when this will be fixed.
ti1995 (ti12091@g...) / nosite.com
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Would Avoid
I would suggest staying away from Yahoo Small Business, here's why. Anytime someone attempts to hack your sight you typically have access to the .htaccess file to block the offending IP address. This is not true with Yahoo Small Business. Subsequently, anyone can easily bring your site down simply by making automated calls to any of your pages, particularly if that page makes a dB call. And, (here's the good part), there is nothing you can do to stop it. Yahoo support will not block IP addresses via request and they do not have automated intrusion detection. So, if someone doesn't like your site, they can very easily take it down until a hosting provider takes them down (could be days or months even if you can trace the IP address).
P00P D0LLAZ 4U (poopdollaz@y...) / zombo.com
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Yahoo hosting ain't so pretty
Where to begin... The control panel is outdated, confusing, and slow. Yahoo doesn't allow access to an .htaccess file, so there's a big security issue right off the bat. What's worse is that their servers also run PHP v4.3.11, so if you're planning on using Wordpress you're stuck back in the dark ages (also the buggy and insecure ages) with v2.9. Save yourself a headache and stay away from Yahoo.
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
FIND ANOTHER HOST
Yahoo has NO support and the Unlimited storage is in reality limited to a couple hundred megabytes NOT GIGABYTES even, yahoo has made every aspect of email about as horrible as anyone could.
AF (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Managing my website is complicated. (Other hosting companies are much easier)
Have been with Yahoo businness for almost 10 years.
Also have domain EMAIL with them.
On January I stopped receiving emails for 3 days.
I had a hard time finding out why.
Turns out my credit card expiration date was 2004.
How did they renew from 2004-2011 with no problem?
And if they are my EMAIL provider, couldn't they have sent my an email notifying me? THEY HAVE MY EMAIL ADDRESS.
Almost 3 days without businness email is unaceptable.
I am going to go to another hosting company...
John (john@j...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
The don't support .htaccess nor do they support PHP5. The customer service agent didn't even know what an .htaccess file was. Yahoo is beyond ridiculous. They are a joke.
no (no@n...) / yahoo.com
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Yahoo needs to die. They have ruined so many companies since the early 90's. I have no idea why they still exist. I have dozens of web sites hosted with them through the years, and each one a complete nightmare. I hate this company with a passion.
James Dawson (jamestdawson@y...) / jamestdawson.com
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have used Yahoo web hosting for many years. I found repeated difficulties in uploading using their file manager and was forced to use an ftp program at additional costs. The site statistics are confusing and lack sufficient detail. The renewal fee for the web hosting was more than twice that of other competitors, despite the fact that I had been with Yahoo for more than five years.

I placed an order to move the domain/hosting to Ipage. I then canceled my Yahoo Business Account. For more than a month I have been trying to work with Ipage, Yahoo and the domain registrar, Melbourne IT, as Yahoo is merely a reseller of domains, to no avail. each time I page and Melbourne contact Yahoo on my behalf I get an auto-generated form from Yahoo on how to reopen my account. By this method, I can only move the domain if I am willing to purchase another year's web hosting. As I no longer am a Yahoo Business client email and phone support is not available.

I am not willing to spend [read more...]
Marc P (marcp@y...) / notanymore
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
They charged my credit card without my authorization. They stalled in xferring my domain out of their system. They charged my credit card way in advance of the due date. They didn't want to give me my money back even though I was still paid up for another month. Their automatic renewal rate is $35.00/yr just for domain name. STAY AWAY, if you already have a domain name and will xfer it out, do it at least 2 months before the billing date or you will get screwed!!! They somehow kept charging my expired credit card on file until they came up with the correct dates. STAY AWAY!!!!
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
FIVE DAYS (SO FAR) THAT AM UNABLE TO UPDATE MY FRONTPAGE WEBSITE. ALL THEY WOULD DO IS TELL ME THERE WAS A SYSTEM-WIDE PROBLEM, AND THAT THEIR ENGINEERS WERE DOING THEIR BEST.
-anonymous- (-no email-) / bluerootswebdesign
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Do NOT host your website on Yahoo. ANY other hosting service will be able to provide far superior customer service, webhosting tools (FOR FREE!) and any other information you need to get your website and email up and running. Whether your a beginner or advanced in web design DO NOT purchase their so called "business hosting" or these over-priced monthly e-commerce tools when there are far better developed and supported tools out there FOR FREE. They treat their customers like it's the 1993 and that building websites is scary and complicated so you better pay them monthly fees up the *ss to let them handle it for you. On top of that their cost for minimum hosting and sub-par service is about 50%-80% higher than prosperous competing hosting providers which offer far more for far less money while making it easier to do whatever it is you want to do. Yahoo email seems nice though... except you can't easily link it to Outlook without paying.
JoAnn (joann@m...) / mulloy.biz
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
They changed my plan without notice. They overcharged me. The call back service sucks, you get to talking to a bullshiter who acts like he understands nothing,
New Entrepreneur (gacarrigan@v...) / pawdacious.com
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I really wanted to like the Yahoo web building tool and hosting features for a new small business owner. However, after several attempts to use their store building feature, I finally gave up. Their web tools are very primitive and don't allow you to see what the final object will look like before you plug
FrustratedinNYC (darcynaganuma@g...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I would SERIOUSLY reconsider using Yahoo Web Hosting. For reasons unknown to me, my small business website disappeared. When I called yahoo to inquire, I was faced with an automated service that placed me on hold for over 45 minutes. When I finally reached a customer service representative, I was told to contact the abuse department via email. I complied, only to discover, the next day, that my yahoo business and personal email accounts had both been deleted. I researched online and called customer care (horrific, all day affair), and was informed that my contacts and data (emails and website) had been permanently wiped--BY YAHOO! Nobody was able to help me, and I have yet to hear back from the abuse department (only reachable via email). This all came out of nowhere with no written explanation, courtesy phone call, or action taken on the part of yahoo. I am shocked and appalled by this outrageous breach of trust and customer loyalty.
geek (geek@h...) / anon.com
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I just had to write this on YAHOO, but I would advise everyone to keep away from them. They must have extremely crappy old servers and nothing has changed..

They are running PHP Version 4.3.11 which is outdated and is not of the required spec for bulletin boards such as vbulletin (Must be 5.1 or higher etc).

Seriously, RUN RUN RUN before yahoo bites the dust.
phani (phani@e...) / eatcashew.com
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
The Worst service they provide for hosting and also designing. No. one fraud people. They made me call 20times in a single day and they do disconnect the call if we ask any service. If we put any mail they just do copy paste of un related matter. Guys dont never ........ pay and host ur sites with this yahoo.com. they are the fraud.....
James (scorpio_34_s@y...) / Latinsweetie.com
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Do not host your website on yahoo. There are so many complaints about yahoo shutting your website down. I was a customer of yahoo hosting for over 3 years someone told yahoo I had a copy right violation on my website. I address the issuse with yahoo and thought the issue was resolve , instead of yahoo coming back to the loyal customer to see if I resolved the issue. Yahoo shut my site down and sense I didnt backup the files on my local computer they kept my database and web application files. Go to google and type in yahoo shut my website down and see how many complaints you will find in yahoo. Years worth of work was gone. Yahoo will not allow you to retrieve your database,application files or email. DO NOT USE YAHOO HOSTING. My website had issues 25 percent of the time, from being off line or running extremly slow.
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
yahoo is worst..
no customer support
no updation
only more support on yahoo us
other countries no facility.
they told unlimited
if your disk space exceeds 5GB then they tell to remove the datas
Cristian (blond@y...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Your PHP MySQL library version 3.23.49 differs from your MySQL server version 4.1.14. This may cause unpredictable behavior.
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Your PHP MySQL library version 3.23.49 differs from your MySQL server version 4.1.14. This may cause unpredictable behavior.
jordan (-no email-)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
web host is slow, database connections between website and database kept timing out(problem on there side of the servers) its basically cheap crap dont go with yahoo!
sxz52 (sxz52@h...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
very bad .. they don't replay my emails .. and they not upgrading thire server .. old Mysql ... new stuff will not work or have problem working in thire server .. and very slow site .. and it disconnect alot of time .. and the mysql always serveral time disonnect .. i am waiting my last 4 monthes to near end to get another webhosting ..
Zorro (deankjm@y...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I bought some domain names with them and they renew the yearly charge for a domain name is $40. Be careful when you pay either $2 or $10 a domain name, its recurrent charge is $40/year and they don't tell you. I canceled the domain name and they still charged me $40 only months later when I scanned my Visa bill and found this bastar Yahoo had charged me for me cancelled domain.
Ivan (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
This is my horrible experience with Yahoo yesterday.

I've been using a Yahoo! Small Business for the past 3 years to sell items on the internet with my company. Since international orders are flowing in, we heavily rely on their small business mailbox. Last month, I got a problem with my other yahoo domain. They charge me for the renewal of the cancelled service. I disputed that charges because I gave them enough time and notice (and they confirmed it via email) to cancel the service. I write them twice using the yahoo callback form but we got no answer. I followed them up, but still no answer. I cannot call their toll free hotline because we are in the Philippines and we dont have access to it.

So, realizing that Yahoo will never replied to our complain, I call my bank yesterday for a charge back. Yesterday evening, my staff called me informing me that they cannot log in to our yahoo account. Yahoo cancelled all our service in response to the charge back!

They put us on [read more...]
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Yahoo totally sucks. Bought business hosting. Redelgated the nameservers to yahoo but domain still pending at Yahoo after 90 hours. They do not reply emails. Their "will call you" service didn't work. And no point caling from abroad ($$) to them with waiting times of over an hour.

I think I'll wait til next morning - if no reply, no email, no site. It is adios Yahoo. I'll take my money elsewhere.

By the way I have a domain registered at Netfirms. Double checked from them I had done the change of the name servers correctly. And got a reply from the support in 15 minutes. Something for Yahoo to learn. I'd go for Netfirms / all - but I don't like their email - our freelancers are more used to Yahoo.
aditya bhatia (adityaab@g...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Review In one line "Dont go for Yahoo Hosting."

Dear Friends,
Yahoo Hosting is the costliest shared hosting and has no features at all. As my dear friend hetal has already reviewed that yahoo does not provide .htacess support. which is important for any database centric website. without .htacess your database can be stolen it is like a lock for your Database.

So you will not be able to host any kind of dynamic website, and host only static website.

Do not waste your money on Yahoo Small Business in turn put it on fire and watch it burn. or if really want that money to work Donate it to some one.

If you want to host a a better website than yahoo then go to the worst Space provider. You will get a better service. and better customer care. or if you have already bought a website like me then start cursing your self as nothing else can be done now as you have lost your money and domain to yahoo, you are struck now you cannot go any where.

Best of luck folks if U want [read more...]
Fusun (fusunyu@y...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
For some unknown reason I have lost my administrative privileges. I have sent yahoo 3 email in the last 3 days and the issue is still unresolved.

They claim they answer all email is 24 hours, but that is a false claim.
Bisqui (carlo.bisqui@g...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Yahoo! webhosting service is VERY BAD. Their Customer Service neverl answer.

they have some PHP bugs and version issue.

MySQL service is irresponsive 80% of the time. Error 500 or connection issues.

Have issues with sites taking a long time to load or not load at all
Rich (walawncare@c...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
I signed up with Yahoo in April of 2008 to host my website and have had my account charged for the fee every 3 months since then. However, Yahoo did not take over my website from the other hosting company as they said they would. Yahoo has been charging me for a service they did not provide, nor can I get anyone from Yahoo to help me with this problem. People need to beware of what I believe to be fraudulent activities from this company.
Dave (dave@3...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Until today, we hosted 15 sites with Yahoo. Out of nowhere Yahoo's Abuse department decided to down one of our sites for TOS violation. We had done nothing and we alone manage the site. Hack? Yahoo support has no phone access to the Abuse department. You can either email or fill out a form on the abuse site. 24 hours later the reply to my email said the 'TOS was violated - that's why we took down your site'. No kidding. No reason how or why. So I filled out the form. There is a field in the form which is labeled "Who are you reporting?". I wasn't reporting anyone - just my problem - but, after trying 3 times, I was not able to submit the form without filling in that field. I didn't want to put anyone else's Yahoo ID in so - unfortunately - I put in mine. Now all sites associated with that Yahoo ID are down. No email. No site. Nothing. We may not even be able to retrieve our files. It is very scary to realize that anyone can enter any ID and down multiple businesses. Goodbye Yahoo.
Anon ymous (omnigate@y...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Yahoo! webhosting service is VERY BAD. Their Customer Service will answer about 1 in 5 emails. And when they do, it's just a link to their knowledge base that has little to do with your exact problem or a blow-off like we don't see any errors here, move along.

I tried loading some PHP code and got a version error (requires v5). Tested and the code on Yahoo! is version 4. I asked if they had an upgrade scheduled and when that might be - no reply.

Added MySQL service and get this error "Your PHP MySQL library version 3.23.49 differs from your MySQL server version 4.1.14. This may cause unpredictable behavior." Called tech support and they said it would need to be escalated. Never got a call back or email.

Have issues with sites taking a long time to load with these appearing at the bottom "Waiting for visit.webhosting.yahoo.com" and "Read.us.js2.yimg.com". Again, sent in the problem, no response.

Mobile logon to your website's email doesn't work, it will only log onto [read more...]
hetalsagar (hetalsagar@r...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
They are not provide .htaccess support. i surprise that they are not provide basic service. i can rate it 0 but there are not options for that. never take yahoo service. you can not host dynamic site. you host only static site. hetalsagar@rediffmail.com
Dubravko (dubix21@y...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
YAHOO hosting comes with old PHP, old SQL, you cant implement TYPO3 and modern PHP libraires, they don't respond to emails, but they have 30 day money back guarantee. So you cancel hosting, and if you want money back this is not enough. You must call them by phone. Very handy (for them obviously) ! And they give how many? 1000 emails? But in one day you can send only 250.
Daniel (danide@g...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
This webhosting is horrible, it is fast but technical solutions are slow, can not contact with anybody. old software for php mysql, if they want they stop the server, mails are very restricted....I do not like them Maybe one day google starts webhosting and this guys get buy by them and starts working propperly
Boycott Yahoo! (crovelli@h...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have attempted to contact Yahoo, through many different methods, for 9 MONTHS in order to resolve issues regarding CONSTANT downtimes and SQL SERVER failures. I keep logs of all noticed downtime and errors and it's absurd. I'm attempting a business and the UNRELIABILITY and NON-EXISTENT customer service/support is amazing. why are people putting up with this. 30+ hours of downtime a month is no good.

They will not return my emails. These emails sent are not rants, by the way, they are specific questions and concerns.

Nothing. No response. 9 Months and counting.

My next stop will have to be to the Santa Clara District Attorney's Office or BBB to get a proper response.

All I want is to run my business and for them to fulfill their promise to run theirs. $ome thing$ are more important than other$ I gue$$.

DO NOT GET INVOLVED WITH YAHOO.
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Yahoo pulled down our site and will not tell us why. We are just a community group and now we have lost our database and our web presence until we can figure out how to solve this problem. Stay Away!!!!!

They purposefully make it hard to reach them and then after two hours on hold you get off the phone with very little information.
Stay away! I came up with a test to find out how good (or bad) a company is. Call their customer service line and ask to either cancel service or place a complaint- see how long it takes for them to answer. Today I called Homestead- it took 3 minutes to answer- I am looking in to them!!!
mk (mike_kent@h...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Although their Web Site Builder is easy to use and I have been using their services for my other websites for several years, I'm not happy with their pricing that they have changed. Some hosting plans that you listed in your review are no longer available such as starter plan that used to be offered really cheap. Now they offer plans that start from at least $35 to use both email and domain services. Also, they charge for filtering junk mails, if you don't pay for that service, you will receive milions of junk emails every day. NO CUSTOMER SERVICE, I have never heard back from them, even once!
Tammy Roberts (victorychapel@c...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
The only website construction I'd ever used before was with Google and when I switched to Yahoo I was amazed at the ease of creating the site! It's the best as far as I'm concerned and I would never go a different way! Even a novice can create a professional site. Don't be afraid to try. Download the Yahoo Website Tools to your desktop and have your site build in a few hours! Go Yahoo!
Gail Matano (gmat13@o...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
When I changed my internet provider, and my email changed, my website stopped working. Yahoo doesn't have the right to keep charging me for a website that they stopped. I have spent over 5 hours on the phone, it was sent to "engineering", and was supposed to be fixed within 3 to 5 business days. I'm still waiting 2 weeks later, with no response! I've sent countless emails, only to receive generic automated responses. I am going to change my webhosting service, and stop Yahoo payment on my credit card. It will be a lot easier than to try to get someone to actually try to help me at Yahoo!
Raj (-no email-)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Yahoo's has worst customer service. I couldn't speak to customer service agent even after waiting on phone for more than an hour.
luis flores (jp_rda@y...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
We use site for administrative tools (prices, inventory, invoices, etc) Suddenly site sent a "forbidden" Message, no acces to MYSQL, imposible to reach them by phone, Mail answers are a joke, automated answers, they dont read your problems!!!: "your problem is temporary and will be fixed soon, ..." same responswe always. Really disappointed, but if site is not critical to you it may be ok.
Jean Pickering (jpic333@h...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Your review does not match my experience. Here are the facts. I sent emails to which Yahoo's support team never responded. Their URL redirection for subdomains does not work. They only allow one user ID for MySQL databases which creates a security risk for sites that use a database. It took 5 days for their technical staff to solve a php mail problem. During that time, they did not respond to my inquiries and the pages that used php mail on my client's web site did not work. Their technical staff is not 24 by 7. Their price is higher than other web hosting plans that offer more services.
Perhaps on the surface, they look good, but once you start actually using their services, they seem to lack the technical expertise and support staff to host professional web sites.
1websitedesign (submissions@1...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
London based website design company offers website design, shopping cart development, web development, SEO services, server administration services, web hosting.
keeper of stores (storekeeper@g...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
The reason why I rated this the lowest possible, is because of their Terms of services located at

"9.2 Content Ownership

Yahoo does not claim ownership of the Content You place on Your Service. By submitting Content to Yahoo for inclusion on Your Service, You grant Yahoo and its successors and assigns, the world-wide, royalty-free, and non-exclusive license under Your copyrights and other intellectual property rights, if any, in all material and content displayed in Your website to use, distribute, display, reproduce, and create derivative works from such material in any and all media and display in any manner and on any Yahoo property the results of search queries and comparisons conducted on Yahoo, including, without limitation, searches conducted on Yahoo Shopping and the Service. You also grant Yahoo the right to maintain such content on Yahoo's servers during the term of these Terms and to authorize the downloading and printing of such material, or any portion thereof, by [read more...]
aenima666 (aenima666@v...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
How secure is their database.......I've been billed for something I didn't buy from them. I has previously bought 2 domains from Yahoo and then a couple of months later I'm getting billed for a hosting plan when I actually have my own dedicated server. This is ridiculous.

At least, Yahoo were pretty fast to correct the situation and did reimbursed the amount billed to my credit card. The same thing was different with www.1and1.com tho, they basically told me to fuck off. So I'm transfering the domains to my own domain registration company http://domains.binair-ehosting.net. I haven't seen any SSL certificates for both of the companies, Yahoo and 1&1 that is, something which even my starting company can afford.

I think they would have to get their stuff reviewed a bit in order to offer more secured transactions and secured information in databases.

Later,

Alternate top web hosting companies in California, United States


Compare to best hosting brands from California, United States new

These Yahoo Web Hosting testimonial(s) and rating(s) are the subjective opinion of our visitors and not of whtop.com staff.
Trademarks, logos & names are properties of their respective owners and protected by law.
Disclosure: Although we attempt to provide useful and accurate information we can not guarantee that it is always right. This is a professional website that may receive compensation from some providers which we review and promote or advertise, however that does not affect our reviews ratings!