pair.com review

11 user reviews, 0 support responses, 0 testimonials, 17 products, 1 promotion, 4 social accounts, 116309 hosted, Alexa #33282, listed 2005 (#1740)

Most Recent Customer Reviews

-anonymous- (humbads@g...) / atensoftware.com
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
I have had a dedicated server since 2010 with pair networks. Tech support is and always has been phenomenal. Through 2017, they regularly (every 2 years) upgraded the hardware of the server at no extra monthly cost and zero or minimal one-time fee. The best part was the upgrade was totally handled by them (no effort on my part). Then, in Jan 2018, they went from being owned by the original owners to bought by another company. There have been no hardware refreshes since then, and no plans to offer any. Hardware upgrades cost an arm and a leg. IMHO, the new owners are treating the company like a cash cow and just milking the customers who are locked in. The dedicated server hosting plans do not even list the CPU you get, just the number of cores. What in the world! They are not serious about dedicated servers anymore. I've already moved to another company, but sad to see such a great dedicated hosting company go downhill.
-anonymous- (infolox@w...) / embedded.ch
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
pair.com was best for 20 Years, now it's useless
I im now for 23 years at Pair.com and i'm now about to leave, because the
shared servers are sometimes so slow, that a page which usually
takes less than 1 second to load loads in up to 120 seconds.
Load averages go up to 140 and this is really a mess.
-anonymous- (info@a...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Worst Billing Support
Customer phone support are excellent...but we tried for years to migrate our account but could not get it to happen. We paid a lot of money and did not use 30% of our allocation and received grief beyond grief. They send you chocolates which are terrible when you have a high value account. Gouge Gouge Gouge
We are leaving after 20+ years
MORE REVIEWS
Listed and verified since 2005
pair.com logo

Overview

Services: Web HostingDomain Registration ICANN registrar Own datacenter | Redirected domains: pairdomains.com pairnic.com hostpair.com

About Pair.com

Over the years, pair Networks has expanded dramatically from its humble beginnings. The original partial T-1 line has been replaced by ultra-high capacity fiber optic circuits to multiple providers. What was once a single Ethernet hub is now a multi-tiered, fully-switched local network. And the single 120MHz "powerhouse server" has become thousands of servers in constant upgrade rotation. That single employee is now an entire team of professionals working 24/7/365 to support our valued customers.

pair Networks quickly grew from hosting a pinball website to providing homes for thousands of websites in over 120 countries

The pair Networks name stands for honesty, reliability, and performance. As the years go on, we will continue to work to improve our services, launch new offerings, and most importantly of all, serve our customers.

With a 22 year history, we've had to invent and build our own tools along the way. The great part for you is -- our tools are optimized for our systems and your hosting experience. And they're supported by the people who know them best -- us. Whether you're using our custom-built and highly secure control panel, easily adding free SSL certificates to your account, or configuring automatic backups, you'll appreciate that we built the kinds of tools we want to use.

We have built our own Pittsburgh facility to precisely meet our needs, and have selected a best-in-class partner for our Denver facility. Our facilities feature multi-stage security, FM-200 fire suppression systems, battery backup, and independent redundant generators. Our network boasts redundancy and capacity, with 10 GigE connections to multiple backbone providers.

Source: https://www.pair.com/company/pair-facilities.html

Server locations:

Pittsburgh

Special pages


pair.com screenshot
Website research for Pair.com on December 11, 2018 by WebHostingTop

CouponsPromotions

Code THG free setup ('Toms Hardware Group') - No time limit
Visit website pair.com

Add your promo code

Promotion:
Provide the start and end date
if the promotions expires
Your email (will not be displayed)
How much is 4 + 3 ? Respond with 7
 

PlansPair.com Website Products

Shared - Linux Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk space Transfer UpdatedFree domain /
Allowed
Package 1featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : CPanel
Category : Backup, Wordpress
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 0

Support 24/7

MySQL Databases 15

Drag and Drop Site Builder
Available 1-Click WordPress Install
24/7 US-Based Support
500 Custom Email Addresses

All Web hosting services include our 100-Day Money Back Guarantee!
Plan URL : https://www.pair.com/webhosting/shared.html
$5.95/mo.15 GB75 GB 0 / unlimited
Package 2featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : CPanel
Category : Backup, Wordpress
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 0

Support 24/7

MySQL Databases 30

Drag and Drop Site Builder
Available 1-Click WordPress Install
24/7 US-Based Support
500 Custom Email Addresses

All Web hosting services include our 100-Day Money Back Guarantee!
Plan URL : https://www.pair.com/webhosting/shared.html
$9.95/mo.30 GB150 GB 0 / unlimited
Package 3featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : CPanel
Category : Backup, Wordpress
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 0

Support 24/7

MySQL Databases 60

Drag and Drop Site Builder
Available 1-Click WordPress Install
24/7 US-Based Support
500 Custom Email Addresses

All Web hosting services include our 100-Day Money Back Guarantee!
Plan URL : https://www.pair.com/webhosting/shared.html
$17.95/mo.60 GB SSD300 GB 0 / unlimited
Package 4featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : CPanel
Category : Backup, Wordpress
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 0

Support 24/7

MySQL Databases 80

Drag and Drop Site Builder
Available 1-Click WordPress Install
24/7 US-Based Support
500 Custom Email Addresses

All Web hosting services include our 100-Day Money Back Guarantee!
Plan URL : https://www.pair.com/webhosting/shared.html
$29.95/mo.80 GB SSD400 GB 0 / unlimited
Dedicated - Linux Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk space Transfer UpdatedRAM /
Dedicated IPs
Dedicated HostingfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : CPanel
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Available 24/7
RAM : 8000 MB
CPU : 4 Cores / 4 Threads CPU
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 1

Truly Fully-Managed
Server Software
Network
Operating System
Security
Server Hardware
Email
Network
Backups
Software Patches

Database Servers
Load Balancing
Multi-server Networking
Custom Software Installation
Storage Solutions
WordPress-Optimized [...]
Plan URL : https://www.pair.com/webhosting/dedicated-servers.html
$99.00/mo.250 GBunmetered 8 GB / 1
Colocation Keep mouse
over features!
Price Transfer UpdatedDedicated IPs
Package 1featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : Fully Managed
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Available 24/7
Dedicated IPs : 4

Space: 4 Units of Rack Spaceor Shelf Space 8" Wide
Bandwidth 4 Mbps
Power 5 Amps, 120 Volts
Escorted Access

Secure Facility
Our facility is continuously staffed, secured, and monitored.

Diverse Network
We utilize multiple backbone providers over [...]
Plan URL : https://www.pair.com/webhosting/paircolo.html
$199.00/mo. $249 Setup Fee unmetered 4
Package 2featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : Fully Managed
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Available 24/7
Dedicated IPs : 10

Space: 10Units of Rack Spaceor Shelf Space 20" Wide
Bandwidth 10 Mbps
Power 10 Amps, 120 Volts
Escorted Access

Secure Facility
Our facility is continuously staffed, secured, and monitored.

Diverse Network
We utilize multiple backbone providers [...]
Plan URL : https://www.pair.com/webhosting/paircolo.html
$399.00/mo. $449 Setup Fee unmetered 10
Package 3featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : Fully Managed
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Available 24/7
Dedicated IPs : 24

Full Rack or Shelf Space 48" Wide
Bandwidth Purchased Separately
Power 20 Amps, 120 Volts
Escorted Access

Secure Facility
Our facility is continuously staffed, secured, and monitored.

Diverse Network
We utilize multiple backbone providers over [...]
Plan URL : https://www.pair.com/webhosting/paircolo.html
$600.00/mo. $1600 Setup Fee unmetered 24
VPS - Linux Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk space Transfer UpdatedRAM /
Dedicated IPs
VPS Starter IfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : CPanel
Category : Backup, Wordpress
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Available 24/7
RAM : 2000 MB
CPU : 1 vCPU
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 0

Support 24/7

Fully Managed
Your Virtual Private Server is fully managed by our team of experts. We handle the hardware, the network, the operating system, and the uptime. You never need worry.

Local 24x7 Support
Our support engineering team is [...]
Plan URL : https://www.pair.com/webhosting/vps.html
$29.95/mo.20 GB500 GB 2 GB
VPS Starter IIfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : CPanel
Category : Backup, Wordpress
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Available 24/7
RAM : 2000 MB
CPU : 2 vCPUs
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 0
Plan URL : https://www.pair.com/webhosting/vps.html
$39.95/mo.30 GB750 GB 2 GB
VPS 1featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : CPanel
Category : Backup, Wordpress
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Available 24/7
RAM : 4000 MB
CPU : 4 vCPUs
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 0
Plan URL : https://www.pair.com/webhosting/vps.html
$79.95/mo.60 GB1,500 GB 4 GB
VPS 2featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : CPanel
Category : Backup, Wordpress
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Available 24/7
RAM : 6000 MB
CPU : 4 vCPUs
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 0

VPS Professional Package

Support 24/7

Fully Managed
Your Virtual Private Server is fully managed by our team of experts. We handle the hardware, the network, the operating system, and the uptime. You never need worry.

Local 24x7 Support
Our [...]
Plan URL : https://www.pair.com/webhosting/vps.html
$129.95/mo.100 GB2,500 GB 6 GB
VPS 3featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : CPanel
Category : Backup, Wordpress
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Available 24/7
RAM : 8000 MB
CPU : 4 vCPUs
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 0
Plan URL : https://www.pair.com/webhosting/vps.html
$179.95/mo.200 GB3,500 GB 8 GB
VPS 4featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : CPanel
Category : Backup, Wordpress
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Available 24/7
RAM : 10000 MB
CPU : 4 vCPUs
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 0
Plan URL : https://www.pair.com/webhosting/vps.html
$229.95/mo.300 GB5 TB 10 GB
Domains Keep mouse
over features!
Price Updated
.comfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : [In-house]
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Available 24/7
Price Transfer : $ 9.77

$4.00 When registering or transferring for at least two years.

.net $10.21/year ( Renewals $13.00/year )
.org $11.06/year ( Renewals $13.00/year )

Pricing includes all ICANN fees. All active domain names registered by pair Domains include [...]
Plan URL : https://www.pairdomains.com/
$4.00/yr.
($ 13.00 after 2 mo.)
SSL Certificates Keep mouse
over features!
Price UpdatedDomains protected
pairSSL PositivefeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : CPanel
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Available 24/7
Domains protected : 1

2048-bit SSL Certificate
Up to 256-bit SSL Encryption
SHA-256 Strength Certificate
Domain Validated
Relying Party Warranty $10,000
Domains Secured Single Domain

PRICE:
1 Year $10
2 Years $17

Secure Certificates are available in the [...]
Plan URL : https://www.pair.com/services/pairssl.html
$10.00/yr. 1
CDN Keep mouse
over features!
Price Transfer UpdatedDomains Allowed
pairCDNfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : CPanel
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Available 24/7
Domains Allowed : Unlimited

Pricing
Shared Hosting 10 GB $1.00/per Bucket
VPS & Dedicated Hosting 50 GB $5.00/per Bucket

Each site with the pairCDN service enabled will be billed the monthly rate shown above, per bucket of usage. Data transfer is rounded up to the [...]
Plan URL : https://www.pair.com/services/paircdn.html
on request unmetered ($ 0.1/GB) Unlimited

Contact information is managed by pair.com representatives domain@p..., sales@p..., webmaster@p..., admin@p..., support@p..., contact@p..., Pair Networks - busdev@p... [login] | Last company update:

Web stats

Targeting: United States
Details for https://www.pair.com/
Website DNS: ns00.ns0.com => 216.92.60.60 ( Pittsburgh ) / Pair Networks
ns1.pair.com => 209.68.1.11 ( Pittsburgh ) / Pair Networks
ns000.ns0.com => 216.92.61.61 ( Pittsburgh ) / Pair Networks
ns0.ns0.com => 209.197.64.1 ( Pittsburgh ) / Pair Networks
MX::mx.pair.com => 66.39.66.137 ( Pittsburgh ) / Pair Networks
Server Software: nginx
Website IP: 66.39.3.7
IP Location Country/State/City: United states / Pennsylvania / Pittsburgh - see top providers in United States, Pennsylvania
ISP Name / ISP URL: Pair Networks / pair.com

Customer testimonials

There are no customer testimonials listed yet. You can be the first one to add your testimonial here.

Add your own testimonial

This form is used exclusively for positive feedback, for a regular review click here

Your Name
Email (will be obfuscated)
One Hosted domain name with this company
Testimonial
(HTML tags are NOT allowed)
Minimum 100 characters
How much is 4 + 3 ? Respond with 7
 

Pair.com News / Press release

Rackspace, ZeroLag Most Reliable: Poll - Hosting companies Rackspace (www.rackspace.com) and ZeroLag Communications (www.zerolag.com) have been found to have the most reliable home pages in the industry for the month of September, having been the only two sites that responded to each request made by Netcraft's performance survey throughout the month.
This announcement marks Rackspace's first place showing this year, however, the managed hosting firm known for its "fanatical support" has landed on the top ten for three months in a row
ShopSite Launches Version 10 - E-commerce shopping cart and catalog software provider ShopSite (www.shopsite.com) has released ShopSite version 10, an industry-leading e-commerce software option for hosting providers, online merchants and Web designers, with the addition of an HTML editor, inventory API, and support for Doba drop shipping service.
"We are excited that ShopSite has achieved the status of a Certified Integration Partner, having recently completed an integration with Doba's product sourcing API," Doba chief ...
Pair Networks Nurtures Web Incubator - Web hosting company pair Networks (pair.com) plans to help entrepreneurs turn their web-based ideas into successful businesses through its new pairIncubator (pairincubator.com), a program offering start-up resources and business expertise in exchange for company share.
According to the announcement last week, the web technology incubator is located at the pair.com headquarters in Pittsburgh and will help participants set up their business, provide the use of hardware and workspace, provide ...
[search all pair.com news]

Pair.com Social Networks

Pair.com Blog Blog added on February, 2012, with total 183 articles, Language en-US. See recent blogs summary posts:
- How to Create a Dropship Store with ShopSite - What You'll Need: A Pair ShopSite Hosting Account A Doba Account What is a Dropship Store? A dropship store is a business that doesn't need to keep the products they sell in stock. Instead, they take
- How do I Add Links to My Podcasts - Your website serves as an ambassador to your brand and podcast. It's natural to include a way for visitors to access your podcast on various podcasting platforms. Even if you have your podcasts ...
- How Often Should You Refresh Your Site’s Look and Feel? - When running a website, it's natural to go through a few redesigns over the years. But how do you know when is the right time to refresh your site? The general rule of thumb is to refresh your ...

Domains trend


Pair.com Domain trend

ReviewsPair.com Customer Ratings

The quick stats of Pair.com profile shows a note average of 5.7 out of 10, counting 11 opinions. (few listed on the top of the page)
As visitor you can rate this provider directly here! If you are part of support team, you can respond to these reviews by going to login

Add your own review [Toggle to basic/advanced form]

Required information

Select Hosting Plan
Overall Rating
Time Hosted
Features
Price / Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Your Social URL, Name or Usernameeg. https://twitter.com/YOURID or https://facebook.com/YOURID
Your email
(will be obfuscated)
or login and come back to this page
Customer identification(Not public visible. Example Customer=1120 or Account=2121 or Order ID=511AAS3)
Your hosted domainExample mysite.net. If you have multiple domains, mention at least one
Summary of your posteg. pair.com is best!
Your review HTML tags are NOT allowed! MINIMUM 100 characters!
Provide as much information as possible in your review! Too less information may be counted as not relevant and not approved!
Some customers might say good things like: "i'm happy with Pair.com" or bad things and complaints like: "this company sucks", or "is horrible", "pair.com generated only problems", "scam or ripoff provider", but is your turn now to share your experience!
How much is 4 + 3 ? Respond with 7
 
(5 = 45.45%)
(2 = 18.18%)
(4 = 36.36%)
Olivier (a888@r...) / robeschinoises.fr meskimonos.fr aethersystems.com
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Hosted at Pair since 2000
I started at Pair in 2000 with a Basic account and a static website for hobby.

In 2006 I builded an "eCommerce website" without nothing to sell, just for fun and to make money with Google Adsense. I moved for an Advanced account.

In 2008, I created my eCommerce company. I had 3 eCommerce websites and I was selling clothes.

In 2011, I moved for a Webmaster account, and managed +20 websites. I make 6 figures.

In 2012, I manage +30 websites all by myself (eCommerce, WordPress).

I think to move on a VPS in the next months, because I think to sell abroad. Always at Pair.

In my humble opinion, Pair is a very serious company, the staff knows his business and with whom you can develop your business in the long term. I rarely worry. When one of my sites stops, it's often a MySQL database problem server, I phone to support, and generally, this site restarts within next 10 minutes.

I used to tell my partners: "Pair contributes 80% of my success".

I can not change of web [read more...]

Steve Kinney (admin@p...) / pilobilus.net
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
I have used pair.com for about 8 years, to host static sites including commercial clients with very high bandwidth requirements. I have never seen downtime or slow content delivery, and have never seen a problem with high volumes of e-mail. I have been consistently impressed with the quality of their tech support, on those rare occasions I have needed questions answered.

I am not in a position to comment on complaints re the performance of Wordpress on Pair servers. Pair Networks is a UNIX oriented service and people who intend to "start ignorant and stay ignorant" about the basics of how the Internet works would be well served to go elsewhere. But if you are willing to learn, their online help and how-to docs are excellent.
beth (beth.nicol@g...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I would have rated pair as 10's until I started getting the "why don't you consider moving all of your sites to MovableType" when they disabled them because of high load (these sites are Wordpress and MediaWiki); This has been mostly in the last month (October 2009).

Other than that, I have had very good experiences with Pair and it's Support.
Mike Ross (Squeevox@m...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Pair doesn't read the totality of support messages to them leading to the undoing of previous fixes.
Some of their people are real good but their working fixes get undone by the next guy when you have another query.
They of course assume that I know what they are talking about and give me instructions for a geek instead of consumer.
After over a year of over usage charges they finally told me that they gave me two mailboxes which are filled with spam. I never asked for or needed them; my e mail goes through my domain. So my problem ended up in both billing and support....and somehow sales.
After a lot of money and time I got someone there from support to fix everything thought...and billing and sales got involved and my inbox disappeared again with lost orders,business, personal etc.
I really don't have the time to continue as I have to get in touch with these idiots somehow. I was just checking to see if others posted on the net similar negative experiences.
G W (strangest@c...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Control Panel
I actually switch my clients away from Pair and Pair Networks very cheaply, because it makes maintenance of their site easier in the long run. Pair shared hosting is horrible at best, with no access to log files, .htaccess files scattered everywhere, and seriously botched upgrades which brought our site down for days.
We kept the SSL keys purchased under Pair Networks, and wrote to them a month before they were scheduled to expire, asking to renew only the SSL keys.
We assumed all was good and the credit card would be billed again. But lo and behold, they waited until the DAY OF OUR SSL KEY EXPIRY to tell us that they cannot renew the SSL key, since they no longer host us, and they cannot install it themselves. The site owner was away at a conference, and was livid, as he should be. We're spreading the word about how terrible Pair hosting happens to be.
Harry Davis (hmcl1@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Customer support is exemplary; all emails arrive virtually at the same moment; never any problems. Excellent host, pair.com
vlad (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
very reliable, quick response to email requests/questions. never needed customer service. price is high for the features offered but the reliability of the service makes it worth it. never had a delayed email in more than 6 years.

Alex (alxram@g...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
If you want to host any type of blog or database driven website (like Wordpress) I don't recommend pair. The minute you start getting significant traffic (even on a high-volume account) they'll disable your site without warning. Then they'll act like it's your fault for using Wordpress, and they won't re-enable your site until the traffic goes down. Their 'high volume' accounts are only good for static html based websites.

Alternate top web hosting companies in Pennsylvania, United States


Compare to best hosting brands from Pennsylvania, United States new

These Pair.com customer review(s) and ranks are the subjective opinion of our visitors and not of whtop.com staff.
Trademarks, logos & names are properties of their respective owners and protected by law.