iPower review

65 user reviews, 0 support responses, 0 testimonials, 13 products, 0 promotions, 5 social accounts, 103065 domains, 100415 hosted, Alexa #20837, listed 2005 (#2908)

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Jay (jay@i...) / Idahoster.com
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
I have been with Ipower for over 10 years the past couple of years have been a headache. Ipowerweb sold out No longer a USA company. Customer service which was best in country has gone to worst experience ever. Even their Chat has and india accent. I am in the process of moving all my accounts elsewhere by end of year.
-anonymous- (-hidden-) / alkaloiddezignz.com
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
I am very dissapointed with the functionality of the weebly creator and the email system in ipower....the starter plans for those of us who are trying to start a small ecommerce business is horrible...can't add the simplest of options to items..i understand you get what you pay for but they would still be getting the fees for sales if anyone could actually place an order with options..i planned on upgrading to business or pro plan after a few sales but i plan on using a better company in the future..would not recommend ipower and or especially weebly to anyone....pure crap to scam you out of money a bit at a time...
amerijudge (mario@m...) / mariojuarezcareers.com
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Terrible - Terrible - Terrible
I been a client for ipower.com for over 3 years. I recently underwent a process of consolidating accounts and the failed miserably. They messed the accounts up, the pointed to files to the wrong domains and for the pleasure i got charged over $500.00
MORE REVIEWS
Listed and verified since 2005
ipower.com logo!

Editorial Review

iPower is part of Endurance International Group, Services: Web HostingDomain Registration | Redirected from: ipowerweb.com

At IPOWER, they are listen to their customers and implement changes based on their feedback.

They Customer Experience team do monthly surveys and monitor customer satisfaction and find out how they can improve.
They are constantly looking for newer and better ways they can serve their clients. They leverage their position as a top webhosting provider to forge strong partnerships with industry giants, such as Google, Yahoo and others.

Ipower offers lots of tools to help you create and edit your website. Here is a list of some services:

Design & Professional Services
Web Concierge
Professional Services
Premium Support

Credit Card Processing using PayPal and iPayment

Disk Space and Bandwidth
Additional Disk Space
Additional Bandwidth

Scripting and Databases
MS SQL Database (Windows based servers)
MySQL Database (mainly Linux machines)

Web Site Management Tools
WebSite Creator Premium and E-Commerce by CM4all

SiteLock Basic
ServiceMan

Other Services
Site Backups and Restore
Webalizer
AWStats


Note: Since they are all owned by Endurance International Group, exactly the same services are also offered by:
EasyCGI ( www.easycgi.com/product/services.bml?service=marketing )
webstrikesolutions.com ( www.webstrikesolutions.com/product/services.bml?service=marketing ),
Fatcow, ( fatcow.com/product/services.bml?service=marketing )
IpowerWeb (initial hosting brand for IPOWER),
Netfirms ( netfirms.com/product/services.bml?service=marketing ),
Ipage ( ipage.com/product/services.bml?service=marketing ),
Dot5hosting ( dot5hosting.com/product/myservices.bml?service=marketing ),
Domain Host ( domainhost.com/product/myservices.bml?service=marketing ),
Blue Domino ( bluedomino.com/product/myservices.bml?service=marketing ),
Pow Web ( powweb.com/product/myservices.bml?service=marketing ),
PureHost ( purehost.com/product/myservices.bml?service=marketing ),
Start Logic ( startlogic.com/product/myservices.bml?service=marketing ),
Hypermart ( hypermart.net/product/myservices.bml?service=marketing ),
freeyellow.com ( freeyellow.com/product/myservices.bml?service=marketing ),


ipower.be and ipower.eu are different trademarks used in Europe by separate business.

Data Center

Ipower is sharing the same datacenter in Boston, MA with EasyCGI, Dot5 and few other companies.

Control Panel

Using vDeck which is stable and easy to use.

Conclusion

Quick links:

Products & Services
Web Hosting
Domain Services
E-Mail Services
WebMail
Reseller Programs
Control Panel
Contact Support

Special pages

Server locations:

Boston

ipower.com Cover
Website research for iPower on April 24, 2013 by WebHostingTop

Promotions

No website coupons announced! Looking to get a great webhosting deal using vouchers ? Checkout our current web hosting coupons list!
If you manage this brand, you must be logged in to update your promotions!

Add your promo code

Promotion:
Provide the start and end date
if the promotions expires!
Your email (will not be displayed)
How much is 4 + 3 ? Respond with 7
 

PlansWebsite Products

Shared - Linux Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
WP StarterfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : vDeck
Category : Wordpress
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IP's : 0

Powerful Hosting with FREE Domain Registration
Money Back Guarantee 30 Days
Mailboxes Unlimited
Free Domain Yes
Malware Protection Yes
Site Backup Daily
Number of Visitors Millions
Disk Space Unlimited
MOJO Theme Marketplace Included
Support [...]
Plan URL : http://www.ipower.com/wordpress-hosting/
$3.75/mo.
($ 9.49 after first term)
unlimited SSDunmetered 1 / unlimited
ProfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : vDeck
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 0

BASIC FEATURES
Disk Space Unlimited
Transfer / Bandwidth Scalable
Personalized Domain Name (YourName.com) 1 Free
International Domain Name Support Included
Domains Allowed Unlimited

EMAIL FEATURES
POP3 E-mail Accounts: Supports [...]
Plan URL : http://www.ipower.com/ipower/web-hosting/unix-pro-plan.bml
$3.95/mo.
($ 11.95 after first term)
unlimitedunmetered 0 / unlimited
StarterfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : vDeck
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : 1
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 0

Disk Space 5 GB
Transfer / Bandwidth 250 GB
Personalized Domain Name
(YourName.com) $8.99/yr.
Domains Allowed 1
MySQL Database 1
ShopSite
FTP Account Included
Cloud Storage from JustCloud 1GB

Email Features
POP3 Email [...]
Plan URL : http://www.ipower.com/ipower/web-hosting/unix-starter-plan.bml
$3.99/mo. $10 Setup Fee
($ 3.99 after 12 mo.)
5 GB250 GB 0 / 1
WP EssentialfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : vDeck
Category : Wordpress
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IP's : 0

Powerful Hosting with FREE Domain Registration
Money Back Guarantee 30 Days
Mailboxes Unlimited
Free Domain Yes
Malware Protection Yes
Site Backup Daily
Number of Visitors Millions
Disk Space Unlimited
MOJO Theme Marketplace Included
Support WP [...]
Plan URL : http://www.ipower.com/wordpress-hosting/
$6.95/mo.
($ 12.49 after first term)
unlimited SSDunmetered 1 / unlimited
Pro PlusfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : vDeck
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 0

BASIC FEATURES
Disk Space Unlimited
Transfer / Bandwidth Scalable
Personalized Domain Name (YourName.com) 3 Free
International Domain Name Support Included
Domains Allowed Unlimited

EMAIL FEATURES
POP3 E-mail Accounts: Supports [...]
Plan URL : http://www.ipower.com/ipower/web-hosting/unix-pro-plus-plan.bml
$11.99/mo.unlimitedunmetered 0 / unlimited
Shared - Windows Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
Windows ProfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : vDeck
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : 25
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 0

Basic Features
Disk Space Unlimited
Bandwidth Scalable
Your-Name.com (Free, Personalized Domain Name)
International Domain Name Support
Domains Allowed 25
POP3 Email Accounts: Supports Outlook, Thunderbird, etc. 1000
Forwarding Accounts [...]
Plan URL : http://www.ipower.com/ipower/web-hosting/windows-pro-plan.bml
$6.95/mo.
($ 6.95 after 12 mo.)
unlimitedunmetered 0 / 25
Dedicated - Linux Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedRAM /
Dedicated IPs
StandardfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : CPanel
Category : Fully Managed
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 4000 MB
CPU : Intel Xeon E3 - 1220LV2 3.5 GHZ
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IP's : 3

Independent Control
Cloud-Based Flexibility
Fully managed support included

CentOS 6.4

Included in All Dedicated Plans:
Ability to Create Unlimited:

Domains
Sub Domains
POP3 Accounts
MySQL Databases
FTP [...]
Plan URL : http://www.ipower.com/advanced-hosting/dedi-ppc.bml
$119.99/mo.
($ 149.99 after first term)
500 GB5 TB 4 GB / 3
EnhancedfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : CPanel
Category : Fully Managed
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 8000 MB
CPU : Intel Xeon E3-1265LV2 3.2 GHZ
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IP's : 4
Plan URL : http://www.ipower.com/advanced-hosting/dedi-ppc.bml
$151.99/mo.
($ 189.99 after first term)
1000 GB10 TB 8 GB / 4
PremiumfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : CPanel
Category : Fully Managed
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 16000 MB
CPU : Intel Xeon E3-1230V2 3.7 GHZ
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IP's : 5
Plan URL : http://www.ipower.com/advanced-hosting/dedi-ppc.bml
$191.99/mo.
($ 239.99 after first term)
1000 GB15 TB 16 GB / 5
VPS - Linux Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedRAM /
Dedicated IPs
BasicfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : CPanel
Category : Fully Managed
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 1000 MB
CPU : 1 Core
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IP's : 1

FREE Domain Name Registration
Every VPS hosting plan comes with a FREE domain name registration. Plus we make it easy to transfer already existing domain names!

Included in All VPS Plans:
Ability to Create Unlimited:
Domains
Sub [...]
Plan URL : http://www.ipower.com/advanced-hosting/vps.bml
$19.99/mo.
($ 24.99 after first term)
40 GB1 TB 1 GB / 1
BusinessfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : CPanel
Category : Fully Managed
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 4000 MB
CPU : 2 Cores
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IP's : 2
Plan URL : http://www.ipower.com/advanced-hosting/vps.bml
$47.99/mo.
($ 59.99 after first term)
90 GB3 TB 4 GB / 2
OptimumfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : CPanel
Category : Fully Managed
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 8000 MB
CPU : 4 Cores
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IP's : 2
Plan URL : http://www.ipower.com/advanced-hosting/vps.bml
$79.99/mo.
($ 99.99 after first term)
120 GB4 TB 8 GB / 2
Domains Keep mouse
over features!
Price Updated
.comfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : [In-house]
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7

.com $10.99
.net $11.99
.org $16.99
.online $6.99
.site $5.99
.store $9.99
.website $4.99
.tech $7.99
.space $3.99
.club $13.99
.biz $16.99
Add Domain Privacy to selected domains for $9.99 per year.
Plan URL : http://www.ipower.com/domains/new-domain-extensions.bml
$10.99/yr.

Contact information is managed by ipower.com representatives admin@i..., jmerry@i..., webmaster@i..., admin@i..., support@i..., sales@i..., contact@i..., info@i..., compliance@i... [login] Claim this businessCreate a free account to manage ipower.com listing!

Web stats

Details for https://www.ipower.com/
Website DNS: ns1.ipowerdns.com => 66.96.142.102 ( Burlington ) / The Endurance International Group Inc. - enduranceinternational.com
ns2.ipowerweb.net => 65.254.254.139 ( Burlington ) / The Endurance International Group Inc. - enduranceinternational.com
ns2.ipowerdns.com => 65.254.254.138 ( Burlington ) / The Endurance International Group Inc. - enduranceinternational.com
ns1.ipowerweb.net => 66.96.142.103 ( Burlington ) / The Endurance International Group Inc. - enduranceinternational.com
MX::mx-mg.ipower.com => 66.96.140.64 ( Burlington ) / The Endurance International Group Inc. - enduranceinternational.com
Server Software: Apache
Website IP: 64.150.175.20
IP Location Country/State/City: United states / Massachusetts / Burlington - see top providers in United States, Massachusetts
ISP Name / ISP URL: IPower Inc. / maileig.com

Customer Testimonials

There are no customer testimonials listed yet. You can be the first one to add your testimonial here.

Add your own testimonial

This form is used exclusively for positive feedback, for a regular review click here

Your Name
Email (will be obfuscated)
One Hosted domain name with this company
Testimonial
(HTML tags are NOT allowed!)
Minim 100 characters!
How much is 4 + 3 ? Respond with 7
 

News / Press release

SubmitNet Integrates SEO Tools into Plans - Search engine optimization and marketing platform provider SubmitNet (www.submitnet.net) announced on Monday it has integrated its online marketing tools into the packages offered by several leading Web hosting companies.
Through its partnership with Web hosting providers, such as IPOWER (www.ipower.com), FatCow (www.fatcow.com), PowWeb (www.powweb.com) and BizLand (www.bizland.com), SubmitNet has launched a free, integrated online marketing management solution.
As a result, customers of these ...
ShopSite Launches Version 10 - E-commerce shopping cart and catalog software provider ShopSite (www.shopsite.com) has released ShopSite version 10, an industry-leading e-commerce software option for hosting providers, online merchants and Web designers, with the addition of an HTML editor, inventory API, and support for Doba drop shipping service.
"We are excited that ShopSite has achieved the status of a Certified Integration Partner, having recently completed an integration with Doba's product sourcing API," Doba chief ...
NY News Site Calls Out IPower - In the latest in ongoing customer complaints against IPOWER (ipower.com), the North Country Gazette (northcountrygazette.org) has accused the Web host of several shortcomings after the Web host suffered an unconfirmed server outage on Friday.
The New York state news publication site reported on Friday evening that the Web host alerted customers it was "experiencing technical issues with email" and that they would see a "delay in sending or receiving emails".However, NCG says that IPOWER ...
[search all ipower.com news]

Social Networks

https://www.linkedin.com/company/ipower
About: Founded in 2001, IPOWER has established itself as a leader in the web hosting industry, providing a comprehensive suite of online services for small and medium-sized businesses worldwide. Our custom control panel, vDeck, offers access to more than 200 tools and services, giving our customers the widest selection of web hosting applications available.

Now hiring! Apply today at http://www.ipower.com/careers

IPOWER (est. 2001) is a Privately Held entity having 464 followers on LinkedIn and 51-200 employees, industry Information Technology & Services.
https://plus.google.com/116265855911219226621
IPOWER account is having 90 followers and 0 plus one count. Last activity on Dec 17, 2014. See recent Google Plus Posts:
ipower.com Icon
- Power up your website with email marketing, see offer: http://www.constantcontact.com/ipower-offer Get Email Marketing with Toolkit — Constant Contact
- Arizona wildfire kills 19 firefightersSo tragic. Our thoughts are with the families of the brave firefighters. Prescott fire chief on Yarnell Hill Fire: ‘We’re devastated’
- We’re excited to announce the Beta release of our Dedicated Server offering! These servers are custom built using Intel Xeon E3 server processors, and come with guaranteed RAM in either 4GB, 8GB, or 16GB options running CentOS.Want to be a part of
iPower Blog  Using Blogger. First post from Aug, 2008, with total 25 articles. See recent blogs summary posts:
- Drag and Drop Site Builder Updates - We are excited to release an updated version of our Drag and Drop Site Builder. It will include a number of new features, usability updates, and some bug fixes. The major feature improvements are ...
- Does Green Marketing Really Have Value? - Websites hosted at IPOWER are powered by 100% wind energy. Our customers can add an eco-friendly badge to their homepage. Login here to get your badge.IPOWER's Gone Green?You bet. Granted, we're a ...
- Simply Local Search - 86% of consumers use the Internet to find local businesses. Will they find yours?For only $99/year, IPOWER is offering our Simply Local Search service. Get listed today!

Domains trend


iPower domain trend

ReviewsCustomer Ratings

The quick stats of iPower profile shows a note average of 2 out of 10, counting 65 opinions. (few listed on the top of the page)
As visitor you can rate this provider directly here! If you are part of support team, you can respond to these reviews by going to login

Add your own review [Toggle to basic/advance form]

Required info

Select Hosting Plan
Overall Rating
Time Hosted
Features
Price / Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Your Social URL, Name or Usernameeg. https://twitter.com/YOURID or https://facebook.com/YOURID or https://plus.google.com/+YOURID
Your Email
(will be obfuscated)
Or login and come back to this page
Customer identification(Not public visible. eg Customer=1120 or Account=2121 or Order ID=511AAS3)
Your hosted domaineg. mysite.net. If you have multiple domains, mention at least one!
Summary of your posteg. ipower.com is best!
Your review HTML tags are NOT allowed! MINIM 100 characters!
Provide as much information as possible in your review! Too less information may be counted as not relevant and not approved!
Some customers might say good things like: "i'm happy with iPower" or bad things and complaints like: "this company sucks", or "is horrible", "ipower.com generated only problems", "scam or ripoff provider", but is your turn now to share your experience!
How much is 4 + 3 ? Respond with 7
 
(3 = 4.62%)
(2 = 3.08%)
(1 = 1.54%)
(9 = 13.85%)
(50 = 76.92%)
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
These guys have gone down hill over the last year. I have been with them for 7 years and it was good. There technical support model is the worse I have seen and their customer service is all template based. No one knows what each other is doing. My sites have been down for 3 days now and everyone is saying something different. Sorry Ipower, you played and you lost... Moving to another provider..
wayside (jill@w...) / waysidesewing.com
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Over 6 years and only two outages
I've used these guys for over 6 years, every problem has been handled quickly and professionally. The only outages were handled within hours and the staff was informative and apologetic for any issues called. They pretty much answer any question you ask even if it isn't truely service related, like how to do something with there design tools if you can't figure out what to use. The price of this service is worth being able to speak to someone who understands what you are asking and is polite with the reponse. For over six years of service, and such a bargain price, I think I can handle one 30 minute outage and one 4 hour one.
Bob Remsing (me@w...) / remsing.com
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Long term customer but I've had enough
Terrible system. The damned thing crashes at the worst times. Every year I need to deal with a crash. You can't talk to a human, so they have a chat system. You wait for 20 minutes or so for the privilege of talking to someone via chat who lies to you. Later, when I complain about the lie they tell me I must have misunderstood. What lie? "Within the next hour your service will be restored". Pretty clear to me what my expectations are after that statement.

I am forced to look elsewhere. I have no time for this crap, but apparently I must. I wish I could just find an e-mail provider who could handle my domain, provide me with service without all the drama.
tloislane007 (terilane@g...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Run away and fast
I had been customer of iPower for many years. Suddenly, they started billing accounts I did not want renewed and changed the status in the control panel from manual to automatic was reset. Customer support was horrible. Not only were they rude, but heaven forbid you ask for a supervisor. These guys were USELESS! iPower's motto should be "It is always the customers fault...it is never us".
I am taking away each account from them as they expire.
I hate this company so much. I want to see them fail for treating me so poorly as a customer. I hate them in the strongest way possible. I used to refer people to them years ago. Now, I tell my customers to RUN from them.
Alan Westaway (alhaan30@y...) / awshowreels.com
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
ipower have unfortunately proved themselves to be a morally dubious, money grabbing outfit. I wished to cancel my domain but missed the email telling me they would automatically renew and even though I contacted them within 14 days of the billing date they would not refund. I was charge in the region of 150USD for a domain I didn't want. They're the sort of company that makes their money from oversights and ultimately from other people's misfourtune. Shame on them.
Steven Gerson (steven.shopping@g...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Their customer service has taken poor service to an art form. Almost every time I am stunned by how bad it can be.

There are so many examples I can cite.
-anonymous- (-no email-) / southlakelandairport.com
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
They tamper with your email accounts, I would not recommend Ipower
if you plan to have email accounts through your website
andres (andres28us@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I had set my setting to not be charged again, even got an email saying that the account will be deleted and i will not be charged. well they charged my renewal and i have not idea how because they had an expired credit card, i guess they just started guessing the expiration day on it.. i thought that was pretty bad. they better refund my money soon..or i will cause some trouble. they were not even authorized.
Patrick (decompiled@h...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
One domain, which had had hosting canceled in '07, was still being charged annually for hosting. Finding out that the front office had been paying the bill, I called ipower. The client will get about $45 back from the 2009 renewal, but that's it as ipower says they "have no record of the cancellation," and apparently no records at all about customer activity.

A 2nd domain's information apparently just vanished; ipower could not find it, even though I got to spell it for them phonetically 5 times. With no renewals or emails, it has fallen into Redemption Period, what a headache. HOURS on the phone, ipower says contact TucowsInc, ipower is not the Registrant, TucowsInc say contact ipower, ipower is the Registrant; nobody can do anything unless they get $160.

A couple other domains cannot have the name server information modified because ipower appears to be unable to supply me with the proper information to access opensrs. What boggles me is when did the access info get changed, [read more...]
Paul Snyder (pauls@p...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Low cost, high features, agonizingly slow and incompetent customer service.

I encounter ipower about twice per year, and dread it each time. I stay with them only because of momentum and dread the search/uncertainty/porting to a new ISP. Here is what to expect from them:

You get an email with threatening terms each year indicating you need to pay to renew. However, there is no link to the pay webpage, so you have to navigate their crappy interface to pay. There is no immediate indication that you have paid, so you aren't quite sure. Twice, I paid and then received a second threatening email, and had to phone them to straighten things out.

I started to notice that the terms of my plan for new users increased disk space and bandwidth etc, but they did not offer to increase mine. I asked, and they would not do it until my next renewal (4 months away). At that time, I had to negotiate it, again.

I recently received a renewal notice that had a HIGHER price than new [read more...]
Rick Byrnes (rbyrnes@b...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Aweful,, tons of down time and this latest has been 4 days. every 24 hrs. tech support closes the ticket and calls it fixed when nothing has been done . We found this review page while searching for a new server.. GO ELSEWHERE WE ARE!!!!!!!!!
Rick Byrnes (rbyrnes@b...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Just plain aweful. I ran across this page while looking for a new server. Our site has been down 4 days and every 24 hrs tech support closes the ticket and claims its fixed.. Hasn't been fixed yet.. GO ELSEWHERE WE ARE!!!!
Small business-san diego (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have been with Ipower for 7 years. The first 6 were great the last year horrible. Lots of down time and LOST ( yes Lost) e-mails during upgrade. Was promised everything would be better after the upgrade but e-mails slow or down monthly and they don't seem to understand that a 1 or 2 hour delay in getting an e-mail may means a mad or LOST customer. I am looking for a more reliable company and will change as soon as I find one
Samantha (nothanks@i...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I had months of trouble with IPOWER and finally closed my account and moved to another host company. I still have one client site left on their servers and will move them soon as well. They never fixed the web stats area. I experienced 1-2 hours waits on the phone to customer service from Nov 2007 - Feb 2008...I gave up. They do not answer the phone or return emails....so lame. I opened a BBB complaint on them in AZ....still took a month but finally got 1 years worth of hosting $$ back. They are having huge growing pains and not increasing the customer service staffing.
S. S. (iwantyourjunk@h...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Ipower isn't just the WORST hosting company I've dealt with, it is the WORST company that I've ever dealt with.

I've purchased 50 domains with them 4 years ago and have been pulling them out one-by-one over the last four years. It's taken this long because I've just given up so many times, saying that they're no longer worth the hassle of transferring.

I've made three big mistakes in my 6 years of business and 1 of them is Hosting with IPOWER. I hope they get sued.
Jimmy (fatnao@g...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Ipower.com is really bad service. Be careful! Yes, they are cheap if you can be patient of their bad service. Please go ahead! Honestly, really be careful of this company.
ksolway (ksolway@t...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
IPower is a dreadful host. I recommend you avoid them. The "uptime" for my website was only about 80% for several weeks before I canceled my account with them.
www.innacityarts.com (innacityarts@g...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
holy s***, I had no idea so many people felt this way. ive been saying it for ever. i have a whole lot of domains i bought from them. been pulling them out of that trap one by one. their customer service is pathetic. the worst experience. i get the sense that this companies going down fast..(look at the graphs above) it says it all. i think they are going to crash & burn.
total mismanagement ... can anyone tell me how & where to transfer all my domains to a quality domain/hosting site?
Armando (haloodi@h...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Avoid these fools..... try calling their tech support, or any other number other than sales and you'll never get a human being. i waited more than an hour and a half on hold, still no answer. don't even consider these people.........
Matt (savagebrothersfilms@y...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
You 'renewed' my account on 1/25/08 and charged my card WITHOUT MY PERMISSION!
I CONTACTED FINALLY VIA EMAIL & YOU CANCELLED AS YOU SAY 15 DAYS LATER!

15 DAYS IS WELL WITHIN 30 DAYS. YOU ROBBED ME. GIVE ME MY MONEY YOU THIEVES.

I WILL GIVE YOU THIS ONE LAST CHANCE TO MAKE THINGS RIGHT. REFUND MY MONEY. YOU CHARGED ME $166.80 & 15 DAYS LATER REFUNDED $26.45. HOW IS THAT NOT ROBBERY? $140 FOR 15 DAYS WHEN IT WAS YOUR FAULT THAT I WAS NOT ABLE TO CONTACT YOU DUE TO HORRIBLE HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND HOUR LONG WAIT TIMES ON THE PHONE!

I have tried to get ahold of you on multiple occasions. This is
the worst
> customer service experience I have ever
> encountered.
>
> 45 minutes waiting on hold via phone on 1/24/08
> 52 minutes waiting on hold via phone on 1/25/08
> 34 minutes waiting on hold via phone on 1/26/08
> I've tried to chat online, no agent came to the chat box after 40
minutes.
> I've tried to email you via the website and got [read more...]
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
I wish I had found this site before having all the problems that I have had with them lately.

During one of their recent "email issues" one of our clients told my boss about an email that was sent to me and my boss. We were both on the "TO:" line of the email. I got the email, but my boss never did. I have Exchange server getting the emails for all our staff and I could clearly see (from my own logs) that my Boss never did get that email. I immediately opened a trouble ticket with iPower and when I didn't hear from them after a few days I started to call and use the chat feature on their site. I cannot tell you how many times they told me that "someone is working on it and it will be resolved in a few hours". Finally, after two weeks, one tech support guy said "it has our highest priority on your ticket" (I was told that once before too).

Finally I got a call today from someone asking about my problem and he insisted that he couldn't research my problem. I asked if you lost [read more...]
Jim Moore (omegareport@m...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
The reviews here are very outdated. After being with iPowerWeb for several years I have pulled all but one of my sites off (I design websites for myself and several clients) due to their atrocious (nonexistent!!!!) customer servicw.
To make matters worse, they have switched to a new cPanel (that my other hosts have had no trouble with) and they can't seem to get it right. They obviously didn't test it before shoving down our throats, so what should have taken a matter of hours to get up and running is now taking months.
I STRONGLY advise not using this host.
Richard Rajchel (jazzyrick@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have been a customer of iPower for over 5 years. Soon I will no longer be a customer. My site has been down for nearly a month. I have been on the Pro Plan for 5 years as I said earlier. My CC expired, and the site went down, so I updated my billing info and the site should be up in no time right? Well in iPowers infinite genius they now tell me that I have no FREE Domain credits available on that account.....which I literally just paid for a few weeks ago.

The worst part is that they have changed their tech support handling, so when you call, not only do you sit on hold for 35-90 minutes, but when you get someone on the phone it's just an "information" person. They take all your questions and information on the phone and forward them to a tech support person that will contact you in 24-48 hours.

This tech support change has been recent as I've been dealing with iPower for years. It also seems that they are having a massive amount of problems with their transitioning all [read more...]
James Livengood (jameslivengood@s...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
The worse customer service of any company I have worked with. Have spent 5 weeks and hours of time to move my domain
Mark Brumbaugh (mark.brumbaugh@s...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
cancelled my account without notice, deleting everything without notice. Had an expired credit card. Now I can't get them to give me an authorization code to transfer my registrar
Hans Le Roy (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Do NOT choose iPowerweb. I was hosted with them for years and all was well, until one day things went wrong: web applications refused to work, I got PHP errors in plain HTML files, FTP account no longer working etc etc. Support was useless - they didn't even bother to actually reply to the support tickets.
I expect them to close down very soon now.
Tech Munky (etm@f...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Don' t ask them to help you, it only complicates your account. Customer Service is always horrible. Billing is a joke, you get what you pay for. This company purposely messes with your account until you threaten legal action. I've been offline for 3 months, and they don't really seem to care although they "assure there are engineers working to fix my problem 24/7" I've spent over 10 business days waiting on phone hell hold, and waiting for live chat responses for hours only to complicate the issue more with no resolve. At this point I am wondering if this is a real company, they make promises they do not intend to deliver.
Jim Mason (jimmason@c...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Being that this is my first website and Ipower was my first hosting company I didn't realize how bad this company was until they forced me and my website to a new server.

The server switch rendered my site useless and I was down for over a month and I never recovered because they never fixed the problem.

it was truly a nightmare and my biggest mistake was thinking that Ipower was going to help and they never did. all the prior complaints are true. 2 hour waits were not uncommon just to be disconnected or given the run around. the tech support was ungodly.

the only thing that took me by surprise is that they did refund my money. I wan not expecting that. maybe they are realizing the hole they are in.

well, it was a wake up call. now I use Servint, It costs much more but the speed and the reliability and the tech support is top notch. If you own a website for the sake of running a business don't be foolish, not only would I avoid Ipower but I would avoid shared [read more...]
Lara Gia (laragiwa00@y...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
So far my service with ipower has been ok. (ipower pro plan) For the price i paid i am not disappointed, however i am not too sure what their service was like in the past. I am so convinced about their service that i even wrote a review here.

http://www.candidopinion.net/ipowerDotCom.html

Enjoy!!
Lara Giwa
Alan Carlson (alan@c...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Customer Relation
Do not under any circumstances use Ipower. In the old days (2002-2004), Ipower was a great deal with great customer service. Now it is wait on the phone for hours only to get someone who says they can't help you, but they will create a service ticket. In the last two years, I have not had a service ticket answered in less than 3 days. Contacting billing is impossible. They do not reply to emails, or answer the phone. I have not been able to contact billing in over two years! I am now transferring my domain, I have been working on it for 9 days and still counting.

I would not use them if they paid me!
Liberty Tsighis (libertyt@g...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have hosted multiple sites with ipowerWeb for over 4 years now, and they recently updated their old platform to vdeck3.0. I have not been able to access one of my accounts for over two months and when i call the 1-866 help number I am on hold. The first time i was on hold for one hour and 10 minutes and finally had to hang up, the second time the same thing happened and I have still not been able to get ahold of anyone at customer service to gain access.

I have invested over 2.5 hours of time on the phone and have still yet to speak to anyone. I am at a standstill and am horrifyingly frustrated. I will be moving all of my accounts to a new host before the end of the year. I am thoroughly diappointed and frustrated. Who has 2 hours to wait on the phone, with no expectations set as to what i will need when i actually get to speak to someone?
B. Hafford (kll451@h...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Their poor customer service sinks the deal - make sure you search online for the many horror stories about it. We have contacted tech support by phone or online chat numerous times, and they are consistently backlogged, ignorant, and/or incompetent. Our web site has been unavailable for days at a time, with just lame excuses and no firm timeline for problem resolution. (This is on a single page web site - no commerce, no video, just some images and text. Inexcusable.) Avoid them like the plague unless you REALLY feel lucky.
John Caughman (big_friggin_indian@h...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have given up on Ipowerweb !! For two weeks now, I've been sitting on hold, trying to contact SOMEONE who can come up with answers.. I've received a bunch of emails with conflicting advice, spurious changes to the accounts, while they are screwing around with changing their servers, (at least I think that's what they are doing!), and I cannot log on to my sites to upload files. They, at one time, supported FrontPage extensions, then they stopped without informing me. So I got an FTP program to do some uploading. I can't get it to work on BOTH sites -- only on ONE... They have a muddle of pages (HUNDREDS of THEM !!), in their so-called HELP site, and none of them are helpful, as all they do is direct you to ANOTHER incomprehensible page....
It's a hell of a way to run a business !!!
Heath Buck (info@m...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
This host could care less that you are down, especially this year. I have had a combined 1 month+ of total downtime from Jan - Sept, until I said to hell with them. With all of their troubles, I do not see how they are going to be able to stay in business much longer. Their customer no-service is a joke, anyone remember their servers getting hacked and them blaming the site owners when people were picking up trojans on ipower hosted sites? I gave them the lowest on almost everything, but I am not sure why more people didn't also give them the lowest note on Price/Cost. Sure they may be cheap, but when your down, how much is that costing you?

A few years ago, this host was pretty good, but they have fallen fast.

I have my most recent logs with them on my forum, http://mytechdirect.net/forum/viewtopic.php?f=62&t=998
William Hollenback (w_hollenback@h...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I don't know how they can do this and remain in business. Starting shortly after I renewed for two years the server that I an on has gone down numerous times sometimes for days and when it is up it only last for about two weeks before it is down again. They told me that they were going to move my site to another server and it started working again but two weeks later it was down. At that time they changed the IP address of the site and it took 48 hours before anyone could access the site. Then it worked for about two weeks and is now down again. After being on hold for 40 minutes the customer service person could only say that the server was down and they are working on it.
When I have sent emails to tech support when the site is down they reply the following day after the site is back up and tell me I must have a problem on my end and ask what OS and browser I use.
Norm (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
The worst customer service and technical support of any company I've ever seen. They are simply incompetent. Stay away.
Roland van Helven (roland.vanhelven@g...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
they are known for fraudelent actions. BBB and FTC frequently have to deal with them.

max. number of files 50,000
no matter how many GB they offer your disk quota will exceed below 1GB if you have a normal website. we maxed out at 260MB. yes, MegaBytes.

they charge your credit vard as they like without further notice. it is almost impossible to get a refund.

database tables and email accounts disappear overnight. they demand 50USD for a database restore, email accounts can not be restored.

they suspend or lose entire accounts and claim not to be responsible for the loss.

if you try and transfer an account or domain name they punish you with giving you hassle all the way and charge your credit card again.

the support is non-existant. the unskilled and untrained reps can not speak proper english and only fie text blocks at you. they are not connected to any department and tell you to send emails to the support which never get answered except with automated responses. [read more...]
Bard R. Gunnerud (baardrg@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Stay AWAY from IPOWERWEB. I'm not the only one. Just do a quick search online on "ipowerweb loose emails" and you will see. About a month ago now IPOWER (same company) decided to upgrade all basic accounts to their new servers, with out any warnings! So first my website goes down for about two days, then email goes down, and without knowing, I didn't know that even though I was able to log in to the webmail, no emails was acctually being recived on the server. I contact live support and they act like they have no idea the whole company is down. To make a long story short, numerous contacts with live support, and tech support level 2, which nevere replies, my email finally comes back after 1 WEEK! At a different server address which no one bothered to inform me about either. Now, ok, I got my email back and I got more space, but wait! Where are all my personal email folders?? Tech support? "oh, we had some problems moving the accounts. IF we figure it out, it will be restored. So, to [read more...]
Lucinda (l.lavara@g...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
By far the worst company to ever do business with on the planet, not just online.
My site came down without warning three days ago and is still down.
Customer service via chat or e mail is the same cut and paste crap, and trying to reach tech support via phone often results in over an hour on hold.
They lie, they scam, and I have submitted a report to the Better Business Bureau for their shady dealings. Sure, if I were a new customer or on a server that had no problems, I'd be pleased, but for those of us that they keep screwing around with, it is not a good place to be. It is not worth the money or the aggravation because nobody speaks English unless you begin making threats - then they put you in touch with someone that can understand what your problem is instead of making you repeat it over and over and over again even though you've typed it out as plain as day.
You need only google 'Ipower Sucks' to see that I am not alone in my plight. I have lost money already and [read more...]
John Quinlan (john@u...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Ipowerweb shafted me royaly, their dns server got compromised and they blamed me for hosting a phishing scam that was still live and operational after I had cleared out every scrap of data from their servers. They refused to admit any liability, in fact they didn't reply to me at all for weeks, and then cancelled my hosting, refused to give me a refund of eleven months hosting fees, and bilked me on introducers commissions for hosting plans that I had sold through my website.

I get no pleasure from saying I told you so, and therefore if I was you I wouldn't give me the opportunity. Host somewhere else.
coby (coby@4...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Used to be a very good web hosting.
Since last year, service is bad, downtime is high. they don't deliver the 99.9%
I am really upset now as two of my servers are down for 8 days and they can't figure what to do. Just promises.... No exec calls or apology. Tons of emails and no solution.
Try to call them and you have to wait over 30 minutes to talk to human.
Even their chat live has long waiting time.
Don't touch them.
Price ok, by what the use of a site if u can't have it live ?
Steven Quesada (steven@d...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
We have a dedicated server with ipowerweb.
Don't expect backups, or any support beyond reboots or complete reinstalls ($50).

We had a recent problem with our server, (updated that removed all logins to email PLESK) and I had to request a ticket to have them reinstall, once they reinstalled the OS, my PLESK interface was not added, so I had to request it. Once Plesk was added the license was not setup correctly. Two days later and 16 hours of my work time was wasted before the server was running.

2/25/07 a maintenance outage caused the server to go down and is still down.
The base technical support is not very helpful and they have lousy attitudes.
Go with another dedicated provider.
Tom Wu (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Everything is good except the Perl and Mysql version are too old to support Unicode.
Derek (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Take my numerical ratings with a grain of salt because I haven't used other hosts to compare them to. I shopped around over four years ago, and iPowerWeb easily offered the best deal I could find. One thing I really liked was the simplicity of the package, no nickle-and-diming over additional "premium" features -- the base package was full-featured and provided as much flexibility and control as possible. It's like they designed it to be the kind of web host they would want to have themselves. I haven't had a single bad experience in all this time, not even a small one. Each time I have asked a question to technical support, I have promptly gotten a good answer. No bad surprises in service or fees (but some good ones). They have upgraded the services all along, and I think the deal they offer now is way better than what I started with. I am just very comfortable with the service and the company. I'm glad this has been successful for them, hope they keep it up, and would [read more...]
Don (Dstevic@g...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have never been exposed to such horrible customer service. They lack any kkind of motivation to actually do any work. My web site has gone down 3 times in 2 months. Everytime, their fault and everytime I was down for 4 days.

Calling tech supports takes at least an hour to talk to someone who has no clue what to do. The live chat takes a little less time, but the same result.

I STRONGLY urge you to choose somewhere else to host.

They simply do not care.
Rebecca (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
This companyis the worst! There customer service is horrible, They take forever to respond, and even then cannot answer questions competently. They took over a month to get a domain registered on one site I worked on, and on another they charged my card without authorization, then took 3 months to refund, and still failed to refund full amount. Control panel is frequently down or has a glitch. Definately steer clear of these losers. F-
RJMB (RJMB@g...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
We paid for them to re-register the domain name, and they did not do it. We lost the domain name. They had already taken our money, and we were left with no real explanation of what happeend, and an offer of a partial refund, followed by an offer of a full refund. My opinion: If you want to protect your domain name, do not use this company. Search "Ipower + problems" and you will find a lot of disgruntled customers.
Kathy S. (-no email-)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
To Whom it may concern:

Let me just say upfront, this is the only time I have ever taken the time to post a review. . . .

I spent several weeks researching Web Hosting companies and found that IPowerWeb received many accolades. Thus, I enrolled. I have had nothing but problems since then. Please read if you want an honest review.

First of all if you are using a Mac, STOP considering IPowerWeb RIGHT NOW! You will be frustrated, trust me. It seems as though, they have used "Mac" as a meta-tag to rank high in Google. This is false advertising. I am a Graphic Designer and know more than a little about Macs. The assistance I needed was in the initial set-up. The representatives that I spoke with, including a Supervisor, admitted that they "do not have any Macs there", but they have "SOME people who are familiar with them". He proceeded to tell me he has a Mac, but "because he does not have one in front of him, he isn't able to walk me through it. I do not have to [read more...]
John Littleton (JELittleton2003@y...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Although I have been with iPowerWeb for three years, I'm no longer impressed with their services and I'M LOOKING ELSEWHERE.

Yes, they offer a competitively prices plan but that is their ONLY benefit. If you need Technical Support for ANYTHING, iPowerWeb is totally inadequate. Customer service is unknown in virtually all of the departments: Sales, Billing, Technical Support, Domain Services and Management. In an iPowerWeb Customer Satisfaction Survey, I responded "as long as I don't have to deal with a human being, I'm satisfied."

I have spoken with Sales people who dropped my orders, Technical Support people who know less about their system than I, Managers who acknowlege the online documentation is incorrect and do not correct it, and Billing people who treat me as if I were an inconvenient interruption in their day!

My most recent problems began when I started losing BUSINESS email. I learned from an iPowerWeb MANAGER, once SPAM filtering is turned on, it cannot be turned [read more...]
ken keisler (provision360@m...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have used Ipower for over one year with about 80 domains.

I have the worst time with these people. The most problems come with the many passwords. I have tried to consolodate them, it has only made it worse. Now they do not work at all. When I called today to correct this situation again they would not even talk to me because I have new credit card as old one has expired thus I will never again as they say have acess to my sites I have sent them over $800 in the past year and now will charge back every purchase with them.
Erv Lambert (talkingchinese@y...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I really like IPOWER as a webhost! I have had about a dozen in my life and IPOWER is the best! BUT BUT BUT, ...

I paid for multiple domain names almost 2 months ago and I have talked over 3 hours on the phone with their support team and with their billing, plus written them probably 2 dozen emails, and they refuse to give me the multiple domain names I ordered 2 months ago. Several employees said they were going to order them, then didn't. Now, Billing is questioning whether I paid for them! I have NEVER seen such unprofessionalism in my life! It is actually internet fraud, I think. I was forced into purchasing webhosting with them, which I didn't want to do but once I did I saw how good they are at webhosting, but now I still have 7 domain names, I paid for about 2 months ago, which they have not only not delivered, but continue to give me the run-around whether I have them coming or not! I have a United States postal money receipt for $66.00 to them, and emails from them [read more...]
Lorraine Boot (kumitekid@c...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I had ipowerweb for two years. I paid to renew for two more years and 2 days later my site went down. I email support, reoly was I did not pay to renew. I e mailed billing, got no reply. I called and only got voice mail option, no one replyed to my messages. This went on for 3 weeks. I paid for 2 more years of service and got no service at all. I called my credit card company and got my money back . Now ipowerweb refuses to let my domain name be transfer to my new hosting service. Ipowerweb now locked my domain name like it is my fault for not paying them . They had my payment in full $168.80 and did not provide service or answer support emails . I am with out my domain name for now and the attorney general office has been contacted by me. ONLINE.Inc who does ipowerweb registrations are not getting away with their part in this mess either. Stay away from ipowerweb, watch your wallet!
Mike Fuller (gratefulmike68@y...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Customer Relation
Very sorry experience. I signed up and payed for a 1yr contract. Tried to get customer service with the 24 hot line and received a recording to leave my name and number twice - did that and they never returned my calls. Tried to get email support for same issue and received only canned responses that they would get to me. Waited for 30 minutes on the chat support that never came. I have been trying to get my money refunded for a month now which according to their 30 day guarantee should be no problem. I have spent over an hour total on hold talking to 3 different people and still no refund!!!!!!! The only thing they did quickly was take my money!
Causa Technologies (sales@c...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Let me start off by saying Im not here to bash this host. Im here to share my culmination of over 5 years of experience with this company. I want to make fellow webmasters and IT proffesionals who run small buisinesses aware that this provider is in trouble. There is no accountablility at this company, they grew too fast and you are never going to get any sort of "technical help" if your site is down or if your having any problems. What you will get is legions of cut and paste experts reading a scripted dialouge. That being said, lets look at the meat and potaotes of what prompted this post.

Today is 2/2/2006 I have a dedicated server with these people and I am a reseller with over 20 sites hosted with them. The dedicated server went down a day ago, and I have called and spoke with 3-4 "technicians" to get it back up. All they can tell me is they will try to "page" someone to reboot the server and then hang up. I pay $99 a month for this thing and was promised 24/7/365 [read more...]
Rick Carson (rick@i...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
iPower.com is the worst domain registrar and host I have ever encountered. My blood pressure rises whenever I have to deal with them as their customer support is massively incompetent. Try to get them on the phone and then be prepared to get cut off after an hour on hold. Happened to me several times. Their online chat is worthless as all they do for any issue is to tell you to call their tech support or billing department. They want to do everything through email which is a major hassle if you use different email addresses (say, from home and from work).

I would recommend you avoid them like the plague!
Krinken Rohleder (krohleder@a...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
We hosted our customers thru Ipower as a reseller for about 1 year. Had we done a simple Google search for Ipower we would have quickly learned that Ipower is a notoriously bad company. There is more bad stuff written about Ipower than all of the other hosting companies combined. I cannot fit all of the horror stories about them into this review but image never getting though to customer support, frequent billing errors (in there favor of coarse), excessive downtime, domains not getting reregistered even after they take your money, rude and unprofessional support team, and the list goes on. Avoid them at all costs and do not trust any review site that rates them very high - they probably own it.
mark (stan_hembry@y...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I'm leaving these fools and going to ixwebhosting.com's site!! Ipowerweb does not answer emails or answer the phone. NOR do they know WHAT they are doing!!.... I've had to figure things out by myself.

Ixwebhosting.com answers emails BEFORE 2 minutes is up AND the answer the phone before 3 minutes is up!!... now THIS is service!!!
-anonymous- (tonya.miller@v...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I work in a government office. When iPower changed to their vDeck system, we were unable to utilize the control panel through our firewall. The customer service trying to resolve this issue was horrendous. I spoke with people who had so little knowledge, they did not even know what a server-side include was. They ended up telling us we could not use vDeck unless we opened a port (which we can't do).

Additionally, the phone wait times are very long, and, they use internet phone service, so there can be large gaps as the call drops in and out.

It absolutely DUMBFOUNDS me how they can stay at the top of the ratings. I used to be a fan of theirs as I also use them for various client websites, but not anymore.
Jon T. Day (jon.day@s...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
You get what you pay for. The business pro plan is about $100 a year, and you can't expect to have instant satisfaction when dealing with support. I give them a 7 because, you are getting a nice toolset and reasonable response time (~24hrs) for the price. Expect to struggle a little bit when you have issues, but be patient, because all these companies at this price model are going to be the same. Something I have noticed is that lately IPowerWeb appears to be changing it's name to IPower. There are 2 websites, 1 new (ipower.com) and 1 old (ipowerweb.com). I am wondering if it is being done to distinguish them from PowWeb a completely different company? The new website has different hosting plans with vDeck on it's unix servers than the old one which using cpanel. I get the impression that cpanel is being phased out and vdeck is still in a beta stage but is being pushed on anyone willing to switch from cpanel and giving to all new customers. I just switched this week and there are [read more...]
Ron D (rondconslt@a...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
DO NOT USE THIS HOST!!!!!!
The billing dept is 100% AWOL when it comes to helping you. I have been trying for a week to reach a person in billing to discuss an upcoming automatic renewal of my account. No one is home. You are either placed on permanent hold or told that their system is down and that they will return your call (don't hold your breath!!). E-mails to IPower are equally ignored. All you receive is an endless chain of replies stating that they will respond shortly (they don't). If you call Sales and they find out you are asking about an EXISTING account, you are immediately slammed over to billing (read the avove). Don't let the cute responses by people from IPower on some of the review sites fool you. You will not be able to reach them, even though they write responses with their phone extension, etc. I'm close (very close) to calling the Santa Monica Police, Bunko division if they do any unathorized billing to my credit card.

AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!!!! YOU HAVE [read more...]
Nick Athanasopoulos (nathanasopoulos@1...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have had the same customer service problems as the previous opinion states. Can only contact throught email... and some automated reply gets spit back to me without any resolution. I have been dealing with this for the past (2) weeks and below is the latest transcript between myself and ipower technical support.

I will update with the outcome, but it looks like I will be switching my host.
Any companies out there who think they can provide better customer service than ipower is welcome to contact me for my business.

Nick Athanasopoulos
nathanasopoulos@141worldwide.com

On Fri, 19 Aug 2005 10:26 , iPowerWeb Support Team <Support@ipowerweb.com> sent:


Recently you requested personal assistance from our on-line support
center. Below is a summary of your request and our response.

We will assume your issue has been resolved if we do not hear from you
within 48 hours.

Thank you for allowing us to be of service to you.

You may update this question by replying [read more...]
James Schuster (jschuster@s...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I would like to share with you our dismal experience thus far with ipower. For two to three weeks, we have attempted to work in good faith with ipower on some very serious issues to our business. Spending very significant executive time, our company attempted to work with ipower relative to dedicated server problems on ipower's part, which resulted in more than 300+ unexpected shut-downs over a short period of time. For example, with respect to 8/8/2005, alone, we experienced 17 unexpected shut-downs alone. What we were told is that ipower would look into it and get back to us. The last time we had that discussion (very a websession, was on the 17th. Yet, no one has gotten back to us, other than a "robo" message presuming everything is fixed unless ipower hears back from us within x amount of hours. Because we are not interacting with the server during those times of unexpected shutdown, the customer relations person at ipower (who simply ended up providing us with nothing but [read more...]

Alternate top web hosting companies in California, United States


Compare to best hosting brands from California, United States new

These iPower customer review(s) and ranks are the subjective opinion of our visitors and not of whtop.com staff.
Trademarks, logos & names are properties of their respective owners and protected by law.
Disclosure: Although we attempt to provide useful and accurate information we can not guarantee that it is always right. This is a professional website that may receive compensation from some providers which we review and promote or advertise, however that does not affect our reviews ratings!