×Share this page
 
  
hostway.com
Average 2.5 out of 10
Total reviews: 19
Recommended by: 3
Opposed: 16
Official responses: 0


VISIT WEBSITE

Host Way review

19 user reviews, 0 support responses, 0 testimonials, 9 products, 0 promotions, 7 social accounts, 87260 hosted, Alexa #30248, listed 2007 (#6089)
hostway.com
Host Way
100 N Riverside, Suite 800
Chicago , IL 60606
US
Phone +1 866-467-8929
Fax +1 312 236 1958

Website language(s): en-US
Alexa Rating30,248▼ -3,511 User RatingAverage 2.5 out of 10
Total reviews: 19
Recommended by: 3
Opposed: 16
Official responses: 0

Price Range$ 6.95 - $ 99.95Support24x7Offer CurrencyUSD
Payment OptionsCredit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
SEO MOZ Authority57/50Links393,369
Profile completion status:
Things done
Company descriptions is fine
Company address location is complete
Company phone/fax is added
Company Twitter and Facebook accounts are added
"About page" URL or "Contact page" URLs are added
Forum, Blog/Announcements, Knowledgebase or FAQ URLs are added
Products (plans) are added
Note: Add a promotion or coupon

100%

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Scott (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I am absolutely LIVID right now. The level of incompetence at Hostway is intolerable!

I sent a request to delete xxxxxxx.com, and suspend yyyyyyy.com. The knuckleheads over there kept xxxxxxx.com, deleted yyyyyyy.com & now yyyyyyy.com is showing a completely unrelated domain.

This is hands down the worst I have EVER seen a hosting company.

Can't even tell you how pissed I am right now!!!!
Mark Osborne (markdosborne@g...) / pcblues.com
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Excellent service over a long long time (13 years)
You should not have too much experience with the service department of an ISP, and this has proven to be the case with Hostway. In 13 years with them, I have had a handful of email service requests, and one phone call from Australia to the US all of which were answered nearly instantly.

I initially joined a plan which increased by a total of $2/month over the 13 years yet continually increased the bandwidth, CPU and storage limits as the years went by.

These days, in the linux based account, there is shell access, mySQL databases, plenty of email accounts, and an easy ability to add a simple blog or website that they supply as part of their service.

I also found that hooking a full Wordpress website to their service was quite simple and runs without any hitches.

As a software/database developer, I found that only being able to access the SQL databases through a website was a bit clunky, but this would be for security reasons.

Uninterrupted service has been the [read more...]
Rocky Raco (rockyraco@v...) / rockyraco.com
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Great service
The best thing about Hostway is I never have to call with problems with my site. No one has even told me they have had problems viewing my website. One problem I did have was I had to cancel a credit card and did not notify Hostway, and when they could not charge my old card I was notified so I could make the change, and had no downtime with my website.
MORE REVIEWS
Listed and verified since 2007
hostway.com logo

Editorial Review

Host Way is part of Hostway, Services: Web HostingDomain Registration Own datacenter | Redirected domains: hostway.net hostway.nl hostway.be sitehosting.net powermedium.com skynetweb.com hostway.fr server-service.de hostway.in hostway.de hostway.com.au | Redirected domains: netnation.com

Hostway was founded by Lucas Roh, Arnold Choi and John Lee back in 1998. The company was born after the purchase of Spectronet Inc. Later, in 2000, Hostway extended and launched Hostway Korea.

The company specializes in the following web hosting services:
  • Shared Hosting;
  • VPS Hosting;
  • Exchange Hosting;
  • WordPress Hosting;
  • Web Design;
  • Domain Registration;

Shared hosting plans operate on both Linux and Windows OS, except for the start-up plan. These plans run on unlimited data traffic. The basic-level plan includes access to OX App Suite Email, as well as a WYSIWYG website editor together with a template library. The FlexCloud plans come with Easy Script, allowing them to add apps easily.

VPS servers are designed for developers and web designers. These are configured on SSD drives and allow installation of apps like WordPress, Drupal or Joomla.

Price & Cost


Their prices are affordable and payments can be made by using popular credit cards. They also provide a 30-day money-back guarantee

Reliability


The company offers 100% uptime guarantee which is amazing, as there are few companies that actually promise more than the standard 99.9% uptime.

Data Center


The company is registered in Chicago, Illinois (USA). They also own offices in multiple locations: the UK, Belgium, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Romania, Australia and India.

They host their servers in 6 data centers in North America (located in Chicago, Austin, Tampa, Vancouver) powered by multiple connections (OC-12 and Gigabit Ethernet connection).

Customer Support


Customers can get in touch with tech support on phone, e-mail, live chat, ticket support or they can schedule a consultation with their technical assistance. Customers can also contact them on LinkedIn or Twitter.

For additional help, customers can access their support center and knowledgebase to solve various server issues.

Control Panel


They use SiteControl as their administration tool, but for VPS servers, there is also the option for cPanel or Plesk.

Conclusion

Active in the hosting industry for a great number of years, Hostway offers affordable and extensive web solutions. However, there are no dedicated servers available here.

If you are not satisfied by their services, you can ask for your money back within 30 days from the moment of purchase. With 100% uptime, Hostway is a reliable choice when looking for hosting services.

Server locations:

Austin Chicago Tampa Vancouver
Datacenter locations for hostway.com

Special pages


hostway.com screenshot
Website research for Host Way on June 14, 2021 by WebHostingTop

Host Way Promotions

No website coupons announced! Looking to get a great webhosting deal using vouchers ? Checkout our current web hosting coupons list!
If you manage this brand, you must be logged in to update your promotions!

Add your promo code

Promotion:
Provide the start and end date
if the promotions expires
Your email (will not be displayed)
How much is 4 + 3 ? Respond with 7
 

PlansHost Way Website Products

Shared - Linux Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk space Transfer UpdatedFree domain /
Allowed
Website StarterfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : Website Builder
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 0

Easily create and manage your website with one simple WYSIWYG website editor and template Library
Includes OX App Suite Email
Marketing tools such as Site Promotion or Instant Business Broadcast
Promotion drive traffic to your site

Starter sites [...]
Plan URL : https://hostway.com/products-services-2/website-hosting/
$6.95/mo.unlimitedunmetered 0 / unlimited
Shared - Linux/Windows Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk space Transfer UpdatedFree domain /
Allowed
FlexCloud SitefeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : [In-house]
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 0

Save 16% off 1, 2 or 3 year registrations
400 email accounts

Choose Linux or Windows OS
Easily add and deploy applications with Easy Scripts
MS-SQL or MySQL Databases
SSL Certificates included for improved site security

Secure, [...]
Plan URL : https://hostway.com/products-services-2/website-hosting/
$12.95/mo.300 GBunmetered 0 / unlimited
FlexCloud Site ProfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 0

1000 email accounts

Choose Linux or Windows OS
Easily add and deploy applications with Easy Scripts
MS-SQL or MySQL Databases
SSL Certificates included for improved site security
Unlimited monthly traffic

Secure, Reliable [...]
Plan URL : https://hostway.com/products-services-2/website-hosting/
$29.95/mo.1000 GBunmetered 0 / unlimited
Exchange - Windows Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk space Transfer UpdatedFree domain /
Allowed
ExchangefeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 0

Original price $9.99, limited time reduced price!

Mailbox Storage (per user) UNLIMITED
Directory Link (AD Sync) INCLUDED
ActiveSync INCLUDED
ActiveSync Remote Wipe INCLUDED
Public Folder 1 INCLUDED
Retention Policies (per user) INCLUDED
Wireless [...]
Plan URL : https://hostway.com/products-services-2/hosted-microsoft-exchange/
$8.49/mo.unlimitedunmetered 0 / unlimited
Security & CompliancefeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 0

Public Folder 5 INCLUDED
Mailbox Storage (per user) UNLIMITED
Directory Link (AD Sync) INCLUDED
ActiveSync INCLUDED
ActiveSync Remote Wipe INCLUDED
Retention Policies (per user) INCLUDED
Wireless Policies (per user) INCLUDED


SECURITY & [...]
Plan URL : https://hostway.com/products-services-2/hosted-microsoft-exchange/
$19.99/mo.unlimitedunmetered 0 / unlimited
VPS - Linux/Windows Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk space Transfer UpdatedRAM /
Dedicated IPs
BasicfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : Virtuozzo
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 1000 MB
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 0

Windows price: $29.95/mo.

Freedom and Flexibility

Virtual Private Servers (VPS) are ideal for web designers and developers who need a web hosting solution that provides more flexibility than shared hosting, without the price tag of a dedicated [...]
Plan URL : https://hostway.com/products-services-2/website-hosting/
$19.95/mo.15 GB SSD1 TB 1 GB
AdvancedfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : Virtuozzo
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 4000 MB
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 0

Windows price: $59.95/mo

Freedom and Flexibility

Virtual Private Servers (VPS) are ideal for web designers and developers who need a web hosting solution that provides more flexibility than shared hosting, without the price tag of a dedicated [...]
Plan URL : https://hostway.com/products-services/website-hosting/
$49.95/mo.60 GB SSD3 TB 4 GB
UltimatefeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : Virtuozzo
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 8000 MB
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 0

Windows price: $109.95/mo.

Freedom and Flexibility

Virtual Private Servers (VPS) are ideal for web designers and developers who need a web hosting solution that provides more flexibility than shared hosting, without the price tag of a dedicated [...]
Plan URL : https://hostway.com/products-services-2/website-hosting/
$99.95/mo.240 GB SSD10 TB 8 GB
Domains Keep mouse
over features!
Price Updated
.com .us .ca .name .defeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : [In-house]
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7

As a global leader in domain name registration, Hostway offers some of the lowest yearly domain name prices in the industry. Hostway also makes it easy to transfer your domain name. To register a new domain or transfer your domain, just type your [...]
Plan URL : https://hostway.com/products-services-2/domain-registration/
$9.95/yr.

Contact information is managed by hostway.com representatives sales@h..., support@h..., plamena.dalakova@h... [login] | Last company update:

Web stats

Targeting: Austria, Canada, France, Germany, Korea, Netherlands, Romania, United Kingdom, United States
Details for https://hostway.com/
Website DNS: MX::lastmx.spamexperts.net => 130.117.53.188 ( Amsterdam ) / PSINet Inc. - cogentco.com
MX::mx.spamexperts.com => 130.117.53.188 ( Amsterdam ) / PSINet Inc. - cogentco.com
MX::fallbackmx.spamexperts.eu => 149.13.75.27 ( Frankfurt am Main ) / Solarwinds MSP Cloud GmbH - solarwindsmsp.com
b.dns.hostway.net => 64.41.114.10 ( Chicago ) / Hostway Corporation
a.dns.hostway.net => 64.41.112.10 ( Chicago ) / Hostway Corporation
Server Software: nginx/1.10.3 (Ubuntu)
Website IP: 66.230.224.71
IP Location Country/State/City: United states / Florida / Tampa - see top providers in United States, Florida
ISP Name / ISP URL: Neucom Inc. / city-guide.com

Customer testimonials

There are no customer testimonials listed yet. You can be the first one to add your testimonial here.

Add your own testimonial

This form is used exclusively for positive feedback, for a regular review click here

Your Name
Email (will be obfuscated)
One Hosted domain name with this company
Testimonial
(HTML tags are NOT allowed)
Minimum 100 characters
How much is 4 + 3 ? Respond with 7
 

Host Way News / Press release

Merged Hosting Companies Hostway, Hosting Now Named Ntirety - Following the merging of managed cloud hosting services brands Hostway and Hosting in January 2019, the company is now changing its name to Ntirety (ntirety.com). The new entity is expected to offer an expanded set of global managed multi-cloud and hybrid services.
Headquartered in Austin, Texas, Ntirety is one of the largest managed cloud service platforms in the world. Ntirety would deliver hybrid and multi-cloud solutions that enable Enterprise IT to shift from managing operational risk to
Managed Cloud Hosting Companies Hostway and HOSTING.com Merge - Hostway, a Chicago-based managed cloud hosting company counting approximately 400 employees and 500,000 customers worldwide, will merge its operations with managed cloud services company HOSTING.com – a Denver-based company with about 200 employees servicing around 4,000 customers. The new company intends to fully merge all functions and operate under a single brand within the next twelve months. Emil Sayegh, the CEO of Hostway will be leading the merged company.
"Our combined strengths ...
Hostway and HOSTING Merge, Creating One of the Largest Global Managed Cloud Services Platforms - Hostway and HOSTING Merge, Creating One of the Largest Global Managed Cloud Services Platforms
Combined organization to focus on secure, compliant cloud services for enterprises
AUSTIN, Texas and DENVER, Colo., JANUARY 8, 2019 — Hostway and HOSTING today announced the merger of the two organizations, combining to create one of the largest managed cloud services platforms in the world. Both companies are known for secure, compliant managed hybrid cloud solutions and together will have an ...
[search all hostway.com news]

Host Way Social Networks

https://www.linkedin.com/company/hostway-corporation/
Hostway Services, Inc (established 1998) is a Privately Held entity having 2518 followers on LinkedIn and 201-500 employees, industry Information Technology & Services.
Host Way Blog  Using Wordpress version 5.6. Blog added on October, 2015, with total 194 articles, Language en-US. See recent blogs summary posts:
- Website Musts For a Post-Pandemic World - A Post-COVID World: Are You Ready? Let's not kid ourselves. We're two decades into the 21st century, people were already online before Covid. What changed was the sheer volume and intensity of online
- How to Know If You Need a Website Refresh - Change is a constant force in nature and a natural law of the universe. The world of web design is no different. As tech evolves and the impossible becomes “possible,” the standard of what ...
- Web Design Trends and Standards for 2021 - A Web Revolution – Site Design Trends in 2021 The basics never grow old. Things like Levi's Jeans, a classic watch, or a leather jacket – you can always count on them to fit right into the times. The
Host Way Blog  (RSS error) First post from May, 2017, with total 16 articles (real language de). Latest post on Sep 24, 2020

Domains trend


Host Way Domain trend

ReviewsHost Way Customer Ratings

The quick stats of Host Way profile shows a note average of 2.5 out of 10, counting 19 opinions. (few listed on the top of the page)
As visitor you can rate this provider directly here! If you are part of support team, you can respond to these reviews by going to login

Add your own review [Toggle to basic/advanced form]

Required information

Select Hosting Plan
Overall Rating
Time Hosted
Features
Price / Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Your Social URL, Name or Usernameeg. https://twitter.com/YOURID or https://facebook.com/YOURID
Your email
(will be obfuscated)
or login and come back to this page
Customer identification(Not public visible. Example Customer=1120 or Account=2121 or Order ID=511AAS3)
Your hosted domainExample mysite.net. If you have multiple domains, mention at least one
Summary of your posteg. hostway.com is best!
Your review HTML tags are NOT allowed! MINIMUM 100 characters!
Provide as much information as possible in your review! Too less information may be counted as not relevant and not approved!
Some customers might say good things like: "i'm happy with HostWay" or bad things and complaints like: "this company sucks", or "is horrible", "hostway.com generated only problems", "scam or ripoff provider", but is your turn now to share your experience!
How much is 4 + 3 ? Respond with 7
 
(2 = 10.53%)
(1 = 5.26%)
(1 = 5.26%)
(15 = 78.95%)
Frank Grant (frank.grant@a...) / amazingja.com
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Hostway.com gives excellent products and services!
I have been with Hostway for nearly 6 years. I have found the web hosting prices very attractive and the reliability excellent.

Anytime I have a problem, Hostway deals with the problem in a very timely manner. Technical support is very knowledgeable and goes the extra mile, to resolve any problem you may have.

Hostway.com is the only web hosting I will use for years to come.

allamq (allamq@y...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
hi everyone submitted bad review ,,, i think you dont need to do that anymore ... coz i try to contact this company in order to bye managed server ,, so when i contact them in Sales chat (where they have a button for this everywhere in any plan ) but i was unable to find anyone online at anytime,,,
finely i called them by phone,, they ask me to send my info(e-mail and phone and they will contact me ASAP) but no body call me since 4days ,,, my partner had same problem with hostway he send e-mail .. no replay yet .. the good news it seems they know who they are so ,, they stop taking new customers also after i see ur review friends, i believe i dont need to deal with them at any cost.. bad news : they still has website talking about how great they are !!!
Anonymous (linuxboyuk@y...) / refused
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
All in all, Hostway used to be great about 10 years ago. Since then they have declined in service and features.
While many other host offer user-friendly CPanels, Hostway continues to give customers an old-fashioned and very unhelpful management panel.

Any any issues are usually brushed off as client incompetence.

Quite shocking, considering that they used to have an excellent reputation many moons ago. Sadly they seem to have forgotten what customer service and modern technology is all about.

So we decided to move our package to another provider who seems to be much more clued up and much more user friendly.
Benjamin White (Bwlivinglife@g...) / deckprosonline.com
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Do Not Choose HostWay!! What this company is doing is illegal and should not be allowed to operate! I have been with Valueweb/Hostway for nearly 5 years. During that time my site has actually been up close to 3 years with the "normal" 2-3 month downtime in between. I have had to completely rebuild my site from scratch 2 times after they lost all of my files and back-ups, with nothing more from them than " We don't know what happened..sorry". They also have the tendency to "misplace" their client's payment histories and demand that you pay the amount that they "think" you owe them or they will shut down your site. Don't bother sending in financial records, from your bank, to prove them wrong, as they will only get "misplaced" as well. My advice to anyone who is considering using this, and I am using this term very loosely, "company" to host your site, should RUN! I have finally broken away from them, just this week, but not without having to leave my site behind. -Benjamin White - [read more...]
Steve (steve@b...) / backbaysystems.com
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
I've been a satisfied hostway customer for almost 10 years but i am leaving. As of 6 months ago, new company policy strips all 'dangerous' attachments from relayed email. There are no user preferences regarding file attachments to correct this as informed by tech support. I am a software developer, not a child, and cannot do business without receiving and sending .exe, .dll, and other 'dangerous' file attachments.
Also, with not notice whatsoever, Hostway dropped anon FTP service effective 2/1/10. So, now i can't email .exe files to clients, nor can i give them access to an anon FTP site. I can create multiple FTP subdirectory accounts at $4.95 each account per month ......gee, what a bargain. I'm out of here.
Bob Anders (at609@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Like Jeff, I've been with Hostway for over 10 years. Recently they migrated my site to a new server. When they did, they corrupted my site files. My site no longer forwarded me a form requesting information which is the sole purpose of my site in the first place. I called their "customer service" and was told that it wasn't their problem. They suggested that I contact my Web designer to fix it. Keep in mind I have a very basic site, and it has not been changed much in the past 10 years. The guy who designed it didn't have any files on his computer any longer. I was faced with having to redo the whole site.
I decided to shop around and found another host at more than half the price, with Americans that answer the phone promptly, give great support, and no bullshit.
When I called Hostway to cancel, they didn't even bother to ask why. When I asked about a refund for the remainder of my subscription, they said that since I paid for a year in advance there would be no refund. [read more...]
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I've been with Hostway for 10 years now. What others have said is correct, they used to be a great company. It started going downhill a few years ago when they outsourced their staff. Now customer service is just horrible and and I've lost complete confidence in them resolving ANY issue in a timely manner. The killer is the issues now always seem to stem from their incompetence and screw ups. Babysitting my hosting company is exhausting and expensive. I'm moving all my accounts elsewhere.

Hostway is out of control and incompetent... plain and simple. I should be billing them for gross negligence of the use of my time.

Peter (p.blumtritt@t...) / eco-divers.com
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
What a terrible, terrible company. Apart from the fact that their servers and support suck they are also hopelessly disorganized and incapable. Months ago I ordered some services with them. They said they couldn't charge my credit card - which is used for 20-30 online transactons each month elsewhere without a single problem - and advised me to pay via Paypal which I did. I sent them all of Paypal's transaction details - not only once but about 10 times since they kept sending reminders about "non-payment". Now, after 4 months they have suddenly charged my credit card for the same amount, saying that they never received my Paypal pament which is of course nonsense - I have all proof that it was paid. And their billing support doesn't even bother to reply anymore.
STAY AWAY - under all circumstances. Hostway means trouble on all levels!
qquackers (toss001@o...) / jabconstructon.com
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
They Make Life Too Difficult

Pros: Being able to leave them behind. All pro's are overcome by the con's in trying to move from their service.

Cons: Unknown to us, Valuweb/Hostway had our Domain Name registered with a company run out of BULGARIA, who did the right thing and released the domain name after a few serious phone calls instead of making us wait 5 to 7 days as they first insisted.

A month after the service was moved and the Hostway account was confirmed as "cancelled" by Hostway support e-mail, Hostway has begun trying to collect another month service saying that the account was never cancelled and that we owe them money until it is cancelled! This is seriously childish.

The Story:

We moved to GoDaddy because the support, price and dashboard feature are so much better than what Hostway offers. We weren't unhappy with Hostway, until we tried to move.

Our account moved from Valueweb to Hostway a number of years ago, to our surprise. But, the service [read more...]
Scott (idtags@i...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Worst hosting company ever. TERRIBLE SUPPORT! You will never speak to anyone in the US and can never speak with a supervisor or anyone that can actually help. We were a valuweb customer which was migrated to Hostway in August. Nothing but problems so far. Website is occasionally down. They changed file permisions in the FTP access and were not able to fix them. I could not FTP our orders for 4 days so we could process them. The latest problem is unbelievable. THEY somehow pasted another companies SSL certificate on our website which is expired and has no relation to us (apparently we share a server with this other compnay). We do not have access to fix this or we could have Geotrust help. Of course nobody is ordering from us because of the security message that people see at checkout. We have been waiting for 6 days for it to be fixed. Countless phone calls and emails including a 2 hour call yesterday in which I was on hold for 1 hour before I even spoke to someone. I was assured [read more...]
Frank White (bigmrfrank@h...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Brought 4 accounts to them. Paid for a year in advance x 4. Billed me twice on my card. Took 2 months to correct. Site control was down for 3 weeks at one point. Internal 500 server errors are a daily events. Customer support and tech is non existant. I regret ever going with the AND paying up front. No I have to fight for my money back. You cant say you weren't warned.
Mike (wkamag@w...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Well, like the others, in the beginning the were great. Moved to them from Earthlink after EL outsourced all support and we could not longer communicate. I was told that Hostway was US based and would never outsource... WRONG! After five or so years, they did so and things have gone down hill from there FAST! They recently disabled our site stating we violated TOU. BS! Had to email legal and got a call from them, the gentleman in Ft Lauderdale (sp) USA agreed. Found out from him, he is on his last two weeks with them. Says he hears this sort of thing all the time now. We are done and moving on to a new hosting company that provides US based support over the phone 24/7.
tina (privatename9@h...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have been with Hostway for a very long time. I stepped away from my company to start another business. In the Interim my employees changed web services as Hostway was too expensive. Upon my arrival back i kept asking my employee why are we paying all this money to Hostway when we don't even use them. There is no way to review your bill online ("convenient") and when you call their customer service support, it tells you to review your bill online. I contacted there customer support on several occasions to get answers and was told that I wasn't paying for services as i was stating. Then i was given a bill for $572.00 and they shut my service down. Here's the kicker. They did it on a Friday. The wait time to talk to someone in billing was over 15 minutes long, they put me on hold and after 45 minutes I had other things I had to take care of. I told them I would contact them back.....they close at 3pm EST on Friday and are not back in the office until Monday. So I leave into [read more...]
Alec (olarn@t...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Like a few other reviews here, I have been with Hostway for many years and was entirely happy with their service, until just a few weeks ago. They shut down my E-commerce store without warning, accused me of using up too much of their server resource even though I had done nothing new to the site for years. Eventually it turned out that the technical problems were due to their trying to move my site to a new server, but they tried to make out it was me that abused their service. Tried and pleaded as I might I could not get them to resolve problems, all I got were emails about how they were passing the buck between their tech staff.
Nigh on 10 years as a loyal customer and they treated me like dirt for some problems that they themselves induced. Be warned!
Peter (webmaster@e...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have been a Hostway customer for 10 years and at times had 20+ sites hosted with them. Over the past two years I have moved all of them away. The amount of problems and the lack of even remotely reasonable support got unbearable. I often spent more time on getting my sites running again and fighting with their incompetent support than on actually working on my sites' content. Especially if you have to rely on their database servers you're in deep trouble!
What I can see in Google's webmaster tools is that after moving away from Hostway the Google spider can crawl my pages 5-7 times faster than on Hostway's server.
Nancy Farlow (nfarlow@h...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I'm a graphic designer and have roughly 20 of my clients' web sites, and my own site, hosted with Hostway. I am currently shopping around for a new hosting service, however, since Hostway no longer has the appeal it once did. Their prices have been increasing over the past year or so. They no longer offer the $8.95/mo personal plan, and their Gold plan is now $15.95/mo (up from $13.95). Their $39.95 setup fee is too high. Their customer service used to be wonderful, but no longer. This past year, the CSRs I've spoken with for the most part are not knowledgeable and don't really seem to care about resolving my issues (even when they do speak English well enough to communicate with, which isn't always the case any more). They've done some strange things with some of my accounts and don't seem to have a clue what I'm talking about when I've tried to resolve them (i.e., lack of communication among the various parts of their company, apparently). I could go on and on, but, in a nutshell, [read more...]

Alternate top web hosting companies in Illinois, United States

  • Profile completion status:
    Things done
    Company descriptions is fine
    Company address location is complete
    Company phone/fax is added
    Company Twitter and Facebook accounts are added
    "About page" URL or "Contact page" URLs are added
    Forum, Blog/Announcements, Knowledgebase or FAQ URLs are added
    Products (plans) are added, but some are not updated from over 2 years
    Promotions are added, but some are not updated from over 2 years

    100%
    WebhostingPad
    webhostingpad.com logo
    Alexa Rating90,691
    User Rating Total Reviews: 95
    Average Rating: 5 / 10
    Good Reviews: 50
    Bad Reviews: 45
    Official Responses: 8
  • Profile completion status:
    Things done
    Company descriptions is fine
    Company address location is complete
    Company phone/fax is added
    Company Twitter and Facebook accounts are added
    "About page" URL or "Contact page" URLs are added
    Forum, Blog/Announcements, Knowledgebase or FAQ URLs are added
    Products (plans) are added
    Note: Add a promotion or coupon

    100%
    FDC Servers
    fdcservers.net logo
    Alexa Rating139,929
    User Rating Total Reviews: 14
    Average Rating: 4 / 10
    Good Reviews: 6
    Bad Reviews: 8
    Official Responses: 0
  • Profile completion status:
    Things done
    Company descriptions is fine
    Company address location is complete
    Company phone/fax is added
    Company Twitter and Facebook accounts are added
    "About page" URL or "Contact page" URLs are added
    Forum, Blog/Announcements, Knowledgebase or FAQ URLs are added
    Products (plans) are added
    Promotions are added, but some are not updated from over 2 years

    100%
    Host Metro
    hostmetro.com logo
    Alexa Rating181,463
    User Rating Total Reviews: 9
    Average Rating: 8 / 10
    Good Reviews: 7
    Bad Reviews: 2
    Official Responses: 2
  • Profile completion status:
    Things done
    Company descriptions is fine
    Company address location is complete
    Company Twitter and Facebook accounts are added
    "About page" URL or "Contact page" URLs are added
    Forum, Blog/Announcements, Knowledgebase or FAQ URLs are added
    Products (plans) are added
    Promotions are added

    Things to do
    Company phone number/fax is missing
    86%
    Server Cheap.NET
    servercheap.net logo
    Alexa Rating184,023
    User Rating Total Reviews: 9
    Average Rating: 7 / 10
    Good Reviews: 6
    Bad Reviews: 3
    Official Responses: 1

Compare to best hosting brands from Illinois, United States new

These Host Way customer review(s) and ranks are the subjective opinion of our visitors and not of whtop.com staff.
Trademarks, logos & names are properties of their respective owners and protected by law.