×Share this page
 
  
dreamhost.com
Average 3.7 out of 10
Total reviews: 49
Recommended by: 15
Opposed: 34
Official responses: 0


VISIT WEBSITE

Dream Host review

49 user reviews, 0 support responses, 1 testimonial, 24 products, 0 promotions, 4 social accounts, 1050146 hosted, Alexa #6770, listed 2005 (#617)
dreamhost.com
Dream Host
DreamHost PMB #257 417 Associated Road
Brea , CA 92821
US
Phone 714-706-4182
Fax 714-671-9098

Website language(s): en-US
Alexa Rating6,770▼ -752 User RatingAverage 3.7 out of 10
Total reviews: 49
Recommended by: 15
Opposed: 34
Official responses: 0

Price Range$ 0.95 - $ 379.00Support24x7Offer CurrencyUSD
Payment OptionsCredit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
SEO MOZ Authority89/83Links7,173,428
Profile completion status:
Things done
Company descriptions is fine
Company address location is complete
Company phone/fax is added
Company Twitter and Facebook accounts are added
"About page" URL or "Contact page" URLs are added
Forum, Blog/Announcements, Knowledgebase or FAQ URLs are added
Products (plans) are added
Note: Add a promotion or coupon

100%

Most Recent Customer Reviews

jwwebsites (mcentirejerry@g...) / jk mcentire
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Great Business
I have been with them since 2008 and very few problems! When there is a problem they work quickly to resolve it and keep your sites up. Wished they were cheaper and that is the only negative thing I have to say about them.
Wesley Portugaels (admin@m...) / masterzxz.be
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Highly recommended
We've decided to return to Dreamhost after a very bad experience with another webhosting company. I think leaving dreamhost was the worst decision i've ever made; i like their approach and i've always been able to solve my issues in cooperation with their highly trained support team.

Their control panel is very easy to use; everything is explained in detail so every customer, even a beginner, can setup his own website in no-time.

They have high quality servers; to my opinion they dont oversell and the response times are great to. There is almost no downtime and when something gets down it gets solved within a couple of hours.

So my conclusion is: if you are looking for a reliable webhost to start your own website quickly and easily at a fair price; Dreamhost is your place to be!
Alexa (azkoris@g...) / viclub.ca
Time Hosted: under 1 month
Global rating
I've neever seen such terrible customer service!! Cannot get any clue what is going on with my site domain name registration for more than a week. Money are taken but have not heard from their customer service on my requests to explain why my site domain name is still available for public. My advise is do not deal with this company never ever.
MORE REVIEWS
Award winner 2005
dreamhost.com logo

Editorial Review

Services: Web HostingDomain Registration | Redirected from thinkhost.com

DreamHost is a green independent company established in 1996 and it is recognized to be one of the oldest hosting providers.
DreamHost offers the following hosting products:
  • Shared hosting;
  • Dedicated servers;
  • Virtual Private servers;
  • WordPress hosting;
  • Website Builder;
  • Domain Registration.

DreamHost claims that they have made over 400.000 customers in 100 countries content with their services and that the company hosts more than 15 million websites.

Shared hosting offers 1-click instant WordPress install, one free domain, unlimited traffic, fast SSD storage, free SSL certificate, as well as MySQL databases, PHP 7.1 support, crontab access, Rails, Python, Perl support, subversion repository, full unix shell, IPv6 support, access to raw log files and canned CGI scripts.

VPS options assure managed performance, security, unlimited bandwidth and unlimited traffic, SSD, expandable RAM or storage, unlimited domains.

Website Builder features include: unlimited websites; custom domain name; free stock photos; SEO-friendly titles and descriptions; personal media library; mobile-friendly pages; unlimited pages.
Dedicated servers are protected by DDoS protection, coming with full root and shell access (SSH). These are RAID-1 storage servers and they have unlimited bandwidth, subversion repository (SVN), password protection, crontab access, OP cache, PHP/Perl/Python/Ruby support, unlimited MySQL databases, unique IPv4 and IPv6.

The latest news is about DreamHost launching ad-free standalone Email hosting (released in April)
They offer a status info page at https://www.dreamhoststatus.com/
Press releases at https://www.dreamhost.com/press/

Price & Cost


You can either select a monthly or a yearly contract. If you choose the yearly contract, plans come with a better price. Prices for contracts under one year are slightly higher than the ones present on the market for the same products.

DreamHost offers a really attractive advantage: you can get a refund within 97 days from the purchase of a product. The majority of these hosting companies offer 30-day money-back guarantee. There are others with offers of 45 days or 60 days, but such an advantageous feature is really rare.

Reliability


DreamHost assures customers that they guarantee 100% uptime. DreamHost guarantees security, performance and speed.

Data Center


DreamHost has offices in the following locations:
- Los Angeles, California;
- Brea, California;
- Portland, Oregon;
DreamHost claims that their data centers benefit of cooling infrastructure, being powered by grids charged with renewable sources. Their offices are highly-optimized HVAC plants, advanced lighting control systems, LEED platinum and EnergyStar-certified facilities, high-efficiency CFL lighting.

Customer Support


Support at DreamHost operates 24/7/365 by chat, email, phone or social media. There is also a community forum for customers and a knowledgebase to help manage various issues.

Control Panel


DreamHost has its own custom control panel. This could be both an advantage and a disadvantage as some customers are happy with this kind of control panel whereas others who are used to cPanel or Plesk might find it hard to control.

Conclusion

DreamHost is a company offering fully-featured products and services. The hosting company comes with great advantages, even if some prices might be considered higher than other on the market.

Pros:
- 97-day money-back guarantee;
- 100% uptime;

Cons:
- For some customers, managing their business through other control panel than cPanel or Plesk might be difficult;
- No free migration services;

Server locations:

Ashburn Irvine
Datacenter locations for dreamhost.com

Special pages


dreamhost.com screenshot
Website research for Dream Host on April 30, 2019 by WebHostingTop

Dream Host Promotions

No website coupons announced! Looking to get a great webhosting deal using vouchers ? Checkout our current web hosting coupons list!
If you manage this brand, you must be logged in to update your promotions!

Add your promo code

Promotion:
Provide the start and end date
if the promotions expires
Your email (will not be displayed)
How much is 4 + 3 ? Respond with 7
 

PlansDream Host Website Products

Shared - Linux Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk space Transfer UpdatedFree domain /
Allowed
Shared StarterfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : CPanel, [In-house]
Category : DNS, Wordpress, Website Builder
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Forum, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : 1
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IPs : 0

1 Websites

Free Domain included

Unlimited Traffic

WordPress Pre-installed

Fast SSD Storage

Free SSL Certificate

Upgrade to Add Email

3 Year, 1 Year & Monthly Plans

Great for multiple websites, including WordPress, and anyone who [...]
Plan URL : https://www.dreamhost.com/hosting/shared/
$2.59/mo.unlimited SSDunmetered 1 / 1
Shared UnlimitedfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : DNS, Wordpress, Website Builder
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Forum, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IPs : 0

Unlimited Websites

Free Domain included

Unlimited Traffic

WordPress Pre-installed

Fast SSD Storage

Free SSL Certificate

Unlimited Email @ Your Domain

3 Year, 1 Year & Monthly Plans

Great for multiple websites, including WordPress, [...]
Plan URL : https://www.dreamhost.com/hosting/shared/
$4.95/mo.unlimited SSDunmetered 1 / unlimited
Dedicated - Linux Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk space Transfer UpdatedRAM /
Dedicated IPs
Standard 4featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Forum, Available 24/7
RAM : 4000 MB
CPU : Intel Xeon 4-Core 8-Thread
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 1

100% Network Uptime Guarantee
Full Root & Shell Access (SSH)
24x7 Tech Support & Server Monitoring
Ubuntu Linux
DDoS Protection
Uncapped Bandwidth
RAID 1 Storage
Reseller and Sub Account Features
Ruby Version Manager [...]
Plan URL : https://www.dreamhost.com/hosting/dedicated/#dedicated-pricing-comparison-chart
$149.00/mo.1000 GBunmetered 4 GB / 1
Standard 8featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Forum, Available 24/7
RAM : 8000 MB
CPU : Intel Xeon 4-Core 8-Thread
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 1
Plan URL : https://www.dreamhost.com/hosting/dedicated/#dedicated-pricing-comparison-chart
$189.00/mo.1000 GBunmetered 8 GB / 1
Enhanced SSD 32featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Forum, Available 24/7
RAM : 32000 MB
CPU : Intel Xeon 12-Core 24-Thread
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 1
Plan URL : https://www.dreamhost.com/hosting/dedicated/#dedicated-pricing-comparison-chart
$329.00/mo.240 GB SSDunmetered 32 GB / 1
Enhanced SSD 64featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Forum, Available 24/7
RAM : 64000 MB
CPU : Intel Xeon 12-Core 24-Thread
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 1
Plan URL : https://www.dreamhost.com/hosting/dedicated/#dedicated-pricing-comparison-chart
$379.00/mo.240 GB SSDunmetered 64 GB / 1
VPS - Linux Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk space Transfer UpdatedRAM /
Dedicated IPs
VPS BasicfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : CPanel, [In-house]
Category : Fully Managed
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Forum, Available 24/7
RAM : 1000 MB
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 0

Unlimited Websites
Unlimited Traffic
Free SSL Certificate(s)
Unlimited Email @ Your Domain

Resources Dedicated To You
Each virtual server hosting plan allocates resources that only your website can use. This equals unrivaled power, low latency [...]
Plan URL : https://www.dreamhost.com/hosting/vps/
$10.00/mo.30 GB SSDunmetered 1 GB
VPS BusinessfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : CPanel, [In-house]
Category : Fully Managed
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Forum, Available 24/7
RAM : 2000 MB
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 0
Plan URL : https://www.dreamhost.com/hosting/vps/
$20.00/mo.60 GB SSDunmetered 2 GB
VPS ProfessionalfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : CPanel, [In-house]
Category : Fully Managed
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Forum, Available 24/7
RAM : 4000 MB
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 0
Plan URL : https://www.dreamhost.com/hosting/vps/
$40.00/mo.120 GB SSDunmetered 4 GB
VPS EnterprisefeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : CPanel, [In-house]
Category : Fully Managed
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Forum, Available 24/7
RAM : 8000 MB
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 0
Plan URL : https://www.dreamhost.com/hosting/vps/
$80.00/mo.240 GB SSDunmetered 8 GB
Cloud - Linux Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk space Transfer UpdatedRAM /
Dedicated IPs
DreamObjects 40 GBfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : Backup, CDN, Wordpress
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Forum, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 0

5¢/GB of downloads per month

Effective Price/GB 2.38¢

Regular:
2.5¢/GB of storage per month

DreamObjects is an inexpensive object storage service great for hosting files, storing backups, and Web app development.

Powered by Open [...]
Plan URL : https://www.dreamhost.com/cloud/storage/
$0.95/mo.40 GBunmetered
DreamCompute 512MBfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : Backup
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Forum, Available 24/7
RAM : 512 MB
CPU : 1 vCPU
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 0

Hourly Price $0.0075

100 GB Block Storage included

Ideal for Tinkering

Free bandwidth*

Speed Like No One Else
Our servers are ready for SSH in less than 30 seconds, average. Thanks to smart architecture based on SSD disks, accelerated networks [...]
Plan URL : https://www.dreamhost.com/cloud/computing/
$4.50/mo.80 GB SSDunmetered 512 MB
DreamObjects 200 GBfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : Backup, CDN, Wordpress
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Forum, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 0

5¢/GB of downloads per month

Effective Price/GB 2.25¢

DreamObjects is an inexpensive object storage service great for hosting files, storing backups, and Web app development.

Powered by Open Source
S3 Compatible
Fully Scalable [...]
Plan URL : https://www.dreamhost.com/cloud/storage/
$4.50/mo.200 GBunmetered
DreamCompute 2GB RAMfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : Fully Managed
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Forum, Available 24/7
RAM : 2000 MB
CPU : 1vCPU
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 0

100 GB Block Storage included
Ideal for Websites
Max $12/month ($0.02/hour)

DreamCompute is the #1 open source cloud on the web. An open source cloud is immediately compatible with thousands of tools and applications, with millions of ready-made [...]
Plan URL : https://www.dreamhost.com/cloud/computing#dhc-benefits
$12.00/mo.80 GB SSDunmetered 2 GB
DreamPressfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : Backup, Wordpress, Fully Managed
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Forum, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 0

# of WordPress Sites 1
Resources Isolated
Visits Per Month (Uncached) Moderate
Visits Per Month(Cached) ? Unmetered
WordPress Pre-installed
Built-in Caching
FREE SSL Certificate Pre-installed
Automatic WordPress Updates: Core & [...]
Plan URL : https://www.dreamhost.com/wordpress/managed-wp-hosting/
$16.95/mo.30 GB SSDunmetered
DreamObjects 1,024 GBfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : Backup, CDN, Wordpress
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Forum, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 0

5¢/GB of downloads per month

Effective Price/GB 1.95¢

DreamObjects is an inexpensive object storage service great for hosting files, storing backups, and Web app development.

Powered by Open Source
S3 Compatible
Fully Scalable [...]
Plan URL : https://www.dreamhost.com/cloud/storage/
$19.95/mo.1000 GBunmetered
DreamObjects 2,048 GBfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : Backup, CDN, Wordpress
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Forum, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 0

5¢/GB of downloads per month

Effective Price/GB 1.71¢

DreamObjects is an inexpensive object storage service great for hosting files, storing backups, and Web app development.

Powered by Open Source
S3 Compatible
Fully Scalable [...]
Plan URL : https://www.dreamhost.com/cloud/storage/
$34.95/mo.2000 GBunmetered
DreamCompute 8GBfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : Backup
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Forum, Available 24/7
RAM : 8000 MB
CPU : 4 vCPU
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 0

Hourly Price $0.08

100 GB Block Storage included

Ideal for Databases

Free bandwidth*

Speed Like No One Else
Our servers are ready for SSH in less than 30 seconds, average. Thanks to smart architecture based on SSD disks, accelerated networks [...]
Plan URL : https://www.dreamhost.com/cloud/computing/
$48.00/mo.80 GB SSDunmetered 8 GB
Dreampress ProfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : Backup, Wordpress, Fully Managed
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Forum, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 0

Server Environment High-performance cloud
# of WordPress Sites 1
Resources Isolated
Priority Support
Visits Per Month (Uncached) High
Visits Per Month(Cached) ? Unmetered
WordPress Pre-installed
Built-in Caching
FREE SSL Certificate [...]
Plan URL : https://www.dreamhost.com/wordpress/managed-wp-hosting/
$71.95/mo.120 GB SSDunmetered
DreamObjects 20,480 GBfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : Backup, CDN, Wordpress
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Forum, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 0

5¢/GB of downloads per month

Effective Price/GB 1.46¢

DreamObjects is an inexpensive object storage service great for hosting files, storing backups, and Web app development.

Powered by Open Source
S3 Compatible
Fully Scalable [...]
Plan URL : https://www.dreamhost.com/cloud/storage/
$299.95/mo.20000 GBunmetered
Domains Keep mouse
over features!
Price Updated
.comfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : [In-house]
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Forum, Available 24/7

FREE Private Registration

We believe you should be able to control how much of your personal information is shared online. Our WHOIS Domain Privacy is included at NO COST (for the life of your domain) and will renew automatically.

FREE [...]
Plan URL : https://www.dreamhost.com/domains/
$7.99/yr.
Website Builder Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk space Transfer UpdatedFree domain /
Allowed
Shared StarterfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Category : Backup, Wordpress, Fully Managed
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Forum, Available 24/7
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IPs : 0

WP Website Builder

Quick-Start Inspirations Wizard

Premium Starter Sites

Post & Page Builder

SEO Recommender
Plan URL : https://www.dreamhost.com/website-builder/
$2.59/mo.unlimitedunmetered 1
Shared UnlimitedfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Category : Backup, Wordpress, Fully Managed
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Forum, Available 24/7
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IPs : 0

Unlimited Websites
Free Domain included
Email Included
WP Website Builder
Quick-Start Inspirations Wizard
Premium Starter Sites
Post & Page Builder
SEO Recommender
Plan URL : https://www.dreamhost.com/website-builder/
$4.95/mo.unlimitedunmetered 1
Emails - Linux Keep mouse
over features!
Price Updated
EmailfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Forum, Available 24/7

Powerful, yet simple, reliable email @ your domain, with no need to change your hosting plan!

25GB Storage per Mailbox
Mobile and Desktop Sync
Ad-Free Webmail
Plan URL : https://www.dreamhost.com/products/email/
$1.67/mo.25 GBunmetered

Contact information is managed by dreamhost.com representatives support@d..., internic@d..., webmaster@d..., sales@d..., info@d... [login]
Claim this businessCreate a free account to manage dreamhost.com listing!

Web stats

Targeting: United States
Details for https://www.dreamhost.com/
Website DNS: MX::mx2.dreamhost.com => 64.90.62.164 ( Brea ) / New Dream Network LLC
ns2.dreamhost.com => 162.159.27.142 ( San Francisco ) / CloudFlare Inc. - cloudflare.com
MX::mx1.dreamhost.com => 64.90.62.163 ( Brea ) / New Dream Network LLC
ns3.dreamhost.com => 162.159.26.24 ( San Francisco ) / CloudFlare Inc. - cloudflare.com
ns1.dreamhost.com => 162.159.26.24 ( San Francisco ) / CloudFlare Inc. - cloudflare.com
Server Software: nginx
Website FIRST IP: 151.101.130.202
IP Location Country/State/City: United states / California / San francisco - see top providers in United States, California
ISP Name / ISP URL: Fastly / fastly.com
Website Extra IPs: 151.101.194.202 ( San Francisco, California ) Fastly - fastly.com
151.101.2.202 ( San Francisco, California ) Fastly - fastly.com
151.101.66.202 ( San Francisco, California ) Fastly - fastly.com

TestimonialsCustomer testimonials

my domain is hosted with dreamhost, they are very transparent when server is down etc, and they are it up most of the time even before i know there was a downtime!

Add your own testimonial

This form is used exclusively for positive feedback, for a regular review click here

Your Name
Email (will be obfuscated)
One Hosted domain name with this company
Testimonial
(HTML tags are NOT allowed)
Minimum 100 characters
How much is 4 + 3 ? Respond with 7
 

Dream Host News / Press release

Web Hosting Provider DreamHost Joins MobileCoin Foundation - DreamHost (dreamhost.com), a global web hosting and managed WordPress provider, has joined this new privacy-centric cryptocurrency project, MobileCoin. Supporting DreamHost's mission of supporting small businesses worldwide, the MobileCoin cryptocurrency would provide an inexpensive, easy-to-use, and secure global payment platform.
MobileCoin is an effort to develop a fast, private, and easy-to-use cryptocurrency that can be deployed by users who aren't equipped to reliably maintain secret keys
DreamHost Unveils Tool for Migrating Data Between WordPress Providers - DreamHost, a global provider of web hosting and Managed WordPress services, has unveiled a free tool designed to ease the burden of migrating data between WordPress providers. Powered by technology from BlogVault, the new tool would move WordPress website content, themes, plugins and configurations quite fast between WordPress sites.
By bringing the power of automation to WordPress users, DreamHost has condensed a number of complicated technical processes into a "simple" web-based roadmap that ...
DreamHost Signs On to Support ‘Contract for The Web’ - Global web hosting and managed hosting provider, DreamHost (dreamhost.com), has signed on to support The Web Foundation's 'Contract for The Web.' At least eighty organizations have now signed this manifesto. Contract for The Web is a campaign launched last week by the British inventor of the World Wide Web, Tim Berners-Lee.
Mr. Berners-Lee has long been concerned about certain developments, such as the spread of fake news, political influence, and invasion of privacy. The Briton fears a ...
[search all dreamhost.com news]

Dream Host Social Networks

https://www.linkedin.com/company/dreamhost/
DreamHost (established 1997) is a Privately Held entity having 2055 followers on LinkedIn and 51-200 employees, industry Internet.
Dream Host Blog  Using Wordpress version 5.4.2. Blog added on January, 2012, with total 541 articles, Language en-US. See recent blogs summary posts:
- 36 Brilliant Blogging Tools to Help You Write Better, Publish More, and Increase Traffic - Running a blog can be tough. There are times when it can feel like having multiple jobs. Not only do you need to create fresh, high-quality content, but you'll also have a website to manage, social ...
- “Power Outage” Brings Tabletop RPGs to Young Players (And Their Grown-Ups) - Bebarce El-Tayib didn't learn that Dungeons & Dragons or other tabletop RPGs (role-playing games) existed until he was well into adulthood. He was intrigued, and on his first Father's Day — his ...
- How to Start a Business: The Complete Guide - So, you want to start a business? To strike out into the unknown, discover new opportunities, change the world, and make some money along the way? The road to becoming your own boss can be a long ...

Domains trend


Dream Host Domain trend

ReviewsDream Host Customer Ratings

The quick stats of Dream Host profile shows a note average of 3.7 out of 10, counting 49 opinions. (few listed on the top of the page)
As visitor you can rate this provider directly here! If you are part of support team, you can respond to these reviews by going to login

Add your own review [Toggle to basic/advanced form]

Required information

Select Hosting Plan
Overall Rating
Time Hosted
Features
Price / Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Your Social URL, Name or Usernameeg. https://twitter.com/YOURID or https://facebook.com/YOURID
Your email
(will be obfuscated)
or login and come back to this page
Customer identification(Not public visible. Example Customer=1120 or Account=2121 or Order ID=511AAS3)
Your hosted domainExample mysite.net. If you have multiple domains, mention at least one
Summary of your posteg. dreamhost.com is best!
Your review HTML tags are NOT allowed! MINIMUM 100 characters!
Provide as much information as possible in your review! Too less information may be counted as not relevant and not approved!
Some customers might say good things like: "i'm happy with DreamHost" or bad things and complaints like: "this company sucks", or "is horrible", "dreamhost.com generated only problems", "scam or ripoff provider", but is your turn now to share your experience!
How much is 4 + 3 ? Respond with 7
 
(14 = 28.57%)
(1 = 2.04%)
(3 = 6.12%)
(31 = 63.27%)
Daniel LeBlanc (daniel.leblanc@x...) / happy hosting
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Dreamhost is awesome!
I've been a client of Dreamhost for over 4 years now, and I have nothing but compliments to give to their hosting services. I've started with a single blog on a shared host, and since then, I've grown to host multiple sites on both shared servers and virtual private servers, for myself, my company and many different clients. Dreamhost has been able to scale flawlessly to accomodate my growing needs, while keeping my costs under control, and I am confident that it will continue to do so for many years to come. Kudos, Dreamhost!

Dave (05temp@b...) / dschultzsystems.com
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
The email system at thinkhost is nothing short of a disaster. They claim 99% uptime, but that doesn't acutally mean you will get your emails today. Every month or so, they have a massive delay, and every once in a while, I just can't get email even though I make no changes to Outlook.

Whether you check email with outlook or their web-based system, you are screwed.

They once had a nice, simple, web-based email system but the new one is awful. It occasionally crashes my laptop and it is virtually unusable with Explorer. I have to use Firefox and pray.

Their email-forwarding front end sucks, too. When you add an email forwarding address, it isn't immediate. It takes about 24 hours to kick in.

When I have email trouble, their customer service dept actually asks me for my email password so they can log into my email and duplicate the error !!!! Crazy. Crazy stupid.

Every once in a while, some email servers will reject mail from them.

Windows often warns me of [read more...]
Ray (itisieclair@g...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
My experience is similar to a previous poster Nancy
My daughter who encouraged me to take up a two year package with think host as it was claimed by them they were a green company and set up a 2 year package for me!
The two year package was paid out of my then active company account.
During this time we never used Think Host once not even attempted to put up a site.
My company mainly based in real estate went into free fall and subsequently closed.
fast forward two years.
Think host has been billing me at my private email as as i said i did nothing to warrant setting up a company site (so thought nothing of an separate email) They have tried to bill me for a further 2 year plan but like Nancy my card had expired.
But it has not stopped there, they have doubled the fees every 3 months from $198 to $396 and now $792. When the 2 year contract was for $198?
I emailed them after receiving the first demand. and had an email back stating that they were sorry but I had [read more...]
Irene Shen (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have had great experience with Dreamhost and have found their support easy to work with the few times I have had to contact them over the 2 years that I have hosted my websites with them.
N.Nyqvist (-no email-) / nicolenyqvist.com
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
When I purchased a hosting packet with Think Host everything went very smoothly. I didn't have to deal much with the actual technical stuff as I had someone to help me build my site. But when I did have to look into it, I didn't find it very clear and easy to use (definately not for a beginner like me).
That said, service was always very quick and friendly when submitting a support ticket.
Now though, I decided to leave Think Host and I have been waiting for nearly 2 months (!!) to receive an authorisation code so I can simply move my domain name to another host and STILL NO CODE!!
I have mailed and mailed and all I receive are standard messages that a senior engineer will get into contact with me, but no such luck. I am simply outraged at this appalling service and I am being held up by Think Host. I have not had one explanation as to why I am not given my authorisation code. And the most annoying thing is that I can't seem to call or get in touch with anyone personal, apart from [read more...]
Nancy (nancyleighsmith@g...) / never used
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I purchased (foolishly) a two-year term with ThinkHost, delighted to find what seemed like a green, innovative company. Instead, I found a confusing platform, and a template that was not as had been described - very limited. I was opening a new business, and lost patience with the lengthy "ticket" procedure and complete lack of direct customer service. They would not offer a refund. I obtained a new service, and now, two years later, they tried to charge my credit card again (thankfully, it had expired)! I have since found nothing but negative reviews about them on the internet, and they have an "F" grade with the Oregon Better Business Bureau. Buyer, beware!
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Reliability was always a bit spotty. But customer service used to be quite good. Not the case at all now. In fact, it's very bad now. [import from thinkhost.com]

V. Bruck (zanthea@w...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Aren't they special. They were okay as long as we had hard coded HTML pages but installing seminal content management systems we rapidly detemined their limits. Sorry to say we didn't get much help, and only got required information from other users in the forum.

Pricing is okay if you don't expect much in return.
Didn't experience any downtimes.
Control panel was quite okay.
Instead of FAQ or knowledge base we found wikis, descriptions there often were of little help.
We didn't really get any (quick) support aside from the user forum.

No recommendation from us. We moved with 6 websites.
Terenze (terenzeyuen@g...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Very bad technical support. If you are someone non-technical, NEVER buy into this server.

I am a full time web developer myself and trying to ask for help to alter some settings in php.ini file. I've followed every step in their WIKI documentation, which seems to be very helpful and they are knowing what to do.

But my site gone down, so i submitted a support ticket as a matter of urgency and this is what i've got back:
I'm terribly sorry but we do not provide technical assistance for custom
PHP.ini installations.

What you can do is request for assistance from our fellow Dreamhost
customers, who has gotten this to work. Our forum is located here:

http://discussion.dreamhost.com/

Thanks!
Chih W

--
DreamHost Support Team + support@dreamhost.com
Earn over $97 for each referral: http://www.dreamhost.com/rewards.html
To continue this support case, just reply to this email.
Open a new case at: https://panel.dreamhost.com/?tab=support


The [read more...]
js (ichsie@g...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
DreamHost would have been the best of cheap webhosting if their servers do not crash and go down so frequently. It's absolutely a nightmare. Their control panel is great, support not bad too, but what do these matter if the server is down for 1/5 of the time?! We need uptime! That's essentially what makes a great web host! But on the contrary, DreamHost is way beyond a bad host in uptime.

Absolutely NOT recommended, even with a small budget you can find better uptime services elsewhere.
Paolo, askdivine.com (paolo.vizzini@g...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
A word advice: Keep Away From Dreamhost! The only way to describe Dreamhost's tech support team is that they are incompetent. The company should be renamed as NightmareHost!

Dreamhost is the worst hosting company I have ever dealt with. I'm responsible for number of websites and by mistake I choose Dreamhost for the newest client (askdivine.com)!

They have disabled my website which is only two weeks old, and it is offline for well over 24hrs because of a security threat!

Apparently a phishing page was uploaded to the account. After removing the threat they also have disabled the website, which was absolutely unnecessary!

Their excuse was that the old versions of WordPress, PHPBB, etc. are the common causes for this sort of thing, the irony is that I have never used any of them!

Anyway, I went through the files and told them everything is OK and 10 hrs later came up with a new excuse that our web software itself is the threat and we need to update Joomla. According to [read more...]
Paolo (paolo.vizzini@g...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I consider Draemhost as one of the worst web hosting companies.

The price wise and the control panel is are ok, but the tech support sucks! The usual response time is between 10 to 12 hrs – and still they have no clues about anything!

I think the company runs by a bunch of school kids since when a problem rises they are running around confused like a headless chickens! I have heard excuses for their incompetency beyond comprehension!

It should be renamed as NightmareHost!
Zach Fried (zachfried@h...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Thinkhost provided web hosting for nine websites that comprise my small business, primarily IT support and graphic design. From March thru June 2008, I submitted a total of 11 trouble tickets to their online support center, the majority for total failures for any sites to load.

The problem seemed to get better for awhile, then in early 2009 the downtimes returned, causing my clients to complain about their websites being down and losing significant business as a result of my website, the primary way customers reach me, being inaccessible. I submitted nine additional trouble tickets for such issues between 6/18/08 and when I finally closed the account in late February 2009.

In short, I paid for services that were not delivered as promised, and lost significant revenue because the gateway of my IT consulting business is my website, which experienced significant periods of nonfunctionality while I was a paying customer of ThinkHost. [import from thinkhost.com]
RG (robertaccio@s...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Downtime for thinkhost servers is too high.

Although I experienced good service for the first year, the last six months, and particularly the last month, was horrible. I received notices from website monitoring services on a daily basis notifying me that the websites were not available. Although I notified Thinkhost, nothing was done to improve it.

I received complaints from customers about returned emails and website not available, or pages too slow to load. While they didn't do anything to improve that, thus deteriorating their image, they caused me to look unprofessional towards my clients.

This is unacceptable and showing lack of professionalism, tarnishing the image of green web providers. [import from thinkhost.com]
Host Scooter (wrunicla@g...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
First, Thinkhost and many other companies like them are about as green as a mothball. They aren't powered by any renewable energy source at all, they simply buy Green Tags or REC's to offset their carbon footprint. This whole green thing is just marketing. The offset market is a borderline scam in and of itself, but that's a whole nother story.

There are some clever damage control postings, mostly by affiliates and sites like thinkhost-sucks, but don't be snookered into the comparisons that they provide. Some glaring problems can't be hidden by words.

Before you sign up for a trial, do a little homework. Go to Alexa.com and look at the overview of the site. Thinkhost ranks as "Very Slow" in the Speed rating (load time).

Then go to the site and poke around a bit. Its one of the slowest loading sites you'll ever see.

And that's the fast part. Once you sign up, the hosting panel and webmail interfaces are either really, really slow or just plain pot luck. Many [read more...]
randal williams (vendor@l...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
thinkhost - think ponzi scheme

after only 1 hour of trying their control panel I asked for a refund - it was slow and looked like some dos interface from the early 90's.

the terms of service on their site claim a 14 day and an 120 day no questions asked guaranteed refund - now thinkhost has been hassling me for 2 months and won't even respond to the 120 day guarantee - their customer care is like the bermuda triangle - when you ask for a refund they control the closing process - set up all sorts of hurdles and basically try to wear you down; I've never been so frustrated by a con artist - especially since they claim to be champions of green - when I called their customer service the rep 'Michael' told me to uplevel my refund request by emailing 'billing@thinkhost.com' - there is no such email address it bounced back; a similar thing happend when I registered my request for a refund - the used a no-reply email to gather my response.

thinkhost - think ponzi scheme - stay away [read more...]
Steve (-no email-)
Time Hosted: under 1 month
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I had high hopes for a Green host, but I guess windmills just don't provide enough power to keep the servers up. My site was frequently down and Thinkhost support kept promising me they were making improvements, I finally gave up on them and moved my sites 21 days after signing up and they would not refund my fees quoting their 14 day policy. But the only reason I hung around beyond 14 days was their ongoing promises to get things right. Alas, they never did, and then stiffed me on the fee. Green does not equal high integrity. [import from thinkhost.com]
Nyetah (rhythmso@e...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
DreamHost is a simple to use, feature rich, and good, basic web hosting company. I am an old Pair.com customer (Pair is probably the best and most secure host around but definitely not cheap and better for more advanced users and needs). Dreamhost on the other hand will give you everything you need and more with a simple price point and usability.

As per some of the "crazy" comments here about them being white supremacists and other bizarre accusations? Believe it if you will but think of the great Onion news story, "Local idiot to post comment on Internet".
Yol (web@b...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
STAY AWAY FROM THINKHOST!!!!! THEY WILL RIP YOU OFF!!!!
Boy, how I wish I had read these reviews before... I also wanted a socially responsible company to host my sites and found Thinkhost. I signed up for an account, even though I thought it was weird to have an automatic script follow me and pester me with coupons and offers right from the first visit to their web site. So, anyway, I signed up for an account and quickly realized it was not a good company when their admin panel turned out to be so unfriendly. I couldn't even set up a database without submitting a ticket for tech support!

I immediately requested a cancellation and they never sent me an email acknowledging the cancellation or anything to the email address I had posted as my email address. I realized they never canceled and refunded charges after a month, when I got my credit card statement, and when I contacted them they claimed they would not refund charges because they sent me an email in their “internal email [read more...]
Patrick (schroe9@g...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
The worst hosting company in the HISTORY of mankind. PLEASE stay away. It only gives you headaches. They never answer your email, they never fix the problem and your website will just not work. Nothing ever works.

Did you ever want to use a hosting company and have it just, work? That's not Dream Host. Dream Host is known as Dream Disgrace. Possibly the worst hosting company on the face of this earth.
Harry (hjw4@s...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
DO NOT USE THINKHOST!!!

Like most people I signed up my client with thinkhost because I valued their socially-conscious low carbon footprint web hosting. If I had known the problems that would ensue, I never would have paid them any money. My story is really quite simple. Due to some technical issue, I never received a welcome email detailing how I could access the control panel, and Dns transfer fields, etc. I sent them a support ticket, which was my first clue that trouble was brewing. At that time I also noticed a small message saying "sorry for the technical problems while we migrate our servers." (yikes, if I'd only seen that before!) Also, a comment on support-ticket systems; when a company does not provide any email or phone contact information, it is usually because they want a barrier between them and their customers behind which to hide. I'm not kidding about this, I recommend you Never do business with a company that uses only support-ticket systems for technical [read more...]
New American Communications (evpulse@g...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Ugh. I was ok with them until I found out that the whole thing is a White Supremacist owned business. It took me a while to figure it out but I did some research and found this:

http://www.thecivicplatform.com/

If you research this site you will see their affiliation with New Dream Network.
New Dream is even collecting money for The Civic Platform here:
http://www.dreamhost.com/donate.cgi?id=8987

If you are ok with supporting neo-nazi's / white supremacists then you've picked the right webhost.
Margaret (Aceyscloset@y...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have only started working with Dream Host recently, the site was referred to me by a friend. So far, I have found their customer service to be very responsive and informative, and I have found the site to be easy to navigate. I am looking forward to adding features and building my site and to continued great customer service.
seg (info@m...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Don't be tempted, like we were, by the guarantee, bandwidth or storage, because if your experience was like ours, you won't be able to use any of them.

The control panel was from hell, if you could ever access it. Whenever we tried to login the servers would not respond. FTP was totally inadequate, like dial up on a cable modem. We even got a letter from the big boss, Vladislav Davidzon, making excuses for their recent poor performance. Say what?!?

Forget Solar, these guys must use guinea pigs. The only Wind was the canned answers to our refund request. They flatly denied on the basis that we specifically waived our right to "service levels" as a reason for refund. They say they only warrant their advertising to be true, even though their ads are based on service levels and warranties ...but they're waived and so not warranted... and around and around she goes.

Thought at my age I'd seen it all and could avoid, in hindsight, these transparent ploys, but I got [read more...]
Sean Serritella (sean.serritella@g...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
The worst hosting company in the HISTORY of mankind. My website never works. Every time I try to log in, nothing happens. They don't answer your email and they are the worst service I've ever seen. They just, don't work. STAY AWAY. FAR AWAY. All I get are headaches.
Bob Boardman (-no email-)
Time Hosted: under 1 month
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Stay away from these guys..... go anywhere else. [import from thinkhost.com]
Julie Adams (infojulieadams@y...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month
Global rating
Features
Customer Relation
Control Panel
THINKHOST - THINK AGAIN

We wanted to change to a "green" host but guess what? DON'T do THIS with THinkhost!!! Better to stick with the ones who have a good support center and services and then just buy trees to offset.

We have paid a 2 year contract with Thinkhost and when we wanted to transfer from our old hosting company we encountered the following:

1. we changed dns but we werent able to see the website; they didn't create the marinedream account in the hosting panel only after 3 support tickets they figured out that that was the problem. But still my question how to use ftp from a program instead of a panel after 8 support tickets I still haven't heard the answer

2. I couldn't get in the secured hosting panel for emails; they keep telling me they can get in - but hey that doesn't help me; I lost 3 days email because I kept waiting for them to solve the issue. Today I just had to go back to my old hosting company and guess what within an hour i can receive emails [read more...]
Elizabeth (-no email-)
Time Hosted: under 1 month
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Two weeks ago I pre-paid for two years of hosting with ThinkHost. I am still unable to use those services, because their password reset dialog is broken. Tech support is ONLY through an online ticket system that can take between an hour and a day to get a response. After ten days of complaints they offered to add three months of free hosting on to my two years. I asked for a refund, based on their guarantee. They are not forthcoming on the refund. Now I can't get access with the new password I chose when their back end was briefly not broken, and the password reset dialog is broken again. [import from thinkhost.com]
sk (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Unreal. I have never seen such terrible service. I am leaving this service (or lack thereof). [import from thinkhost.com]
Tim (webmaster@s...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have been designing websites for over 10 years and the people I have designed sites for have used a variety of web hosts and I have to say that this is the absolute worst host I have ever had to deal with.

The website is down for hours at a time with no way to figure out why, no one to contact and if, by some miracle a support ticket actually makes it to their office, they deny everything and say everything is fine. Simply reboot your computer.

Their customer service is lacking in every way possible, their "uptime" is not based on a 365 day year and even after signing up for their plan, they continue to spam you with hosting coupons to sign up with them.

Do yourself a favor and steer clear of these people. There are other green hosting options that have similar features and plans, so if that is what you are looking for, don't get it from this host. [import from thinkhost.com]
Paul Rosenberg (pixeltech@m...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Where do I start with these people? This was a good deal, until they started having problems with servers going down for days at a time, and NO customer service except by email or wiki. I've been exercising patience with them, until the charged me over $1000 out of nowhere. Then, they suspended my hosting. I've come to despise this company. After four years, I've given them all the second chances they deserve and then some. I am done with dreamhost, and I strongly encourage anyone to think twice before using them!
Jamie (avonturier1111@h...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
These people should be called NIGHTMARE host. They have nobody you can
call when there is a problem and I find it to be a HUGE problem when they
start charging me for things they shouldn't charge me for. They made
several erroneous charges and they fixed two of them, but they are
refusing to fix a $190 problem and have my (2) domains held hostage unless
I pay them $260! What!!!??? And again... nobody to talk to.

It's a good thing these are the ones I'm building, not the ones I rely
heavily on every day. I was dangerously close to that I couldn't imagine
if that were the case. They are not worth the risk. There are several
others that have phone number and professional customer services that will
help you. These guys only have email and though they reply, they don't
actually answer any of your questions and concerns. It's totally
frustrating.

My review ABSOLUTELY NEGATIVE!!! STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Jerry (gskidmor_dontincludeunderscores@h...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I'm using the middle of the line package (one above the base). They are extremely slow to respond to server problem and the server response times are just dreadful. My site has been up and down for the past 3 weeks. But even prior to this their service was sporadic at best. They overload their serves to the point they become unstable; on-top of which, they don't have the technical expertise needed to run in an environment like that. What's worse, is they refuse to move your site to a less loaded server, so it languishes for weeks.

Unless you have a site you don't much care for, I can't recommend this place.
Marc (marc@m...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I set up a basic plan for a small local political campaign and things ran a little slowly but basically it was fine. Inside of three weeks things started rolling downhill and it all got real ugly. Here's my take, great price, great feature set. If you get stuck on a troublesome fileserver or cluster BAIL! They have proven to be incapable of handling server problems and will let your site suffer for weeks and weeks before taking action. And once they do take action, be prepared for some serious business-day downtime. Once you start seeing that sort of stuff on your server you better move, and fast.
Jack Dreamer (jackdreamer@g...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Plan - My Crazy Domain Insane

Firstly dreamhost is slow !!!

i try close my account but they dont close , because they want free domain price , opps...

They say everywhere giving free domain , dont trust , if try close the account , they take 9.95$ for free domain , how is free? they say lie...

Dont buy dreamhost for your mind health...
Patrick Ashour (patrick@v...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
this is one the worst hosting sites I ever saw.
Calimus (calimus@t...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have the Monster Code plan. You can't beat the diskspace and bandwidth for the price. DH has had growing pains, but what host doesn't? They have always been very quick with their fixes and keep a blog about what is going on even if it's not flattering for them.

I've never been ignored if I've had to contact customer service or support. Sometimes my sites are a tad slow, but thats shared hosting for you. If I wanted blazing fast sites, I'd loosen up the wallet and pay for dedicated hosting. DH's shared hosting is plenty fast enough. Very happy customer here. Features are great, one click installs of well known web-apps like phpbb/joomla. Custom control panel makes it very easy to administer your sites.

With over 10 years of being on the net, this is by far the best host I've ever had.
turin (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Plan - My Crazy Domain Insane - Which is the cheapest plan, but more than enough for my few sites. Has all the bells and whistles. Plus free CVS or Subversion server. A nice feature is the weekly increase in bandwidth and storage space( amount dependent on which plan you choose ) mine grows at 16GB bandwidth a week and disk space grows 1024GB a week. Have been very happy with Dreamhost for almost 3years.
KrasimirP (krassyo@e...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I am a DreamHost customer since month of April and this is the only hosting service that perfectly fits all my needs. I has perfect admin panel which makes it easy for you to maintain and administrate your reseller plan.
Micah Klesick (micah@c...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
This host is the BEST host I have ever seen, very friendly and fast.
-anonymous- (wht@k...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have been using dreamhost for almost 2 years and have been very satisfied. They always have good discounts. I used the code "MAXIMUM" which is supposed to give the maximum discount ($97 for me).
Cindy Gonzalez (affbld@g...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
So far I've been with DreamHost for a year and am quite impressed with their customer service and their set of host features. I registered a domain for free, signed up for the L1 plan and saved a bundle with code (DREAMH92). They have a forum and really quirky newsletters they email out periodically. Highly recommend them.
checkmet (asD@a...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Dreamhost is great with full ssh access and pretty good bandwidth/space for price.
Lance (jlv@v...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Watchout for dreamhost.com , they'd force you to pick a higher cost web hosting plan if your web traffic increase.
Also, there's NO REFUND especially on renewal, even you cancel on the same day of your renewal like. This is the exact response from dreamhost.com: "we only offer refunds within the first 97 days of service with us. It has been 369 days since you signed up with us, and we can not issue a refund to your card in this case. I apologize for the inconvenience that this has caused. "

Obviously, they want to steal the money. If you were me, stay away, go to lunarpages or something where they would refund your money within 30days even on renewal.
Edward Dailington (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Having just recently registered with this host, I am quite impressed. The webspace, bandwith and additional features offered for the pice are quite outstanding.

First off, tt is advisable to sign up for the site with one of the many available coupons, which allows you to save some serious money on your first bill. Without this, the prices won't be nearly as attractive.

Their basic plan already offers 20 GB of Webspace, a traffic limit of 1000GB, plus lots of neat goodies such as a personal Subversion server, Quicktime Streaming support, free domain registration for a year, unlimited domains and sub-domains, the list goes on. The advanced plans add on top of that. Check out their site for the details.

Overall, I am quite content so far. On the one occasion that I needed it, support feedback has been quick. The panel, while it is not CPanel, is still easy to use and offers all crucial features decently organized.
John (beatingtheodds@c...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Dreamhost has been a great value for the money as the deals with the promo codes are hard to beat. Signed up for the L1 account. I got 20GB of storage and 1 TB of traffic for less than $30 a year with a free domain registration. (You need to use Promo code 30AYEAR). You can also choose a monthly option and use promo code NOSET to waive the $49.95 set up fee. Only downside is they do not offer CPanel which I had become very comfortable with, however their conrol panel achieves the same effectiveness.

Alternate top web hosting companies in California, United States

  • Profile completion status:
    Things done
    Company descriptions is fine
    Company address location is complete
    Company phone/fax is added
    Company Twitter and Facebook accounts are added
    Forum, Blog/Announcements, Knowledgebase or FAQ URLs are added
    Products (plans) are added
    Note: Add a promotion or coupon

    Things to do
    "About page" URL or "Contact page" URLs are missing
    86%
    Yahoo Web Hosting
    smallbusiness.yahoo.com logo
    Alexa Rating10
    User Rating Total Reviews: 53
    Average Rating: 2 / 10
    Good Reviews: 6
    Bad Reviews: 47
    Official Responses: 0
  • Profile completion status:
    Things done
    Company descriptions is fine
    Company address location is complete
    Company phone/fax is added
    Company Twitter and Facebook accounts are added
    "About page" URL or "Contact page" URLs are added
    Forum, Blog/Announcements, Knowledgebase or FAQ URLs are added
    Products (plans) are added
    Promotions are added, but some are not updated from over 2 years

    100%
    Name Cheap
    namecheap.com logo
    Alexa Rating1,877
    User Rating Total Reviews: 18
    Average Rating: 3 / 10
    Good Reviews: 5
    Bad Reviews: 13
    Official Responses: 0
  • Profile completion status:
    Things done
    Company descriptions is fine
    Company address location is complete
    Company phone/fax is added
    Company Twitter and Facebook accounts are added
    "About page" URL or "Contact page" URLs are added
    Forum, Blog/Announcements, Knowledgebase or FAQ URLs are added
    Products (plans) are added
    Promotions are added, but some are not updated from over 2 years

    100%
    InMotion Hosting
    inmotionhosting.com logo
    Alexa Rating1,938
    User Rating Total Reviews: 48
    Average Rating: 6 / 10
    Good Reviews: 33
    Bad Reviews: 15
    Official Responses: 6
  • Profile completion status:
    Things done
    Company descriptions is fine
    Company address location is complete
    Company phone/fax is added
    Company Twitter and Facebook accounts are added
    "About page" URL or "Contact page" URLs are added
    Forum, Blog/Announcements, Knowledgebase or FAQ URLs are added
    Products (plans) are added
    Note: Add a promotion or coupon

    100%
    Kinsta
    kinsta.com logo
    Alexa Rating5,070

Compare to best hosting brands from California, United States new

These Dream Host testimonial(s) and rating(s) are the subjective opinion of our visitors and not of whtop.com staff.
Trademarks, logos & names are properties of their respective owners and protected by law.
Disclosure: Although we attempt to provide useful and accurate information we can not guarantee that it is always right. This is a professional website that may receive compensation from some providers which we review and promote or advertise, however that does not affect our reviews ratings!