×Share this page
 
  
discountasp.net
Average 8.3 out of 10
Total reviews: 20
Recommended by: 16
Opposed: 4
Official responses: 4


VISIT WEBSITE

discount ASP.net review

20 user reviews, 4 support responses, 0 testimonials, 7 products, 0 promotions, 4 social accounts, 12213 domains, 9256 hosted, Alexa #129538, listed 2005 (#2920)
discountasp.net
discount ASP.net
417 East Huntington Drive, Suite 200
Monrovia , CA 91016
US
Phone +1 323 372 3864
Fax +1 323 372 3864

Website language(s): en-US
Alexa Rating129,538▼ -28,017 User RatingAverage 8.3 out of 10
Total reviews: 20
Recommended by: 16
Opposed: 4
Official responses: 4

Price Range$ 10.00 - $ 499.00Support24x7Offer CurrencyUSD
Payment OptionsCredit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
SEO MOZ Authority53/56Links30,883
Profile completion status:
Things done
Company descriptions is fine
Company address location is complete
Company phone/fax is added
Company Twitter and Facebook accounts are added
"About page" URL or "Contact page" URLs are added
Forum, Blog/Announcements, Knowledgebase or FAQ URLs are added
Products (plans) are added
Note: Add a promotion or coupon

100%

Most Recent Customer Reviews

-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Amazing value and reliable
Used discount ASP.NET to host a ASP.NET website and MS SQL database for a small business application - part live, part testbed. All very smooth, and happily did database development over the wire hooked up to the live one when needed. The provided MS SQL tools and FTP access made backup and off-siting easy. Web server was always available when I needed it. As a caveat to this review, my app was not a 24/7 business-critical one, so I was not stress-testing the system. However, for the bargain price and my modest needs I was a very happy customer.
-anonymous- (josh@n...) / ctyounggunz
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Solid
Utilized their hosting for over 7 years and never had a problem. Uptime was excellent, interface was simple and was never bombarded with emails like I am by my registrar. Would recommend for anyone looking for solid hosting on top of a Microsoft technology stack.
-anonymous- (williphili4@a...) / trainingservicestoday.com
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
ASP.NET Hosting,

I'm a startup and did not do a lot of processing. However, when using your services they were ready and available . I appreciated that.

Thanks,
William
MORE REVIEWS
Listed and verified since 2005
discountasp.net logo

Editorial Review

Services: Web HostingDomain Registration

The DiscountASP.NET Mission

To deliver the best value in cutting edge, enterprise-class shared ASP.NET Web Hosting and SQL Hosting through continuous innovation. Period.

DiscountASP.NET is an recognized global leader in advanced shared Microsoft Windows webhosting services. Through strong word-of-mouth and our commitment to ASP.NET technology and innovation, DiscountASP.NET has become the choice for affordable and feature-rich ASP.NET hosting and SQL hosting.

We offer ASP.NET Hosting services in two tier-1 data centers in the USA and in Europe/UK.

100% Focus on Microsoft Windows Shared Hosting

We are specialists in
- windows 2008 webhosting Windows 2008 Hosting
- sql 2008 hosting SQL 2008 Hosting
- asp.net webhosting ASP.NET Hosting
- asp.net mvc hosting ASP.NET MVC Hosting
- .net framework 3.5 webhosting .NET 3.5 SP1 Hosting
- asp.net ajax webhosting ASP.NET AJAX Hosting
- silverlight compatible hosting Silverlight Hosting

Unlike competitors who try to be everything to everybody by supporting every type of hosting platform under the sun, DiscountASP.NET focuses all of our resources in applying innovation throughout our shared hosting product, service, and infrastructure to provide the most affordable, reliable, fast, cutting-edge, and feature-rich, enterprise-class, advanced Microsoft ASP.NET hosting and SQL Database Hosting. Our platform supports Classic ASP Hosting as well.

Our platform is perfect for developers looking for cutting edge, innovative technology at affordable rates.

Years of Web Hosting Business Experience

Microsoft Gold Certified Partner - DiscountASP.NET Our staff has over 150+ combined years of experience in the website hosting industry. Our team consists of industry veterans that have owned and operated successful and profitable hosting companies, Microsoft Certified Professionals, System Engineers, and Database Administrators that have worked for some of the Top 10 hosting companies in the world, and others who have worked at webhosting startup companies. We make sure that our staff are technically saavy and understand the web hosting industry.

The combined knowledge from years of extensive hosting experience allows our team to come together at DiscountASP.NET to focus on efficiently delivering the best value in Enterprise-Class Shared Windows hosting through innovation and knowledgeable customer support, while avoiding all the pitfalls they have experienced at other hosting companies.

ASP.NET Hosting by ASP.NET Experts
We custom built our own ASP.NET driven "instant activation" hosting automation system that technologically leapfrogs the competition. You do not need to wait an hour or a day to begin uploading your web applications.

We do not use off-the-shelf canned hosting automation software and market ourselves as ASP .NET hosters. We are more than a "marketing" company - we are technology experts. We prove our technical expertise by using and applying innovative .NET technology solutions in every aspect of our web hosting system.
In addition, we do not maintain old, legacy or otherwise deprecated technologies.

Continuous Innovation
- We continuously improve our ASP.NET Hosting and SQL Hosting offerings by introducing new .NET technologies, ASP/.NET components, management tools, and business partnerships.
- DiscountASP.NET launches support for Web Deployment Tool 1.0 (MS Deploy) on Windows 2008 platform.
- DiscountASP.NET launches support for Microsoft Failed Request Tracing Module and Microsoft URLRewrite Module

DiscountASP.NET is the first host to support Microsoft DBManager and AdminPack IIS7 Manager UI Extensions:
- DBManager
- ASP.NET Authorization Rules
- ASP.NET Error Pages
- Request Filtering
- More Information

DiscountASP.NET is the first host to develop and introduce IIS7 Manager Extension Modules:
- web.config backup/restore module
- global assembly cache (GAC) viewer module
- iis manager feedback module
- More Information

DiscountASP.NET was one of the first to market with:
- silverlight 3 hosting MSDeploy Support on Windows 2008 Hosting Platform
- sql server 2008 reporting services hosting - ssrs hostgin SQL Server 2008 Reporting Services Hosting
- silverlight 3 hosting Silverlight 3.0 Hosting
- dns management api DNS Management API
- sql backup api SQL Backup API
- iis manager ui extensions IIS Manager UI Extensions
- windows 2008 hosting Windows 2008 Hosting
- iis 7.0 hosting IIS7 Hosting
- asp.net 3.5 hosting ASP.NET 3.5 Hosting
- Control Panel Cardspace Login Integration
- sql server 2005 reporting services hosting - ssrs hostgin SQL Server 2005 Reporting Services Hosting
- microsoft silverlight hosting compatible Silverlight Hosting
- ftp managment tools Advanced FTP Management Tools
- mvc hosting MVC Hosting Compatible
- silverlight 2 hosting Silverlight 2.0 Hosting
- iis manager ui extensions - url rewrite URL Rewrite Module for IIS7
- .net 3.5 sp1 hosting .NET Framework 3.5 SP1 Hosting
- sql 2008 hosting SQL 2008 Hosting
- microsoft asp.net ajax hosting Microsoft ASP.NET AJAX Hosting
- asp.net 2.0 hosting ASP.NET 2.0 Hosting
- microsoft sql server 2005 hosting SQL 2005 Hosting
- sql hosting with on demand sql tools On-Demand SQL Tool Suite (real-time SQL backup, restore, shrink database tools, SQL 2008 and SQL 2005 hosting attach MDF file tool)
- iis management tools IIS Management Tools (real-time site start/stop tool, application pool recycle tool)
- free asp.net components Free ASP.NET Components
- asp.net 3.5 starter kit hosting ASP.NET 3.5 Starter Kit hosting
- dotnetnuke dnn hosting DotNetNuke hosting
- ASP.NET Powered Hosting Control Panel

We do not believe in being a stagnant hoster or following in the footsteps of other hosts. By innovation and leadership, DiscountASP.NET has become the choice for affordable feature-rich, enterprise ASP.NET web hosting and SQL hosting.

Data Center


Facility
* Concrete Tilt-Up Construction
* Steel Seismic Bracing added to meet the 1997 Seismic / Earthquake codes (Title 24 Seismic) for Los Angeles area
* All racks / cabinets are seismically braced and bolted directly to the concrete flooring
* 24 inch raised floor
* Dimax - Building Management / Alarm Monitoring System
* Power and data cables are run perpendicular from each other to minimize any electrical field interaction
* Janitorial service is bonded, insured and licensed

Security
* 7/16 inch thick steel sheeting around the front door and within the front reception area
* 2 level, man-trap, security access - before actually being able to enter the raised floor area
* Level 5 bullet-resistant walls / glass (Kevlar Lined walls) in the front entry, lobby, guard station, and shipping and receiving areas
* 256+ - fixed positioned, security cameras
* All camera footage is recorded and held for a minimum of 30 days
* 24 x 7 x 365 on-site security guards
* Security service is bonded
* No signage on building

Air conditioning
* Data Center temperature maintained at 72 degrees +/- 2 degrees
* Thermostats / Humidistats are located around the building on the walls, posts and ceilings
* Supply air temperature entering the IDC averages 55 - 62% varying with load conditions
* Ring duct in ceiling allows us to add diffusers (vents) where needed to provide additional air flow
* 16 - 135 Ton air conditioners N+6 - all 16 are running continuously w/redundant capacity
-- 6 - 135 Ton air conditioners support redundant capacity
-- 2 - 30 ton air-conditioners independently support NOC and NODE
* Air handlers are located on the roof (roof access is restricted and monitored)
* Two 125 Ton A/C Units, and one 70 Ton unit is dedicated to UPS Room

Power
* Pager notification service with California Independent System Operator (ISO) to monitor California utility power Stage Alerts and rolling black outs
* 6 main electrical distribution buses
* Each generator has 3,000 gals of diesel fuel - enough to power it for 22 hours at full load
* 4 - 12,000 gal. Diesel Fuel storage convault tanks (in addition to the primary fuel tanks) provide enough fuel to run generators continuously for 72 hours at full load
* UPS batteries support data center load until automatic transfer to generator is completed
* 24 MGE UPS's
* 10 Caterpillar 2000KW (2.0MW) generators
* 50 power management modules (PMM's) with 168 - 20 amp power circuits from each 165KVA power distribution unit (PDU); customized circuits provided as needed
* Power is served to the PDUs via 2 separate independent UPS power sources
* Each PDU has it's own Automatic Static Transfer Switch which can switch the power to the alternate source within 4 milliseconds
* Contracts with local fuel companies to provide additional on-site fuel, once generators are started

Fire suppression
* VESDA - Very Early Smoke Detection and Alarm system; small white 'air sampling tubes' draw air into chambers, where lasers analyze the air for smoke content
* Heat (140 degree) and smoke detectors are located on the ceilings around the building
* Clean-Gas hand-held fire extinguishers are through-out the building
* Fire station located approximate 600 feet from the data center

Network/bandwidth
* X - 4 inch conduits for telco fiber leading to the street
* Multiple redundant network paths
* Redundant OC48s
* All network operators certified internet systems engineers

Conclusion

Quick links:

Features
Support / FAQ
Order now
Support
About

Special pages


discountasp.net screenshot
Website research for discount ASP.net on December 6, 2011 by WebHostingTop

discount ASP.net Promotions

No website coupons announced! Looking to get a great webhosting deal using vouchers ? Checkout our current web hosting coupons list!
If you manage this brand, you must be logged in to update your promotions!

Add your promo code

Promotion:
Provide the start and end date
if the promotions expires
Your email (will not be displayed)
How much is 4 + 3 ? Respond with 7
 

Plansdiscount ASP.net Website Products

Shared - Windows Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk space Transfer UpdatedFree domain /
Allowed
ASP.NET HOSTINGfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IPs : 0

Expert technical support
U.S. and European data centers
Free website migration
Each site hosted in its own isolated application pool
Full Trust allowed
Windows Server 2016, 2012, or 2008
ASP.NET Core, ASP.NET 4.8.x, 4.7.x, 4.6.x
Custom Control Panel
Plan URL : https://discountasp.net/asp.net-hosting/plan/
$10.00/mo.1 GB80 GB 0 / unlimited
Domains Keep mouse
over features!
Price Updated
.comfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free

Price for new domain registration is $17.95 per year. Domain privacy service is also available for $8.95 a year per domain. Domain privacy can help prevent your personal information from being published in the public whois database. Domain privacy [...]
Plan URL : https://discountasp.net/services/domain-registration/
$17.95/yr.
SSL Certificates Keep mouse
over features!
Price UpdatedDomains protected
GeoTrust QuickSSL PremiumfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free
Domains protected : 1

SSL is the standard for securing websites, being both affordable and easy to implement.

There are three kinds of validation that SSL certificate providers perform. Some certificates require more involved validation, others require simple domain [...]
Plan URL : https://discountasp.net/services/ssl-certificates/
$129.00/yr. 1
GeoTrust True BusinessIDfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free
Domains protected : 1
Plan URL : https://discountasp.net/services/ssl-certificates/
$179.00/yr. 1
RapidSSL WildcardfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free
Domains protected : Unlimited
Plan URL : https://discountasp.net/services/ssl-certificates/
$209.00/yr. all subdomains
GeoTrust True BusinessID with EVfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free
Domains protected : 1
Plan URL : https://discountasp.net/services/ssl-certificates/
$269.00/yr. 1
GeoTrust True BusinessID WildcardfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free
Domains protected : Unlimited
Plan URL : https://discountasp.net/services/ssl-certificates/
$499.00/yr. all subdomains

Contact information is managed by discountasp.net representatives sales@d..., info@d..., affiliate@d... [login]
Claim this businessCreate a free account to manage discountasp.net listing!

It seems the discountasp.net website has Javascript error on main page, detected Jul 01, 2020

Web stats

Targeting: United States
Details for https://www.discountasp.net/
Website DNS: ns1.discountasp.net => 107.167.2.32 ( Los Angeles ) / SharkTech - sharktech.net
ns2.discountasp.net => 216.177.89.10 ( Pasadena ) / Host Collective Inc. - hostcollective.com
ns3.discountasp.net => 89.187.101.91 ( Slough ) / Equinix (Services) Limited - equinix.com
MX::mx.spamexperts.com => 130.117.53.188 ( Amsterdam ) / PSINet Inc. - cogentco.com
MX::fallbackmx.spamexperts.eu => 130.117.54.106 ( Paris ) / PSINet Inc. - cogentco.com
MX::lastmx.spamexperts.net => 149.13.75.27 ( Frankfurt am Main ) / Solarwinds MSP Cloud GmbH - solarwindsmsp.com
Server Software: Microsoft-IIS/10.0|ASP.NET
Website IP: 96.31.32.156
IP Location Country/State/City: United states / California / Pasadena - see top providers in United States, California
ISP Name / ISP URL: Host Collective Inc. / hostcollective.com

Customer testimonials

There are no customer testimonials listed yet. You can be the first one to add your testimonial here.

Add your own testimonial

This form is used exclusively for positive feedback, for a regular review click here

Your Name
Email (will be obfuscated)
One Hosted domain name with this company
Testimonial
(HTML tags are NOT allowed)
Minimum 100 characters
How much is 4 + 3 ? Respond with 7
 

discount ASP.net News / Press release

DiscountASP.NET has Introduced Core 1.0 Hosting Choices - Recently, DiscountASP.NET announced they have launched ASP.NET Core 1.0 hosting options. ASP.NET is an Open Source framework solution for Windows, Mac and Linux. The new hosting options will allow companies to leverage the technologies of Microsoft.
DiscountASP.NET is headquartered in Pasadena, California. They are a Microsoft Gold Partner and specialize in hosting solutions for Microsoft products.
.
Free WHIR Networking Event to be Held in Los Angeles - The WHIR is one of our go-to sources to find trending web hosting and big data news and information. They're hosting a free networking event in Los Angeles, CA in April for anyone in the hosting, cloud, MSP, VAR, Telco and internet infrastructure industries.
Tip: Bring your business card to be entered to win prizes from event sponsors!
WHEN: Thursday, April 21, 2016, 6:00 pm to 9:00 pm
WHERE: Tom's Urban, LA Live, 1011 S. Figueroa St. B 101, Los Angeles, California, 90012
>>Click here for more
DiscountASP.NET Officially Launches Hosted TFS Proxy Servers as a Free Service - The free service allows hosted TFS customers with developer team members that are located far from the company's data centers to improve their productivity.
DiscountASP.NET, a Windows Hosting provider, today officially announced launching hosted Team Foundation Server (TFS) Proxy servers as a free service for its TFS hosting customers. In addition, the company announced the availability of TFS Proxy servers in two new global locations - USA East Coast and South America. It currently offers
[search all discountasp.net news]

discount ASP.net Social Networks

discount ASP.net Blog  Using Wordpress version 5.5.1. Blog added on December, 2011, with total 114 articles, Language en-US. See recent blogs summary posts:
- September 2020 Web Application Gallery Updates - Below is a list of applications that we updated in the DiscountASP.NET Control Panel Web Application Gallery for September 2020. DotNetNuke (DNN) 9.6.2 Platform Drupal 9.0.3 Joomla 3.9.20 Moodle ...
- Telerik Controls Security Vulnerability - Over the past few months, we have seen a large number of hacking attempts against our customer sites using an old Telerik component vulnerability. More specifically, the Telerik Web UI component, ...
- DiscountASP.NET Attains Microsoft Silver Partner Status for 2020-2021 - I'm proud to announce that we have successfully renewed our Microsoft Silver Partner status for 2020-2021. We renewed with two competencies – Silver Datacenter Solutions competency and the Silver ...

Domains trend


discount ASP.net Domain trend

Reviewsdiscount ASP.net Customer Ratings

The quick stats of discount ASP.net profile shows a note average of 8.3 out of 10, counting 20 opinions. (few listed on the top of the page)
As visitor you can rate this provider directly here! If you are part of support team, you can respond to these reviews by going to login

Add your own review [Toggle to basic/advanced form]

Required information

Select Hosting Plan
Overall Rating
Time Hosted
Features
Price / Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Your Social URL, Name or Usernameeg. https://twitter.com/YOURID or https://facebook.com/YOURID
Your email
(will be obfuscated)
or login and come back to this page
Customer identification(Not public visible. Example Customer=1120 or Account=2121 or Order ID=511AAS3)
Your hosted domainExample mysite.net. If you have multiple domains, mention at least one
Summary of your posteg. discountasp.net is best!
Your review HTML tags are NOT allowed! MINIMUM 100 characters!
Provide as much information as possible in your review! Too less information may be counted as not relevant and not approved!
Some customers might say good things like: "i'm happy with discountASP.net" or bad things and complaints like: "this company sucks", or "is horrible", "discountasp.net generated only problems", "scam or ripoff provider", but is your turn now to share your experience!
How much is 4 + 3 ? Respond with 7
 
(15 = 75.00%)
(1 = 5.00%)
(1 = 5.00%)
(3 = 15.00%)
Miluta (miluta.tesu@g...) / euro-jobs.eu
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
discountasp.net is best!
I am very pleased with DiscountASP.NET services. Very good hosting solution for .NET. They have excellent response time, good service and support. I will highly recommend DiscountASP.NET to everyone. Great job. Thanks

rburgher (rburgher@p...) / flythepattern.com
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Great job of providing responsive hosting
I have hosted with DiscountASP for over 5 years. The reliability of the service is outstanding. In that 5 years I don't believe that the service was down for over a few hours total. The tech support was exceptional and always went out of their way to help me solve problems as they arose.
MW (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Excellent Service & Support!
I have been extremely impressed with DiscountASP.net. The ease of setup and everyday use, is one thing. But their speedy, reliable, and knowledgeable support staff is something that rarely exists in today's business world. They have bent over backwards for my site to assure PCI-Compliance and have been extremely helpful in all other questions and issues that have occurred. I cannot think of a better hosting company than DiscountASP.net!
com5fotoaut (-no email-) / com5fotoautos.com
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
good hosting
Good hosting service. Quick replies to questions and willingness to help. Price is fair and I had a good experience.
Ryan (ryan.criddle@g...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Fantastic shared hosting
This is easily the best shared hosting I've come across for .NET - cheap, reliable, super easy to use, and all the features you could want.

These guys are not just another faceless hosting corporation - the support and customer service response has also been great. I really couldn't be any happier!
Neville Swales (neville@b...) / xj13.eu
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Superb Technical Support
I have been a customer for a number of years and, after a technical issue I had recently I felt moved to record my appreciation. The problem turned out to have nothing to do with DiscountASP.NET hosting but was more to do with my ISPs use of DNS caching. Technical support was very fast, friendly and extremely competent.
Rick T. (ricteel@g...) / spll.org
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
DiscountASP.net is very good!
I hosted 2 differen sites with DiscountASP.net since 2008. During that time I experienced no problems at all with their hosting & database services. Most recently I use DiscountASP.Net to host a site for our Little League organization. This site was used heavily by coaches, players, and parents. I cannot remember any time when my site was down. Great service & great price. Easy to use control panel. Would definitely use them again!

AMA (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I chose discountASP as a webhost after bad experiences with other hosts such as 1and1. The service has been consistently good and I'd recommend them as a good starter account for asp.net sites.
Jose Luis Saiz R. (jlsaiz@s...) / intellectualconsulting.com
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Excellent company, easy user friendly website navigation.
I have worked with Discountasp.net for several years, starting back in 2001. I have used it for both commercial purposes and personal website testing during my carreer.
The ease of use, simplicity and quality keeps me coming back everytime. Keep up the good work!
Digital Chalkboard (randolphcabral@g...) / digitalchalkboard.org
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Another Satisfied Customer
What more can we say? Just look at their customer satisfaction record. We are just one of many happy customers. Service was always prompt and you get the most features for every dollar. You can't go wrong with DiscountASP.NET.
John (john@b...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Great service
Used Discountasp.net to host my overstock/closeout website. They had the site operational within minutes and provided easy to use tools to maintain all the essential aspects of my site. I did during the 15 months that the site was active, I did not experience any downtime issues. Pricing for their hosting package was very good and my few experiences with customer service were excellent.
austinblue1 (dean993@h...) / austinbluesjams.com
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
All tools you need as a Microsoft Developer
Great customer service, pricing and features for Microsoft Hosting. Account set up and cancellations are within 30 minutes of request.
sml (developer@n...) / noknok
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
The absolute worst experience
Starting with an email to support on 03/23/11, since then they have stated pretty much deal with the over usage of servers.

They have deleted my forum posts because they dont like what it has said.

They have failed to provide any other contact besides CANCEL your account in the control panel.

They have now banned my IP from forums to hide the real support issues.

Rated F in the BBB....
http://www.la.bbb.org/Business-Report/DiscountASPnet-13204201
We received a tech support email from this customer on 3/23/11. In our reply we asked him to elaborate on the issue he was having so we could investigate further. We also asked him for his URL so we could replicate the problem and for a traceroute. However, instead of cooperating with us and providing us with the information, this customer immediately became angry and insulting of our tech support. It is NOT uncommon for tech support at any hosting company to ask for more detail regarding an issue. If a customer is not willing to cooperate, like this gentleman was, then there is very little we can do for him. Had this customer responded with the information that we requested, then we could have sorted out his issue. Instead, this customer was uncooperative and insulting.

With regards to his forum post, we replied back to his forum post explaining how we troubleshoot issues such as the one he was having. We explained that asking for a traceroute and URLs is normal and [...]

Customer service representative (sales@d..., ).
Happy customer (outdid80975@m...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I am very happy with DiscountASP.NET, and have mentioned this on their forum. I program in .NET technologies (ASP.NET, Silverlight). Their forums are knowledgeable regarding their systems (and true programming questions should be directed to groups like Microsofts MSDN forums BTW) and their customer response is excellent (by email)--typically answered the same day. From a programmer's point of view, I cannot be more pleased. The cost of $5 to $10 / mo. (depending on how many features you add, such as a SQL Server dB) is competitive and very reasonable. Further evidence of their programming prowess is the fact DASP has won numerous awards for customer satisfaction of developers.

Any negatives? For me, no. But I've read that their performance is only "average". But I've not seen any degradation even though I use their Southern California server from Europe, and a client uses it from Singapore with no problem. BTW, if you really want performance, and are getting hundreds [read more...]
Paul Stephens (paul@p...) / prayerforceone.com
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Technical knowledge is excellent, it is because of this I was willing to live with their low performance. However, I ran into a problem with their usage policy. My site traffic exceeded their daily email traffic limit. They suspended my email and only after I asked them why did they display their usage policy. Several months later it happened again and they suspended my email completely and will not re-enable it. Even with letting them know that I have removed the mass emailing functionality, they still wouldn't reenable my email. They give one warning, then they shut you off.

This wasn't a really big deal for me, I have the knowledge to build an exchange server and attach it to a public static IP (although this option was slower). Had it completed in a few hours. However, if you do not have access to such knowledge, you will be hung out to dry.

After my term runs out, I will be leaving them and I will never look back. Also, I have great influence in recommending [read more...]
To begin, we have no record of a customer by the name of Paul Stephens.

Our usage policy is written very clearly on our service policy page. It states the following:
DiscountASP.NET does not allow the use of their services for mass mailings. This includes all mailing lists, legitimate opt-in or not. Email usage in excess of 5000 emails per account per 24 hours or 1000 emails per account per hour is not allowed and could result in suspension of email services, account suspension, and/or account termination. For these types of mass mailings, a third party mass email service should be used.

If this customer had his email suspended, then it was because he abused our email policy. This customer states that this happened TWICE, so we obviously unsuspended his email after the first time (that was the first warning), but this customer apparently chose to abuse our email policy again. Because of this, his email was suspended again, and NOT turned back on. Even though he says he [...]

Customer service representative (sales@d..., ).
Frank Kwong (frank@a...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
We have hosted with discountasp for many years and the performance of this ISP is average. When all goes well you never contact them and that should be normal. It is when things go wrong, their support is what counts. First of all, there is no number to call. You can only submit a ticket and they they do not read the ticket, you are totally out of luck. In my case, our apps failed in their WS2003 server and worked in their WS2008 server. They offered an automatic upgrade and after the button is clicked, the process failed and the site and email service was dead. The only channel for support is the 'ticket'. Well, there is no action and it has been 3 days. They think the site is up w/o even checking it. Their support is becoming a one line message and they do not really answer your question. If your site is mission critical, I do not recommend this ISP as you'l be asking for trouble. Find one that has a phone number. Discountasp practically has no support at all.
We have automated the migration process from IIS6 to IIS7. Most sites migrate fine. In some cases, like this customer, the process failed so we did the migration manually. Yes, we provide support via helpdesk/email. The customer can use the Support Portal to communicate with us - they can see their history, review responses and reply. So there is a way to communicate with us even when email services are down. I looked at every ticket for this customer and we answered every reply in a timely manner and never has there been a 3 day gap. I'm sure that the customer was frustrated but we did manually migrate the site when automated processes failed. We did answer questions on time. We did advise the customer on how to get their apps to work on a different platform. We do have a way for customers to communicate with us without email access. The claim of offering no support is incorrect. And also, despite the harsh criticism, the customer still hosts with us and has thanked us in many of [...]
Customer service representative (mark@d..., ).
Tony Schck (schck@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I hosted asp-based sites with discount.asp for years. Their uptime was always impeccable and support outstanding. When my development style changed over to using php, I had to change the hosts of my sites to a LINUX server, an service that DiscountASP does not provide. This is where all my troubles started.

One of my site's domain name was purchase through DiscountASP as they were a reseller. DiscountASP charged me a back end fee of $15 to release the domain from their hold. I have never been charged a back end fee in changing domain registrars in my ten years of designing. DiscountASP essentially hijacked my domain until I paid this fee. As I felt that this was a serious matter, I requested a customer service number from DiscountASP to discuss this matter personally they refused only to continue to send me form emails.

BE WARNED: DiscountASP is a 'good guy' until you run into trouble like I did. When you have a problem (or they see You as a problem), they tend to be more slow [read more...]
This poster is mistaken. We do not hijack domains. As a domain reseller, our domain registrar partner charges us for all domain renewals 30 days before the domain expires and these fees are nonrefundable to us. This is a standard policy of domain registrars. So basically, we paid for another year of the domain fees so we are only recovering the fees that we paid to release the domain. It would be great if the domain registrars change their policies so that hosts do not get the short end of the stick when a customer decides to cancel after the host has shelled out nonrefundable money to renew their customers domain (for the customers convenience).
Customer support representative (mark@d..., ).

Alternate top web hosting companies in California, United States

  • Profile completion status:
    Things done
    Company descriptions is fine
    Company address location is complete
    Company phone/fax is added
    Company Twitter and Facebook accounts are added
    Forum, Blog/Announcements, Knowledgebase or FAQ URLs are added
    Products (plans) are added
    Note: Add a promotion or coupon

    Things to do
    "About page" URL or "Contact page" URLs are missing
    86%
    Yahoo Web Hosting
    smallbusiness.yahoo.com logo
    Alexa Rating10
    User Rating Total Reviews: 53
    Average Rating: 2 / 10
    Good Reviews: 6
    Bad Reviews: 47
    Official Responses: 0
  • Profile completion status:
    Things done
    Company descriptions is fine
    Company address location is complete
    Company phone/fax is added
    Company Twitter and Facebook accounts are added
    "About page" URL or "Contact page" URLs are added
    Forum, Blog/Announcements, Knowledgebase or FAQ URLs are added
    Products (plans) are added
    Promotions are added, but some are not updated from over 2 years

    100%
    Name Cheap
    namecheap.com logo
    Alexa Rating1,877
    User Rating Total Reviews: 18
    Average Rating: 3 / 10
    Good Reviews: 5
    Bad Reviews: 13
    Official Responses: 0
  • Profile completion status:
    Things done
    Company descriptions is fine
    Company address location is complete
    Company phone/fax is added
    Company Twitter and Facebook accounts are added
    "About page" URL or "Contact page" URLs are added
    Forum, Blog/Announcements, Knowledgebase or FAQ URLs are added
    Products (plans) are added
    Promotions are added, but some are not updated from over 2 years

    100%
    InMotion Hosting
    inmotionhosting.com logo
    Alexa Rating1,938
    User Rating Total Reviews: 48
    Average Rating: 6 / 10
    Good Reviews: 33
    Bad Reviews: 15
    Official Responses: 6
  • Profile completion status:
    Things done
    Company descriptions is fine
    Company address location is complete
    Company phone/fax is added
    Company Twitter and Facebook accounts are added
    "About page" URL or "Contact page" URLs are added
    Forum, Blog/Announcements, Knowledgebase or FAQ URLs are added
    Products (plans) are added
    Note: Add a promotion or coupon

    100%
    Kinsta
    kinsta.com logo
    Alexa Rating5,070

Compare to best hosting brands from California, United States new

These discount ASP.net customer review(s) and ranks are the subjective opinion of our visitors and not of whtop.com staff.
Trademarks, logos & names are properties of their respective owners and protected by law.
Disclosure: Although we attempt to provide useful and accurate information we can not guarantee that it is always right. This is a professional website that may receive compensation from some providers which we review and promote or advertise, however that does not affect our reviews ratings!