1&1 Web Hosting negative review #21225 by ChrisP (chris@p...) on 2012

1&1 Web Hosting got a negative review on and one official response on

1and1.com
1&1 Web Hosting
701 Lee Rd
Chesterbrook , PA 19087
US
Tel +1 877 461 2631
Fax +49 72191374215
Customer review #21225
1/10
ChrisP ( chris@p... )
Time Hosted over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Prices / Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Unsatisfactory use of Virtual Technology

I have several packages with 1&1 and the shared hosting isn't bad so I took on 2 servers for specific high demanding work. We couldn't figure out why the servers regularly seemed to disappear for an hour or so. 1&1 tech just kept saying "well they are back on now" when I finally got a response back. This was no good when business was lost during these almost weekly blackouts. Eventually got a sensible response back after threatening to dock to their payment by the downtime and I paste directly from their email -

"As far as the general issues of maintenance, the current process is this: 3rd level support brings VPS's down for maintenance and upgrades, and it goes down when performing backups. This is normal, and unfortunately there's nothing our server technicians can do about it. It's standard procedure at this time. There are requests in place to change this with product development, however those changes have not yet been implemented.
"
Looks like they have never used Hyper-V or V-Motion then ? I wonder what they think the point of a virtual server is.

My servers are moving to another host very soon.

Chris
Hi Chris, my name is Caitlin and I am a member of the Complaints Department at 1and1. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you have faced here. I can assure you the difficulties you have faced are an aberration of our service, and not the standard. We are here to help in any way we possibly can. If you would like you can contact myself or any member of the Complaints Team at complaints@1and1.co.uk; we will be more than happy to listen and discuss any issues you may be facing. Thank you so much and we hope to hear from you!
Marketing representative (kem.odike@1and1.com, ).

101 out of 105 users found this review to be helpful!