Web Serve review

This review cover a general impression of webserve.ca product features like reliability, support, data center, price & more. Brand #2279, listed since .

Most Recent Customer Reviews

-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Webserve is the worst business I have ever dealt with in my life. When I first joined they actually provided a service but over the years their customer service declined and became corrupted.

They will do whatever it takes to charge your credit cards above and beyond what you actually signed up for. They send misleading emails about renewal. Customer service is useless.

If you try to cancel your service they will double charge your credit card, tell you that everything is okay and then send you an email that says you can’t cancel until another 6 months. This is ridiculous since their webservers are always down.

Even after I tried to cancel many times and tried to get my money back for the double charges they would not cancel or refund their mistakes. Even after my credit card expired they contacted me saying I still owe them money and I should send them my new credit card information. They expect you to pay for webservers that are down and not working. It should be seen as [read more...]
G W (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
they are badddddddd
go to their website now and try to give them a call
all phone down many site down complaints
took my money and within 24 hours I tried to
get a refund based on their 30 guarantee
and they said I waited to long to cancel so no refund.
now it seems that they didn't even pass my visa...they sent the bill to a company called hostpapa so it looks like the company is closing down and running on all their clients.
look out if your thinking of signing up with them.
Doris (vywlee@h...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Don't walk, but run away from this company
It is definitely the worst web hosting company I have ever had. Downtime is horrible. Always always down. Failed to access the control panel. I decided to let them know I don't want to have my contract renew and submit cancellation request. Then, all in a sudden, all my websites and emails didn't work. My clients shouted at me for losing website and emails. I asked Elina why my sites are gone(I didn't even can back up my stuff because I had problem to access the control panel), she said your account is closed and I should have told the company that I still have few months of contracts during cancellation. Gees, I did checked my conversation log last time, and I did told her. Now, all phone numbers to the company is "Not in service". Negative 5 stars for this company.
MORE REVIEWS

Overview

About Web Serve

WebServe Canada is an industry-leading privately held web hosting and internet solution provider company based in Vancouver, Canada Serving & Web Hosting the Canadian Internet Community since 1999. We provide high quality web hosting services for companies of all sizes that are located across the world internationally and of course in Canada from Toronto to Vancouver, Ottawa, Montreal, Halifax...

We are an innovation in quality hosting and design... superior customer service... at affordable prices. It's our belief (proven time and time again by statistics) that people do not visit your site for entertainment... they're looking for information. And they want it easy to find... and they want it fast! We deliver with the most reliable hosting packages and web designs built on "form, fit and function" with pricing choices to fit every budget.

Our remarkable reliability record (99.9%) and superb technical support translate into a world-class environment to develop and run your company's web presence!

Formed in 1999:

We are a company providing high quality, cost effective Internet services to both private and corporate clients throughout the world. We continue to experience growth since our infancy in web design and development, marketing, web site promotion and domain registration services.

Our clients benefit from the most advanced, feature rich, web based control panel in the industry combined with our first class technical support.

Customer service is a key element in the satisfaction of our clients, as we continue to go well beyond the expected when it comes to meeting the needs of our customers. First in having a knowledgeable and well trained staff, second in ensuring that they are easily accessible when needed.
B.C.'s Fastest Growing Company
WebServe Canada is proud to announce being awarded as the 2006 top B.C.'s Fastest Growing Company (5th place ranking).

Award winning weekly newspaper Business in Vancouver has recognized WebServe Canada as one of the top 50 fastest growing companies (5th place ranking) in British Columbia.

WebServe Canada currently has over 60,000 satisfied customers and was ranked in the top five fastest growing companies in British Columbia, Canada in 2005 by Business In Vancouver. View our Business in Vancouver ranking for 2005.

Profitable and Growing

Unlike other hi-tech players and at a time when many telecom internet service providers are closing, WebServe is expanding. We are growing because we are small, focused, and able to provide reliable services that are increasingly important to small and medium businesses today. WebServe Canada has been profitable every quarter since its founding in 1999.

Our Mission Statement:

To provide our clients, both personal and business with top quality web hosting at affordable prices. Top-quality support is seen by us as a vital part of our company, that is why we have invested heavily in this department to offer you a great service.

Dedication to Quality:

Simple Ideas, we operate with some simple concepts in mind. First and foremost, to take care of the customer. We make sure each and every customer's needs are met, instead of expecting them to confirm to what we supply. Second, we produce the best product we can innovate with the assistance of our impressive in house development team. We operate at ultimate efficiency, and are able to offer a feature set beyond any other system you will find on the market.

Performance & Stability: Any website's performance is defined by two simple concepts, connection speed and stability. These two concepts have been the concentric focus on which we've built our network.

WebServe Canada Facts

Founded in 1999
Over 60,000 hosted domains

Famous Clients

Honda Canada
Nokia Canada
Samsung Canada
Siemens Canada
Mitsubishi Canada
BCHydro
Yellow Pages Canada
University of Toronto
Simon Fraser University
Government of Alberta
Government of British Columbia
NDP political party
Holiday Inn Hotels

Hosting Infrastructure

World-class and secure datacenter facilities
100% network uptime
Cisco powered network
UPS and emergency diesel generator power

Awards

2008 B.C.'s Fastest Growing Company
2007 B.C.'s Fastest Growing Hi-Tech Firm
2006 B.C.'s Fastest Growing Hi-Tech Firm
2006 B.C.'s Fastest Growing Company
2006 Top 3 Best Budget Web Host by Web Host Directory
2006 Top 5 Best Web Host in Canada by Top Hosts
2005 Top 3 Best Windows Web Host by Web Host Directory
2004 Top 10 Best Web Host in Canada by Top Hosts
2004 Top 10 Hosts by Web Hosts Online
2003 Top 10 Best Web Host in Canada by Top Hosts
2002-2004 Golden Web Award by Gold Web Award

Accreditations

Member of BlackBerry Alliance Program
CIRA certified registrar
Microsoft Windows Web Hoster
Miva certified hosting partner
Microsoft Partner
Parallels certified gold partner

Building Security

- 24/7 building security guard, closed circuit cameras, after hours access card elevator access.

Our state-of-the-art Network Operations Centre (NOC) is manned 24 hours per day, seven days per week by both technical staff and security staff. The NOC monitors WebServe's network and co-location facilities to ensure uptime and maximum network performance.

Network Infrastructure

The WebServe network has been engineered from the ground up to accommodate the high-availability demands of the internet's most popular websites. The datacenter and network have been optimized for outsourcing web servers.

Operating via private peering connections and public Network Access Points (NAPs), our expansive, redundant network was designed to offer a forward-thinking alternative to the existing network options. We utilizes multiple major upstream providers and more than 400 peering partners to ensure continuous Internet connectivity, greater route diversity, and ultimately, enhanced Internet performance. This strategic combination allows customer traffic to be routed over the best available connections. If the Internet is an important part of your business.

Benefits
100% Network uptime guarantee
Multiple upstream providers
No single point of failure
Zero packet loss
Fastest inter-city times, second to none
Network Engineer available 24/7

Guaranteed Packet Delivery

WebServe pays our providers to make sure that packets of information are delivered to the end user's eyeballs. This offers significant advantages over simply peering with the major backbones. Peering agreements rarely include Service Level Agreements (SLAs) so no one is accountable for lost packets at congested exchange points. Because WebServe actually has SLAs with all our providers, we are able to guarantee that all packets will leave our network at full speed.

Bandwidth Utilization

The WebServe Network currently has plenty of excess capacity, even during peak hours. This allows for us to accommodate even the largest spikes in traffic that are often associated with the most popular Web sites. We are always adding network connectivity and new routes in an effort to make sure content is delivered to your users as efficiently as possible. A low bandwidth utilization also allows for maximum uptime, even if one of our providers has an outage ...just another reason to outsource your server to WebServe.
Coverage

We offers broadband services on an optical mesh fiber network spanning approximately 53,000 kilometers (33,000 miles) in the United States and Canada. The network provides seamless connectivity between 60 North American cities, including New York, Toronto, Chicago, Denver, Dallas, Los Angeles and Vancouver. Our North American network is one of the largest and most advanced on the continent, spanning approximately 25,000 miles (40,000 kilometers) and connecting 48 major cities in Canada and the United States. The network design uses advanced optical technologies to reduce complexity and cost while enhancing reliability. The network is based on Dense Wave Division Multiplexing ("DWDM") and intelligent optical switching technology. When compared to older legacy networks, which many of our competitors operate, our network structure provides for faster provisioning, greater flexibility to accommodate scale and technological upgrades and a wider range of services and products.

Why Choose WebServe?

Here are only few reasons:

We know you're probably shopping around, and we know the competition is fierce! So we've put together a list of reasons why we feel The WebServe Canada offers significant advantages over our competition. We will also try to address the question, "My ISP gives me free Web space, why would I need to buy from a dedicated web hosting company, like yours?"

Profitable and Growing

Unlike other hi-tech players, at a time when many telecom internet service providers are closing, WebServe is expanding. We are growing because we are small, focused, and able to provide reliable services that are increasingly important to small and medium businesses today. WebServe Canada has been profitable every quarter since its founding in 1999.
Serving over 60,000 Canadian and International Domains!

WebServe Canada's number one asset is our growing base of loyal customers. Small and large, Canadian or USA, International from overseas Middle east to Europe our customers rely on WebServe to provide secure, reliable and value-rich hosting services.

Website Host - Canada, does it matter?
YES! We know you can get some great prices (even after paying in loonies) for hosting in the United States and elsewhere, but there is a little known catch.

When many Canadians do a search on Google, Sympatico, Yahoo or other search engines, they will very often choose the "Canadian Sites Only" button for searches on Canadian products or services.

If your web host does not have a Canadian IP address (and many Canadian hosts don't) then searches done on your site with the "Canadian Sites Only" tag on will never show you in their results!

Affordable Canadian Web Hosting

We feel that our price has been set fairly. We have never operated any of our business units with the mind set of gouging customers when an opportunity arises that could be exploited. We, on the other hand, believe in a fair price for good service and longevity.

High Quality
Whether you are a company of one or a hundred, we have the right hosting plan for you. We offer a variety of hosting packages, with different platforms, features and customizations, tailored specifically for you. You can rest assured that WebServe Canada can provide you with the quality of service you need at the right price, offering the perfect plan for your company’s needs. We are here to grow with you.

Why not use my ISP (Internet Access Provider)?
Here's the question that usually generates the most interest. There are many reasons NOT to store your Web site with your ISP.

Most ISP's won't let you use your free Web space for business purposes, if you get free Web space at all.

An ISP has optimized their equipment for internet access service, not serving Web pages. So while they may be on the cutting edge with their hardware, it is not likely that they are keeping up with the latest hardware and software dedicated to serving Web pages.


What if you want to switch a Inter providers? You won't be able to take your established Web address with you (unless your ISP is hosting a virtual domain for you), thus alienating visitors who expect to find your site at a specific location.

Many ISPs' free Web space is located under their domain name where they just stick a tilde "~" in front of your username and that becomes your Web address. Not very professional looking for a business.

As mentioned above, many ISP's use only T1 lines while we use multiple Fiber Optic connections to the Internet, which has 100s of times the bandwidth of a T1.

Related links


webserve.ca Facebook Cover
Website research for Web Serve on June 1, 2005 by WebHostingTop

Promotions

No website coupons announced! Looking to get a great webhosting deal using vouchers ? Checkout our current web hosting coupons list!
If you manage this brand, you must be logged in to update your promotions!

Add your promo code

Promotion:
Provide the start date
and end date if the promotions expires!
Your email
(will not be displayed)
How much is 2+2 ? Respond with 4
 

PlansWebsite Products

Linux - Shared Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
Webserve Shared - Email Hosting featuresWe are an innovation in quality hosting and design... superior customer service... at affordable prices. It's our belief (proven time and time again by statistics) that people do not visit your site for entertainment... they're looking for [...]$4.99/mo. 20 MB3 GB
Linux Starter  $5.00/mo. 1 GB50 GB
Webserve Shared - Starter Unix featuresWe are an innovation in quality hosting and design... superior customer service... at affordable prices. It's our belief (proven time and time again by statistics) that people do not visit your site for entertainment... they're looking for [...]$6.99/mo. 100 MB3 GB
Linux Plus  $9.00/mo. 3 GB500 GB
Linux Pro  $12.00/mo. unlimitedunmetered
Webserve Shared - Unix Plus featuresWe are an innovation in quality hosting and design... superior customer service... at affordable prices. It's our belief (proven time and time again by statistics) that people do not visit your site for entertainment... they're looking for [...]$15.99/mo. 300 MB20 GB
Webserve Shared - Unix Pro featuresWe are an innovation in quality hosting and design... superior customer service... at affordable prices. It's our belief (proven time and time again by statistics) that people do not visit your site for entertainment... they're looking for [...]$24.99/mo. 500 MB30 GB
Windows - Shared Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
Win Starter  $7.00/mo. 1 GB50 GB
Webserve Shared - Starter NT featuresWe are an innovation in quality hosting and design... superior customer service... at affordable prices. It's our belief (proven time and time again by statistics) that people do not visit your site for entertainment... they're looking for [...]$9.99/mo. $25 Setup Fee 100 MB3 GB
Win Plus  $19.00/mo. 3 GB500 GB
Win Pro  $23.00/mo. unlimitedunmetered
Webserve Shared - NT Plus featuresWe are an innovation in quality hosting and design... superior customer service... at affordable prices. It's our belief (proven time and time again by statistics) that people do not visit your site for entertainment... they're looking for [...]$24.99/mo. 300 MB20 GB
Webserve Shared - NT Pro featuresWe are an innovation in quality hosting and design... superior customer service... at affordable prices. It's our belief (proven time and time again by statistics) that people do not visit your site for entertainment... they're looking for [...]$24.99/mo. 500 MB30 GB

Marketing information is managed by admin@webserve.ca [login] Claim this businessCreate a free account to manage webserve.ca listing!

Web stats

Targeting: Canada

TestimonialsCustomer testimonials

"I was very surprised to read these negative reviews of Webserve because we have 3 years use their services. Our problems are always solved very quickly. Maybe this is not the best company, but we do not need to change provider so often. We are satisfied with their services for such low prices."
Kelly ( kelly.main@l... ) / http://projectaerosol.com
"I would like to nominate Webserve.ca for their personal attention for every clients, they are reliable and have a very good customer and tech support. Their up-time and support has been beyond my expectations. I would highly recommend them. Every time I am asking them for help they are very professional, helpful and kind."
suse_malvin ( suse_malvin@h... ) / kubatica.com

Add your own testimonial

This form is used exclusively for positive feedback, for a regular review click here

Your Name
Email(will be obfuscated)
One Hosted domain name with this company
Testimonial
(HTML tags are NOT allowed!)
Minim 100 characters!
How much is 2+2 ? Respond with 4
 

News

WebServe Offers .ca Domain Pre-booking - Web hosting provider WebServe Canada (webserve.ca) announced on Tuesday it is now inviting customers to pre-book ".ca" domain names on its Web site.
In addition to domain names "to-be-released," WebServe will also give users the option of booking expired .ca names through its site.WebServe, a certified registrar of Canadian Internet Registration Authority, says its online registration site will use more advanced technologies than its competitors."While signing up to pre-book a .ca name, our users will be protected by state-of-the-art encryption technologies - protecting both their registration and credit card information," says Ali Mozaffari, WebServe CEO. "Our focus, as it is with anything we're involved in, is to make the process as easy, reliable and safe as possible for our user." [search all webserve.ca news]

Social Networks

No official account on Linkedin yet!
https://plus.google.com/114182149063246843608 (Inactive)
No official Blog yet!

ReviewsCustomer Ratings

The quick stats of Web Serve profile shows a note average of 3.1 out of 10, counting 53 opinions. (few listed on the top of the page)
As visitor you can rate this provider directly here! If you are part of support team, you can respond to these reviews by going to login

Add your own review [Toggle to basic/advance form]

Required info

Select Hosting Plan
Overall Rating
Time Hosted
Features
Price / Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Your Social URL, Name or Usernameeg. https://twitter.com/YOURID or https://facebook.com/YOURID or https://plus.google.com/+YOURID
Your Email Or login and come back to this page
Customer identification(Not public visible. eg Customer=1120 or Account=2121 or Order ID=511AAS3)
Your hosted domaineg. mysite.net. If you have multiple domains, mention at least one!
Summary of your posteg. webserve.ca is best!
Your review HTML tags are NOT allowed! MINIM 100 characters!
Provide as much information as possible in your review! Too less information may be counted as not relevant and not approved!
How much is 2+2 ? Respond with 4
 
William (willy_in_japan@y...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Don't be fooled !!
I wish I had read some reviews on these guys before I took a friend's suggestion to host with these guys.

I was pleased with the price compared to GoDaddy, and the account allowed me to set up a shopping cart and configure it properly.

Aside from that, I have not been impressed with them in the least. i am sure that the terrible reviews are legit, and these 5 star reviews are done by webserve.ca shills or staff.

They allowed my website to be hacked by radical muslims, and my first experience with their support was not positive. However, I got someone on the phone, and was told how to remove the muslim hijack.

At the begining of April 2013, a critical module on my site 'broke' and it was due to some change they made on their end. I cannot solve the problem on my end, so i phoned their '24/7' support line....which was not in service....

Bad sign......both times I was able to contact someone on their chat window, I was told 'they were looking into it'........my ticket [read more...]
Jo (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Elina : Hello
Jonathan: hi
Elina : How can I help you today
Jonathan: 69.90.47.8 is not responding
Jonathan: my web sites are hosted on this server
Elina : http://www.webserve.ca/aboutus/netstats/
Jonathan: http://www.webserve.ca/aboutus/ournetwork/
Jonathan: 100% Network uptime guarantee
Jonathan: ?
Jonathan: hehe sorry about that, please just let me know was is the ETA for restoring, and is there any change to plan about the IP after the server replacement?
Jonathan: and do I have to send an email as explained in the statut message ? ns90.servepower.com is now resolving 69.90.47.125, is this the new IP address to use?
Jonathan: hello ?
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Absolute worst company ever dealt with
I had a separate email hosting account and web site. Email would go down for days, so I cancelled that account. Then my web site went down for days, so I also cancelled that. "Customer Support"? Yeah right.
Chelsea Walker (cl.walker88@g...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
The Worst
I have been so let down by this company. Our web page has not been working for almost a week and there is no one to answer my calls, return emails or voicemails. The 24/7 help is always offline and after 15 minutes on hold all I can do is leave a voicemail. They have locked themselves out of our account and have not followed up to get this issue resolved. I wouldn't be so angry if wasn't ignored ever step of the way. Nonexistant customer service.
Michael (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Very, VERY bad experience
I waited at least a year before posting a review, hoping that it would get better... I've been with this company for 18 months now. First of all, forget the 99.9% uptime guarantee. My server goes down for DAYS before hearing back from "customer service". They are rude in there answer and they always try to but the downtime on you (saying things like that you updated the VPS without authorization ?!?!?!). Another time they told me that they updated their systems... It took 3 days and they NEVER contacted any of their clients BEFORE doing so...
Once, they changed my server ips without telling me. They also deleted my backups ?!?!?! and they said that it was their policy to delete backups after "a while" but they did not provide me a link to this "policy".
They advertise 24/7 support but in fact I can get someone by email only between 9 and 4 pacific time, never by phone and most of the time they don't bother answering emails before 3-4 days at least.
They won't let you cancel your [read more...]
FThem (washandry@g...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Webserve is the worst!!
These people are the worst ever seen in the web hosting business. Do not use them they will rip you off and shut down when it's most important. No explanations, no warnings, no customer service available.
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Definitely the worst business I have come across on the internet. Most likely someone working from their basement. I placed an order and never heard from anyone for days during which time I decided to go elsewhere. I called and emailed them and told them I was cancelling my order. They went ahead and processed it anyway.

I contacted my credit card company who credited my account back. These jokers at webserve.ca then charged me a second time.

I tried calling them but you can never get through. They are a scam. Avoid like the plague. If there was a rating lower than one, I would give it to them. Just google webserve.ca reviews and you will be inundated with negative reviews.
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Webserve gives me nightmare
I am a new victim of Webserve. I had signed a 3-year service agreement with them in June, but within two months, their server had been down 4 or 5 times. And once the downtime lasted more than 2 days. Their support didn't respond in time. Once I left several voice messages, but no one contacted me. So in August, I had to cancel the service and switch to a better but just a little more expensive service with a different company. According to Webserve's information, I should be able to get my money back in one week, but more than 3 months has passed and no money back. I had called them several times a week for months and their staff simply say that they would refund me but their manager is too busy. Now I realize that I should file a claim to the BC court to get my money back. So this morning I emailed to Ali again and told him that I am going to take legal action against his company if I could not get my money back next week.
Fix (sales@l...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Worst support ever
My VPS server was down for a week this time.
They are disabling modules on VPSes as they want and when they want.
Support seems to ignore everything.
There is no hope to have a response to your support request, you need to try to call, IM, and email them for a week to get something them.
Summary: never again!
webmaster (webmaster@w...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Cost
Customer Relation
Webserve.ca unreliable terrible service
I'm the developer for workboot.com, and despite my objections, the owner of the site chose webserve.ca becuause they were the cheapest hosting they could find.

You get what you pay for.

Server goes down at least once every few months.

Customer service is extremely difficult to get in touch with.

Tickets can take days to be reponded to.

They never accept any blame for problems and will outright lie to cover their own ass.

for example:
One CSR didn't realize that I was the one who built the site and outright lied that the server was totally fine but the site was down because of numerous PHP errors and was "obviously not built properlly". When I pointed out that I couldn't even log in via SSH and that PHP errors would never prevent that, they started to back peddle and say that they were just guessing about the PHP errors. Then they shut up, dissappeared for about 15 minutes, then came back saying the site and server were fine (site was magically back online) and [read more...]
Tom H. (tammyctd@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Horrible service - cannot login to CP - never respond
I had webserve for many years. In the begining I didn't have any problems and they were charging me monthly on my credit card. Then I noticed several charges in one month, they responded that sometimes instead of charging every month they wait a couple of months and charge in a lump. I trusted them and never thought about it. Recently, I noticed 4 charges in a single month, when I contacted them, they offered their "sincere apology" and said it was a system error. Second, I always transfered files trough my own FTP software, but when I tried to login my CP through the site it gave error. I sent numerous emails, numerous on-line tickets, never got a reply. They still have not refunded my 3 months they charged in advance. When I called their office they promise to fix the problems but the problems persist. My site was down at least 48 hours every week. I could never login my account. It is an absolutely unprofessional company, I would never recommend this host. My site happened to be a [read more...]
Daniel L (daniel@c...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Stay away from them
This is a joke, my website was down for 4 days and they are not doing anything to help. I've sent emails and phoned them couple of times and all they did is to ignore me.

They wrote:

"Please check back after an hour."
"There is a hardware failure . Will resolve it as soon as possible"
"We already recover the data , will put the server back on-line today"

ns96.servepower.com was down since July 24th, 2012.

I've lost a lot of emails and visitors, I don't have a choice so I switched to another web hosting company today.

They are totally irresponsible.
DougB (canned_meat@h...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
WEBSERVE IS A DISASTER
Site goes down despite claims of "100% uptime" and "99.9% reliability".

"24-7 online service" is OFFLINE 24-7.

All phone numbers redirect to the same queue, which dumps you to voicemail after 15 minutes on hold.

They're either incompetent or underhanded, either way my advice is to avoid these clowns at all costs!
ImpossibleToGetRefund (notimportant@g...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
STAY AWAY!!
worst experience EVER!!

If you are a real company and need a solid company ... RUN from these guys.

Went with a dedicated server ... which I cancelled after 7 days (had to wait 4 days for a tech support reply) and am still waiting for a refund under their 30 day money back guarantee - have requested 4 times via email - phone number seems to go to black hole somewhere.

Next step is filing with BBB and RCMP.

RUN RUN RUN
michal (mdowler@g...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Terrible Customer Service
They have been sending me blank emails for the past year and a half because I refuse to fill out their account cancellation form. I contacted them and told them to close the account and they want me to fill out a form. What company does this to customers? If you want to end your relationship you just have to tell them. I would never recommend this host to anyone.
Robert F (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
webserve, low price, low skill, low security
I'll admit, I'd gotten used to my prior provider in the US, cheap, no frills, but competent. The only think I can say they had in common was cheap... but that included a tech support that bore more semblance to an answering machine, and an untrained person manning a chat line periodically. Trouble tickets, regardless of content, were first responded to by a huge, catch-all "FAQ" e-mail, followed, upon prompting, by a repeat of that, or failure to respond, and after escalation, incompetent support. I'm a computer professional, so like to be lightweight on my providers, but boy, even at
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Worst ever
Worst ever experience with this company. Extremely bad service. Never again. I'm not even sure if they are a serious organization.
Fred Anderson (fred_anderson76@h...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I am the owner of flyfreddy.com, a starter hosting package. I registered this 5 years ago with Webserve. During this period, there was no single incidence that would have triggered the idea of reconsidering my hosting company. Their prices are good and competitive in today's market, tech. guys know their job, and billing department are always reachable, ready to address any issue/concern I may have on belling, renewal, etc. I could have possible asked for anything better.
Mike Charles (MikeCharles@h...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
webserve.ca is the best!
Hosting my website with Webserve has been one the best decision I have made since my business start-up. They are professional and on top of their game. They know what you really need and are ready to assist you on getting it up and running. 24/7 support, easy-to-reach billing department and plenty of packages and adds-on make it utterly easy to upgrade your website and hosting as your business grow.
philipf (philipF@h...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Webserve is the choice to go with. Their packages all comprehensive enough to fullfil the needs of any sort of business of any size. Customer service and billing is freindly and easy to reach. Support team knows its job and available (whether locally in canada or the remote team) at anytime. And the headquater is here at home, in vancouver that make them even more accessible and easier to reach, in case it will be necessary. simply put: There is no reason to consider any other option when they are around.
Arvin (ArvinChomsky@h...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Working with Webserve is easy!
Being their client for past 7+ years, I have never come across an issue that could have been solved easier or faster than the way they have addressed it. Billing is just a simple call away! They are well-prepared for any question/concern I may ever have. Plus, they are friendly and fun to work with. Support people are always on top of their job. And their prices: can't just get better! I am so happy and satsified with the service I have been receiving throughout these years!
Andrew Milan (andrew_milan@h...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Think about hosting your website? here it is: your best choice!
I am a Webserve customer for over 5 years. I signed up for both, hosting and domain forwarding from day one of my quite long-term business with Webserve. I have never faced no difficulty on communicating with company's stuff, whether on billing issues or at technical level. They are all on top of what they do. Issues and questions are rather addressed swiftly. Services and servers' downtime has never been an issue to be worried about or it has been notified in advance by the tech people (mostly for migration or maintenance). I am very satisfied!
javier Villota (javier.Villota@h...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Best Canadian Hosting Company!
I am hosting my website with Webserve since 2005. Their customer service and support teams are always progressing and getting better and better. Throughout these years, there has never been an issue and/or concern from my side that they were not ready to address. Whether a billing discrepancy or server related issue, they are always to resolve the problem in fastest and most efficient way. Their prices are just amazing and they literally have a service/package for any sort of business/website!
They are great and I am so satisfied and glad to start my business with them in first place.
muddy (muddyclothes@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
For the life of me I cannot fathom anyone giving this company a good rating. It must be the owner or one employee getting his friends to rate it.
I dare you to just try and call ANY of their service extensions. SERVICE IS NON-EXISTENT. This is the worst company ever that I have dealt with. Your site will have lots of downtime and totally forget getting anyone on the phone who can help you. I waited 50 minutes on phone to eventually be sent to voice mail.. 3 times in the same day trying to contact 3 different "departments". I tried Billing, Customer Service, and even "Sales". Same deal every time. Do not do business with these amateurs. horrible horrible service..(well, actually zero service_
Seth (seth_davenport@f...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Don't touch these guys with a 40-foot pole.

My biggest complaint is related to domain names - never register one through these guys as part of a hosting package; always register it yourself directly with one of the main registrars.

The reason for this is that if you're relationship with webserve goes south (and it will, because their support is terrible), you will lose control over the domain.

If you just want to leave webserve, you won't be able to transfer it or change the nameservers.

If it expires, you won't be able to resurrect it.

I'm not sure if it's because they don't keep records, or because they just don't care, but I'm now stuck in a situation where I can't renew my domain because they claim it's not one of theirs; even after I sent them the original invoice from registration as proof. However I can't do it directly with the registrar either, because it was set up by webserve.

After much aggravation I have given up, registered a different domain, [read more...]
Randy McGuire (teacher@e...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I signed up with them about a year ago. After 2 days it was clear that their service and tools available were completely inadequate for my needs and I switched hosts. They refused to give me a refund.

Now, they have taken a payment made to them for the purpose of renewing my domain name and used it to renew a domain forwarding service they hooked up to my account once I'd already established hosting elsewhere. Of course, I find this out only now that my domain name has expired.

I'm out of business. No website. No ability to receive email.

If there's even a 1% chance of this happening to you or your business, would you risk it?
Jeff Hayward (jeffha77@r...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Buyer beware guys... Read the testimonials... I'm going elsewhere because there is no support when you need it the most. Actually, no support anytime you need it. Sorry to be negative all, but I hope it saves someone else money and time. Too late for me.
Kristina Salin (altapainting@g...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I was with Webserve for about 4 years and finally finished with the BS. I have found them to be spotty at best and recently just horrible. In trying to cancel my service I have repeatedly tried to talk to someone, get sent to an online form that they don't recieve and got billed anyway. Months ago my site was down and no one told me they were migrating servers. Just recently my domain came up for renewal and they never informed me so my site was down again and when I called to complain - the tech manager Johnn actually yelled at me and hung up on me and when I tried to complain about the service to their feedback line, he responded with a rebuttal to my complaint! Who does that in customer service? I am fed up with them. It is always 'he said, she said' with them. I am told they emailed me when I can't find a single email from them. I am told that I never submitted a cancelation request when I know I did and actually did it online with a live chat person. Too much rudeness, hard to [read more...]
Alex (manonthemoon01@h...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have started using webserve services in 2009. Prices are just perfect, they have cut the prices into half and adjusted my previous services charges with their new pricing. Tech support, customer service, sales, billing ... they are all so helpful and on top of what they are doing ... Good job guys!
Bill (bandersen@t...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Control Panel
Some "reviewers" claim that Webserve.ca was bad in the past but that they have cleaned up their act. The Better Business Bureau still rates them with an "F" as of May 12, 2010.
Alex (days.2come@h...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have been with guys for quite a long time now, since 2003 to be precise. I have had lotta ups and downs and even got so close to give them up at some point. It was late 2008 and early 2009 periods. Since mid 2009, the company infrastructure has been gone through a huge change. Their support team is so cooperative now a days. Their support manager, his name is John, is so on top of his work. Ask for him if you face any difficulty while dealing with your website.
Overall, and despite all the problems I had in the past, I would say I am happy and would like to continue with these guys.
Vicenzo (vicenzo.baresi@h...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Well I've been with Webserve for more than a year. Recently, I decided to upgrade my hosting to a VPS or even dedicated server (depending on their prices) but I didn't find the costs that fair, so I started to shop around and I came to this review page. I feel like I have to write something here and share my experience with you guys. All the comments about bad customer service or lack of support or a long downtime are lies! same thing about missing data! They have scheduled back-ups all the time!!! Also I don't get the rating on the control panel which is definitely harsh and out as well! During the time, I have used both Plesk and Cpanel control panels on their shared hostings and I did not have any problem at all. but yes, they have to reduce their prices!!! Anyway they say they match that as well! so I am gonna find my best option and then negotiate it before making any move!

PS: I found the same comments on the other review blogs as well! seems like someone is trying his/her [read more...]
Jeff Hayward (jhayward@s...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Buyer Beware. This company should not be used. I have had nothing but problems. Tha's why I'm taking the time to hopefully warn others before they make a mistake too.
Al (amozaffari@g...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Hi, I totally agree with Andrew it really sounds like someone has managed to put some bad word about Webserve all over the internet, if you read them in other host review sites they sound exactly the same and looks like some discrental employee or some other client who is been really kicked off has been writing all the bad comments about the Webserve.

We too have been with them for over 4 years no problem at all, tech support been extremely good, uptime has been more than what I expected and customer support is the best, any time I call there is live person on the phone which you can get these days from any technical company, support staff been very professional and helpful.

I certainly highly recommend them to whoever is looking for decent host, good and reliable service and excellent support.

Ignore all the negative feedback and just give them a test drive yourself.

Thanks
David Mackenzie (davimack@s...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
All data lost on website and no help to restore, just excuses. Seems ownership has changed as not the same as when I started with them. Now it seems no one gives a damn.; got out in time. Almost lost a second domain because for lack of interest.
Steve (nomail@h...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Well, it's been three months and I think I've had enough. I'm glad I did not sign up for the contract and opted for the monthly billing.

There is really no 24/7 Tech support. Whenever there is a problem I get the same email from either dave or sam indicating that there is nothing wrong on their end and to provide my IP.

As I type this review I an currently logging into the 24/7 online chat only to get the usual message. "Department is currently unavailable. Please leave a message or visit our 24/7 secure support help desk. ".....what a surprise.

In addition, the 24/7 phone support/help desk seems to be only a call center that takes messages. Called them earlier in the evening and they told me that I've reached their after hours number and that someone would get back to me in 24 hours.

OR.....maybe I have a different definition of 24/7.

Price/features are standard......customer service and tech support are disappionting.
Andrew (kh200261@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
What prompted me to write a review is all the negative reviews I read here. Almost as if a single person has been writing all these negative reviews, under different names.

I have had webserve for my business website (e-commerce) since 2003, and I have never had any problems with down-time, or features. I totally disagree with anyone who says this company is a sham or inadequate in its service. I have received technical support by mail and phone. The fact that I have had them for 6 years without any down time says a lot about the company. How I came upon this review site was when I was researching another host because they were a few dollars cheaper, and I realized, why should I switch and take a chance on another company for a few dollars a month, especially when I have never had a problem with them. One of the reviewers (tom shaw) mentioned in capital letters that webserve has a link for Iranian web hosting!!! SO WHAT!!!! what does that mean. I think it is very commendable that [read more...]
Steve Drenters (stevedrenters@r...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Absolutley brutal customer relations. They also have the tendancy to automatic bill WITHOUT prior email notifications like most hosts. This review isn't based off 1 or 2 hosting plans as I have (but am currently moving) more than 25 accounts away from them. Careful with these guys boys...

Did I mention that ENOM and ICANN needed to be called to get them to finally re-emburse monies that should not have been charged?

Okay Uptime. Crappy Control Panel. The worst Customer Support.
Ashley (me@h...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I'm glad to see it's not just me having all of this trouble.
Their support is non existent and they don't even bother trying to come up with any excuses, you just here nothing from them. They are CRAP stay away!
Tom (na@s...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Can't speak poorly enough. Read all of the worst reviews of this company and my experience falls in amongst all of that. I'm always surprised that no one has ever mentioned the fact that there are lamely hidden links on thier homepage. Go to webserve.ca and scroll to the bottom of thier page and to the right of the SITE MAP text link is a lamely hidden link to IRANIAN WEB HOSTING. This company is a sham, a fraud and probably a front. Think I'm lying? Go there now....
Mathew (mathewrossi@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Buyer beware. After many years of ridiculous hassles with WebServe, I wanted to make a note of this for anyone considering using their service. They have major, long-term outages, often lasting weeks. Their support is at best very poor. If something goes wrong, plan on waiting days to get it resolved, and that's assuming you can even get the technical support rep to understand what the problem is.

The reason for this final review, before I terminate services, is because they recently lost DNS pointers to my domain, then lost the entire server. Upon recovering the domain is unconfigured, they have no record of what services (simple ASP) were supposed to be running, and after waiting 6 days to have them fix it, I tried to do it myself, only to find that I cannot login to either the control panel or FTP, again their fault.

Very poor service, please shop around, I do not recommend webserve to anyone, and you are now fairly warned.
Malcolm Smith (malcolm.smith@d...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
How I wish that I had listened to other people's reviews before I used their service. For the past three weeks I haven't been able to view anything on my site. I have even tried to FTP into my folders but the connection drops every time as if everything has been mangled.

The last time, by a sheer co-incidence, that everything was working fine was in the two weeks before the next quarterly bill was due. Within 24 hours of the bill being paid promptly (all requests for a discount for the downtime were ignored) then the site was unavailable and I can't even rescue my data files from the site.

People here have claimed that their site has gone down three times in one month. They are lucky. It is now December and the site hasn't been working since October.

The amount of business that this lost me has been incredible. Sadly, I am not living in Canada as I would have undertaken legal action by now.

As for the technical support when I do get an automated eMail afterI [read more...]
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
One of the worst so far - we wil be moving this month. Down at least once per week, no service - try calling the tech support line and see what you get - the worst service I have ever seen - we tried to use a local canadian company but this is ridiculous
Avoid Webserve (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have had a client site hosted on Webserve for a couple years now and have encountered many problems, including downtime, server side program issues, FTP issues, and the list goes on. We have also seen the server go down on numerous occasions.

Their technical support is all but non-existent. I have attempted to use their "live" service only to have the operator close the connection immediately after I stated the problem we were having. I have had tickets submitted with no response. When they do chose to respond, you do not get an email notification of that response, you must log back in to their support site routinely to check for yourself.

I have suggested that my client look elsewhere and that you do too.
kenneth (john12x4@h...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Customer Relation
Stay away from this company. My site has been down now for two days, and all I get is lame excuses from their so-called tech support.
Jack (jackhui@g...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Webserve is the worst hosting company in my 12 years of Internet experience. Short down time every day, and at least one major downtime (more than 16 - 24 hours) every month. My last down time (now, changed to a new hosting company) is more than 36 hours. Stay away from webserve.ca. Their support is useless.
Andrew (atuline@h...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Similar to Paul, I wanted to be with a Canadian company, but have also moved over to Hostgator after a horrific time with Webserve. The PLESK backups in Webserve were broken on my sites, and I lost more than 1 database. Reliability problems, poor communications and support, poor change management, broken backups, horrific 2nd level support (if there was any), no escalation beyond that resulted in a lost customer.

Check out other review sites, and you'll see similar comments by others.
Paul (paul4545@l...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
What a terrible hosting company. They actually get their support staff to write good reviews since most of their customers leave or give bad reports. They can't keep a simple low traffic site up for more than 2 days. Online support is offline at 11:45am on a Tuesday. They haven't been able to keep a simple site up for more than 2days - getting it fixed takes forever. I've tried quite a few hosting companies and these folks are the worst I've ever come across. Avoid these people. So far Hostgator has been quite good - the best i've come across. I wanted to use a Canadian company - but these folks cured me of that.

DO NOT GO WITH THESE PEOPLE - YOU WILL BE SORRY! (I certainly am)
Tom (tomcat@m...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
The service and support provided by Webserve Canada is excellent. They have a technically sound staff, who takes care of the toughest of challenges, with ease.
This is the place for you, if you are looking for genuine and reliable hosts.
Jonis (info1@a...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Extremely satisfied with the timely help and great package provided by these guys. They go down to the core of the problem and to great extents to resolve your problems. Great uptime and technically well proven staff to manage the customers.
These Web Serve testimonial(s) and rating(s) are the subjective opinion of our visitors and not of whtop.com staff.
Trademarks, logos & names are properties of their respective owners and protected by law.