Volusion review

This review cover a general impression of volusion.com product features like reliability, support, data center, price & more. Brand #5948, listed since .

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Mindy (astarinastar@y...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
major issues with this platform
I reviewed SMS cart systems for a year before I went with Volusion. I was actually excited to try it. Not any more.

Sure the cart functions, and the admin area is "pretty" but cart additions are complicated and clunky - and unless you pay for more than their basic package (up to 500 items) you have NO way to upload or DOWNLOAD your cart information data. If you want support or static pages on the site adding finding and editing them through their 'article' system is like finding a needle in a haystack - nearly impossible for computer challenged clients to update (which is the whole point of going with a cms system) and their tinymce page editors are too simplistic and limited in features. What's worse is if you choose to code back and forth between the html and txt tags it looses or rewrites the hand code.

The don't give you any access to your root ftp or sql areas.

I also just discovered tonight that their 301 redirect system doesn't allow for query string URLs which is [read more...]
midnight beads (mnbeads@y...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
would not recommend to anyone - stay away!
I have had problems downloading pictures to my store. This has been an ongoing problem. Have tried different computers and have done EVERYTHING Volusion recommended.

Because of this the service is obviously no use to me. I requested a refund since the problem is on their side and I shouldn't have to pay for a service that isn't working! Of course I am being ignored.

Poor practices - stay away
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Volusion is the Worst!
I sampled many of the webstore sites this weekend and Volusion was by far the worst. Worst customer service, worst interface and from what I've been reading, the worst about transparency on their fees. I've spent an incredible amount of time trying to cancel my account.

STAY AWAY!!
MORE REVIEWS
Listed and verified since 2007

Overview

About Volusion

Everything you need to start selling
Get your store up and running fast with our powerful store builder that includes 100+ features, beautiful website templates, secure hosting and never any transaction fees.

Complete Ecommerce Website Builder
We've helped merchants earn over $21 billion in sales, 4X more than our nearest competition. It all begins with our software. We include everything needed to develop and cultivate a successful online business in a clean, easy-to-use admin.

Source: https://www.volusion.com/


Connecting People & Commerce for 15+ Years

450+ Employees / Volusion is continuing to grow and add valuable people to our team.
40,000+ Stores / Over 40,000 stores are currently using the Volusion software.
$21 billion / Over $21 billion in merchant sales worldwide to date.

Culture Code
The ecommerce industry is constantly growing and changing. For many, that makes it easy to lose sight of what's important. But thanks to our Culture Code, we're able to focus, adapt and flourish.

We help breed amazing founders
Keep it simple and move fast
We always solve for the customer
We put people before everything else
We share openly and are transparent
We favor autonomy and take ownership

Source: https://www.volusion.com/history

Offering Free Trial at https://www.volusion.com/free-trial

Special pages


volusion.com Facebook Cover
Website research for Volusion on October 29, 2007 by WebHostingTop

Promotions

No website coupons announced! Looking to get a great webhosting deal using vouchers ? Checkout our current web hosting coupons list!
If you manage this brand, you must be logged in to update your promotions!

Add your promo code

Promotion:
Provide the start date
and end date if the promotions expires!
Your email
(will not be displayed)
How much is 2+2 ? Respond with 4
 

PlansWebsite Products

Website Builder Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
Mini featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : Website Builder
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : 1
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 0

Complete Ecommerce Website Builder

Unlimited Storage
No Transaction Fees
100 Products

1GB Bandwidth
Online Support
Mobile Commerce
Responsive Templates
Free Slideshow
Mobile App
Facebook Store
Social [...]
Plan URL : https://www.volusion.com/hosting-plans-pricing
$15.00/mo. unlimited1 GB 0 / 1
Plus featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : Website Builder
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : 1
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 0

Complete Ecommerce Website Builder

Unlimited Storage
No Transaction Fees
1,000 Products

3GB Bandwidth
Phone Support
Mobile Commerce
Responsive Templates
Free Slideshow
Mobile App
Facebook Store
Social [...]
Plan URL : https://www.volusion.com/hosting-plans-pricing
$35.00/mo. unlimited3 GB 0 / 1
Pro featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : Website Builder
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : 1
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 0

Complete Ecommerce Website Builder

Unlimited Storage
No Transaction Fees
10,000 Products

10GB Bandwidth
Priority Support
Mobile Commerce
Responsive Templates
Free Slideshow
Mobile App
Facebook Store
[...]
Plan URL : https://www.volusion.com/hosting-plans-pricing
$75.00/mo. unlimited10 GB 0 / 1
Premium featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : Website Builder
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : 1
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 0

Complete Ecommerce Website Builder

Unlimited Storage
No Transaction Fees
Unlimited Products

35GB Bandwidth
Priority Support
Mobile Commerce
Responsive Templates
Free Slideshow
Mobile App
Facebook Store
[...]
Plan URL : https://www.volusion.com/hosting-plans-pricing
$135.00/mo. unlimited35 GB 0 / 1

Contact information is managed by volusion.com representatives sales@volusion.com , Kyle Davis - kyle.davis@volusion.com [login] Claim this businessCreate a free account to manage volusion.com listing!

Web stats

Targeting: United States
Volusion daily Global Rank trend
Daily Global Rank Trend
Volusion Search Visits
Search Visits

Customer Testimonials

There are no customer testimonials listed yet. You can be the first one to add your testimonial here.

Add your own testimonial

This form is used exclusively for positive feedback, for a regular review click here

Your Name
Email(will be obfuscated)
One Hosted domain name with this company
Testimonial
(HTML tags are NOT allowed!)
Minim 100 characters!
How much is 2+2 ? Respond with 4
 

Social Networks

https://www.linkedin.com/company/volusion
About: Volusion is a fully hosted, all-in-one shopping cart software trusted by over 40,000 merchants. The platform, designed for small and medium business owners, includes everything you need to succeed.
Volusion is a Public Company entity having 198 followers on LinkedIn, industry Computer Software.
https://plus.google.com/+volusion
About: Volusion offers ecommerce software and services to help new andestablished businesses thrive online. Ouraward-winning shopping cart software,mixed with our out-of-this-world support and services teams have helped manyonline businesses find success. With over 450 employees managing more than40,000 online stores, Volusion has helped put its merchants on the fast trackto success.All-in-one website builder:Powerful, feature-packed software and secure hosting in one. No need to paymore for additional apps and integrations, we bake them in for you.Optimized ecommercedesigns: Hundreds of free and premium ecommerce templates that arebeautiful, fully functional and mobile ready. Need something custom? We can dothat too.Free 14 day trial: See foryourself if Volusion is the right ecommerce platform for your business.Followus on G+ for more helpful information on how to run a successful onlinebusiness. This is a place for ecommerce newbies and seasoned business professionals toshare and receive advice on running an online store. You'll also receive accessto exclusive Volusion announcements and get an insider's view into our growingshopping cart and ecommerce services company. 
Volusion account is having 1150 followers and 2186 plus one count. See recent Google+ Posts:
volusion.com GPlus Icon
- Running a PPC campaign this holiday season? These four tips will help you maximize your budget! volu.sn/2ebKRNk 4 Tips for Maximizing your Holiday PPC Budget - Ecommerce Insights Blog
- 6 tips to help you scale your business. https://volu.sn/2cRvlkS Scalability: Growing Your Goods from Guppies to Goliath
- Ready for football season? @GameBibs can help you stand out in a crowd. https://volu.sn/GameBibs #MerchantMonday Merchant Mondays: Game Bibs | Ecommerce Insights Blog
http://onlinebusiness.volusion.com/ Blog added on Dec, 2011, with total 103 articles, language en-US. See recent blogs summary posts:
- Watch Volusion’s PPC Webinar! - The holidays are right around the corner and now is the perfect time to prepare your paid search campaigns for the selling rush. Watch our team of marketing experts as they cover beneficial ...
- Turn Low Shipping Rates into Your Conversion Success Story - With recently lowered shipping rates, you know have one of the biggest conversion tools at your disposal. Learn how to combat abandoned carts with new shipping strategies. USPS's recent price reductio
- What You Need to Start Shipping Internationally - Anxious to broaden your storefront's reach and begin shipping internationally. Our partners at ShipStation have provided a free checklist to get you started. Over the past couple months, we've offered

Domains trend

ReviewsCustomer Ratings

The quick stats of Volusion profile shows a note average of 2 out of 10, counting 43 opinions. (few listed on the top of the page)
As visitor you can rate this provider directly here! If you are part of support team, you can respond to these reviews by going to login

Add your own review [Toggle to basic/advance form]

Required info

Select Hosting Plan
Overall Rating
Time Hosted
Features
Price / Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Your Social URL, Name or Usernameeg. https://twitter.com/YOURID or https://facebook.com/YOURID or https://plus.google.com/+YOURID
Your Email Or login and come back to this page
Customer identification(Not public visible. eg Customer=1120 or Account=2121 or Order ID=511AAS3)
Your hosted domaineg. mysite.net. If you have multiple domains, mention at least one!
Summary of your posteg. volusion.com is best!
Your review HTML tags are NOT allowed! MINIM 100 characters!
Provide as much information as possible in your review! Too less information may be counted as not relevant and not approved!
How much is 2+2 ? Respond with 4
 
-anonymous- (xxxeni@g...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Volusion.com not recommended
Bad code, bad hosting, frequently down, unreasonably expensive, very very bad support, good default design, but very bad code. Definitely not worth it. Only my opinion!
Lawren Lelko (lawren.lelko@g...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Volusion - Dead-Antiquated and WOW-Expensive
Volusion is like paying brand-new-Lexus prices for a 10 year old Pontiac Aztek. Site customization is a mysterious riddle. I started in e-commerce in 1999, but still lived at the help-desk at Volusion. Their card processing "Global Pay" is outrageously expensive with a 3-year contract and quitting-penalties! IMHO, it looks like this company is in "Last Harvest Mode" - make no new investments or upgrades, downgrade server quality, smile as the last few victims wander in through the door. The fact is that no one with integrity would sell what Volusion has to offer in today's market. Anyone who has tried Wordpress.org free software and any of the digital product delivery companies like gumroad or payloadz, as I now have, would never consider using Volusion.
Tom Parker (tom@b...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Happy until I upgraded and lost function! Went backwards with upgrade and they [...]
I had a basic account but upgraded to allow more products. In the process, I lost two very important functions (import/export and batch order processing.) When I tried to cancel the upgrade, they said they "couldn't do it." I am a dissatisfied customer.
I had been pleased with their service and customer service until this unfortunate erosion of my good experience. I am now an irate customer and cannot advise the use of their service.
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
It seems Volusion spend most of their time slandering the competition instead focusing on offering a quality product. Their customer service is basically non existent. Since I have been searching for and trialing many new versions all I see are Volusion advertisements telling me how crap the competition is. I tried to phone volusion 3 times at first and was put on hold for over 15 minutes each time until I hung up and this was for sales. I figured if thats what new customers get I wonder what existing customers deal with? So, I rang technical assistance and they had an estimated wait time of 4 minutes. I hung up at 45mins. (bearing in mind these are all international calls for me and are not free) thats 4 calls of which 0 were answered.

I had extremely specific needs so I emailed the sales rep that persistently sends me emails to upgrade my free trial and asked him about my specific needs, he responded with a brief but reassuring message that the software was perfect for my needs, [read more...]
shenzhang (xxxeni@g...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Volusion.com not recommended
I do not recommend Volusion.com for any of your online business needs. Their cart is low quality, does not hold the data, data disappears even if saved. The support is a joke. They force people to shut up or leave, they won't take any constructive criticisms and will ban and kick you out you in no time. The hosting is of a low quality, and the pricing structure is very unreasonable and very expensive. An overpriced low quality product.
JimmysCorner (xxxeni@g...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Volusion.com is a joke!
Too much to explain here and I don;t have many words for my opinion on Volusion.com, but one wise word - AVOID!
James (digi_tek2008@y...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Pass on Volusion
A lot of downtime and unless you like being on hold for ever research some of the other companies. When you do a search for shopping carts they will always be on there because the comparison websites are an affiliate so they get paid to recommend them.
dirtyracingandrods (builtbychevy@m...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Volusion is ok
I feel the prices are too much to handle for small businesses!
Their customer support definitely needs to be improved.

If the price was easier on my pocket book then I wouldn't complain about the lousy customer support.
Abdul (tesqie@h...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Volusion is The worst eCommerce Provider
They will charge you for no reason. You only get a few gb of data transfer and will be charged if you go over. Don't ever waste your money here. Go to magento and save your time and money.
SW (info@a...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Volusion is a HORRIBLE COMPANY!!!
This is the worse and most deceptive company I've dealt with in a long time. They are very aggressive and do not inform you of all charges. The website is not user friendly. The customer service already have their mind set in terms of 'there are no more alternatives or resolutions". I will NEVER recommend them to anyone.
tdc10 (tdc10@l...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Volusion Crashes!
7/9/12 UPDATE: The connectivity issue we are currently experiencing is due to a power outage at our data center in which the automatic transfer switch (ATS) malfunctioned. This in turn prevented the redundant generators from restoring power. Once power is returned to the datacenter, restoring full functionality can take 2-4 hrs. We are working closely with our upstream provider to remedy the issue as quickly as possible. As always, further updates will be provided as they become available.
tdc10 (tdc10@l...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
7/9/12
Volusion Sites crash today, not only storefronts, but the Admin. side as well as the Volusion Forums. Not to mention Volusion's own Site is down. CLASSIC!
Bell Mitchell (sales@n...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
dns issues
I cannot understand what these people are doing. One of their names servers responds with sat.intensive.int as a NS record. There is no such thing on the internet so it is an internal record but they dont know what they are doing. Can you imagine pointing half of your customers at dns records that have blank values? It's unbelieveable. They told me they would charge me $100 to change my domain name I used when I signed up - no reason for that since it costs $19 to start over. And it took two days to set up a new account. Why should it take more than 5 minutes? These guys are lost.
Gina Jane Inc (ginajane_designs@m...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Deception - Overages - Bandwidth Cost Nightmare!
Our company was four years old when we moved to Volusion.

Hoping for better customer service, superior hosting and the ability to grow our product line from 2,000 digital art downloads to 5,000 digital art downloads, we were falsely reassured that Volusion would be an affordable solution.

The price of bandwidth overages is now double what it was when we moved to Volusion in 2009. The cost of overages is $5.00 per gig. Our overages has exceeded $900 per month at times.

Unable to increase our sales revenue to meet the rising cost of bandwidth, we have tried unsuccessfully to negotiate a price with them.

They have also not responded to basic customer support issues for over a week. Typically their 24/7 customer service means a 45 minute wait by phone and a 4 day wait by using the ticketing system.

We have customers who cannot turn pages on the website if they are using a browser other than IE 7 or 8. AOL and Yahoo users complain constantly of being unable to view [read more...]
anonymous (john@e...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Volusion not what they used to be
Volusion was good when Kevin took care of us personally. Now I'm always having problems. My stores go down. I can't get my payments. My bill is wrong every month. Watch out for that "excessive" bandwidth. It can never be explained.
BetterBargainz (cadams@b...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Volusion Is Horrible
Volusion does have easy template for people who are new at designing a website. If you are actually serious about having a ecommerce website I would look at other solutions than Volusion. So far their DNS server has been down for two hours so far today. If one of our potential buying customer goes on our website all they get is a DNS server error. Nothing like paying for a service that constantly has server issues.
Ron (georgianablake@g...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Terrible Constant Downtime Avoid
Our experience with Volusion has been terrible due to the constant down time particularly since they left Rackspace and started hosting. They do not know what they are doing. Nothing else matters if you customers can not place orders. Our site has now been unable to accept credit cards correctly for almost two weeks. Don't believe the hipe. Go with another company. Do not let this company kill your business.
Sanjay (catamondai@h...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I've been a Volusion customer for six months. Volusion did a bait and switch on me.. Volusion's website says "It's a big relief having 24/7/365 LIVE support, with everything handled by a single company." To actually talk with one of those "LIVE" people takes hours. When I get through, the "single company" cannot fix my problem. Two weeks ago my e-mail problem was blamed on Rackspace. The Volusion person said there was nothing to do but wait. Last week my site problem was blamed on Dell. Same answer. Wait on Dell to fix the problem. I've spent a lot of money on my Volusion site with very little to show for my money.
John (john.doe.345@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Had enough
I've been with Volusion several years. They used to be really good but this past year has been the worst ever. Something breaks almost every week. My sales and profits are down to where they were 2 years ago. Support doesn't care any more. My regular customers send me e-mails because they can't check out. The outtage this week was the last straw for me. I've started my migration to another service.
eca (ecadesign@a...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
As good as you can get right now but...
As good as you can get right now but...support has gone down hill. The system is feature rich and continued upgrades generally on target. A few things in the resent upgrade I don't like (power users are getting pushed a side a bit). I think they are growing so much that they don't have experience support. I hate when I call and I know more than the tech support person.
However, you can reach support 24/7 though wait times are sometimes 20+ minutes. For general how to questions they are able to assist well. It is went technical issue arise support can fall very short. We test 9 different services before choosing Volusion and feel we made the right choice. Our site has over 60,000 products. Plus have create 7 other website with Volusion.
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Drinking while on call
Don't bother calling for support on Fridays. I called for support last Friday. During the call, she burped, giggled, then apologized. She said they drink beer at work on Fridays and she'd had a little too much. I'm still waiting on my problem to be fixed.
ultimatesupplies (giggitygiggity95@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Awesome!
Using the Gold plan over the past three years, we have grown our business by 200%. We have had great relationships with Volusion, in addition to their customer service and support. Their tools allow us to do the things we need to do to stay focused on the business.
j jones (jobjones443@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
@G Hall - That is a flat out lie...you do not have access to the raw code. If you're going to shill for Volusion at least try to be accurate in your BS statements
Alex Naobis (akash@w...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Terrible Service, never use them they take your money and do the setup after a week whereas other sites can do it almost instantly

I demanded for a Refund and they closed my Chat and marked it as "Chat Deemed as Inappropriate"

I haven't even started using the site and this is what they put my through already, watch out and stay away.
G Hall (service@o...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I find it to be great. Good organic searching. Good discount control. Allows me to work the raw HTML.

www.oakvilleoutletstore.ca
Georgiana Blake (georgianablake@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Since Volusion made the move to their in house data center in 2009 there have been frequent outages and major problems which the company simply ignores. Page load speeds are the slowest in the industry. The biggest issue is that due to their lack of knowledge the Volusion in house data center continues to restrict the ability to checkout due to something they have done to avoid Denial of Service Attacks. The same problem also limits traffic to the sites. The concern was called to their attention in March of 2010 and over and over again. They always deny it but it still continues today. Forum members describe a faucet being turned either off and on. Regardless of the reason the restriction impacts a site’s ability to make money. Affiliates complain; customers call phone centers with error messages during checkout. The speed issues reduce ranks in Google's search results. Nothing works as advertised on the feature list. It is just hype. Fixing a bug is considered a feature request [read more...]
Billy Carmen (billy@p...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Volusion is pure crap. They have horrible customer support. Their system will not allow search engines to see the pages in their shopping carts unless you buy into one of their 2000 dollar SEO packages. It is a pathetic excuse for a company and their services are dangerously destructive to companies that use them. We started out for 6 months with their platinum plan and have dropped to the gold plan. Both are useless... With over 300 products in our store and every page filled with proper SEO material we have only received 7 orders for a total of a couple hundred dollars. We have 7 other sites that are on Amazon, Sears.com and our own ecommerce system and we get about 65 orders per day.

They are simply crap!!!!! Warning Use anything but Volusion.
Leah (leah.greenwald@y...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Customer Relation
I have had many problems with volusion, but I understand that sometimes computer code is difficult to manage, and their choice of code is not ideal and a bit sloppy. Google show broken links and that is not good for your page rank as well as reduncy in in code causing what appears to be duplicate pages. This is all just unpleasant but what really gets me upset is their customer service because they dont even try. The last three calls I made to them I had to wait a total of five and one half hours for them to get on the phone. I am not exaggerating. When I opened a ticket to complain they wrote back with what appeared to be a prewritten cut and paste apology saying that a wait can be frustrating and I could always do live chat or open another ticket. If I were in charge of the company I would be so embarresed that I hurt a customer with an avoidable problem that I would have offered at least a free months service. Then I would make sure that that never happened again.These people are [read more...]
David (badmintonalley@g...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Volusion was good about 10 years ago. I started using their service about 10 years ago. Now they are very bad. You can say that they sucks. They have many problems and they do not inform customers until they call. For example, problems with emails not coming in. At one point, we were surprised that we had only few emails for the past 2 days. Then we received calls from customers complaining that their emails are not answered. When we called Volusion, they mentioned they were having intermittent problems. Don't you think you should tell your customers if such problems affect them? Also, their server is getting slower everyday. It is literally a slug. I regret paying $350/month for such a poor service. I am ready to move. I am exporting my data and getting ready to find other commerce company who cares more about their customers.

Just a note, my company and other customers that are using Volusion are currently having problems for the past 3 days since January 1st, 2011. Their [read more...]
Former Employee (hidden@o...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
What volusion offers is a turn-key shopping cart solution-- it's not a web hosting company. If you want a store up today, then yeah they're perfect! If you need to do anything serious, forget it.

The software is closed source and operates on an outdated ASP 2.0 code base using Microsoft SQL and IIS web services which are the worst, and one of the most expensive (next to oracle), solutions on the market.

The company is bi-polar with offices in California and Texas, with two very different personalities (the older owner is in Texas, which is the one that capitalized on a young man's work and made volusion a company, the younger guy is in California-- and both have very different personalities). The difference between their 'simi-dedicated" and "shared" plans was all of 5-10 users per server. Their bandwidh charges are one of the highest in the industry-- if you're selling digital downloads, its often cheaper to just mail a CD out to the customer than download it. The admins and [read more...]
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Volusion sucks! They are the worst hosting ecommerce company. We've been w/ Volusion since 2008 and from day 1, I got the feeling there was something not right. Their customer service is terrible and they are always coming up with excuses instead of solutions to customer issues. The whole shopping cart is a hack job, especially their "hide when out of stock" feature (i.e., to hide when out of stock, you must unclick the "hide when out of stock" in the child products but click "hide when out of stock" in the parent product). And even with that being clicked, hidden products suddenly start showing up, every time they reset their server. As for uptime, they are down every week, the site hangs indefinitely and is incredibly slow. Their "professional server" plan which we were forced to upgrade b/c their bandwidth charges were ridiculously so expensive is suspicious to say the least. They say only few other sites are hosted on this "dedicated server" plan but they refuse to tell you [read more...]
Larry Brown (lbrwn445@y...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Volusion is absolutely terrible. They have almost put our company out of business due to their inability to run a proper data center. Since they switched from Rackspace last year it has been nothing but problems. Maybe if they tried to be a software company instead of a hosting company they would do better.

Whatever you do stay as far away from Volusion as possible. Ask to see the forums, there you will find the truth.

Volusion, the truth shall set you free!
jim jones (blueeyes443@g...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Volusion SUCKS, and here's why:

Ever since their move from Rackspace, its been one problem after another. They are in over their heads and completely lost as to how to fix it.

First it was repeated DDOS attacks. Not their fault, but it was handled very poorly. Sites were down and/or slow for countless hours over a period of many months.

When they finally implemented a fix for the attacks, they set the filter incorrectly and chopped off 40% of traffic to ALL volusion sites. Despite 4 days of complaints and support tickets by dozens of store owners, they claimed there was no issue. It was not until an outside consultant pinpointed the problem and threw it in their lap, that they finally admitted there was an issue. They still have yet to fix this problem and its 2 months later!

Why else you ask?
- We've grown at 40% YOY each month for 4 years! Until recently with volusion. Their incompetence has set us back 1-2 years in terms of conversions and sales.
- They dont [read more...]
steve st clair (steve@e...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Horrible customer service. They have major issues with their new servers and it is a mess. Traffic has decreased on several stores that i know of over 40% and sales conversions off over 60% and it all began on the same day across all the stores.

Customer service has been non existent. Volusion refuses to admit there is a problem or rather they do not communicate at all with customers.

There has been no resolution to the issues of store owners and the issues have been apparent since March 18th 2010..
Alex (alex.badcock_EW@l...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Once again our site is down and we are on a premium server only shared with 1-2 other businesses. I also noticed volusion.com was dowm and they put their standard message on the techline. Poor account management, i.e. I left both an e-mail and a voicemail letting them know we are looking into another solution and would like to talk to my account manager (3rd in the life of our contract). No call or email back. Trouble tickets not addressed for over 365 days. Features "dissapear" and some do not work in a logical way at all (read - Free Shipping needs to be all or nothing. Cannot be a single item mixed with other non-free shipping items). DO NOT HAVE A DEFAULT ERROR PAGE WHEN YOUR SITE GOES DOWN! How poor is this? I mentioned it and the tech told me "Good Idea". Implement it then... I am writing this while my site is down for the last 45 minutes, customers are calling and $ is beeing lost. Thanks again Volusion!
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
My Volusion hosted site goes down at least once a week. Usually not for long, just 2-3 minutes at a time. We just came off our second major outage this year, which resulted in data loss for a number of merchants (not me...yet)

Features appear and disappear without notification. They seem to think a production system is a playground.

Called my "account manager" to ask why they removed advertised features I had prepaid for, and he transferred me to tech support.
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I wish someone could have warned me on the deceipt of VOLUSION.COM before commiting to their services. They failed to mention the prices for overages on bandwidth after asking numerous times.. To say it in simple words - They charge you for nearly every customer that comes to your site and I am talking about in the thousands per month! Their customer service reps all have different answers and will always try to turn you to "another department" before helping you - Then, the person you will speak to will tell you to go back to the original department you just spoke with. Try dealing with the "Design team" - No phone number to reach them - Just E-mails and non which are helpful, just rude customer service. If you are looking for an Ecommerce site, use yahoo and not volusion.
Patrick Hannigan (patrick_hannigan@v...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Volusion can kiss my ass! I was a marine and as the Technical Support Manager I sucked up to the CEO to get with the HR manager in Simi Valley. F... YOU!
D Jones (redwinj@s...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
We are disappointed with the entire representation of Volusion's > ability to provide the services currently provided by our current hosting and merchant acct at a
> savings, and a full service Merchants Account.
>
> After contacting your sales staff and thoroughly reviewing our type of
> business and its products we were assured the services we desired were
> compatible with Volusion's products and services.
>
> We also were informed that in order to be even considered for a merchant's
> acct we would have to subscribe to a Volusions hosted site. We did this
> even though we currently have a site up and running over the last two
> years, but were assured the savings and merchant account would make up for
> this duplicated effort.
>
> After several weeks we learned from your underwriting dept, there was no
> match for the type of products we offer, and the so called "risk"
> associated with our training operation precluded issuance of a Volusions
> merchant [read more...]
Unhappy Customer (brien20@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
They are over selling the server space I think.
These Volusion customer review(s) and ranks are the subjective opinion of our visitors and not of whtop.com staff.
Trademarks, logos & names are properties of their respective owners and protected by law.
Disclosure: Although we attempt to provide useful and accurate information we can not guarantee that it is always right. This is a professional website that may receive compensation from some providers which we review and promote or advertise, however that does not affect our reviews ratings!