Media Temple review

This review cover a general impression of mediatemple.net product features like reliability, support, data center, price & more. Brand #1464, listed since .

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Tim Dehring (tim.dehring@g...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
To say I'm happy with Media Temple is an understatement.
Ever since joining Media Temple in 2009, I've had nothing but positive things to say about them. Their customer service is beyond anything I've dealt with in the past with other web hosting companies.
Konstantin Boyandin (konstantin@b...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Rather positive
I had a site with you, boyandin.name, from 25.01.2009 till 04.10.2009 (you could check records and correct if I got wrong with dates).

The GS service was fine, but as DB began to grow, it began to be too slow. Apart from that, every feature was fine with me.

I recommend your services to other people, since overall impression is rather positive.
Mark Chappell (mark@e...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Support on the phones is legendary.
No matter how noobish the question is, right through to discussing ideas on mail migration, Mediatemple's staff are great to talk to.

Live chat is an added bonus of getting straight to the points AND they save the chat so you have a record of any commands / help / advice to fall back on.
MORE REVIEWS

Overview

About Media Temple

(mt) Media Temple is a web hosting and cloud services provider headquartered in Los Angeles, California. Since 1998, we have provided businesses and consumers around the world with professional-class service to host websites, applications, virtual servers, email, and other rich Internet content. Our infrastructure serves approximately 100,000 customers and over 1 million websites in top-tier datacenters on the east and west coasts of the United States.

Our company is comprised of 180 employees who help create an award-winning culture. We are an always-on company (24/7/365) with a U.S. based support department serving customers in over 60 countries. We provide customer support anytime by phone, web and also Twitter and Skype. English is our primary language but we also occasionally speak Armenian, Korean, Romanian, Russian, Spanish, and Swedish.

We dream of making it simple for anyone in the world to create and host a beautiful, powerful website.

Why Us?
There’s more to it than just really fast servers. Here’s 10 of the many reasons to choose (mt) as your web hosting provider.

We never close. We never leave, and the lights are never off. We are a true 24/7/365 company. Call us at 3:00am New Year’s Day - we'll be here. It’s part of our Support Promise.

We’re affordable. When you truly consider the facts - when you add up all of the features - we undeniably offer more value than any nearest competitor. Sometimes you have to look beyond the price and consider all things such as quality, uptime, support and then features. There is a cost to “cheap web hosting” - don’t let it burn you.

We answer the phone. Our average hold time for technical support is below 2 minutes.

We hire amazing employees. The talent runs deep within our organization. This means a better hosting experience for you. While working at (mt) Media Temple may be great, interviewing isn’t all that fun. Our on-site (no book, no google) written competency tests take approximately 2 hours to complete (yes, we’ll give you a Red Bull). Simply, we find, hire and train the most talented individuals possible and we work hard to keep them.

Serving since 1998. We’ve been in the web hosting business for over 10 years (in “internet years” that’s something like 30 years!). We're not “fly by night” - we’re not going anywhere. Our longevity and experience matters.

The web needed a new hosting partner. In 2006, shared server technology died. The web changed, and so have the requirements of site owners. Traffic is up and traditional servers are buckling under the pressure. A new solution was needed that could handle overnight load spikes without costly reconfiguration. We had to re-invent web hosting. If you’d like - go ahead and call us HOSTING 2.0.

Top tier data centers. Our data centers provide some of the highest level design and engineering features available in the world; surpassing uptime, security, cooling and power redundancy standards of most other hosting facilities.

World's greatest designers. The world’s hottest, most talented designers have trusted (mt) for years to serve their digital creations. Being the most critical demographic on the Internet, we believe this has strong merit.

Innovation. Over and over (mt) Media Temple has been first to market with new technologies. Notably, we were the first hosting company authorized to host iASP for Linux, Macromedia’s FlashCommunication Server, Zend’s PHP Performance solutions, Six Apart’s MovableType blogging software and now we have just released the world’s most powerful, affordable utility computing hosting platform, The Grid.

We rise to the challenge. Just like all complex systems, hosting services occasionally encounter problems. When something unexpected happens within our network that affects your websites, we immediately rise to the challenge and provide transparent status updates in real-time through our custom-built incident manager. Subscribe to the RSS feed for an incident to stay updated every step of the way until it’s resolved.

Related links


mediatemple.net GooglePlus Cover
Website research for Media Temple on June 1, 2005 by WebHostingTop

Promotions

No website coupons announced! Looking to get a great webhosting deal using vouchers ? Checkout our current web hosting coupons list!
If you manage this brand, you must be logged in to update your promotions!

Add your promo code

Promotion:
Provide the start date
and end date if the promotions expires!
Your email
(will not be displayed)
How much is 2+2 ? Respond with 4
 

PlansWebsite Products

Linux - Shared Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
Grid features(mt) loves your success. So we built the Grid web hosting platform to handle any traffic spike. From hundreds of visitors to hundreds of thousands, we'll keep your site online.
Plan URL : https://mediatemple.net/webhosting/shared/
$20.00/mo. 100 GB1 TB
Linux - VPS Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
DV Developer featuresOur DV Developer service is top of the line Linux-based web hosting, built for speed and efficiency to meet your highest performance demands. Our version of Linux-based performance utility VPS hosting is developer-inspired, giving you the freedom [...]
Plan URL : https://mediatemple.net/webhosting/vps/developer/
$30.00/mo. 20 GB350 GB
DV Managed featuresThe latest DV Managed platform takes VPS hosting to a higher level. Every component—from CentOS6 and the Plesk control panel to mail, backups, and more—is engineered to be faster, easier, more efficient, and more powerful.
Plan URL : https://mediatemple.net/webhosting/vps/hosting/
$50.00/mo. 30 GB1 TB

Contact information is managed by mediatemple.net representatives contact@mediatemple.net , Sophie H - she@mediatemple.net , Tammy Porter - txporter@mediatemple.net [login] Claim this businessCreate a free account to manage mediatemple.net listing!

Web stats

Targeting: United States
Media Temple daily Global Rank trend
Daily Global Rank Trend
Media Temple Search Visits
Search Visits

Customer Testimonials

There are no customer testimonials listed yet. You can be the first one to add your testimonial here.

Add your own testimonial

This form is used exclusively for positive feedback, for a regular review click here

Your Name
Email(will be obfuscated)
One Hosted domain name with this company
Testimonial
(HTML tags are NOT allowed!)
Minim 100 characters!
How much is 2+2 ? Respond with 4
 

News

MEDIA TEMPLE LAUNCHES NEW MANAGED CLOUD HOSTING SOLUTION - Media Temple, a Los Angeles-based company that provides premium web and cloud hosting solutions, today unveiled its new managed cloud hosting services for Amazon Web Services (AWS) customers. Backed by white glove, 24/7 support provided by its own certified cloud engineers, Media Temple’s managed services cater to the business needs of not only creative agencies and web developers, but also content providers, e-commerce, SaaS and enterprise businesses.
AWS has been a dominant force in the cloud space since its launch in 2006, providing building blocks and operational efficiencies to create amazing hosting solutions. However, in order for high-traffic websites and complex web apps to get the most out of AWS, a solid expertise in cloud architecture and administration is required.
Media Temple’s new offering delivers repeatable SysOps-like services for customers so they can cost-effectively leverage the flexibility and scalability of AWS without having to source these services ... [search all mediatemple.net news]

Social Networks

https://www.linkedin.com/company/media-temple
About: From its inception in 1998, Media Temple has been on a mission to provide premium web hosting and cloud services to the world's leading web developers, designers, and creative agencies. We have been the hosting choice of individual and professional creatives ever since, helping them run and scale their business online. Over 125,000 people and businesses in 100 countries rely on our easy-to-use tools for web hosting, one-click WordPress installs, virtual servers, domain registration, business applications, and other cloud services to power more than 1.5 million websites. Our premium service model combined with our scalable technology allows us to focus on creating a unique user experience by delivering only exceptional quality, high-performance solutions and award-winning 24/7/365 customer support. Our clients range from top tier designers, popular blogs, apps, and online design communities, to global advertising agencies, artistic e-commerce meccas and cool brands like Red Bull, Nike, Diesel and Under Armour. Having spent the last 16 years building a unique, people-first company culture focused on supporting different creative and tech communities while fostering employee happiness, Media Temple has been a repeat entry on Best Places to Work in LA rankings.
Media Temple (est. 1998) is a Privately Held entity having 1936 followers on LinkedIn and 201-500 employees, industry Internet.
https://plus.google.com/+mediatemple
About: All our web hosting plans are backed by our industry-leading, award-winning, 24/7/365 live support.
(mt) Media Temple account is having 2350 followers and 3834 plus one count. See recent Google+ Posts:
mediatemple.net GPlus Icon
- Lazy loading responsive adsense ads - an indepth solution from CSS-Tricks Lazy Loading Responsive Adsense Ads | CSS-Tricks
- Heading to #WCUS in a few weeks? Joost de Valk wants to remind you to 'Have Fun' at the event, in this great post from WordImpress! WCUS Speakers: “Have Fun,” says Joost de Valk - WordImpress
- We’re only 1 week away from #reinvent 2016! Here is a recap of some of our favorite moments from last years amazing event! Re:Invent Recap: Looking Back At AWS' Global Partner Summit - Page: 2 | CRN
Media Temple Blog  Using Wordpress version 4.3.6. Blog added on Jun, 2013, with total 129 articles, language en-US. See recent blogs summary posts:
- Why Your Custom CSS Doesn’t Work in WordPress and How to Fix It - Occasionally, you may find that, when you add custom CSS to your website, it just doesn't seem to get applied correctly. There's a lot of reasons why this... The post Why Your Custom CSS Doesn't Work
- Customer Spotlight: Tailor Brands - Tailor Brands was founded in friendship. The type of friendship that enjoys solving problems. In 2014, three longtime friends (founders Yali Saar, Nadav Shatz, and Tom Lahat) wanted... The post ...
- An SVG That Isn’t All… SVG - When you think of SVG, what do you think of? Vector graphics, right? Maybe some stuff like this? That's good. SVG absolutely excels at graphics like that. It's... The post An SVG That Isn't All... SVG

Domains trend

ReviewsCustomer Ratings

The quick stats of Media Temple profile shows a note average of 7.9 out of 10, counting 13 opinions. (few listed on the top of the page)
As visitor you can rate this provider directly here! If you are part of support team, you can respond to these reviews by going to login

Add your own review [Toggle to basic/advance form]

Required info

Select Hosting Plan
Overall Rating
Time Hosted
Features
Price / Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Your Social URL, Name or Usernameeg. https://twitter.com/YOURID or https://facebook.com/YOURID or https://plus.google.com/+YOURID
Your Email Or login and come back to this page
Customer identification(Not public visible. eg Customer=1120 or Account=2121 or Order ID=511AAS3)
Your hosted domaineg. mysite.net. If you have multiple domains, mention at least one!
Summary of your posteg. mediatemple.net is best!
Your review HTML tags are NOT allowed! MINIM 100 characters!
Provide as much information as possible in your review! Too less information may be counted as not relevant and not approved!
How much is 2+2 ? Respond with 4
 
Nick Stephan (nick@o...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Great
Great hosting company always there to help with any hosting related issues you may have! Each person I have talked with has been extremely knowledgeable as well as professional!

Nick
http://offthemap.co
Naina Redhu (naina@n...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Excellent customer service.
So good that even if you had serious downtime, I would not be bothered. Really. Friendly people.

I moved from Dreamhost and find your Urchin stats confounding though. DH had a simpler, much easier display system.

I'm not very technically strong in handling websites' back end but your KnowledgeBase is good and in simple-to-understand language. Also, even though I am in India, your customer support, on Twitter, have taken not more than five minutes to respond to my query.

I have NEVER experiences service equal or even close to that.
Elise Adams (elise.adams@i...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Generally great
Generally great, it is a very stable service with fantastic support. If only it was a little faster outside of the us.
-anonymous- (warwick@4...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
A bit slow
Being in Australia the servers can be a bit slow sometimes compared to my local hosting. However that said I much prefer your hosting packages, service, support and everything else to any other company in Australia or anywhere... so bring some servers down here :D

Also would be great to offer .com.au domain purchasing so I could have all my domains in one place.

I also have a GS server as well, just couldn't select it above.
-anonymous- (eric.wizkid.odom@g...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Up-time is unprecedented
I moved from another web hosting service a little over a year ago, and I can confidently say I'm never going back! The (mt) up-time is unprecedented, and they set they've set the bar for customer service. Other providers could learn a lot from (mt)!
Brendyn Montgomery (brendyn@a...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Great
You guys are great and I love the support. It makes me feel very secure in my hosting to know that you guys are always available and unfailingly helpful.
Elliot Ali (elliot.ali@m...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Generally fantastic
(mt) have helped me quickly resolve numerous problems and provide a professional, secure and easy to use system. The only downsides are the disorganised list of domains (you can have hundreds!) in the account centre and the course pricing on the ve. Digital ocean and linode are more competitive there.
Matthew Mascioni (matthewmascioni@m...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Kicks ass!
Finding good innovation within hosting companies is tricky nowadays. Media Temple nails it all, from the amazing services they provide, to their unparalleled uptime, to their staff pretty much always caring.
Storrs (storrs@m...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Mediatemple all the way
I've had nothing but a positive experience in my years of hosting with Media Temple. I run a base DV with a few sites and the overall performance of the machine and network are far greater than other hosts i've used in the past.

I'm not a super admin tech guy by any means but I am handy with terminal and on occasion I have "bricked" my server BUT this is where Media Temple comes to the rescue with top notch customer support. Don't have time to call the tech crew ? hit them up on twitter ! or log into your account center and fire up the chat. If something on my server goes whacky I need to talk to some one and get it fixed ASAP, never a problem with MT as they are quick to respond through all channels and often times go above and beyond to help.

Another really great aspect of Media Temple is how transparent they are. It's the internet and things happen, nature of the beast. But what does your current host do about it ? Do they keep you updated around the clock when an issue [read more...]
Charles Hubert (aman.420@h...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I tried MediaTemple.net because I figured they would be a great provider since they host for many large corporations. Boy was I wrong. The setup all went well. Once it was setup, I opened a support ticket and I was suprised that it says Estimated Response Time: 5 hours and 15 minutes. I've never been with a provider that takes that long to reply to tickets. After that, I called them and I had to wait on the line for 30 minutes to speak to someone who really had no idea what they were talking about.

A week later, my entire website went down and they told me I used too much memory, which was false because I was hosting a site that wasn't stressful on memory. They restarted my machine and then took my DNS servers down. I kept asking them to fix it, but they said it was my name servers, which also didn't make sense because it worked fine before they restarted everything. So for 24 hours, my site was down and my customers were angry.

I decided to back to to good ol' [read more...]
Hi Charles!

I find it very troubling that you had a negative experience at (mt) Media Temple. I'm so sorry that you didn't feel you received adequate support. (mt) prides itself on providing quality 24/7/365 support. I can guarantee you that since 2008, we have increased the amount of support staff we have, as well as the number of ways a customer can reach out to us for support.

I could not find your name in our system (current or previous customers) so I'm not sure exactly which hosting product you were on- but it sounds like you were using one of our dedicated servers. Our (dv) Dedicated-Virtual Servers and (ve) Servers are self managed servers with limited support. Looking at UbiquityHosting.com, it seems they offer managed support for their VPS'. That's great! It looks like you found a great deal and are happy there. Currently, (mt) Media Temple does not offer managed support for VPS but it is something we're looking into for the future.

I encourage you to give (mt) [...]

Marketing representative (Sophie H - she@mediatemple.net, ).
These Media Temple customer review(s) and ranks are the subjective opinion of our visitors and not of whtop.com staff.
Trademarks, logos & names are properties of their respective owners and protected by law.