IWeb review

This review cover a general impression of iweb.ca product features like reliability, support, data center, price & more. Brand #3706, listed since .

Most Recent Customer Reviews

allam (allamq@y...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Customer Relation
Control Panel
just one word ,, stay a way ,,,,

they said about "smart server" ,,, will they are the most stupid services in the hosting world
spacelee (fjctlzy@g...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I hate this...
I paid for 1 month, but was not satisfied because the server location is not what I need, I need US, but they give me Canada.
I ask for a refund, but they just give me half of them, saying there is setup fee, which can't be refunded...
But you guys said that there is no SETUP Fee in this package...
here is a dispute in the paypal between they and I
From Buyer - Eric Li9/24/2010 19:58 PDT
I order a server from iweb, but when I install the software on that server and detect that it's a canada server, not a USA server, which I need USA server to be a VPN server for our company to watch Hulu, pandora, ABC in USA, so I ask a refund nearly 4 days ago, but iweb give me just $50 back, which is not the money back guarantee we agree on. and I hope you could give me a full refund, because you didn't mention that there is a setup fee in the server and so how can you see I benefit from this ? No one told me that I need to pay for 12 months if [read more...]
charles fowler (charles_d_fowler@l...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Customer Relation
Control Panel
every time i seen i was getting enough traffic and was about to upgrade to dedicated hosting i got suspended for abuse using resources above the worthless 2% for shared hosting allowed


About IWeb

Over a decade of web hosting services

iWeb has been providing reliable and scalable Internet hosting infrastructure solutions with its shared web hosting, dedicated servers, managed hosting and colocation services for over a decade.

Founded by Martin Leclair and Eric Chouinard in October 1996 and headquartered in Montreal since 1998, the public company (TSX-V: IWB) has enjoyed a steady growth since its inception, currently employing more than 170 talented hosting specialists and operating four data centers in the greater Montreal area.

At the beginning, iWeb originally operated under the "Formation et Technologies Formatek" name. It started as a general Internet related services company to later focus on Web Hosting. It is in 1998 and 1999, as a result of mergers and partnerships with SMEs specializing in Internet solutions (Formatek, Infonet Services, WebDépart and JBCréation), that iWeb reoriented itself towards Internet hosting and server management to make it its specialty.

Operating in the heart of the Old Montreal from 2000 to 2004, close to the Multimedia City, iWeb survived the dot com bubble burst and was growing beyond all expectations. At the end of 2003, in addition to signing an agreement to enter the stock market, iWeb acquired a 10,000 square foot building and moved its headquarters into its spacious new office. Only two years later, after the acquisition of the Hosting Division of iNet-Interactif/Funio, in February of 2006, iWeb acquired a new 20,000 square foot building and built its second data center in St-Leonard on the Island of Montreal. In October 2007, iWeb announced the opening of a third data center of 29,000 square feet, in Nuns' Island near Montreal.

Today iWeb is one of the largest web hosts and Internet hosting infrastructures provider in Canada. iWeb's operations centres shelter a total of more than 90,000 square feet of latest generation data center and office floor space in Montreal and offers a wide variety of first class web hosting and server management services. IWeb is recognized for the quality of its customer service and its highly competitive prices. In January 2010, iWeb announced the addition of the new 31,000 square feet data center, in the LaSalle borough (western part of Montreal), with the capacity to host 20,000 dedicated servers. This new facility will bring the total dedicated server capacity of iWeb to nearly 35,000 servers.

Why choose iWeb?

* For the trust customers have placed in us for so many years (More than 21,000 customers in over 150 countries)
* Because at iWeb, there is someone ready to answer your questions (By phone, chat and email 24 hours a day)
* We operate our own data centers (and control every aspect of your hosting solution)
* Our network is rock solid (ranked by Netcraft as top performer multiple times)
* We love making your life easier (with unique tools like our Customer Hub or Panelbox)
* We guarantee your satisfaction (and will give you your money back, no questions asked, within 30 days)
* We offer an unbeatable 100% power & network uptime SLA (and always post technical notifications on our status blog)
* We are commited to serving you better (and listening to your feedback)

iWeb's State-Of-The-Art Facilities
iWeb operates four data centers three of which are completely owned by the company. The hosting facilities answer the clientele's specific needs while respecting a series of criteria concerning accessibility, security and availability. Do not hesitate to contact us to plan a visit !
Data centers usage and capacity
Approximate, on December 1st, 2009 Space Dedicated Colo Available
iWEB-HD 10,000 s.f. 1,800 Servers 45 x 48U 1%
iWEB-CL 20,000 s.f. 12,000 Servers 132 x 48U 5%
iWEB-CO 29,000 s.f. N/A 600 x 48U 38%
iWEB-NE 31,000 s.f. 20,000 Servers N/A 100%

iWeb-HD, iWeb-CL and iWeb-NE facilities offer dedicated servers and colocation spaces while iWeb-CO is mostly a colocation facility and the only one offering cages. Each facility is built with iWeb's wide range of services in mind, isolating colocation services from dedicated server services and managed hosting services.

Quick technical details
iWeb manages 90,000 square feet of space in its three operation centers. The total area is comprised of data center floors and office floors to accommodate all of its 170 employees working in the sales, marketing, software development, billing, finance, customer service, data center services and network infrastructures areas.

iWeb's data centers feature multiple access protected zones: the dedicated server hosting zone, the private racks hosting zone, the single server colocation zone, the managed hosting zone and the shared web services zone. Each data center partition is designed specifically for the type of hosting services it will shelter. Therefore, empty raised floor areas are available to fulfill cages and wholesale customers' needs, colocation areas filled with empty server cabinets are available for private colocation racks customers and iWeb-only access areas loaded with tower servers installed on shelves are ready to fulfill your dedicated server needs.

iWeb's data centers are equipped with a wide range of security, power management, cooling and network access equipment. Biometric sensors, security cameras and secure access are the first items encountered on-site. In addition to thousands of servers, power regulation systems, diesel generators and air conditioning systems are vital aspects of the facilities. All these infrastructures are totally controlled and managed by iWeb's team of hosting infrastructures experts.

Connectivity to the Internet is assured by multiple black fibers getting into the buildings' telco rooms through diverse entry points. Multi-gigabit connectivity is used to link iWeb's data centers to each other and to connect upstream providers to iWeb's own network. iWeb's team monitors the data center and network operations 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days per year.

Furthermore, iWeb offers data center space in four geographically distinct locations enabling for business continuity planning and business critical server operations. Customers can outsource crucial hosting operations easily using private dedicated server racks in two or more iWeb data centers and replicating the sensitive hosting architecture, applications and data between the data centers. Whether you want to host your first web site or you are thinking of outsourcing advanced data center needs, iWeb offers a unique high quality all in one hosting infrastructure solution.

Our network, our pride.
Peer 1, Tata Communications (formely Teleglobe), Cogent (unmetered network only), Vidéotron, Deutsche Telekom -

Our network is linked to important upstream suppliers that connect to hundreds of exchange partners which assures a constant Internet connection and superior routing. Bottom line: increased Internet efficiency and 100% availability guaranteed. Whether it is through our High Quality or our Unmetered network, access to your services will be uninterrupted.

* 100% Uptime SLA
* Your choice : High Quality or Unmetered
* Congestion-free network
* Over 50Gbps Capacity

iWeb set itself apart by offering you the opportunity to choose the network that best suits your needs. The dedicated servers, managed hosting solutions and colocation customers can freely choose between the High Quality Network or the Unmetered network.

We understand that network uptime is crucial for your valuable online presence and this is why iWeb’s entire network is fully redundant. From the Cisco routing equipments to the upstream bandwidth providers, there is no single point of failure. At iWeb, your servers will be accessible and online 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and 365 days per year.

High quality network. The fastest routes.
On iWeb's high quality network, the outgoing traffic travels via Tata Communications (formerly Teleglobe), Videotron, Peer1,TorIX, Level 3 and Deutsche Telekom using the shortest route. For inbound traffic, all available providers are used, Tata Communications, Videotron, Peer1,TorIX, Level 3, Deutsche Telekom and Cogent. During an outage affecting a high quality network provider, the unmetered network can be used to ensure service availability. All this in order to ensure 100% uptime of the network access and prevent saturation of certain access links.

Unmetered network. Best bang for the buck, without compromising availability.
On iWeb's Unmetered network, the outgoing traffic travels almost completely via Cogent without importance on the length of the route. Why? Because transfer costs via Cogent are less expensive and thus guarantee a better price. For inbound traffic, all available providers are used, Tata Communications, Videotron, Peer1,TorIX, Level 3, Deutsche Telekom and Cogent. During an outage affecting an Unmetered network provider, the high quality network can be used to ensure service availability.

Fast. All over the world.
iWeb’s network is fast. Listed multiple times in Netcraft’s Hosting Providers Network Performance Top 10, our network is hard to beat when it comes to availability and response time. In order to back our claims, we have gathered, using traceroute, response times for many of the countries for whom we host servers. Considering the size of the country and certain factors that may differ, the results showed on the graphic are inaccurate and show an average response time for the country. They should be used only as an indication.

iweb.ca GooglePlus Cover
Website research for IWeb on July 2, 2006 by WebHostingTop


No website coupons announced! Looking to get a great webhosting deal using vouchers ? Checkout our current web hosting coupons list!
If you manage this brand, you must be logged in to update your promotions!

Add your promo code

Provide the start date
and end date if the promotions expires!
Your email
(will not be displayed)
How much is 2+2 ? Respond with 4


There are no products or services listed yet! To add any hosting plans, you have to login into your account!

Marketing information is managed by reservation@iweb.ca [login]

Web stats

Targeting: Canada, France

Customer Testimonials

There are no customer testimonials listed yet. You can be the first one to add your testimonial here.

Add your own testimonial

This form is used exclusively for positive feedback, for a regular review click here

Your Name
Email(will be obfuscated)
One Hosted domain name with this company
(HTML tags are NOT allowed!)
Minim 100 characters!
How much is 2+2 ? Respond with 4


IWeb Reports Q1 Results - Canadian Web hosting provider iWeb (iweb.ca) announced on Wednesday the financial results of its first quarter, which ended December 31, 2006.
In this first quarter, iWeb Group recorded consolidated revenues of $1,956,177 an increase of $814,068 or 71 percent more than the same period last year when revenues were $1,142,109."This first quarter is in line with our objectives and we are satisfied with the results. It's a good start for 2007, now we need to concentrate on keeping the rhythm for the rest of the year," says Eric Chouinard, co-founder and CEO of iWeb.In addition, the Web hosting provider was also recently awarded a new $4.5 million loan by the Business Development Bank of Canada to acquire new equipment and complete the second development phase of iWeb's second data center located in St.Léonard, Quebec, expected to be completed in April 2007. [search all iweb.ca news]

Social Networks

About: iWeb is one of the longest established hosting and IaaS companies in the world, providing cloud services, dedicated server hosting and advanced IT infrastructure solutions.We’re proud to have diverse customers in over 150 countries worldwide, and prouder still of the more than 200 incredibly passionate and talented staff who make the magic happen. We’re 15 years in the making and still growing, celebrating being ranked amongst the fastest growing companies in Canada in each of the last five years.Visit iWeb.com or follow us here on LinkedIn for updates about our services, career opportunities at iWeb, and other things around the web that we find interesting.
iWeb account is having 3299 followers on LinkedIn and 201-500 employees.
About: What are we doing on Google+?G+ is a great way for us to network with our customers, friends and partners around the world.It’s one of lots of places where you can find us if you have a question. But mainly it’s where we like to talk about the things you find interesting, important or just funny. Big things that can change the way you work. Little things that you might appreciate. Silly things to make you smile.
iWeb account is having 579 followers and 1299 plus one count.. See recent Google+ Posts:
iweb.ca GPlus Icon
- ‪#‎eSports‬ Makes $612M From Its 134M Viewers Worldwide, SuperData Finds (via @VentureBeat)  E-sports makes $612M from its 134M viewers worldwide, SuperData finds
- After all, the Internet of Things did promise us a deeper connection with our objects http://buff.ly/1G2tHnF The Woolet Is A Wallet That Yells At You When You Leave It Behind | TechCrunch
- Don't make it hard for other developers to figure out your API. ReadMe Creates Crisp Documentation For Developers Using Your APIs | TechCrunch
No official Blog yet!

ReviewsCustomer Ratings

The quick stats of IWeb profile shows a note average of 2.1 out of 10, counting 7 opinions. (few listed on the top of the page)
As visitor you can rate this provider directly here! If you are part of support team, you can respond to these reviews by going to login

Add your own review [Toggle to advance form]

Required info

Overall Rating
Time Hosted
Price / Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Your Name or Username Check to not display public
Your Email Or login and come back to this page Check to not display at all
Customer identification(eg Customer=10 or Account=21 or Order ID=53)
Your hosted domainif you have multiple domains, mention at least one!
Summary of your posteg. iweb.ca is best!
Your review HTML tags are NOT allowed! MINIM 100 characters!
Provide as much information as possible in your review! Too less information may be counted as not relevant and not approved!
(please specify which plan you used)
How much is 2+2 ? Respond with 4
Jay Carter (info@j...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Consumer beware
After using the dedicated hosting services of IWEBB, I would definitely recommend not using their services. My business used their level 5 server plan and discovered a number of ongoing issues from the get go. Our server was slow and often went down. We made several requests to IWEBB, to correct them. The service was about a three week turn around. Then in April, I discovered our server had crashed once again, not unusual. We began the routine of calling, emailing, and their tech support. I was finally, after two days of being completely down, told that a drive had failed and it would be replaced. Another day went by no server, no answer. I waited 3 hours on the phone to be told that our data was lost and they had to put us on a new server. There was no recent backup which was a part of my service plan. I was outraged that my business programs and database were lost. I asked to speak to customer service and the response I was given was even more outrageous. I was [read more...]
Bill Crafford (b.crafford34@g...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Do you like chatting online? do you like waiting on the phone? do you like wasting your money? -- Then iWeb its the solution.

If they improve their services and specially their tech support, I can guarantee that a loot of people will write good reviews, including me.

Thanks for nothing iWeb
simon (siem@w...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I did some extensive research on dedicated webhosters last summer and in the end I found Iweb to have my exact needs wrt pricing and features. Got a level 4 support for the price of Level 3 and some of the (minor) questions I had were fixed within hours. So far so good.
Terry Le (profitgw@g...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Low on support . And their support like hell . They will answer your question fast when you need to buy their service but after that they won't helpt you anything. Don't wasted your time on this provider like me........
These IWeb customer review(s) and ranks are the subjective opinion of our visitors and not of whtop.com staff.
Trademarks, logos & names are properties of their respective owners and protected by law.