Host Way review

This review cover a general impression of hostway.com product features like reliability, support, data center, price & more. Brand #6089, listed since .

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Scott (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I am absolutely LIVID right now. The level of incompetence at Hostway is intolerable!

I sent a request to delete xxxxxxx.com, and suspend yyyyyyy.com. The knuckleheads over there kept xxxxxxx.com, deleted yyyyyyy.com & now yyyyyyy.com is showing a completely unrelated domain.

This is hands down the worst I have EVER seen a hosting company.

Can't even tell you how pissed I am right now!!!!
Mark Osborne (markdosborne@g...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Excellent service over a long long time (13 years)
You should not have too much experience with the service department of an ISP, and this has proven to be the case with Hostway. In 13 years with them, I have had a handful of email service requests, and one phone call from Australia to the US all of which were answered nearly instantly.

I initially joined a plan which increased by a total of $2/month over the 13 years yet continually increased the bandwidth, CPU and storage limits as the years went by.

These days, in the linux based account, there is shell access, mySQL databases, plenty of email accounts, and an easy ability to add a simple blog or website that they supply as part of their service.

I also found that hooking a full Wordpress website to their service was quite simple and runs without any hitches.

As a software/database developer, I found that only being able to access the SQL databases through a website was a bit clunky, but this would be for security reasons.

Uninterrupted service has been the hallmark [read more...]
Rocky Raco (rockyraco@v...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Great service
The best thing about Hostway is I never have to call with problems with my site. No one has even told me they have had problems viewing my website. One problem I did have was I had to cancel a credit card and did not notify Hostway, and when they could not charge my old card I was notified so I could make the change, and had no downtime with my website.
MORE REVIEWS
Listed and verified since 2007

Editorial Review


HostWay (est. 1998) by Lucas Roh, Arnold Choi, John Lee started based on acquisition of Spectronet Inc

At the start, company growth was targeted on sales in USA, mainly in Chicago. In 2000, the founders expanded Hostway to other markets with the launch of Hostway Korea. This step served as the beginning of a larger push towards its globalization of web hosting services.

Later on, they openned offices in Australia, Belgium, France, Germany, India, Netherlands, Romania and United Kingdom.

Their passion is what drives them - their experience gets the work done.
Hostway has been committed on getting the power of the Internet to their customers across the globe with innovative products that are supported by great customer service. One of the top ten leading webhosting brands, their experience gives them the skills to guide their clients through the process of setting, promoting and having a Web site.

Data Center

Their Hosting Infrastructure

* Carrier independent
* 250,191 sq ft of data center space
* Cisco, Foundry, Juniper networking gear
* Multiple OC-12, OC-48 and GigE connections to Tier 1 Internet backbone providers
* Network of 11 lights out Tier 1 data centers
* Megawatt Diesel generators
* VESDA detection and FM200 gas-based fire suppression system

Control Panel

They use SiteControl which give's you ability to manage your account.

Conclusion

Useful links:

Managed
Cloud
Domains
Support
Control Panel

hostway.com Facebook Cover
Website research for Host Way on May 4, 2013 by WebHostingTop

CouponsPromotions

Test drive hosted Microsoft Exchange free for 30 days with promo code "Exchange30day". - No time limit!
Get 2 months free per year when you pre-pay for 1, 2 or 3 years on any of our shared hosting plans: Website Starter, FlexCloud Site, or FlexCloud Site Pro. That's over 16% savings off the regular price per year. - No time limit!

Add your promo code

Promotion:
Provide the start date
and end date if the promotions expires!
Your email
(will not be displayed)
How much is 2+2 ? Respond with 4
 

PlansWebsite Products

Linux - Shared Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
Website Starter featuresDesigned specifically for small business owners, Website Starter offers everything you need to get started online. Plus with the Website Extender add-on you can move your website mobile and social to attract even more customers. Website Starter is [...]
Plan URL : http://www.hostway.com/web-hosting/starter-plan.html?keyword=Website+Starter
$6.95/mo. 50 GBunmetered
Linux - Dedicated Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
Single Server Managed Hosting featuresManaged$275.00/mo. 250 GB2 TB
Firewall, Server, Backup Managed featuresManaged$500.00/mo. 146 GB2 TB
DB, Web, Firewall, Backup Managed featuresManaged$917.00/mo. 292 GB2 TB
Hybrid Configuration featuresManaged$1,175.00/mo. 146 GB2 TB
Linux - VPS Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
U100 featuresPlan U100 – Hostway offers three plans which utilize the Linux OS. The basic level plan features CentOS 6, 40 GB disk space, 1 GB RAM Burstable to 2 GB RAM as needed, 1000 GB total Bandwith, a Plesk 11 control panel, and includes 10 domain [...]
Plan URL : http://www.hostway.com/vps/pricing.html?keyword=U100
$29.95/mo. 40 GB1 TB
U500 featuresPlan U500 – Hostway offers three plans which utilize the Linux OS. The intermediate level plan features CentOS 6, 70 GB disk space, 4 GB RAM Burstable to 2 GB RAM as needed, 2000 GB total Bandwith, a Plesk 11 control panel, and includes 10 domain [...]
Plan URL : http://www.hostway.com/vps/pricing.html?keyword=U500
$49.95/mo. 70 GB2 TB
U700 featuresU700 - Hostway offers three plans which utilize the Linux OS. The advanced level plan features CentOS 6, 100 GB disk space, 6 GB RAM Burstable to 3 GB RAM as needed, 2000 GB total Bandwith, a Plesk 11 control panel, and includes 100 domain [...]
Plan URL : http://www.hostway.com/vps/pricing.html?keyword=U700
$69.95/mo. 100 GB2 TB
Windows - Shared Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
FlexCloud Site (Windows)  $12.00/mo. 300 GBunmetered
FlexCloud Site Pro  $29.00/mo. 1000 GBunmetered
Windows - Exchange Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
Hosted Exchange featuresHostway includes all the core Exchange capabilities in a simple, comprehensive package. Also included in our low price is Hostway’s world-class customer service and support. Enjoy large 25 GB mailboxes with the ability to send up to 1 GB [...]
Plan URL : http://www.hostway.com/hosted-exchange/?keyword=Hosted+Exchange
$8.50/mo. 25 GBunmetered
Compliant Ready Exchange featuresCompliant-Ready Exchange helps reduce your risk in the event of a breach or
regulatory audit. This plan includes all the great functionality of our basic Exchange plan but adds an extra layer of security with archiving & retention, advanced [...]
Plan URL : http://www.hostway.com/hosted-exchange/compliant-ready-email.html?keyword=Compliant+Ready+Email
$12.50/mo. 25 GBunmetered
Windows - VPS Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
W100 featuresPlan W100 – Hostway offers three plans which utilize the Windows OS. The basic level plan features Windows 2008, 40 GB disk space, 2 GB RAM, 1500 GB total Bandwith, a Plesk 11 control panel, and includes 10 domain licenses and two IP addresses. [...]
Plan URL : http://www.hostway.com/vps/pricing.html?keyword=W100
$49.95/mo. 40 GB1500 GB
W500 featuresPlan W500 – Hostway offers three plans which utilize the Windows OS. The intermediate level plan features Windows 2008, 70 GB disk space, 3 GB RAM, 2000 GB total Bandwith, a Plesk 11 control panel, and includes 10 domain licenses and two IP [...]
Plan URL : http://www.hostway.com/vps/pricing.html?keyword=W500
$69.95/mo. 70 GB2 TB
W700 featuresPlan W700 – Hostway offers three plans which utilize the Windows OS. The advanced level plan features Windows 2008, 100 GB disk space, 4 GB RAM, 2000 GB total Bandwith, a Plesk 11 control panel, and includes 100 domain licenses and three IP [...]
Plan URL : http://www.hostway.com/vps/pricing.html?keyword=W700
$89.95/mo. 100 GB2 TB
Linux/Windows - Shared Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
FlexCloud Site featuresFor developers and IT professionals who prefer a hands-on approach to building their website, Hostway offers FlexCloud Site plans that provide customization options and plenty of disk space – all powered by Hostway's industry-leading cloud [...]
Plan URL : http://www.hostway.com/web-hosting/flexcloud-sites.html?keyword=FlexCloud+Site
$12.95/mo. 300 GBunmetered
FlexCloud Site Pro featuresFlexCloud Site Pro is the advanced version of our FlexCloud Site offering and is ideal for web designers, web developers, or anyone that requires more storage space, multiple domains, or specialized 24/7 support. This plan gives you the ability to [...]
Plan URL : http://www.hostway.com/web-hosting/flexcloud-sites.html?keyword=FlexCloud+Site+Pro
$29.95/mo. 1000 GBunmetered
Linux/Windows - Managed Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
Single Server Managed Hosting features2 x Dual Core Xeon
2 GB RAM
2 x 250 SATA Drives, RAID 1
Shared Firewall
50 GB FTP backup space
Managed Service Level
2TB Bandwidth
24/7/365 Support
Starting from $275/mo. Setup fees and final costs vary depending on services ordered.
Plan URL : http://www.hostway.com/managed-servers/?keyword=Single+Server
$275.00/mo. 250 GB2 TB
Server, Firewall, Backup Managed features1 x Quad Core
6 GB RAM
2 x 146 15k SAS Drives, RAID 1
R1soft Managed Backup
Cisco 5505 Dedicated Managed Firewall
Managed Service Level
2TB Bandwidth
24/7/365 Support
Starting from $578/mo. Setup fees and final costs vary depending on [...]
Plan URL : http://www.hostway.com/managed-servers/?keyword=Server,+FW,+BU
$578.00/mo. 146 GB2 TB
Web, DB, Firewall, Backup Managed features2 x Dual Core Xeon
4 GB RAM
2 x 146 15k SAS Drives, RAID 1
1 x Quad Core Xeon
8 GB RAM
2 x 146 15k SAS Drives, RAID 1
R1soft Managed Backup
Cisco 5505 Dedicated Managed Firewall
Managed Service Level
2TB Bandwidth
24/7/365 [...]
Plan URL : http://www.hostway.com/managed-servers/?keyword=Web,+DB,+FW,+BU
$867.00/mo. 292 GB2 TB
Hybrid Configuration features2 x Cloud Servers with Private VLAN connection to managed servers
8 GB RAM
2 x 146 15k SAS Drives, RAID 1
R1soft Managed Backup
Cisco 5505 Dedicated Managed Firewall
Managed Service Level
2TB Bandwidth
24/7/365 Support
Starting from [...]
Plan URL : http://www.hostway.com/hybrid-cloud/?keyword=Hybrid
$1,233.00/mo. 146 GB2 TB
Cloud Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedRAM /
Dedicated IPs
Cloud Server Hosting  $139.00/mo. 10 GBunmetered

Contact information is managed by hostway.com representatives Christian Zaguirre - christian.zaguirre@hostway.com , Amanda Bayane - amanda.bayane@hostway.com [login] | Last company update:

Web stats

Targeting: Korea, Romania, United States
Host Way daily Global Rank trend
Daily Global Rank Trend
Host Way Search Visits
Search Visits

Customer Testimonials

There are no customer testimonials listed yet. You can be the first one to add your testimonial here.

Add your own testimonial

This form is used exclusively for positive feedback, for a regular review click here

Your Name
Email(will be obfuscated)
One Hosted domain name with this company
Testimonial
(HTML tags are NOT allowed!)
Minim 100 characters!
How much is 2+2 ? Respond with 4
 

News

Hostway launches Open-Xchange powered webmail and collaboration functionality for consumers and SMEs - Hostway Services Inc., a leading managed server and cloud hosting provider, announced the availability of webmail and collaboration packages OX Mail and OX Collaborate, powered by the popular OX App Suite software stack, to better answer the infrastructure and hosting needs of its small and medium sized business customers.
OX Mail improves how users manage email, contacts and appointments, and integrates with other services like Gmail and Hotmail. OX Mail is included in all of Hostway’s web hosting packages for new customers. All existing webmail customers will be migrated over, which includes more than 358,000 customers. OX Mail and OX Collaborate are also available for purchase without a web hosting package.
OX Collaborate extends the functionality of OX Mail and provides teamwork capabilities such as shared contacts, calendars and files along with the ability to easily store, view and stream media in the cloud, directly from a browser.
Designed for the mobile world, OX Mail and ... [search all hostway.com news]

Social Networks

https://www.linkedin.com/company/hostway-corporation
About: Hostway is one of the world’s largest providers of cloud, managed, and hybrid cloud hosting, delivering scalable, customizable Infrastructure-as-a-Service (IaaS) solutions to over 600,000 customers worldwide. Hostway delivers 24/7/365 support and cost-effective, secure, multi-tenant and dedicated hosting environments for SMBs and large enterprises. With our flexible server configurations, you’re able to get a custom solution that grows with you.
Hostway Services, Inc (est. 1998) is a Privately Held entity having 2518 followers on LinkedIn and 201-500 employees, industry Information Technology & Services.
https://plus.google.com/+hostway
About: Hostway is one of the world’s largest providers of cloud, managed, and hybrid cloud hosting, delivering scalable, customizable Infrastructure-as-a-Service (IaaS) solutions to over 600,000 customers worldwide. Hostway delivers 24/7/365 support and cost-effective, secure, multi-tenant and dedicated hosting environments for SMBs and large enterprises. With our flexible server configurations, you’re able to get a custom solution that grows with you.
Hostway Corporation account is having 67 followers and 80 plus one count. See recent Google+ Posts:
hostway.com GPlus Icon
- The acceleration of #SMB moving to the #cloud shows no signs of slowing. What does it all mean? ... Survey Says: Cloud Adoption, Hybrid Use Will Continue to Rise | Hostway Blog
- #Smallbiz owner gearing up for #smallbizsaturday? Our Newsletter Broadcast ... Newsletter Broadcast Email Marketing | Hostway
- In lieu of #holiday gifts, we're giving $10,000 to charity again this year. Which one? You decide: Help Us Help Those in Need | Hostway
Host Way Blog  Using Wordpress version 4.6.1. Blog added on Oct, 2015, with total 80 articles, language en-US. See recent blogs summary posts:
- Thanksgiving Reflections – A Message from Hostway’s President & CEO Emil Sayegh - As we think about what we are thankful for during this month that is best known for turkey and tradition, I can't help but be so grateful for Hostway's customers and employees. In this time of gratitu
- Election Results Are In: BBQ Bests Beer in Historic Race - In what has been an unprecedented and unclear voting season, one thing emerged a clear winner: good ol' fashioned Texas BBQ ribs. We recently sent out a simple question to some 30,000 IT decision make
- 5 Benefits of Managed Support - IT organizations often leverage Managed Service Providers (MSPs) to maximize return on scarce resources – doing more with less. In the case of cloud hosting, by outsourcing activities ranging from day

Domains trend

ReviewsCustomer Ratings

The quick stats of Host Way profile shows a note average of 2.5 out of 10, counting 19 opinions. (few listed on the top of the page)
As visitor you can rate this provider directly here! If you are part of support team, you can respond to these reviews by going to login

Add your own review [Toggle to basic/advance form]

Required info

Select Hosting Plan
Overall Rating
Time Hosted
Features
Price / Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Your Social URL, Name or Usernameeg. https://twitter.com/YOURID or https://facebook.com/YOURID or https://plus.google.com/+YOURID
Your Email Or login and come back to this page
Customer identification(Not public visible. eg Customer=1120 or Account=2121 or Order ID=511AAS3)
Your hosted domaineg. mysite.net. If you have multiple domains, mention at least one!
Summary of your posteg. hostway.com is best!
Your review HTML tags are NOT allowed! MINIM 100 characters!
Provide as much information as possible in your review! Too less information may be counted as not relevant and not approved!
How much is 2+2 ? Respond with 4
 
Frank Grant (frank.grant@a...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Hostway.com gives excellent products and services!
I have been with Hostway for nearly 6 years. I have found the web hosting prices very attractive and the reliability excellent.

Anytime I have a problem, Hostway deals with the problem in a very timely manner. Technical support is very knowledgeable and goes the extra mile, to resolve any problem you may have.

Hostway.com is the only web hosting I will use for years to come.
allamq (allamq@y...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
hi everyone submitted bad review ,,, i think you dont need to do that anymore ... coz i try to contact this company in order to bye managed server ,, so when i contact them in Sales chat (where they have a button for this everywhere in any plan ) but i was unable to find anyone online at anytime,,,
finely i called them by phone,, they ask me to send my info(e-mail and phone and they will contact me ASAP) but no body call me since 4days ,,, my partner had same problem with hostway he send e-mail .. no replay yet .. the good news it seems they know who they are so ,, they stop taking new customers also after i see ur review friends, i believe i dont need to deal with them at any cost.. bad news : they still has website talking about how great they are !!!
Anonymous (linuxboyuk@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
All in all, Hostway used to be great about 10 years ago. Since then they have declined in service and features.
While many other host offer user-friendly CPanels, Hostway continues to give customers an old-fashioned and very unhelpful management panel.

Any any issues are usually brushed off as client incompetence.

Quite shocking, considering that they used to have an excellent reputation many moons ago. Sadly they seem to have forgotten what customer service and modern technology is all about.

So we decided to move our package to another provider who seems to be much more clued up and much more user friendly.
Benjamin White (Bwlivinglife@g...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Do Not Choose HostWay!! What this company is doing is illegal and should not be allowed to operate! I have been with Valueweb/Hostway for nearly 5 years. During that time my site has actually been up close to 3 years with the "normal" 2-3 month downtime in between. I have had to completely rebuild my site from scratch 2 times after they lost all of my files and back-ups, with nothing more from them than " We don't know what happened..sorry". They also have the tendency to "misplace" their client's payment histories and demand that you pay the amount that they "think" you owe them or they will shut down your site. Don't bother sending in financial records, from your bank, to prove them wrong, as they will only get "misplaced" as well. My advice to anyone who is considering using this, and I am using this term very loosely, "company" to host your site, should RUN! I have finally broken away from them, just this week, but not without having to leave my site behind. -Benjamin White - [read more...]
Steve (steve@b...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
I've been a satisfied hostway customer for almost 10 years but i am leaving. As of 6 months ago, new company policy strips all 'dangerous' attachments from relayed email. There are no user preferences regarding file attachments to correct this as informed by tech support. I am a software developer, not a child, and cannot do business without receiving and sending .exe, .dll, and other 'dangerous' file attachments.
Also, with not notice whatsoever, Hostway dropped anon FTP service effective 2/1/10. So, now i can't email .exe files to clients, nor can i give them access to an anon FTP site. I can create multiple FTP subdirectory accounts at $4.95 each account per month ......gee, what a bargain. I'm out of here.
Bob Anders (at609@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Like Jeff, I've been with Hostway for over 10 years. Recently they migrated my site to a new server. When they did, they corrupted my site files. My site no longer forwarded me a form requesting information which is the sole purpose of my site in the first place. I called their "customer service" and was told that it wasn't their problem. They suggested that I contact my Web designer to fix it. Keep in mind I have a very basic site, and it has not been changed much in the past 10 years. The guy who designed it didn't have any files on his computer any longer. I was faced with having to redo the whole site.
I decided to shop around and found another host at more than half the price, with Americans that answer the phone promptly, give great support, and no bullshit.
When I called Hostway to cancel, they didn't even bother to ask why. When I asked about a refund for the remainder of my subscription, they said that since I paid for a year in advance there would be no refund. [read more...]
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I've been with Hostway for 10 years now. What others have said is correct, they used to be a great company. It started going downhill a few years ago when they outsourced their staff. Now customer service is just horrible and and I've lost complete confidence in them resolving ANY issue in a timely manner. The killer is the issues now always seem to stem from their incompetence and screw ups. Babysitting my hosting company is exhausting and expensive. I'm moving all my accounts elsewhere.

Hostway is out of control and incompetent... plain and simple. I should be billing them for gross negligence of the use of my time.
Peter (p.blumtritt@t...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
What a terrible, terrible company. Apart from the fact that their servers and support suck they are also hopelessly disorganized and incapable. Months ago I ordered some services with them. They said they couldn't charge my credit card - which is used for 20-30 online transactons each month elsewhere without a single problem - and advised me to pay via Paypal which I did. I sent them all of Paypal's transaction details - not only once but about 10 times since they kept sending reminders about "non-payment". Now, after 4 months they have suddenly charged my credit card for the same amount, saying that they never received my Paypal pament which is of course nonsense - I have all proof that it was paid. And their billing support doesn't even bother to reply anymore.
STAY AWAY - under all circumstances. Hostway means trouble on all levels!
qquackers (toss001@o...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
They Make Life Too Difficult

Pros: Being able to leave them behind. All pro's are overcome by the con's in trying to move from their service.

Cons: Unknown to us, Valuweb/Hostway had our Domain Name registered with a company run out of BULGARIA, who did the right thing and released the domain name after a few serious phone calls instead of making us wait 5 to 7 days as they first insisted.

A month after the service was moved and the Hostway account was confirmed as "cancelled" by Hostway support e-mail, Hostway has begun trying to collect another month service saying that the account was never cancelled and that we owe them money until it is cancelled! This is seriously childish.

The Story:

We moved to GoDaddy because the support, price and dashboard feature are so much better than what Hostway offers. We weren't unhappy with Hostway, until we tried to move.

Our account moved from Valueweb to Hostway a number of years ago, to our surprise. But, the service [read more...]
Scott (idtags@i...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Worst hosting company ever. TERRIBLE SUPPORT! You will never speak to anyone in the US and can never speak with a supervisor or anyone that can actually help. We were a valuweb customer which was migrated to Hostway in August. Nothing but problems so far. Website is occasionally down. They changed file permisions in the FTP access and were not able to fix them. I could not FTP our orders for 4 days so we could process them. The latest problem is unbelievable. THEY somehow pasted another companies SSL certificate on our website which is expired and has no relation to us (apparently we share a server with this other compnay). We do not have access to fix this or we could have Geotrust help. Of course nobody is ordering from us because of the security message that people see at checkout. We have been waiting for 6 days for it to be fixed. Countless phone calls and emails including a 2 hour call yesterday in which I was on hold for 1 hour before I even spoke to someone. I was assured over [read more...]
Frank White (bigmrfrank@h...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Brought 4 accounts to them. Paid for a year in advance x 4. Billed me twice on my card. Took 2 months to correct. Site control was down for 3 weeks at one point. Internal 500 server errors are a daily events. Customer support and tech is non existant. I regret ever going with the AND paying up front. No I have to fight for my money back. You cant say you weren't warned.
Mike (wkamag@w...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Well, like the others, in the beginning the were great. Moved to them from Earthlink after EL outsourced all support and we could not longer communicate. I was told that Hostway was US based and would never outsource... WRONG! After five or so years, they did so and things have gone down hill from there FAST! They recently disabled our site stating we violated TOU. BS! Had to email legal and got a call from them, the gentleman in Ft Lauderdale (sp) USA agreed. Found out from him, he is on his last two weeks with them. Says he hears this sort of thing all the time now. We are done and moving on to a new hosting company that provides US based support over the phone 24/7.
tina (privatename9@h...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have been with Hostway for a very long time. I stepped away from my company to start another business. In the Interim my employees changed web services as Hostway was too expensive. Upon my arrival back i kept asking my employee why are we paying all this money to Hostway when we don't even use them. There is no way to review your bill online ("convenient") and when you call their customer service support, it tells you to review your bill online. I contacted there customer support on several occasions to get answers and was told that I wasn't paying for services as i was stating. Then i was given a bill for $572.00 and they shut my service down. Here's the kicker. They did it on a Friday. The wait time to talk to someone in billing was over 15 minutes long, they put me on hold and after 45 minutes I had other things I had to take care of. I told them I would contact them back.....they close at 3pm EST on Friday and are not back in the office until Monday. So I leave into [read more...]
Alec (olarn@t...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Like a few other reviews here, I have been with Hostway for many years and was entirely happy with their service, until just a few weeks ago. They shut down my E-commerce store without warning, accused me of using up too much of their server resource even though I had done nothing new to the site for years. Eventually it turned out that the technical problems were due to their trying to move my site to a new server, but they tried to make out it was me that abused their service. Tried and pleaded as I might I could not get them to resolve problems, all I got were emails about how they were passing the buck between their tech staff.
Nigh on 10 years as a loyal customer and they treated me like dirt for some problems that they themselves induced. Be warned!
Peter (webmaster@e...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have been a Hostway customer for 10 years and at times had 20+ sites hosted with them. Over the past two years I have moved all of them away. The amount of problems and the lack of even remotely reasonable support got unbearable. I often spent more time on getting my sites running again and fighting with their incompetent support than on actually working on my sites' content. Especially if you have to rely on their database servers you're in deep trouble!
What I can see in Google's webmaster tools is that after moving away from Hostway the Google spider can crawl my pages 5-7 times faster than on Hostway's server.
Nancy Farlow (nfarlow@h...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I'm a graphic designer and have roughly 20 of my clients' web sites, and my own site, hosted with Hostway. I am currently shopping around for a new hosting service, however, since Hostway no longer has the appeal it once did. Their prices have been increasing over the past year or so. They no longer offer the $8.95/mo personal plan, and their Gold plan is now $15.95/mo (up from $13.95). Their $39.95 setup fee is too high. Their customer service used to be wonderful, but no longer. This past year, the CSRs I've spoken with for the most part are not knowledgeable and don't really seem to care about resolving my issues (even when they do speak English well enough to communicate with, which isn't always the case any more). They've done some strange things with some of my accounts and don't seem to have a clue what I'm talking about when I've tried to resolve them (i.e., lack of communication among the various parts of their company, apparently). I could go on and on, but, in a nutshell, [read more...]
These Host Way customer review(s) and ranks are the subjective opinion of our visitors and not of whtop.com staff.
Trademarks, logos & names are properties of their respective owners and protected by law.