Host Gator review

39 user reviews, 0 support responses, 3 testimonials, 26 products, 1 promotion, 5 social accounts, 1835426 domains, 2862461 hosted, Alexa #1510, listed 2005 (#1102)

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Sean (taztoys@a...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Avoid at all costs
Avoid if you can if your website is any part of generating your income. This companies' tech support is lacking in basic web hosting knowledge, is under-trained and incapable.
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Hostgator is over
Hostgator has been sold out to another owner. Now they are not able to provide any level of service any more. It is over.
Helen (wsc1028@f...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Excellent, in my experience
While being hosted not or long, I really like the service they provide: clear straightforward registration with not problems afterwards, full featured c-Panel control over website, excellent tech support (had questions, not covered in support knowledge base, not problems), nice people to deal with.

Prices are average, discount with first order.

But: these prices are including features that some other popular providers offer each at separate fee. Such as domain privacy, domain lock, shared SSL even at cheapest plan. You could even have e-commerce cart installed on cheapest plan, which is reasonable if you do not accept credit cards payments directly.

For a small monthly fee additional website protection is available. I don't have it yet, but this is a good feature to have.

Possibly downside: each file uploading/downloading creates nodes on server that are stored, as I understand, forever for your hosting account. This number is recommended to keep within (quite big) [read more...]
MORE REVIEWS
Award winner 2005
hostgator.com logo!

Overview

Host Gator is part of Endurance International Group

About Host Gator

HostGator is a leading provider of shared, reseller, VPS, and dedicated hosting solutions on both Linux and Windows platforms – most importantly HostGator, an Endurance International brand, is proud to provide around-the-clock customer care and technical support from offices in both Houston and Austin, Texas.

Standing proud behind ‘Snappy’, Gators are part geek – part everyday dude, serving customers ranging from individual freelancers, to professional designer/developers and major corporations in an atmosphere that both educates and entertains.

Source: http://www.hostgator.com/about

Special pages


hostgator.com Cover
Website research for Host Gator on October 14, 2016 by WebHostingTop

CouponsPromotions

Special new coupons (from Feb 2013), maximum discounts on webhosting purchases !
25% OFF, coupon code: webhostingtop25
$9.94 OFF, coupon code: webhostingtop9 - No time limit!

Add your promo code

Promotion:
Provide the start date
and end date if the promotions expires!
Your email
(will not be displayed)
How much is 2+2 ? Respond with 4
 

PlansWebsite Products

Linux - Shared Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
HatchlingfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : CPanel
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : 1
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 0

Now 43% OFF!

50% Off Site Backup
Single Domain
One Click Installs
Unmetered Bandwidth
Shared SSL Certificate

HostGator is one of the world's top 10 largest web hosting companies with more than 8,000,000 hosted domains. We have over 850 employees [...]
Plan URL : http://www.hostgator.com/web-hosting
$3.95/mo.
($ 6.95 after first term)
unlimitedunmetered 0 / 1
BabyfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : CPanel
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 0

50% Off Site Backup
One Click Installs
Shared SSL Certificate

Every web hosting plan comes with a 45 day money back guarantee, 99.9% uptime guarantee, and is fully guaranteed by the CEO himself. If you ever have a problem with the regular support, [...]
Plan URL : http://www.hostgator.com/web-hosting
$5.95/mo.
($ 9.95 after first term)
unlimitedunmetered 0 / unlimited
BusinessfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : CPanel
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 1

50% Off Site Backup
One Click Installs
FREE Private SSL
FREE Toll Free Number

Every web hosting plan comes with a 45 day money back guarantee, 99.9% uptime guarantee, and is fully guaranteed by the CEO himself. If you ever have a problem with the [...]
Plan URL : http://www.hostgator.com/web-hosting
$5.95/mo.
($ 14.95 after first term)
unlimitedunmetered 0 / unlimited
Linux - Reseller Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
AluminiumfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : CPanel, WHM
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Online via Skype, YM, ICQ..., Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 0

A HostGator reseller plan provides you with everything necessary to start your own web hosting company. WHM allows you to create cPanels for each of your clients, and your choice of WHMCS or WHM Autopilot facilitates the billing aspect.

With these [...]
Plan URL : http://www.hostgator.com/reseller-hosting/
$19.95/mo.
($ 29.95 after first term)
60 GB600 GB 0 / unlimited
CopperfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : CPanel, WHM
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 0

A HostGator Reseller hosting plan gives you complete control over every aspect of your hosting business, from resource allocation to payment methods and what (if any) additional services you choose to provide your clients (domains, SSL [...]
Plan URL : http://www.hostgator.com/reseller-hosting/
$24.95/mo.
($ 41.95 after first term)
90 GB900 GB 0 / unlimited
SilverfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : CPanel, WHM
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 0

A HostGator reseller plan provides you with everything necessary to start your own web hosting company. WHM allows you to create cPanels for each of your clients, and your choice of WHMCS or WHM Autopilot facilitates the billing aspect.

With these [...]
Plan URL : http://www.hostgator.com/reseller-hosting/
$24.95/mo.
($ 59.95 after first term)
140 GB1400 GB 0 / unlimited
Linux - VPS Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedRAM /
Dedicated IPs
Snappy 2000featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 2000 MB
CPU : 2 Cores CPU
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 2

Fully-Managed Server (Optional) CPanel $10/mo.

Multiple layers of network security and several bandwidth providers are utilized to ensure maximize server reliability
All VPS servers are housed in a state-of-the-art data center featuring [...]
Plan URL : http://www.hostgator.com/vps-hosting/
$19.95/mo.
($ 79.95 after first term)
120 GB1500 GB 2 GB / 2
Snappy 4000featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 4000 MB
CPU : 2 Cores CPU
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 2

Fully-Managed Server (Optional) CPanel $10/mo.
Plan URL : http://www.hostgator.com/vps-hosting/
$29.95/mo.
($ 119.95 after first term)
165 GB2 TB 4 GB / 2
Snappy 8000featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 8000 MB
CPU : 4 Cores CPU
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 2
Plan URL : http://www.hostgator.com/vps-hosting/
$39.95/mo.
($ 149.95 after first term)
240 GB3 TB 8 GB / 2
Linux - Cloud Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedRAM /
Dedicated IPs
Hatchling CloudfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : CPanel
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 2000 MB
CPU : 2 Cores CPU
Hosted domains : 1
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 0

Local Caching YES
SSL Shared
Sub Domains Unlimited
Parked Domains NO
Bandwidth Unmetered
Storage Unmetered

Protect Your Site From Hackers. (Powered By SiteLock) -- Highly Recommended $1.67/mo (Billed Annually @ $19.99)
Get Your Professional [...]
Plan URL : https://www.hostgator.com/cloud-hosting
$4.95/mo.
($ 8.95 after first term)
unlimitedunmetered 2 GB
Wordpress StarterfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : CPanel
Category : CDN, Fully Managed
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : 1
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 0

100k Visits Per Month
Relative Compute Power 2X
100% FREE Migration Up to 1 site
Automated Daily Database Backups Including File-Level Restore1 GB
WPPro Developer Help NO
WPBeginner Walkthrough NO
Global CDN Included YES
Automatic Malware Removal [...]
Plan URL : https://www.hostgator.com/managed-wordpress-hosting
$5.95/mo.
($ 9.95 after first term)
unlimitedunmetered
Baby CloudfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : CPanel
Category : Fully Managed
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 4000 MB
CPU : 4 Cores
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 0

Local Caching YES
SSL Shared
Sub Domains Unlimited
Parked Domains Unmetered
Plan URL : https://www.hostgator.com/cloud-hosting
$7.95/mo.
($ 11.95 after first term)
unlimitedunmetered 4 GB
Wordpress StandardfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : CPanel
Category : CDN, Fully Managed
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : 2
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 0

Monthly Visitors 200,000
Power 2x
100% FREE Migration Up to 2 site
Automated Daily Database Backups Including File-Level Restore 2 GB
WPPro Developer Help NO
WPBeginner Walkthrough YES
Global CDN Included YES
Automatic Malware Removal YES
Email [...]
Plan URL : https://www.hostgator.com/managed-wordpress-hosting
$7.95/mo.
($ 15.95 after first term)
unlimitedunmetered
Wordpress BusinessfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : CPanel
Category : CDN, Fully Managed
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Hosted domains : 3
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 0

Monthly Visitors 500,000
Power 5X
100% FREE Migration Up to 3 sitea
Automated Daily Database Backups Including File-Level Restore 3 GB
WPPro Developer Help NO
WPBeginner Walkthrough YES
Global CDN Included YES
Automatic Malware Removal YES
Email [...]
Plan URL : https://www.hostgator.com/managed-wordpress-hosting
$9.95/mo.
($ 22.95 after first term)
unlimitedunmetered
Business CloudfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : CPanel
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 6000 MB
CPU : 6 Cores
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 1

Local Caching YES
SSL Private
Sub Domains Unlimited
Parked Domains Unmetered
Plan URL : https://www.hostgator.com/cloud-hosting
$9.95/mo.
($ 17.95 after first term)
unlimitedunmetered 6 GB / 1
Linux/Windows - Virtual Dedicated Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedRAM /
Dedicated IPs
ValuefeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : CPanel, Plesk, WHM
Category : Fully Managed
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 8000 MB
CPU : 4 Core / 8 Thread Intel Xeon-D CPU
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 3

Maximum Performance

As the only customer on a dedicated server, you have the full system resources directly at your disposal
With both HDD and SSD hard drive options available, our flexible server configurations make it easy for you to [...]
Plan URL : http://www.hostgator.com/dedicated-server
$119.00/mo.
($ 189 after first term)
1000 GBunmetered 8 GB / 3
PowerfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : CPanel, Plesk, WHM
Category : Fully Managed
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 16000 MB
CPU : 8 Core / 16 Thread Intel Xeon-D CPU
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 3

2 TB HDD or 512 GB SSD

Maximum Performance

As the only customer on a dedicated server, you have the full system resources directly at your disposal
With both HDD and SSD hard drive options available, our flexible server configurations [...]
Plan URL : http://www.hostgator.com/dedicated-server
$139.00/mo.
($ 249 after first term)
500 GB SSDunmetered 16 GB / 3
EnterprisefeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : CPanel, Plesk, WHM
Category : Fully Managed
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 32000 MB
CPU : 8 Core / 16 Thread Intel Xeon-D CPU
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 3
Plan URL : http://www.hostgator.com/dedicated-server
$149.00/mo.
($ 289 after first term)
1000 GB SSDunmetered 32 GB / 3
Domains Keep mouse
over features!
Price Updated
.sitefeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : [In-house]
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Live Chat, Available 24/7

.site $0.95*

Purchase and manage all of your domains in one easy-to-use control panel. GatorBill even handles renewals automatically!
Plan URL : https://register.hostgator.com/
$0.95/yr.
.onlinefeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : [In-house]
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Live Chat, Available 24/7

.online $1.95*

Purchase and manage all of your domains in one easy-to-use control panel. GatorBill even handles renewals automatically!
Plan URL : https://register.hostgator.com/
$1.95/yr.
.techfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : [In-house]
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Live Chat, Available 24/7

.tech $3.95*

Purchase and manage all of your domains in one easy-to-use control panel. GatorBill even handles renewals automatically!
Plan URL : https://register.hostgator.com/
$3.95/yr.
.usfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : [In-house]
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Live Chat, Available 24/7

.us $5.95*

Purchase and manage all of your domains in one easy-to-use control panel. GatorBill even handles renewals automatically!
Plan URL : https://register.hostgator.com/
$5.95/yr.
.club .space .websitefeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : [In-house]
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Live Chat, Available 24/7

.club $9.95*
.space $9.95*
.website $9.95*

Purchase and manage all of your domains in one easy-to-use control panel. GatorBill even handles renewals automatically!
Plan URL : https://register.hostgator.com/
$9.95/yr.
.com .biz .co .info .net .orgfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : [In-house]
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Live Chat, Available 24/7

.com $12.95
.biz $12.95*
.co $12.95*
.info $12.95*
.net $12.95*
.org $12.95*

Transfer your .com for only $7.95

Purchase and manage all of your domains in one easy-to-use control panel. GatorBill even handles renewals automatically!

These great [...]
Plan URL : https://register.hostgator.com/
$12.95/yr.
.mefeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : [In-house]
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Live Chat, Available 24/7

.me $15.00*

Purchase and manage all of your domains in one easy-to-use control panel. GatorBill even handles renewals automatically!
Plan URL : https://register.hostgator.com/
$15.00/yr.
.hostfeaturesPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : [In-house]
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Live Chat, Available 24/7

.host $39.95*

Purchase and manage all of your domains in one easy-to-use control panel. GatorBill even handles renewals automatically!
Plan URL : https://register.hostgator.com/
$39.95/yr.

Contact information is managed by hostgator.com representatives affiliates@h..., support@h..., doug@h..., dbenitez@h..., info@e..., brent@h... [login] Claim this businessCreate a free account to manage hostgator.com listing!

It seems the hostgator.com website has Javascript error on main page, detected Nov 03, 2017

Web stats

Targeting: United States
Details for http://www.hostgator.com/
Website DNS: ns4.p13.dynect.net => 204.13.251.13 ( Manchester ) / Dynamic Network Services Inc. - dyn.com
ns3.p13.dynect.net => 208.78.71.13 ( Manchester ) / Dynamic Network Services Inc. - dyn.com
ns1.p13.dynect.net => 208.78.70.13 ( Manchester ) / Dynamic Network Services Inc. - dyn.com
ns2.p13.dynect.net => 204.13.250.13 ( Manchester ) / Dynamic Network Services Inc. - dyn.com
MX::alt1.aspmx.l.google.com => 74.125.126.26 ( Mountain View ) / Google LLC - google.com
MX::alt4.aspmx.l.google.com => 74.125.141.26 ( Mountain View ) / Google LLC - google.com
MX::aspmx.l.google.com => 74.125.28.26 ( Mountain View ) / Google LLC - google.com
MX::alt2.aspmx.l.google.com => 173.194.219.26 ( Mountain View ) / Google LLC - google.com
MX::alt3.aspmx.l.google.com => 74.125.192.26 ( Mountain View ) / Google LLC - google.com
Server Software: nginx
Website IP: 52.8.231.40
IP Location Country/State/City: United states / California / San francisco - see top providers in United States, California
ISP Name / ISP URL: Amazon Technologies Inc. / amazon.com

TestimonialsCustomer testimonials

"We have used hostgator VPS to run our various web sites for marketing french properties. Notably, sites like http://www.frenchpropertyclassifieds.com/ which require performance to process xml feeds of agents french properties. I have to say Hostgator are superb and truly understand the meaning of customer support and satisfaction. Keep up the good work Hostgator."
David ( david.seymour@w... ) / http://www.frenchpropertyclassifieds.com/
I am a new hostgator customer, I like their customer support because i can contact them very easly if i have problem. i know they have 24/7 good customer support team.
I found hostgator on Google while searching for reseller hosting and reseller hosting programs. They are both affordable and reliable. The uptime I have had on my reseller web hosting is simply amazing!

Add your own testimonial

This form is used exclusively for positive feedback, for a regular review click here

Your Name
Email(will be obfuscated)
One Hosted domain name with this company
Testimonial
(HTML tags are NOT allowed!)
Minim 100 characters!
How much is 2+2 ? Respond with 4
 

News

HostGator.com launches unlimited shared windows hosting plans - Houston, TX - May 20, 2011 -- Website provider HostGator (hostgator.com) announced this week that it has launched an unlimited shared Windows web hosting plan.
The company has established itself as a leader in the Linux hosting business, and one of the largest providers of shared hosting in general. Obviously, adding the affordable Windows hosting plans will expose the company's services to those shared hosting clients who have a reason to require the Windows platform.
This week, it launched two windows hosting packages, offering unlimited storage space and bandwidth, and equipped with Parallels Plesk control panel, Microsoft's IIS, SQL Server 2008 and ASP and ASP.net, beginning at $4.76.
"We are very excited about the launch of our new Windows shared Hosting service. HostGator has been a leader in the Linux hosting industry for a number of years now and we are looking forward to bringing our level of service and reliability to the Windows market at an affordable price," says ... [search all hostgator.com news]

Social Networks

https://www.linkedin.com/company/hostgator-com
Hostgator.com (est. 2002) is a Public Company entity having 3276 followers on LinkedIn and 501-1000 employees, industry Internet.
https://plus.google.com/+hostgator
HostGator account is having 13852 followers and 0 plus one count. See recent Google+ Posts:
hostgator.com Icon
- There are a lot of entrepreneurship myths that trip up new business owners. 8 of the Biggest Myths about Entrepreneurship, Debunked
- Chatbots are the latest craze in the small business industry. 7 Chatbot Do’s and Don’ts for Small Businesses
- Want to start a new business? 8 of the Biggest Myths about Entrepreneurship, Debunked
Host Gator Blog  Using Wordpress version 4.8.2. Blog added on 2011 Dec, with total 291 articles, language en-US. See recent blogs summary posts:
- HostGator History Quiz - The post HostGator History Quiz appeared first on HostGator Blog. Think you know everything about HostGator? Time to put your skills to the test. Brush up on your HostGator history with this quiz! ...
- 5 Ecommerce Holiday Campaigns to Inspire Your Online Shop - The post 5 Ecommerce Holiday Campaigns to Inspire Your Online Shop appeared first on HostGator Blog. 5 Examples of Inspired Ecommerce Holiday Campaigns The holiday shopping season is here! From the ...
- What is Domain Privacy and Why Do You Need It? - The post What is Domain Privacy and Why Do You Need It? appeared first on HostGator Blog. Why Domain Privacy Is Important Maintaining your privacy is harder today than it's ever been. Keeping your pe

Domains trend

ReviewsCustomer Ratings

The quick stats of Host Gator profile shows a note average of 5 out of 10, counting 39 opinions. (few listed on the top of the page)
As visitor you can rate this provider directly here! If you are part of support team, you can respond to these reviews by going to login

Add your own review [Toggle to basic/advance form]

Required info

Select Hosting Plan
Overall Rating
Time Hosted
Features
Price / Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Your Social URL, Name or Usernameeg. https://twitter.com/YOURID or https://facebook.com/YOURID or https://plus.google.com/+YOURID
Your Email Or login and come back to this page
Customer identification(Not public visible. eg Customer=1120 or Account=2121 or Order ID=511AAS3)
Your hosted domaineg. mysite.net. If you have multiple domains, mention at least one!
Summary of your posteg. hostgator.com is best!
Your review HTML tags are NOT allowed! MINIM 100 characters!
Provide as much information as possible in your review! Too less information may be counted as not relevant and not approved!
Some customers might say good things like: "i'm happy with HostGator" or bad things and complaints like: "this company sucks", or "is horrible", "hostgator.com generated only problems", "scam or ripoff provider", but is your turn now to share your experience!
How much is 2+2 ? Respond with 4
 
(14 = 35.9%)
(3 = 7.69%)
(2 = 5.13%)
(2 = 5.13%)
(18 = 46.15%)
Twista (chitowntwista@g...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
HostGator treating me good!
I feel hostgator is doing very well at providing services on the internet. I have been able to use all the tools they provide and they work very well!

Also the chat technicians do their job very good. I feel customer service is good with the company and so far have not let me down.
max21 (max21@u...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Horrible
They stink. They actuall y hosted another clients website on my dedicated server. My sites went down at least once per day for about two weeks.
arpeggio (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
My sites are always down
Im so disappointed with the service I received from hostgator. My websites are always experiencing downtime! I'm loosing my search engine ranking and income. As soon I finished my contract with hostgator I will surely transfer my websites to other more reliable web hosting service.
Deborah (funquiznight@g...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I wanted to set up a blog on Forex trading using WordPress.
A friend of mine recommended HostGator because it's supposed to be real easy to upload WordPress to them.
I would not have used HostGator ordinarily because I believe they are expensive.
I chose my domain name and picked the Baby plan and paid them with my Paypal account, set up the cPanel, set up the email and left to go install my blog using WordPress.
Got an email from HostGator "We are happy to inform you that your Shared Hosting Account has been configured and is ready for use!"
When I tried to upload my blog it wouldn't work so I typed in the website address into my browser and Goggle said it doesn't exist.
Checked my email and got this message from H.G. "Your web site may be in violation of our Terms of Service", WHAT? I've not even uploaded my website yet, how can it be in violation of anything?
Then they want me to send them a copy of my passport, drivers license etc. NO WAY am I sending documents like that [read more...]
copyrlik (copyrlik@s...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
DONT EVEN TRY HOST GATOR

We used them for several months but ran into financial trouble with should be understandable with how the economy is. Tho we did expect them to cut off our service we did not know they would steal our files and hold them hostage as well as continue to charge to our tab the same amount as if we were getting service.

This is INSANE, so in order to get out files back we would have to pay for all the months we did NOT get service that super shady business practice right there.

Price if it was good service would have been great but paying to have our files stolen it would have been better to have had no hosting at all for those few months rather then with them since all our hard work was for nothing but extra data held hostage on their servers.
Sam Phares (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have been hosting few corporate web sites with hostgator and really happy with their service. Those guys are great and always willing to help.
I would recommend them to all peoples who need high uptime and stable service. Thanks. Sam
Andrew Piereder (piereder@x...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I hesitate reviewing Hostgator because my experience with a lot of other hosts is that it all goes well just before it goes to hell. Nevertheless, after nearly three years, I can say that I've been completely pleased with the experience.

While I do host some fairly static sites there (blog, company 'brochure' site), I started actually using the account for development of some pretty ambitious sites using mySQL, progessive video serving, TLS, cron and a lot of minor but still important functions. I've never been disappointed, in fact I've been outright surprised at what I've been able to do on a virtual host.

I've not had to use support very much, but in the couple of cases where I did, they were quick and effective, which is all I ask from support personnel.

The more I've done with the account, the more impressed I've been and the better value its been.

So far, its been the best hosting experience I had in a dozen years.
Brian Brigg (bbrigg@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
They helped me by moving multiple Wordpress sites hosted on a single account back to their servers after I tried a VPS for a couple of months and everything worked fine even on a Wordpress site bridged to Gallery 2 after simply updating the paths in the bridging plugin's setup.

I have never had a problem with any of my sites that was not caused by me or a poorly written plugin but the support staff are unfailingly polite and helpful offering advice on things that are beyond what any other hosting company that I have tried will do.

Host Gator's prices may be a little higher than some others but they have very reliable servers are definitely worth the extra.
mziegler (mjz5488@y...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Chat ID is 2184102
I wasted so much time explaining on thier chat line what I was trying to do...and this tech support gut just kept leading me on to other things I did not even ask or need at the moment. he kept telling me site builder is not good for beginners...so what?? I just wanted to know how to get in and log in to sitebuilder so I can get started creating my web pages..but he kept going on and on..it is only for beginners...and did not really my question how to log in.. oh crap!!!!!!!! I cancelled this service immediately. I hope I get my refund in no time...
Steven Cronson (info@b...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have been developing for years an advanced cart and needed to see the site working most of the time to get it done. I found a military grade host near Washington DC AIT however my level of knowledge they were not the best fit but for a Reseller with experience it must be great. Tried also HostRocket that grew and grew. They were nice and claimed great learning areas on their site. The site got hacked or a worm on it one time which they did correct it after realizing it and a few times bringing it up. I stayed with them for about 3 years! But I felt their individual servers plans if and when needed were too pricey for me so I had to look elsewhere. I was going to go with a good company who did allow a private IP address for a shared hosting account somehow. It was Bluehost. But a developer company I told I was considering them and they even used it too recommended HostGator! So I did take that advice and now have been with HostGator for about 9 months and so far and [read more...]
jim stone (propestcontrol@c...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
not for the novice internet user. changed passwords, user names, could not login on templates usage, could not build a website to save my life. my sons can figure this stuff out put people with little nohow does not have a chance. what was bad is I talked to sales staff an said it would be simple to do. (WRONG) Price is good if you can figure it out. Support told me after i sign up it would be hard to figure it out with no experience building a web site.
Alex (volisy@g...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
While customer service may be good and willing to take your money, wait for your site to start getting hacked and then be wiped off completely.
My site has been hacked 4 times in 1 month and each time they tried to put a blame on me. I spent hundreds of $$ to update and secure everything.
2 weeks later my site is totally gone, data base cpanel, admin everything.
The most ridiculous responses from the live chat which makes no sense at all and yet no one there seems to know what went wrong.
Consulted with a number of designers and coders and all agreed that hostgator server is far from being secure. In the mean time i am losing customers, reputation, money while whoever tries to sort out what is going on
Darren (daz@d...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Support is great couldn't ask for anymore, a wide range of features, Uptime is excellent. All at a competitive price. I feel safe with HostGator. Couldn't be any happier with them.

Keep up the good work!
Pascal H (pascalholscher@g...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Hostgator offers excellent support and features they even throw in free whmcs.
I also got a good pdf of the webhosting book.
Eben Asare Boafo (ebenasare@y...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
i am impressed by their uptime and their customer care. My websites are always up and that is very good, after getting disappointed by another company
Michael (info@m...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I think it is great. I am a customer for about a month and I have no complain. I hope all these negative comments to be just isolated events because I have nothing more than a good experience working with them.

The service is good. Even when the servers are overload the downtime lasts for about a few seconds while in other hosts your page would be off for hours.

The customer service is great, It could be faster but once I called them cause I messed up the php code, theretofore my site broke. They fixed it, while this was not their job. It was my fault and I had to do it. They know what to do, but it would be better if they improve.

Price: I think it is ok, for me 7 dollars per month is about 5 euro, a really insignificant price.

Nothing is perfect anyway and I believe this is a reliable host.
Jorge Torres (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I described this way because this provider
accused one of my clients a reseller plan to make spam. You cancel the account without proving
that my client has sent mass mails.
This caused serious economic problems.
Support technical disaster.
Security problems that had made a change
significant number of sites by adding code scripts dangerous. This time neither
take responsibility.
I have a copy of the claims made by ticket to certify what I say.
Navid (junk@n...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Wonderful Host. Fair Customer Service. Great Reseller Hosting Options Available. Price is very reasonable, customer support 24/7 via phone, chat and email. Uptime about 99.5%
cliff jordan (macrec1@h...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Hostgator offers ecellent customer service but the reseller plan is really lacking behind the needs of todays website.... there inability to support common things like ffmeg or mplayer has me looking for a new hosting provider to facilitate my needs
Mike Gereb (bokonon@g...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Customer Relation
The baby price is claimed to be 7.95. Indeed it is tricky to find the small print that it is 9.95 unless you pay three year in advance. Now if your site is moderately successful they cancel your service without refund, it is not very attractive and strongly misleading.

I have not signed up after that so no experience in their hosting just about their misleading sales tactics.
Deshi Host Solutions (info@d...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Host gator is the best one i ever used.
Ron (chuckyporn@g...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Customer Relation
I had no problems with HostGator until recently. I had a dedicated elite server for my sites and they offered me a deal for more bandwidth. They gave me an extra TB of bandwidth for $100/mo. My total was $379/mo.

Recently, my sites have grown and HostGator tells me they can't honor their deal anymore as their bandwidth bill has gone up. Not only did they take the extra bandwidth away, they charged me $0.50/GB over 2.5 TB! I was under the planned 3.5 TB THEY AGREED UPON and they took back the deal. Keep in mind, I've had that deal for over a year.

They ended up stealing $250 from me. I cancelled immediately and found a host that won't screw me over. Don't trust these guys, they steal from loyal customers. I was with them for a couple years and they pulled this crap? TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!

They're thieves......
rao (rao.naveed@g...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Hi!
i tried them as a reseller but i think i choosed a wrong service the best is you get free WHMCS as a reseller but as a reseller you can't sell and earn much as they don't allow to resell as well as they answer tickets very late. They do overselling but not allow thier resellers to do. so they are very costly in that sense i closed account after oaying 2-3 months. now days i am using www.vebnest.com paying less and getting better than what i was getting from host gator and i am happy as i can oversell as well as i am paying less so i am now growing and earning.... but hostgator really waste of monies...
Fernando Garza (fernando@g...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have a reseller account with hostgator, and i can say that i have had problems (about 2 or 3 in 1 and a half year), but the support they provided was excellent, las time it took about 24 hours to fix something that a client of mine did, but it was all for security reasons.

When ever i need support (1 or twice every 3 months), i get it, and fast.

I've never had my account or my client's account down in the time i have been with them, web pages display fast, e-mails are fast, the only complain i would have is the high costs of dedicated servers, i want to upgrade to that, but my budget doesn't allow it right now.
Elizabeth Martinez (info@l...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have had a reseller hosting account with them - and have been mostly happy. Then there was an issue with the account that I initially caused and then corrected -but then they caused another problem and they will not work with me and come to agreement - they only want me to move from a $24.95 account to a $174.99/month account - which I cannot afford and is more than I need.
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
-Too Good to be true services...
-Your payment is the only thing important to them.
-They have locked me out of my own account for some Extra verification process!!!
-Don't host with these con-artists!!!

BUYER BEWARE!!!
Tanuj Damani (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
These Guys are the BEST!!
I had been through MANY MANY MANY hosting companies including Hostmonster, Anhosting, BlueHosting and a few other local hosting services etc but these guys were always causing me some problem of the other.
When i signed up with HostGator my life became a pathway to heaven, iv had almost no problems with my hosting since, i used to have a few issued with the email service but since i put up complaints they worked hard on making sure the problem would get corrected.
When i needed help of advice i could go to their online chat and just ask the support person directly and get a lightening fast response. But if the problem required more assistance then the person would get me a support ticket and with a few hours my problem would be solved. At most i have had to wait for 24 Hours.
They really take care of their customers.
Pricing wise they may not be the best but they do certainly have great service, worth the extra i pay.
daniel (dljone9@n...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
wow, these guys must have had a bad day or two. i tried getting set up with them - their "instant access" assurance was anything but instant. when i tried to get in touch with them to find out about the delay their 24/7 online support must have been taking a nap. when i did finally get someone - more delays in terminating my account, at one point they even tried to blame me for the delay (even though the cancellation request showed up as an open ticket in their ticketing system). maybe these guys are better than what i saw, but if this is how they treat a brand new customer - i don't want to trust them with my online presence.
Derrick (djl@h...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Host Gator is a fine company and there up-time is good. There email services seems to go down a lot and I could never find out a reason for this. Their email support really stinks. I may not get a responce for many hours or days and the answer is definitely not helpful the first time around. So many emails have to bounce back and forth before the issue is resolved. Host Gator really needs to look carefully at there support services.
aybars badur (iris@g...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
i am working with them for nearly 6 months, in this period i saw my site down for 2 times, which were for short times.

I met hostgator after using many terrible hosting companys, and i like the service and support of hostgator. I didnt had much technical issues, everything works well.

I had several sites to host in one account and didnt need a reseller account, and it just fit well.
John G. (-no email-)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Very popular hoster with solid offers. Support is quick and available via e-mail, phone, and live chat. Hosting packages are not too special but offer good features for a decent price. Overall seems like a pretty reliable hoster.
saschart (contact@s...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
This Company DON'T PAY affiliates!!! We DON'T RECEIVE OUR MONEY from 10 months ago.

If this is not the TRUE we want to see PROOF from their payment!

Also the clients send here are unsatisfied by Gator services.
Don Dalrymple (imhiskid@v...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have been with Host Gator approximately 18 months. I have noticed no interruption in service. I have a reseller account (Aluminum). The only thing I might change is, as a programmer, I'd like to have access to PHP 5 for it's improved OOP capabilities. My "customers" are all various ministies that I have donated space to. I haven't had a single complaint from them either. cpanel and whm are great. Everything has worked when, and the way, it's supposed to.
Alexandro Simioni (asimioni@a...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Support exists, but doesn't work properly. The reply time is very slow. Server is too unstable, I could not send or receive e-mails.
cookie (ebiz4u@s...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Very disappointed in comtomer service, even when service charges apply. I can't imagine when they have to do some thing free.
seldon (hseldon_99@y...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
HostGator is really hosted at ThePlanet. ThePlanet is a serious hosting company, but they are not cheap. As a result, HostGator's revenue margins are razor thin. If you're just serving simple HTML pages with nothing fancy - they are pretty good. However, if you have a web application that starts using resources, your account will be terminated. Instantly. Then they will force you to upgrade to their $80 plan or they wil not talk to you.

Alternate top web hosting companies in Texas, United States


Compare best hosting brands from Texas, United States new

These Host Gator testimonial(s) and rating(s) are the subjective opinion of our visitors and not of whtop.com staff.
Trademarks, logos & names are properties of their respective owners and protected by law.
Disclosure: Although we attempt to provide useful and accurate information we can not guarantee that it is always right. This is a professional website that may receive compensation from some providers which we review and promote or advertise, however that does not affect our reviews ratings!