Host Department review

This review cover a general impression of hostdepartment.com product features like reliability, support, data center, price & more. Brand #967, listed since .

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Joseph (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Satisfied with its service, in 2010 there was some issue with HD and the link was down for many days but now its doing really good. I am happy that i did not switch to another.
Harry (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
excellent support team
Satisfied with the support , the response was really quick.I am hosted since 6 month and happy with the service
Beck (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Technical support was really helpful and they solved the issues in very less time.I am satisfied with the service.
MORE REVIEWS

Overview

About Host Department

Company History
Through a series of strategic business moves, Host Department became the Tier 1 host the company is known as today. Host Department thrives in an industry that is constantly reinventing itself. With innovations in customer service, ease of use, and special features for Host Department customers, the company continues to stay one step ahead of the competition. Host Department employees take pride in offering some of the best 24 hour a day, customer-oriented support in the industry. Everyday hundreds of businesses trust Host Department with their web presence, reinforcing the Host Department tradition of industry-leading customer service, top-notch network reliability, unsurpassed prices, and innovative services. Host Department provides low-cost feature-rich web hosting. The Host Department business model emphasizes service to small and medium sized businesses, allowing them to do e-commerce and focus on their core competencies while Host Department handles their Internet site.


Why Host Department?
Host Department's excellent prices are not the only reasons why our customers rave about our services! Our customers appreciate:

Industry-leading Customer Care program
Rock-solid network - 99.99% uptime guaranteed
100% customer satisfaction guaranteed
Unmatched reliability
Lightning-fast network connectivity
Custom hosting environment
Innovative support technology

Rock Solid Network 99.99% Uptime Guaranteed

We've taken great strides to provide reliable access to you. Our bandwidth saturation average (a measure of how crowded our systems are) is less than 30%. We have redundant DS-3 (capable of 45Mbps each) lines with diverse routes to the Internet Backbone, ensuring our servers always have an active connection to the Internet. BGP Peering allows us to automatically re-route traffic away from "Internet Traffic Jams." This means when one part of the Internet slows down your site will not be caught in the bottleneck. All of our servers are fast Dual Pentium III based technology with 512+ MB of RAM. We keep our servers at less than 50% capacity so even when traffic peaks, our servers won't overload.

100% Customer Satisfaction Guaranteed
While our competitors force half or full year commitments, here at Host Department you can pay month-to-month. All our server packages come feature-rich and competitively priced. Our starter UNIX package starts at only $3.95 per month, which includes a domain name for life, 24/7 live chat, ticketing and dozens of useful CGI scripts to enhance your site. You even have the option of pre-paying 1 year in advance to receive a hefty discount. Because of this guarantee to customer satisfaction, Host Department has grown quickly to hosting sites for businesses in over 170 countries since 1997. If your site requires secure server, FrontPage 2000, .NET 2.0 framework or any of our other cutting-edge features then Host Department is the only choice for your web hosting needs.

Unmatched Reliability
Host Department supplies the best for its clients with cutting-edge hardware, software and technology. Our custom built, state-of-the-art, space-saving blade servers allows better heat dissipation, better server administration and a great scalability factor. When there is a need for increased processing prowess, it is as easy as adding more hardware resources into the blade chassis.
Lightning-Fast Network Connectivity
Lightning-Fast Network Connectivity
Host Department has chosen five of the best backbone providers to relay all traffic. This means that all our clients have a 99.99% uptime guarantee. The network is designed around redundancy and efficiency. BGP4, five DS3 lines and one OC3 connection to diverse backbones and a fully 100 Mbps Cisco Switched network make the Host Department network top-notch.

Custom Hosting Environment
We strongly believe that the environment where the servers are located is as important to our client's websites as the services our clients are receiving. The Host Department Data Center is geographically located near an Internet Exchange Point to minimize traffic hops and optimize performance. Our Data Center features a Power Management System which includes 2.5 megawatts premise power, a customer dedicated power backed up by an Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS), a 235,000 watt diesel generator, customer dedicated circuit breaker protection and scalable customer power. We also have fire zones above the ceiling and below the floor, specialized heat/smoke sensors and automatic fire department notification. Our Mainframe Style Construction includes HVAC, separate cooling zones, and seismically braced racks. Our server hosting facility also uses scalable areas; cabinets, full open racks, shared open racks, and are secured by motion sensors, key-card access, video camera surveillance, a security breach alarm, and 24/7 police monitoring. Our Network Operations Center is a high security facility, and no customer is permitted to enter this area. Certified technicians are monitoring the equipment 24 hours a day.

Innovative Support Technology
Host Department is currently hosting over 550,000 customers whose skills range anywhere from novice-level to experts. They range from personal websites to Fortune 500 corporations. The Host Department customer service center is staffed 24 hours a day to offer assistance in any area. When the technical support and call center staff cannot resolve a customer's issue, the dedicated Accounts Executive Team steps in. They will provide the resolution to any problem, whether billing, technical or administration. At no point does a Host Department customer feel alone; they know that we are standing by waiting for their call. With 24/7 toll-free call center, 24/7 online support chat and dedicated online Account Executives, Host Department is constantly rated in the Top 10 of any list for its support and dedication.

Mission Statement

Trouble free
Our company will provide web hosting services so that our customers will have no difficulties to manage their website or to do even more than they originally plan with it. To achieve this, we have provided our customer with the most extensive and user-friendly support documentations and guided movies on how they can manage and do more with their websites. Additionally, our friendly customer service staff will always be available to give our customer’s a thorough guided tour of the services they have with us.

Customer-focused
Our customers will always come first. To achieve this, we provide true 24/7 support to our entire customer base through Live Chat and Ticketing System. Our entire customers will be able to reach our support team any time they need assistance with their web hosting account or their website. We tend to “give more” through our support, compared to other providers we are always one step ahead in the customer service area by providing “more than we should” to our customers. We provide programming troubleshooting, tips to enhance their websites, and other advices to our customers who ask them, for free. Furthermore, our friendly customer service staffs are also available through the phone whenever a customer needs to have a guided tour for the service they have with us.

Reliable
We will always make sure that our customer’s websites will be accessible 24/7 without any service interruption. To achieve this, we provide our entire customer base 99.99% uptime guarantee, which can be checked on our website. We pride to provide 99.99% uptime guarantee because we always use the highest end of equipments available to date, loaded with the best software and applications to accommodate reliability of our servers. This is to also ensure that our servers will always serve our customer websites with the fastest speed possible.

Affordable
We will always offer affordable services even though we are giving the best services and features to date. There is only one way to achieve this, to use the best and most unique marketing strategy on the web hosting industry. With traditional advertising which is being done by most web hosting companies, it is impossible to lower their service fees without sacrificing other aspects such as accommodating to many customers into one server, which will cause server downtime and eventually cost them their customers. We have a very unique and powerful marketing strategy, which is a very low cost one. With this strategy we will always be able to keep our prices affordable.

Network Facts

We've taken great strides to provide reliable access to you. Our national backbone is ranked among the top in the nation. Connections ranging from OC48s (2.4 Gbps) to gigabit ethernet (1,000 Mbps) form rings around the nation connecting Our core routers at several major exchange points including:

PAIX Palo Alto, CA
Equinix Ashburn, VA
Equinix Chicago, IL
Equinix Dallas, TX
Equinix Los Angeles, CA
Equinix San Jose, CA
NYIIX Telehouse New York, NY
LINX Telehouse London
AMSIX NIKHEF Amsterdam

Our self-healing network architecture virtually eliminates a single point of failure. In addition to our own backbone, we also purchase backup transit from multiple providers in multiple locations to ensure that your data will arrive via the shortest possible routes. Because of our backup transit and the many international peers, our network maintains the shortest routes for sending your data all over the world. On an ongoing basis, we are negotiating with the top fiber carriers for new routes, additional backup transit providers, and we are signing on new peering relationships.

Our switched network utilizes the Border Gateway Protocol Version 4 (BGP4) over Cisco 12000 series GSR routers. We always update the router's IOS after we have stress tested the latest IOS on a non-critical router, to make sure it is very stable. The switch that your equipment will ultimately be connected to is connected back to a core router via fiber. This means when one part of the Internet slows down your site will not be caught in the bottleneck. All of our servers are fast Dual Xeon based technology with 4GB of RAM. We keep our servers at less than 50% capacity so even when traffic peaks, our servers won't overload.

Facilities

Host Department Facilities provide the ideal environment to keep your servers up 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. The facilities have been engineered with HVAC environmental systems, digital surveillance, stringent security, conditioned uninterruptible power, and your convenience in mind. All of our facilities feature escorted access to equipment to ensure the safest possible environment for your servers. Each colocation facility is staffed with technical experts to answer your questions and act as your remote hands at all hours, day or night. Our knowledgeable staff is trained in networking, various OSs, databases, email protocols, and system management.

Host Department Facility was designed from the ground up to serve your data housing needs. Raised floors, individually locked cabinets, conditioned and back-up power, custom designed video surveillance of every cabinet, and onsite security measures assures that your servers will be safe and run optimally. The Data Center is monitored and staffed 24 hours a day, 7 days a week with escorted access granted at anytime. We also provide remote workstations so that you can run diagnostic checks on your equipment.

Low in Price, High in Value

Do you ever wonder why we can offer you a hosting service so low in cost, yet still be able to offer it with the highest service quality?

First of all, we are highly efficient and resourceful. We DON'T just pump dollars into numerous advertising campaigns. We carefully choose them using our unique and low cost advertising strategy. We work in a properly equipped environment, but without the lavish clutters.

Secondly, we are honorable businessmen running a bona fide business. We don't do gimmicks; and we definitely don't over-charge our customers. Arthur Warwick once said "I'd rather do and not promise than promise and not do.", therefore we believe in always constantly upgrading with the best technology to give our customers reliable and trouble-free services, all at a cost that our customers only pay for what they use.

What do we gain from all of these then? We are pleased to say that we are a growing and profitable company that continues to provide great services at an affordable cost for everybody. We still here after so many years of business and will continue to do so for many years to come; and all these, thanks to you, our loyal customers!

Related links


hostdepartment.com Facebook Cover
Website research for Host Department on June 1, 2005 by WebHostingTop

CouponsPromotions

Promo code AUTUMN10 , 10% for nolimit developer unix plan only - No time limit!

Add your promo code

Promotion:
Provide the start date
and end date if the promotions expires!
Your email
(will not be displayed)
How much is 2+2 ? Respond with 4
 

PlansWebsite Products

Linux - Shared Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
No Limit Website featuresPREMIUM web hosting plans comes with No LIMIT disk space, traffic and Emails. Host UNLIMITED Website. PREMIUM hosting will resides on their state-of-the art Intel Blade Servers operating with Dual Xeon servers with 2GB of RAM - translation: your [...]$4.95/mo. unlimitedunmetered
Unlimited Sites, Free Domain 4Life  $5.00/mo. unlimitedunmetered
Host Department Premium 1500 featuresPREMIUM web hosting plans comes with huge disk space which starts from 30GB of space and traffic allotment starting from 450GB of traffic per month. PREMIUM hosting will resides on our state-of-the art Intel Blade Servers operating with Dual Xeon [...]$7.95/mo. 45 GB900 GB
Host Department Premium 3000 featuresPREMIUM web hosting plans comes with huge disk space which starts from 30GB of space and traffic allotment starting from 450GB of traffic per month. PREMIUM hosting will resides on our state-of-the art Intel Blade Servers operating with Dual Xeon [...]$995.00/mo. 75 GB1350 GB
Windows - Shared Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
Host Department Windows featuresPREMIUM APPLICATION web hosting plans comes with NO LIMIT disk space, traffic and Emails allotment. Host UNLIMITED Website. Premium Application hosting will resides on their state-of-the art Intel Blade Servers operating with Dual Xeon servers [...]$4.95/mo. unlimitedunmetered
Host Department Premium Application 1500 featuresPREMIUM APPLICATION web hosting plans comes with huge disk space which starts from 30GB of space and traffic allotment starting from 450GB of traffic per month. PREMIUM APPLICATION hosting will resides on our state-of-the art Intel Blade Servers [...]$9.95/mo. 45 GB900 GB
Host Department Premium Application 3000 featuresPREMIUM APPLICATION web hosting plans comes with huge disk space which starts from 30GB of space and traffic allotment starting from 450GB of traffic per month. PREMIUM APPLICATION hosting will resides on our state-of-the art Intel Blade Servers [...]$11.95/mo. 75 GB1350 GB
Linux/Windows - Reseller Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
Premium  $24.00/mo. unlimitedunmetered
Host Department Premium Reseller featuresPREMIUM RESELLR plans comes with huge disk space which starts from 50GB of space, traffic allotment starting from 50GB of traffic per month and 50 control panel. PREMIUM RESELL will resides on our state-of-the art Intel Blade Servers operating with [...]$24.95/mo. 50 GB150 GB
BlowOut  $49.00/mo. unlimitedunmetered
Host Department Blowout Reseller featuresPREMIUM RESELLR plans comes with huge disk space which starts from 50GB of space, traffic allotment starting from 50GB of traffic per month and 50 control panel. PREMIUM RESELL will resides on our state-of-the art Intel Blade Servers operating with [...]$49.95/mo. 150 GBunmetered
Linux/Windows - Shared Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
2ip - Free Hosting  free 1 GBunmetered

Contact information is managed by hostdepartment.com representatives presales@hostdepartment.com , hdmarketing@hostdepartment.com [login] Claim this businessCreate a free account to manage hostdepartment.com listing!

Web stats

Targeting: United States

TestimonialsCustomer testimonials

"i have been with hostdepartment for the past 6 years, and i rate it 9.8 out of 10, i never had a hugh experience with their trouble tickets, because i never get the situation to do that, everytims if i get a poblem i'll call them or go to live chat, in that moment, the technical support team was ready to solve it , iam very much happy tobe a customer of hostdepartment for the past 6 years, and also i see many of the customers, post their review very bad, if they get a single problem, then they will post a bad review, dont make that, because one problem doesnt shw that the hosting company is bad, i hope that every one understands it, i recommend hostdepartment for hosting services which have very less budget plans, and high leve support ."
dayanand sagar ( dayanand.nani@g... ) / alphastudios.in

Add your own testimonial

This form is used exclusively for positive feedback, for a regular review click here

Your Name
Email(will be obfuscated)
One Hosted domain name with this company
Testimonial
(HTML tags are NOT allowed!)
Minim 100 characters!
How much is 2+2 ? Respond with 4
 

News

Web Hosting Sales and Promos Roundup - There were many web hosting promotions announced in the last week of February, including Host Department's 20 percent off St.Patrick's Day discount, Easyspace's "Indefinite Reduction" on domain name prices and C I Host giving a website makeover to the construction company responsible for Extreme Makeover: Home Edition.

Host Department Provides St.Patrick's Day 20 Percent Discount
Web hosting and domain provider Host Department (www.hostdepartment.com) is giving its shared hosting customers a 20 percent discount for premium and no limit web hosting plans with coupon code "SAINTPAT09." Host Department's "Premium Hosting" package provides a robust web hosting environment using IBM XSeries Blade-servers, the Acronis disaster recovery system, and a multi-tiered OC48 network backbone.

Webfusion Offers Website Re-launch Discount
Reportedly the largest web hosting organisation in the UK, Webfusion (www.webfusion.co.uk), has unveiled a new promotion, in which it offers Windows-based ... [search all hostdepartment.com news]

Social Networks

https://www.linkedin.com/company/host-department-llc
About: Leading web hosting provider offering reseller, unlimited website hosting. Host Department has grown quickly to hosting sites for businesses in over 170 countries since 1997.Host Department employees take pride in offering some of the best 24 hour a day, customer-oriented support in the industry.
Host Department LLC account is having 13 followers on LinkedIn and 51-200 employees.
https://plus.google.com/+Hostdepartment
About: Host Department offers the best hosting service under Shared, Reseller and VPS hosting with 24/7 support. Also, offers Domain name registration, SSL service
Host Department account is having 27 followers and 101 plus one count.. See recent Google+ Posts:
hostdepartment.com GPlus Icon
- #Halloween OffersGet 40% discount on Unlimited web Hosting Plans and VPS Unlimited Web Hosting - Cheap Unlimited Hosting by Host Department
- Having SSL on your site may help boost your Google search rankings. - http://bit.ly/V47HqaBuy SSL Certificates at Host Department LLC Starting From $11.95/ Per Year HTTPS as a ranking signal
- How to take back up for your #Outlook Email account - do-it-yourself #tutorial  How to take back up for your outlook Email account.
Host Department Blog  Using Wordpress version 4.3.6. See recent blogs summary posts:
- Top 10 wordpress plugins you need to install - Installing a WordPress is very easy it is just done by one click installation. You can have a look at this documentation CLICK HERE Once you have installed WordPress there are some more steps you ...
- What is Email Marketing? - Marketing through internet(Online Marketing) is the growing and amazing form of marketing which reaches millions of people and it speaks about your business. The internet marketing also has another ...
- Overview on Search Engine Optimization (SEO) - Basically a Search Engine is a software that runs to collect information from world wide web. When a person searches for a word or any information let's say host department, the search engines collect

Domains trend

ReviewsCustomer Ratings

The quick stats of Host Department profile shows a note average of 5 out of 10, counting 77 opinions. (few listed on the top of the page)
As visitor you can rate this provider directly here! If you are part of support team, you can respond to these reviews by going to login

Add your own review [Toggle to basic/advance form]

Required info

Select Hosting Plan
Overall Rating
Time Hosted
Features
Price / Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Your Social URL, Name or Usernameeg. https://twitter.com/YOURID or https://facebook.com/YOURID or https://plus.google.com/+YOURID
Your Email Or login and come back to this page
Customer identification(Not public visible. eg Customer=1120 or Account=2121 or Order ID=511AAS3)
Your hosted domaineg. mysite.net. If you have multiple domains, mention at least one!
Summary of your posteg. hostdepartment.com is best!
Your review HTML tags are NOT allowed! MINIM 100 characters!
Provide as much information as possible in your review! Too less information may be counted as not relevant and not approved!
How much is 2+2 ? Respond with 4
 
Monica (-no email-)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I had live chat today after I signed up for a Reseller program . All queries were answered properly and promtly .
Very helpfull and supportive
Holly (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Host Department is one the reputable Web Hosting provider its Network Uptime is excellent as they said 99.9%. Their Customer Care Support is good they are respectable in solving questions. I am Hosting since 4 years and didn't face any kind of problems except starting month.
Jack (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Host Department provides excellent Quality Service
I have purchased a reseller hosting plan from Host Department one year ago. It provides reliable and affordable hosting plans with maximum features and excellent customer support. Customer service is outstanding, there was immediate response when i contacted them and with patience they answered all my queries. It is doing a good job. I'll definitely recommend Host Department.
Sridhar (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Its been really long time i am hosted with HD and really satisfied with its service. I recommend this
Jackson (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Host Department is very comfort and Secure Hosting provider I didn’t feel any kind of discomfort with this, Host Department is only one that provides you the best Service at affordable price. I purchased their Reseller plan only for one month and extending after months now I am going to purchased for 1 year. I am very satisfied with this Host their Service and Network Uptime is excellent.
Harrison (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Excellnt support Team
Host Department is very Secure and Affordable Hosting Provider they are very friendly and efficient in resolving the issues I have been Hosting my Site for the past three years and I haven’t faced any serious problem their Support team is very friendly with me. HD Support team solved my tons of problems in just very small time.

Thanks Host Department for your best Service and Support, their prices are low but they will not compromise with the Service and its Network Uptime is really good. I have Hosted my site since 3years but have not faced any Downtimes. I must thanks to all your hard work and Support that you provide.
Jackson (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have moved out through all depressing feed backs and heard some shocking reviews about Host Department but I didn’t feel any sort of discomfort with Host Department. I have signed up with this and they handled my all account with care. The best and appreciative thing about Host Department is, its Price.

Overall I am very satisfied by their Service and awfully impressed with Technical ability of the staff and they are great in resolving issues.
Richard (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Host Department provides excellent customer support
I am very thankfull for Host Department for the Great Service most of the time I have got quick response from their support team. Now they improved many things since 4 years I am a Customer of Host Department and only once I faced downtime problem
Kevin (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Host Department provides excellent features at an affordable price. Before signing up with HD i was not sure about its service as it is providing many features at low cost than other hosting sites, but now i feel i chose the right one and am satisfied.
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Host Department Rocks
Host Department is very secure and reliable Hosting Provider. Considering that 2 years it’s been a great exposure to Host Department there is only some of minor problems aside apart from that everything is good. Their Support Team is very pleasant since Very first day my Hosting they taught me everything and resolved the issue in very short span time. Host Department is extremely consistent as well as reasonable Hosting provider.
Aston (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Host Department rocks
I am satisfied with Host Department services , i have Signed up for windows shared hosting 27 months ago and been a part of it since then. It provides a many features with minimum and affordable cost. I personally recommend this hosting service.You can also contact them on call on this number:1- 866- 887- 4678 ( HOST )
Amy (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have been hosting from Hosting Department since 2 years. According to me its provides best customer support because previously I Have hosted from different hosting companies but no other hosting company resolved issues as earliest as host department. Now I think I chose the right one.
Charles (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
hostdepartment.com is reliable and affordable
Recently I purchased a Reseller Hosting Plan from Host Department as it was recommended by one of my friends. I am new to this business and had many doubts regarding this and then I approached Host Department, there was a quick response and with patience they answered to all my queries. They also assured that they would assist me if there is an issue with my customers.
Kai Henry (kaihenry0@g...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Hos Department
Host Department is offering NO LIMIT Web Hosting at affordable price. I have purchased it 1 year ago and I am satisfied with its service. It is providing maximum uptime, 24/7 customer support via chat and phone. Now, it is also providing a cPanel with unlimited web hosting at a really affordable price.
jenifer (jeniferwatson259@g...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
2.Host Department has been hosting my domain for almost 3 years. I don’t say that I never had issues but they were resolved on time. Most of the companies say they provide 24/7 support and they do but takes a lot of time to resolve it but Host Department tries to resolve it immediately and gives the status of that issue till it is resolved.
jenifer (jeniferwatson259@g...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I purchased a windows hosting plan from Host Department recently, it went good for a week and then the issues started frequently. When approached to customer support they would resolve it immediately but still many issues are arising.
harrygo (harrygo2991@y...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Host Department
I have purchased VPS Hosting plan from Host Department. I am Hosting my site since 3 month, before choosing Host Department they told me that if we don’t like there service we ask for money back but I didn’t ask for money back. Their service and Support is good.
richard (richardjames838@y...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Host Department is efficient in resolving issues
Before choosing the web host always we need to look up the support service. Host Department customer support is good and they are very efficient in resolving issues. I have purchased a VPS plan one month before and I am feeling very comfortable with Host Department.
mark (markrobert537@y...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Host Department
Host Department is offering plenty of Web Hosting products at affordable price. As they said Network Uptime is 99.9% that is not true but somehow its good. Customer Care Service is good they are very good in resolving issues especially there Live Chat Support. Solved my tons queries in short span of time.
saras (sarastomm@y...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Host Department
I am very thankful to their Support team. They solved my tons of issue in very short time. I am Hosting my site since 3 months . I haven’t faced any severe problem their specific Support team is very pleasant with me. HD Support crew solved my personal tons of issues in just tiny time.
mollyclark (mollyclark961@y...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Host Department is one of the Secure and Reliable Hosting Provider. Hosting since 1 year and didn’t faced any kind of problems except downtime. Plans are very affordable and features are unlimited. There is a problem with Uptime but somehow its good and Support staff said that Uptime problem will be solved in 42 hours.
harvey (harveyprince89@y...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Host Department is the best
I am a Customer of Host Department since 2 years. Wonderful Service Support by Host Department, Price is very inexpensive and 99.9% Uptime. I desire to thank Host Department for the Wonderful Service and quick response from support group.
John Alex (johnalex656@y...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Host Department is Good
Host Department is very secure and reliable Hosting Provider. Considering that 2 years it’s been a great exposure to Host Department there is only some of minor problems aside apart from that everything is good. Their Support Team is very pleasant since Very first day my Hosting they taught me everything and resolved the issue in very short span time. Host Department is extremely consistent as well as reasonable Hosting provider from my sight.
smith alex (smithalex752@y...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Host Department is one of the best Web Hosting Company in my opinion and their Service is excellent. Since 2 year they were no downtime for me and I found it is one affordable Web Hosting company.
Jackson Charles (Jacksoncharles491@y...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Their Live Chat is great 24/7 Live Chat Support they are always available to resolve the issues and they are handling my accounts with care the Support team is very knowledgeable and friendly it’s a trouble Hosting Company.

Its Network Uptime is excellent I am very impressed with technical proficiency of the staff generally I am very satisfied by their Services.
John Alex (johnalex656@y...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Host Department is a good Hosting Company that provides you the best and unlimited features at affordable price I bought a Reseller Plan from Host Department they helped me to Setup my Reseller account I am very thankful to their Support team.

The Network Uptime is excellent and I must say that Host Department Provides very good Customer Care Support I once faced activation issue in starting apart from that there is nothing to say bad about Host Department.
Jackson Charles (Jacksoncharles491@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Host Department Rocks
Host Department Customer Service is dam good especially their Live Chat Support I am hosting since 5 years I messed with some problems on starting year but after that everything is fine till now and they improved many things the Customer Service is also improved.

Since 5 year I am the Customer of Host Department and they helped me every time and always they are ready to resolve the issue. Host Department Customer Care Support is very good and friendly.
Aiden Taylor (aidentaylor64@y...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Host Department Review
Now a day’s Host Department improved many things I was Hosting since one year with Host Department it is one of the best Web Hosting Company, its Network Uptime is excellent and its Service is Superb.

Host Department solved my many issues through live chat session and the live chat quality is improved more than past few months. They improved lot more than past few years my experience with HD is good there is nothing negative to speak about it.
Cayden (harrygo2991@y...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have moved out through all depressing feed backs and heard some shocking reviews about Host Department but I didn't feel any sort of discomfort with Host Department. I have signed up with reseller plan and they handled all my accounts with care. The best and appreciative thing about Host Department is, its Price.
Tony Dean (tony85246@y...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Great support from Host Department
Overall I am very satisfied by their Service and very much impressed with Technical ability of the staff and they are great in resolving issues.Thanks host department for your support
Ezekiel (richardjames838@y...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Review on Hostdepartment.com
I bought a Reseller Plan a year ago from Host Department and till now I didn’t have any kind of troubles hope same support is provided in future also. Their Service is better and their Support team is excellent I feel comfortable after buying their Reseller Plan
ABIGAIL (aaron278@y...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Host department
I have been with Host Department since 5 years as a Reseller and great experience with HD I like their Live Chat Session they solved my tons of issues through Live Chat. In my opinion Host Department is one best and affordable Web Hosting Provider their Reliability is very good and their Network Uptime is excellent.
clark (mollyclark961@y...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Host department review
Host Department is very comfort and Secure Hosting provider I didn’t feel any kind of discomfort with this, Host Department is only one that provides you the best Service at affordable price. I purchased their Reseller plan only for one month and extending after months now I am going to purchased for 1 year. I am very happy with this Hosting company Service.
Alex (smithalex752@y...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
hostdepartment.com is best
Host Department is very comfort and Secure Hosting provider I didn’t feel any kind of discomfort with this, Host Department is only one that provides you the best Service at affordable price. I purchased their Reseller plan only for one month and extending after months now I am going to purchased for 1 year. I am very comfort with this Host their Service and Network Uptime is excellent.
Enn (nadir.nasir@g...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Worst mistake of my life!!!! DO NOT BUY!
DO NOT EVEN THINK OF BUYING THIS SERVICE. I REPEAT. DO NOT EVEN THINK OF BUYING THIS SERVICE!!!!!!!!!!!

This is the worst mistake of my life! Highly incompetent people. Support people delete your tickets in which you demand explanation. One named "Bob Mackenzie", the has deleted my support account, then one day he deleted my ticket. Incompetent son of a b**ch.

The service goes down just like that... "You don't have permissions to view this"... And when you email them... got a reply after 24 fu*king hours.... "We're looking into the issue and will get back to you soon".... bloody hell!!!

Stats don't work.

3rd party domains don't host.

Windows hosting DOES NOT WORK

FTP on windows hosting does not work

active FTP does not work if you are connected via local network using 192.. IP.

Billing notifications does not work

your account gets suspended and if you are a reseller all your clients accounts get suspended WITHOUT NOTICE!!!

Username get reset every few [read more...]
my tech (mytechinspiration@g...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Host Department is one of the best web hosting company. I have hosted my website for 3 months and observed that their service is very good. The customer support provided by them is excellent and the network uptime is really great. The price is very low and their support for the customers is excellent. I have seen many of my friends have transfered their website from Other webhosts after seeing the services provided by hostdepartment.com.

I have seen that they are now offering a promo-code: MAX55 if we use that promo-code then it is offering us 55% discount.
Dustin A (thewander@v...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I wanted to add my voice to the choir of displeased. These guys are technically challenged at best, morons and thieves at worst. They never do what they say they will, never respond to attempts to resolve issues and only care about taking your money.

I have been waiting over three months for a credit after closing my account. You have to close your account online, then call a special number only available online during a narrow EST time window. Several callback receive the same assurance my credit is in process and will be completed within 24 hours.

I feel like I was robbed.
Javier Delgado (javierdelgadocavero@y...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Congratulations for the best service of Hostdepartment support staff doing his job ,its too efficient and faster. As customers we appreciate this.
Jeff (jb@e...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
This company started out great, then went downhill fast. Downtime increased enough to affect my business. They would post message that the system would return in a few hours, and it could take several days. They always had an excuse for the down time. I switched to someone else in Nov 2009 after 4 days of no service. Just now, 3/5/10, I went to cancel the recurring billing, and again, their control panel had an error due to a recent system upgrade and was unavailable. I had to use online chat in order to cancel before the recurring billing date. Extremely frustrating. I don't know if they changed ownership, or management, or what, but I cannot recommend this company to anybody.
-anonymous- (ianmac51@g...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have used hostdepartment for years, but last year it all went badly wrong, support is useless, features are behind the times and outages, slow response etc are just too common, I just cannot rely on the service. There are far better companies available, I am surprised they are rated at 52 out of 55 I would have put them at 56. Out of loyalty I tried to stay with them but they have never recovered.
Bob Costey (bobcost@a...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Host Department's servers were hacked in August 2009. Since that time it has been impossible to keep a site up and running and there has been absolutely no customer service. NONE WHAT-SO-EVER.
In the forty years I have been part of the computer industry I have never seen such incompetence and willful insensitivity to customers. Dealing with Host Department has been a nightmare.
R March (reesa@u...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I tried to stay with HD over the last three years, through numerous website and e-mail outages. I lost many customers but I kept thinking it would improve. Their live chat usually helped me fix problems but in the last year, they have become unresponsive. The last straw for me was when half of my customer domains, and my reseller domain, were out on error for over three weeks.
That's when I began moving all the sites to Cartika Hosting, which has 24-hour phone support, not just chat, the latest CP version, and updated servers with techs who know how to keep them running. It costs more than HD, but the loss of income caused by HD's frequent downtime and lack of support canceled out all the savings.
I recommend avoiding this company if you are serious about your business.
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have been with hostdepartment for more that 3 years. It was a bit rocky in the begining but was ok for the price up until about a month ago. Although my actual webpage is usually online the email, database, and ftp servers are down most of the time. They do not respond to the support tickests. I can not raise anyone by phone. The message on the phone say to use the 24/7 live chat from their website but no one is every there or it says offline. They seem to have taken a real bad turn this last month. I would stay away from this company. There are MANY complaints all over the internet about Hostdepartment. I will be very surprised if they are still in business another year with such poor uptime and no customer support. Beware!

Steve T.
Murtaza Zoaib (murtaza.thebest@h...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I am customer since 2007, company was good for 1st year but when i added 40 domains it started giving me troubles of all kinds, my all webs goes down for atleast 20 to 25imes daily, no response from customer care and moreover they have now expired my primary domain which they offered me for FREE for LIFE!! i have lost my several clients and trying to move my all clients to better hosting atleast better then HD it really sucks NO MONEY BACK, NO RESPONSE, & NO SERVICE!
Bilal (malik@w...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
HostDepartment promise 99% uptime but guess what its a JOKE

stay down 99% percent

plus customer service (there is no coustomer service

here check it out

my site is down and now i log in to live chat

""""
Chat InformationWelcome to HOST DEPARTMENT.COM Live chat. An online representative will be with you shortly. You are number 4 in the queue. While waiting you might want to play Games or review our Knowledge Base. If you are having problems with your mail service, please refer to this update. Also please review our current network status page, just in case your problem is already being taken care of by our team.
Alternatively, you can create a detailed support ticket from and we will reply it as soon as possible.

PHP5, MySQL5, MS-SQL 2005, Ruby on Rails, .NET 3.5 are NOW AVAILABLE at Premium Hosting.
SPECIAL OFFER with DISCOUNTS and FREE HOSTING!
Chat InformationThank you for waiting. Our representative will assist you in a moment. Alternatively, you can create a [read more...]
kofi (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
asare: hi
Simon: Hi
asare: please all my sites on wister have been off for 3 weeks
asare: and i see no end in sight in this dismal performance
Simon: Okay. It is indeed because of the network outage in our datacenter. Actually the servers are running fine without any problem. But the network is where the problem is. This has never happened before and is totally unexpected. To be honest. I am not sure about the ETA accurately. But they expect things to be definitely sorted in a few hours time.
Simon: Thank You for using Host Department live chat, have a great day :)
Simon: Thank you for using our Live Chat Support. It is our great pleasure to serve you. Thanks again for choosing Host Department!
Chat InformationSupport staff has ended this chat session due to a long period of inactivity. If you feel that it is being ended inappropriately, please report this incident to our Quality Assurance department at QA@hostdepartment.com. We will investigate every incident report [read more...]
Eben (ebenasare@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
below is chat i just had with the so called 24/7 chat support. Rude as i would call it.

Eben: ftp is not working
Eben: so how long does it take
Simon: Just give us some time more time
Simon: Thank You for using Host Department live chat, have a great day :)
Chat Information
Support staff has ended this chat session due to a long period of inactivity. If you feel that it is being ended inappropriately, please report this incident to our Quality Assurance department at QA@hostdepartment.com. We will investigate every incident report seriously.
HD Reseller (server.platform@y...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
All the web host forums are full of really BAD discussions about the company. I even know resellers who have complained to BBB and Consumer Affair Department.

First, I think all those who use HD services are either IT people or know IT to a certain limit. Let's thin guys:

"Any network issue (even setting up a complete hosting infrastructure from scratch would have finished"

Conclusion:

"They are going down (closing)"
"They are moving to another host provider"
"They have reached their hosting limits and cannot afford to pay more to exapnd"

Facts we have:

This is an LLC company formed in Delaware state (owner is Indian not living in the US). This means that he can close the company down and vanish (no legal committment).

Final Conclusion:

Get away as quickly as possible.
James (james@o...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Wow.... Where do I start? THIS IS THE WORST HOSTING COMPANY I HAVE EVER SEEN IN MY LIFE!!! When I first signed up with them, I actually used their dismal email service, but the email servers were always "down" or being "upgraded". So then I changed to Google Apps for Domains, and signed all my customers up too. No problems until August of this year, then the defacements started. Great. So I go in and fix that damage in my account, very embarrassing. Fast forward to 2 weeks ago, DEFACED AGAIN! This is where it got really bad. After about a week of excuses I am now attempting to cancel my account because the support is now GONE. All they have now is excuses, NO FTP to repair the new damage. No help at all. To top it all off, the Cancel Account link is BROKEN!! It’s too bad this company fell apart this fast on me, and it’s too bad they don’t care. Hello new webhost, goodbye ESL and broken crap!

EXCUSE 1
Dear Valuable Clients, Unfortunately due to sudden Trojan virus attack [read more...]
Harold Laski (livelonger@g...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
The 24/7 hot line is an absolute lie. Right now, under the printed line stating that it is online 24/7 are the words "live chat offline." How can a 24/7 hotline be off line. How about a telephone number that gives you no choice but to listen to 2 minutes of telling me that they have 24/7 contact with customers and then they say that there are no representatives available to take my call and they tell me to use the chat line that will "immediately" take my call. However as I stated, the chat line is unavailable. For 2 weeks I have been trying the chat line at least, and this is no joke 12-20 times a day. I have gotten connected about 3 times in these 2 weeks. They tell me that the reason that none of my sites is working is because a disgruntled employee or company has hit them and has destroyed something in their communication with their servers. Yet their servers are working 100%. Possible, yes, plausible, no Two weeks and still no sites working. I don't believe it. I spent [read more...]
Geremy (geremy.h@g...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Host Department is one of the worst run businesses I have ever used.
Poor Service.
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Customer Relation
I have been with Host Department for almost a year. I have their "Unlimited" plan but ever since the beginning, I keep getting emails from them saying I am in violation and have to reduce my bandwidth, file size, or database size. Now lately their servers keep going down ALL THE TIME!! Currently none of my sites are functional! At first I thought they were providing a great deal but now I know it is not worth it. I found a www rdollc com has a unlimited plan also and have not had any problems with them so far! Stay away from Host Department!!!
Kofi asare boafo (ebenasare@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
NEVER HOST WITH THESE GUYS. SERVER DOWN TIMES ARE RAMPANT.Support system is off when you need help most. Tickets are not replied to. 24/7 chat is only a few hours a day. When under pressure they disable it. NEVER NEVER HOST with them. For 2 weeks now some clients cannot receive emails. Difficult to access control panel and ftp to even do backups and move off. Never , never host with them.
Bhanu Dissanayake (usbhanu@g...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
The worst web hosting I have every seen. My Previous employer lost several his good customers because of Host Department's horrible service. Now im facing this trouble . Even their website also not loading. Two of my clients are talking to go away from me , because the emails are always dead , going to spam folders. U know , when I report this to their customer service , one said me that tell the mail receiving person to add this as a non spam. So Do I have to call 4000 my customers and tel them to do so ??
Very unprofessional service . Long time site downs. No response on critical times.
And they off the live support on these errors.
VERY VERY DISAPPOINTED !
Marsha (marsha_99@h...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Our company has been with Host Department for five years and most of that time I would rate it as OK - not fantastic but it served our purpose. During the past few months it has had problems more and more often! The down time has been horrible. The website was down for parts of days - off and on over the past month or so. This past week the webpage and the email were down for three days straight. I could not even access the webmail. Phoning, Live Chat and Tickets are useless because there is a message on the phone to use the 24 x 7 Live Chat; the Live Chat is always "Offline" and nobody responds to the "tickets". I seemed to have been fixed on Friday but as of Saturday night and even now (Sunday noon) it is still down - no email either.

They were the ones who sold our domain name to us and I want to move to another host. I need to find the EPP Key/Auth Code. They have instructions on where to find it but I still can't seem to locate it. Has anyone found exactly where ths [read more...]
David R (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Host department is a completely awful web host. Let's see if I can remember all the terrible experiences I've had:

* My site was down for 3 days solid for no particular reason.
* FTP access and control panel access to my site has been down for 5 days.
* The "technical support" chat was non-functional for over a month before they said anything about it. It still doesn't work.
* You can send them support email but they will never respond to it.
* There is a separate account for their ticketing site and the password recovery feature says it has sent you an email but really hasn't.
* They always have "network status warnings" up, but they never say anything about actual downtime. They're just advertising more crappy services.
* They claim to give you one domain free with hosting, but let your domain lapse without warning, fail to respond when you ask them about it and make you pay to renew it manually.
* Your sites get spam scripts dumped on them through no fault of your own.
* [read more...]
Kat B (tyger_lyllie@y...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
At first, I was pleased with Host Department, but over the years, the hosting has gotten worse and worse. It all started last year. Now, this wasn't exactly Host Department's fault, but a router in en-route to my server had failed. I contacted Host Department, and they wouldn't do anything about it. They said it was not their problem. Eventually, I had to contact the company who owned that router myself in order to get the problem be fixed. A good web host would have been more helpful.

Ever since then, it's been issue after issue. My site will go down for hours at a time, often without any warning on their 'server status' page. I think in the last 5 days my site has been down every other morning for at least an hour. Last month, I was getting a 'too many connections' error on my database for about 10 days in a row. This is frustrating. I want to leave Host Department as soon as as possible. I'm fed up with the lack of up-time. I'm paying to have a website, but they're not providing [read more...]
Eben Asare Boafo (ebenasare@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
JUST STAY AWAY FROM THE WORST HOSTING COMPANY IN THE WORLD. PERIOD.
Your websites can go off for days without their concern, then the live chat would be disabled so you do not disturb them. Horrible services.
Stephane (importbestbuys@h...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
They are the worst company ever, there uptime is more 40% up and 60% down, SQL server slow, SSL Shared server not compatible with IE8, require you to buy dedicated, server get hacked easy, lost all my data 2 times, poor support, Livechat always offline, they don't do backup of there server so when you get hacked, your done. I am switching over, screw them they are fraud.
Eben Asare Boafo (ebenasare@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
i had a problem and needed to talk to someone at host department over the weekend. They disabled their chat system on Friday and as at Sunday it was still off. I started sending tickets from Friday, and as at Sunday , sot a single reply to over 8 tickets sent.
Some of their servers are not reliable, and it keeps timing out often. Especially the database servers. i have had to move some clients to Hostgator due to the poor services i am experiencing now at Host Department
C Gauthier (cgauthier@u...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Host Department is one of the worst run businesses I have ever used.

Norton flags their site as unsafe.

It's easy for scammers from Nigeria, Russia, and other places to set up sites that look like legitimate sites, such as those of major global financial institutions, but they are there to lure visitors to reveal their login information.

Hundreds of spams get into your inbox from WITHIN Host Department even before your email account receives messages from outside Host Department servers.

Every time they "migrate" their servers, which is all the time, something breaks that has to get fixed. This includes server extensions to the very IP address of your site, meaning it is down even though Host Department claims 99% uptime.

Finally, when you prepay for services for, say, six months, you should get the services for six months for the prepaid price, right? Not so fast, Host Department increases the price in the middle of the prepaid service period, saying they have had cost [read more...]
venugopalan (mailnendulal@g...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
stay away from these people as they are not the best technical people who can help you, they dont know what is the meaning for FTP, they dont know to set up a database, all they know is to get money from us and cheat us, they will never refund with in the 30 days, i know people who still sending email to hostdepartment asking for money but in vain.

they dont have 99.99% uptime, they had 66% uptime on an average for the months oct , nov and dec 2008
BH (babs2six@y...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
My first year was not too bad, except that they did have frequent downtime and customer support seemed a little clueless.

Just recently there is malicious software hosted on 3 of my sites/their server and after reading reviews I am finding out I am not alone! There are files there I did not upload and when visitors go to my site they get a security warning. This greatly hurt my business!!

STAY AWAY FROM HERE!!!
cp ok (wallback@7...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
HostDepartment NO GOOD ON POOR
1] SLOW
2] PAGE DOWN ALL THE TIME
3] Control Panel LOOKING GOOD RUNNING SLOW
4] THE SYSTEM RUNNING SLOW
5] FTP SLOW
Venugopalan (venugopalan5@m...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
May i know from where did you get such good information about hostdepartment ? I am hosting with them and I find no such things with their hosting.

Please be loyal towards such services as it can affect many people like me.

if you dont believe it i can show you the proofs of everything. I humbly request you to remove such fake contents from your esteemed website.

I really think your website is legal and not hosted with hostdepartment and will not do the same like them.

If you are not removing the content please let me know, the reason for such a false content being there. Is hostdepartment paying you money to apprise them like this ?

Thank you
Venugopalan
Halil (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Hi, since nearly more than 3 years i am a customer of Host Department. At the beginning they said to me i can host freely unlimited domain names but now i see this is not possible. All the domain names has to registered under your Name and Surname. They are firstly giving you a place for 10 domain names. If you have more than 10 domains you have to wait them or ask for the add new ones because they lock your control panel to add them. Basicly with my unlimited account i can add only 20 domains. Where is promises i am asking Host Department? Servers are mostly in maintenance. Okay the tech support is friendly i like people who are friendly but i want my sites opening fast and all time time working. If host department want to keep customers must keep also promisses. Control panel is not very usefull and looking cold. I mostly find somebody to talk when i have technical problems but i think in the office they are asking eachother how to fix it. New workers i think not very professional. [read more...]
elawcase (elawcase@g...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Hello, for anyone who has a complaint against hostdepartment.com or were victims of fraud such as hostdepartment.com false advertising for uptime as their servers are often down, please contact me at elawcase@gmail.com for a class action lawsuit to sue for damages and try to get the company to do honest business or not be in business at all. I have hosted with many hosting companies and some of the worst was Webhostasp.com, Vortechhosting.com, Crystaltech.com, Startlogic.com but hands down, Hostdepartment.com was truly the worst webhosting with the highest downtime. Hostdepartment customer service people are very nice and courteous but the web servers are really the worst I have experienced in the 10 years I have been in the online business. I have never had this much down time and even at important times, the server was down as much as 24 hours and three times hostdepartment claimed it was due to hacking.
Matt (mattk@w...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
OMG - I am so PISSED at these people right now it's not even funny!!! Let me first start by saying that I have been with these people for nearly 5 years, I've gone through some growing pains with them. Overall, they really weren't that bad, HOWEVER!!!, during the last 3 days, EVERY site of mine has been unable to be reached! I thought at first, it may be my ISP, guess again - NOT! So, over the last 5 years I've become VERY good at resolving or should I say troubleshooting the issue, arguing with Host Department aka HD and forcing their support people to research the issue. Lately, the issues have been primarily with the mySQL servers. Then it rolled over to the web servers and now, imagine this... for crying out loud, I can't even get to THEIR website to create a ticket, research the issue or anything!

So I figure I'd send an email directly to hostingsupport(at)hostdepartment.com - guess what, yep, you got it, SAME DAMN ISSUE!! Now my MAIL server is down too!!

My research [read more...]
Al Tibbs (atibbs5854@s...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
In 10+ years of working with hosting companies. This company is BY FAR THE WORST!!!!! There customer service is non-existent and all other means of communication are non-existent. This company should be investigated for ripping people off. Currently, my site has been down for past 3 days with no response from HostDepartment. TERRIBLE, TERRIBLE SERVICE!!!!!!! BEWARE!!!!!!!!!
cashzzz (cashzzz@h...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
I am a current user of this web hosting company called hostdepartment.com. I cannot tell you how fed up I am. Not only is the web server down all the time, the customer tech support is often offline and no one answers the phone. I am desperately trying to find another company now. Their customer support, when online, they do act very nice and helpful...but don't be tricked by this. You will feel like a sucker after you run into all the problems. You will get "Out of memory" errors as well as all other sorts of errors and your site will be down. This is a serious honest warning to those who consider them. On top of this, they will limit your unlimited domain name hosting. STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY.

Also to add a note, i also tried Vortechhosting.com which is also a bunch of liars. They will deny there are any server problems to avoid them from having to pay you back for the downtime as stated in their terms.
anon (cashzzz@h...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Hostdepartment.com has really good customer service but their servers are very poorly managed and I had downtime and problems about once every two days for a long two months. recently they told me they fixed the problems so I'm just waiting to see if things have improved. The problem is I signed up for 24 months for their discount but they will not refund me any money so I feel stuck. They are at least nice but nice isn't enough when your server has constant problems. I'm so frustrated wtih them and am currently actively seeking other hosting companies. Also, the NoLIMIT Domain name hosting is also a problem as they will tell you that all domain names need the same contact info and even if there is some minor differences, they will tell you you cannot increase your 10 domain name limit. You have to basically tell them you will sue them before they increase your limit. If you consider them, try to chat with them online...however, even at this exact moment, their online chat people [read more...]
hostdepartment.com_User (-no email-)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
I have acquired a plan "NOLIMIT WEBSITE" paying for 2 years. I ADVICE AGAINST anyone lively decides to acquire it. I have always had only problems. Once it were database once it were the ftp and yesterday they have to me blocked the account without give explanations to me if not this email "Sorry for the inconvenience, may we know what your website content, our system detect that your situated is affecting our serveur performance and we need to suspend your account temporary".
I have only a BLOG and have noticed that they have to me blocked the account from when I have received a greater traffic towards mine blog. I have sped up answers that never have not arrived. Continuous to the account blocked having to have also paid for two years.

I ask you that type of plan LIMIT cannot be?
What you would make my place?

I am seriously thinking to open a legal action in their comparisons. I will continue to write on all the situated ones of reference of the field in order to denounce [read more...]
Farceopia (ehrenfau@h...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
HostDepartment.com is a terrible host. Their prices are low because the service is poor. I submitted a request to cancel my account and the next thing I received in my inbox was a bill for the next month. I submitted a support ticket which went unanswered for a week. When I submitted another ticket enquiring about the first one, they deleted my support account. I've ended up having to get my credit card company to do a charge back. STAY AWAY from HostDepartment.com
Dmitry (wimskiy@f...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
(Plan NoLimit Developer) Everyday, every night just downtime... some hours of stable work and downtime again... 99,9% uptime? Liars... see this .swf clip
http://rapidshare.com/files/19648963/hd_scum.rar.html,
you will loose all your customers with this "hosting". I can send my site traffic stats and you will see all the truth.. I'm not able to enter their own site now (03/06/2007 12:41 +02:00 GMT).
These Host Department testimonial(s) and rating(s) are the subjective opinion of our visitors and not of whtop.com staff.
Trademarks, logos & names are properties of their respective owners and protected by law.