Apollo Hosting review

This review cover a general impression of apollohosting.com product features like reliability, support, data center, price & more. Brand #2621, listed since .

Most Recent Customer Reviews

P. Quill (pquill@h...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
very bad hosting. just like aaron + others said...horrible service + customer service. had tremendous issues since last august or october.

apollo was purchased by Endurance International which in my opinion is the rock bottom hosting co. since someone already mentioned it, here's the list of hosting co names they operate under:

BizLand
BlueDomino
DomainHost
Dot5Hosting
EasyCGI
eHost
EntryHost
FatCow
FreeYellow
HostCentric
HostYourSite
HyperMart
IMOutdoorsHosting
Ipower
IPowerWeb
Networkshosting
PowWeb
PureHost
ReadyHosting
StartLogic
USANetHosting
VirtualAvenue
Webstrikesolutions
Xeran

that's why the 70 Blanchard Road, 3rd Floor, Burlington, MA 01803 address is very close the apollo hosting address... hate to see the FatCow is on that list too though!

and that seems to be true about their pricing on the website. just called in to verify, those are promotional prices only and they're going up once you need to pay again. just [read more...]
Jim (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
BEWARE of tacky pricing and unreliable uptime! Read below.

The great migration issue:
I've been Apollo Hosting customer for almost 10 years now and haven't swithced between companies much at all. I used to have many accounts with them and brought them $1000's a year. Everything were smooth and only few fixable problems here and there until fall 2009 everything kinda fell and accumulated to this big junk of problems. Accounts started to go offline. When we tried to reach their support, they said they were migrating. And NO word prior action. Just like that, lights off. That took weeks and months to get about 50% of those half limping websites back online again and many never made it. Google rankings, customer flow and all gone, scripts inop, custom programs, shopping carts farting errors left and right.

Plans:
Their plans (pre 2009) were great and still propably are to some point. Had good options as far as platforms, soft and hardware.

Tech support:
Used to handle most of [read more...]
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I agree with the previous posts - I have been with Apollo since July of 2003 - had a few problems here and there over the years, got one chat support tech fired because of what he typed to me, on record, but other than that, every time I did have an issue, it was resolved on chat, or if not, a quick response time on a trouble ticket. Since the move and new company takeover, if it were possible to get any WORSE I do not know how they could. In the past 45 days, by websites have been offline for almost 30 (ones I don't use actively for the most part). Email has had issue, but up for the most part. Anytime I go into my account and change ANYTHING, it causes something to break, hit strange memory limits that only the most senior level tech seems to know about, and it takes days to get though the multi layer support to reach someone at that level.

The chat support, only marginally useful in the past, now has become a complete waste of time. They answer every question with a "Sorry for [read more...]
MORE REVIEWS

Overview

About Apollo Hosting

Apollo Hosting has hosted more than 165,000 websites and continues to grow by offering Total Solutions Hosting and award winning service to our customers.

With Total Solutions Hosting, Apollo Hosting customers are given everything they need to Host, Build, Secure, Promote and Sell on their website. Premium tools such as Miva Merchant, Postini SPAM/Virus filtering and SiteStudio are included free. Plans starting at $6.96/month combined with 24/7/365 expert technical support and a 30 day money back guarantee make selling these plans easy.

apollohosting.com Screenshot
Website research for Apollo Hosting on July 3, 2005 by WebHostingTop

CouponsPromotions

coupon code: APOLLO10 which will give 10% off any VPS or dedicated server order if code is used during checkout. - No time limit!

Add your promo code

Promotion:
Provide the start date
and end date if the promotions expires!
Your email
(will not be displayed)
How much is 2+2 ? Respond with 4
 

PlansWebsite Products

Linux - Shared Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
Value  $6.00/mo. 50 GB500 GB
Apollo Hosting Value Plan featuresExcellent for personal and small business and ecommerce sites, shared hosting offers a secure, reliable and affordable way to get your website up and running in only 10 minutes! There is no need to purchase anything else. All the tools you need to [...]$6.96/mo. 1 GB50 GB
Business  $13.00/mo. 300 GB2 TB
Apollo Hosting Business Plan featuresExcellent for personal and small business and ecommerce sites, shared hosting offers a secure, reliable and affordable way to get your website up and running in only 10 minutes! There is no need to purchase anything else. All the tools you need to [...]$13.96/mo. 1500 MB70 GB
Ecommerce Pro  $20.00/mo. 400 GB3 TB
Apollo Hosting EcommercePro Plan featuresExcellent for personal and small business and ecommerce sites, shared hosting offers a secure, reliable and affordable way to get your website up and running in only 10 minutes! There is no need to purchase anything else. All the tools you need to [...]$20.96/mo. 2500 MB100 GB
Apollo Hosting Commerce Plan featuresAll of our shared hosting plans are setup in just 10 minutes. All accounts come with plenty of free features as well as Toll Free Phone Support, 24/7/365 Live Chat, and a 30 Day Money Back Guarantee! Sign up or call 877-525-4678 now!
Operating [...]
$27.96/mo. 600 MB14 GB
Apollo Hosting Commerce+ Plan featuresAll of our shared hosting plans are setup in just 10 minutes. All accounts come with plenty of free features as well as Toll Free Phone Support, 24/7/365 Live Chat, and a 30 Day Money Back Guarantee! Sign up or call 877-525-4678 now!
Operating [...]
$34.96/mo. 700 MB16 GB
Linux - Dedicated Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
Control Basic  $99.00/mo. 80 GB1 TB
Control Pro  $159.00/mo. 80 GB1 TB
Dedicated Hosting- Bronze Plan featuresDedicated servers are ideal for business and E-commerce websites that require the highest level of security and bandwidth. From entry-level dedicated servers to more complex server hosting solutions, dedicated hosting customers deserve dedicated [...]$189.95/mo. $199.95 Setup Fee 20 GB150 GB
Control Deluxe  $219.00/mo. 160 GB1 TB
Dedicated Hosting- Silver Plan featuresDedicated servers are ideal for business and E-commerce websites that require the highest level of security and bandwidth. From entry-level dedicated servers to more complex server hosting solutions, dedicated hosting customers deserve dedicated [...]$329.95/mo. $199.95 Setup Fee 40 GB200 GB
Dedicated Hosting - Gold Plan featuresDedicated servers are ideal for business and E-commerce websites that require the highest level of security and bandwidth. From entry-level dedicated servers to more complex server hosting solutions, dedicated hosting customers deserve dedicated [...]$436.95/mo. $249.95 Setup Fee 80 GB250 GB
Linux - Virtual Dedicated Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
Apollo Hosting VPS Lite Plan featuresIf you want to combine the best features of shared and dedicated server hosting, VPS hosting is the perfect choice for all your needs. The Apollo Hosting VPS Lite Plan is an entry-level VPS and is great for small & medium business.
Operating [...]
$31.96/mo. 5 GB200 GB
Apollo Hosting VPS Starter Plan featuresIf you want to combine the best features of shared and dedicated server hosting, VPS hosting is the perfect choice for all your needs. The Apollo Hosting VPS Starter Plan provides more space, transfer and root access.
Operating System:LinuxWeb [...]
$39.96/mo. 1 GB250 GB
Apollo Hosting VPS Advanced Plan featuresIf you want to combine the best features of shared and dedicated server hosting, VPS hosting is the perfect choice for all your needs. The Apollo Hosting VPS Advanced Plan is a powerful plan with ASP and ColdFusion options available.
Operating [...]
$79.96/mo. 20 GB350 GB
Apollo Hosting VPS Premium Plan featuresIf you want to combine the best features of shared and dedicated server hosting, VPS hosting is the perfect choice for all your needs. The Apollo Hosting VPS Premium Plan is the largest VPS available for sites requiring significant [...]$119.96/mo. 30 GB500 GB
Linux - Reseller Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
RS-100  $39.00/mo. unlimitedunmetered
RS-200  $79.00/mo. unlimitedunmetered
RS-300  $159.00/mo. unlimitedunmetered
RS-400  $479.00/mo. unlimitedunmetered
Windows - Shared Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
Windows Plus  $13.00/mo. 2 GB75 GB
Windows Pro  $20.00/mo. 4 GB100 GB

Marketing information is managed by cj@apollohosting.com [login] Claim this businessCreate a free account to manage apollohosting.com listing!

Customer Testimonials

There are no customer testimonials listed yet. You can be the first one to add your testimonial here.

Add your own testimonial

This form is used exclusively for positive feedback, for a regular review click here

Your Name
Email(will be obfuscated)
One Hosted domain name with this company
Testimonial
(HTML tags are NOT allowed!)
Minim 100 characters!
How much is 2+2 ? Respond with 4
 

News

Apollo Names Director of Operations - Web hosting provider Apollo Hosting (apollohosting.com) announced on Thursday it has named Bret Messer its new director of operations.
He brings to Apollo extensive experience in customer service and infrastructure. Messer most recently worked at global defense and technology company, Northrop Grumman, where he managed several multi-million dollar IT services contracts. Messer has already improved Apollo's customer service by extending the availability of phone support hours from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. CST, better serving customers on the East and West coasts. The Web host continues to offer round the clock live chat support. The company says the extended phone support hours is just one of the many changes that Messer has planned as part of a commitment to improve the overall customer experience."With Bret as director of operations, we expect our customers to experience significant improvements with regard to the efficiency and manageability of their websites," says Tamara Field, ... [search all apollohosting.com news]

Social Networks

https://www.linkedin.com/company/apollo-hosting
Apollo Hosting is a Privately Held entity having 6 followers on LinkedIn and 11-50 employees, industry Internet.
No official account on Google+ yet!
No official Blog yet!

Domains trend

ReviewsCustomer Ratings

The quick stats of Apollo Hosting profile shows a note average of 4.8 out of 10, counting 16 opinions. (few listed on the top of the page)
As visitor you can rate this provider directly here! If you are part of support team, you can respond to these reviews by going to login

Add your own review [Toggle to basic/advance form]

Required info

Select Hosting Plan
Overall Rating
Time Hosted
Features
Price / Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Your Social URL, Name or Usernameeg. https://twitter.com/YOURID or https://facebook.com/YOURID or https://plus.google.com/+YOURID
Your Email Or login and come back to this page
Customer identification(Not public visible. eg Customer=1120 or Account=2121 or Order ID=511AAS3)
Your hosted domaineg. mysite.net. If you have multiple domains, mention at least one!
Summary of your posteg. apollohosting.com is best!
Your review HTML tags are NOT allowed! MINIM 100 characters!
Provide as much information as possible in your review! Too less information may be counted as not relevant and not approved!
How much is 2+2 ? Respond with 4
 
Ik Aghimien - rms-africa.com (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
I have been with Apollo for 2+ years and all of a sudden last friday i got to work and behold my domain was AWOL. Efforts to get the live chat team or a competent support personnel to explain and remedy the situation as proved impossible, today is the 8th day and losses this has caused to business increases with each passing day it remains down.

How can a company like Apollo do such to their clients who have placed such responsibility in their care. I even tried to get the details of the legacy support team all to no avail all i get is a phone number not even an email or a website for us to be able to get more information on them. This says two things:
1, apollo does not have an idea of the kind of business they are into
2, the legacy support are just of bunch of incompetent blokes.

I kindly advise any and every one to clear out while they still can because these guys just changed from reliable to unreliable
Mimi (sidwell@p...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have been with apollohosting for many years with all my websites and was very very happy with the "old" team. Their tech support was great, my websites had 0 downtime over all those years (8?). Since the migration and new ownership, it's been nothing short of a nightmare. I still use Front Page which I do realize is somewhat outdated but that's what I am used to, and have not been able to upload changes to my websites, tech support's only answer is to reinstall the extensions and it never fixes the problem. Then websites go down for no reason, (I have internetseer which alerts me to downtime), other reviewers are correct about the tickets created. The "new" apollohosting has outsouced their tech support so you end up talking to someone in India or Asia most of the time, who can't understand what you are saying and vice verca, this goes for their chat support to. You'll talk to Mike in India. Yeah right. I was so happy and now I am pulling my hear out having to face the [read more...]
john halloran (halloran@u...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
apollo hosting is the worst host since being taken over by ipower. Please see reviews on ipower as well as apollo hosting because they are the same company. These fools have had many apollo hosting clients websites down for four days. The same story every day you call. Today I switched server companies and 8 hours later my sites are coming back online. if I downloaded the sites from old server and got it up in 8 hours how come the fools at apollo hosting and ipower got zero in 4 days. Keep looking at reviews for web host and avoid ipower and apollo hosting at any and all cost!!!

Thank you for reading my review of apollo hosting and their new parent company ipower hosting.
Craig (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
We have been with apollo since around 2000/2001. Everything was great to start with like John said in his review... about 2 years ago the site started to have quite abit of downtime which they kept saying it was down to our own scripting which we had not even updated... so it couldnt of been. Everything smoothed out and again they was a great provider very helpful always there when you needed them until early this year... again our sites would go down randomly 3-6 times a day from a minute up to an 30 mins. They blamed our coding again ... of which again hadnt changed from the time they was working all fine to when they had errors.
I was quite looking forward to being migrated and from paying $29.95 a month to only $6.95 with unlimited space and bandwidth.. unlike others I logged in regularly and see I was going to be migrated so had the chance to put warnings on the sites. They said none of the site would be affected, date came .. it said migration finished and everything appeared [read more...]
John (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I've been with Apollo since 2002. Everything was great at first. Then, around 2-3 years ago our site started to experience downtime every few days or so. Although our traffic hadn't varied much, they convinced us to upgrade to a better (more expensive) VPS plan, not just once, but TWICE. I should have know then that the worst was yet to come. And NOW, August 26, 2009, our site has been down for 24+ hours and counting. The brilliant management staff at Apollo decide to migrate to a new platform in the MIDDLE OF THE WEEK with NO NOTICE, NO WARNING WHATSOEVER! We lost $ thousands of business in one day, not to mention the negative long-term effects this could have on our business. Absolute Garbage. DO NOT TRUST!!! We have started the move to a new host.
greg (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have been with Apollo Hosting for over 5+ years. So so service until last night (8/25/09)_when with no notice they shut down the servers for a migration to a new platform. Not on a weekend! Not in the middle of the night! Not with any notice!My company was paralyzed today and they could care less. How do you call that any kind of reasonable service? I found out they did half the servers last week in which sites where down for a day and a half or more. Unfortunately I found out to late before the damage was done. Run from these guys as fast as you can. Last night they said 12 to 24 hours. Today at noon it was about another hour. Going on 27 hours of website downtime now and still not up. They won't even answer the phones. NEVER USE APOLLO HOSTING!!!!
Gary Kinsey (angelai8rh40@g...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Apollo hosting is a wonderful hosting provider, with the best customer response system.
I used Windows Plan for http://www.floorbrokers.com
Philip Andrew Mayol (sathishisaac@r...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Im using them for the past 3 years, they are the best.
Jeff Miller (info@c...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I am a long time Apollo Customer, Apollo Reseller, web developer and entrepreneur.
Apollo Hosting is there when you need them, late night, early morning, holidays, whenever. Apollo is there and that is nice and that's why I'm still using them after 6 years.
Jeff Miller - closingvideos.com
Mimi Sidwell (info@j...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I had previously been jumping from one hosting company to another, in search of the perfect host. I have now had my two websites with Apollohosting for about 2 years, and I am perfectly happy with their services - the main reason for choosing Apollohosting was that they have [a premium email filter] which blocks 99.9% of all spam and virus suspect emails on their server, and I don't have to deal with them. Considering that I get around 700 spam messages per email address a day, this is a big load off my back, and my computer! But I also must say that the fact that I have not noticed any downtime of my websites at all, and they run smoothly, is also very valuable. When initially setting up my accounts, the help staff were always very helpful and kind, and since then I have not had to contact them once. I am here to stay!"

Mimi Sidwell - jxranch.com
Chris Atkins (chris@l...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I eventually tried 3 other providers before stumbling on Apollo. Email is extremely important in my business as our employees are all over the world and being up and running all the time is critical. I can not say enough good things about Apollo. They are always on call and always ready to help. Their network is one of the best. What they are doing is right on track. With a very in depth understanding of the industry and what is critical, I can truthfully say, they are doing a fantastic job. Customer service is one of the most critical areas for a company, and they know what they are doing. My business' success depends on the website and email, and I feel that I am in good hands with Apollo.
Chris Atkins - linguasmex.com
Dawna Avery (dawna@v...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
The Live Chat Tech Support is awesome and the low cost and great service is why I have been their customer for over 2 years. Apollo's web hosting needs little web knowledge for upkeep. If I can maintain a website, anyone can! Thanks Apollo!

Dawna Avery
visualtestaments.com
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
switching from apollo because customer service is horrible.
These Apollo Hosting customer review(s) and ranks are the subjective opinion of our visitors and not of whtop.com staff.
Trademarks, logos & names are properties of their respective owners and protected by law.