1&1 Web Hosting review

This review cover a general impression of 1and1.com product features like reliability, support, data center, price & more. Brand #2616, listed since .

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Frank Owen (fowen@a...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
No problems until now
I was happy with 1and1 for a long time, until now actually. I have read the negative posts here and did not agree with them. I found the customer support great. But then I started having problems with 1and1 Webmail in Chrome. I couldn't attach files there, whereas for a long time this was no problem. Their solution (really a workaround) was to do my Webmail in Firefox. Well I haven't been using Firefox and, in fact, use Chrome because it's also native to Androids. Also, I was unable, all of a sudden, to be able to set the default font size in my emails. Every email I write, I have to go and reset the font size to something legible instead of the 8 pt default. Answer: "There's no solution to this. You have to set the font size manually every time." I wonder what this works out to time-wise, for every user to have to do this with every email he/she writes!

It all worked before, now it doesn't. And the reply from 1and1 is "tough sh**". I was shocked because the service [read more...]
th3bill (billrx561@g...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
garbage service
Ok. I joined 1and1 web hosting 12/10/12 to host android work that I do on xda-developers.com but wanted the flexibility to be my own admin and delete stuff I didn't want on there. I paid for the basic package, which I think was like $10.00 for 3 months. I then went to add another domain name and ended up being charged for a business package $30.00 for 3 months...less than 2 hours after my first purchase. I bought my domains, set up my pages, and was on my way. I moved much of my work to the site. I added in google adsense ads into the site recently to get some small revenue from the work I do. This morning at 12:30, I went to check my site, and VOILA...it's down. Now, I know I wasn't overtaxing their servers (70,000 hits in 3 weeks is NOT extreme in my opinion). So, I called tech support. I was told that my account had been locked due to malware and that I would need to contact their security department to get it fixed. I was given a phone number. I called the number I was [read more...]
avoid1and1 (hrr@g...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
avoid this dodgy scam con company
read the web , thousands of ripped off domain holders out there and im another one , same story , charged for a so called free trial of website builder plus even after cancelling within 30 days , then cancelled domain and hosting weeks ago and just got bill for another year , why are this company still trading ?
Hi my name is Caitlin, and I work within the Complaints Department at 1and1. We’re sorry to hear of the difficulty you experienced in regards to our cancellation policy. Normally, accounts can be canceled by either visiting our on-line cancellation site or calling into our Cancellation Department. If you tried to cancel during a minimum contract term, the cancellation would be set to take place at the end of it. The contract terms vary for each product and would have been explained during the sign-up process. I would be happy to look into your specific package and contract terms should you be able to provide me the account number. Please feel free to reply to this post, or contact the department that I work for directly at complaints@1and1.com. If you ask for me, Caitlin Barker, I can take a closer look into the account and circumstances surrounding it. Thank you!
Marketing representative (kem.odike@1and1.com, ).
MORE REVIEWS
Award winner 2005

Overview

About 1&1 Web Hosting

1&1 is one of the world’s leading Web hosting providers. 1&1 currently offers a wide range of Web hosting products, including email solutions and high-end servers in 10 different countries including Germany, Spain, Great Britain and the United States.

1&1 introduced its distinctive approach to the US in September of 2003. Since the January 2004 launch of its complete product line in the US, 1&1 has become one of the country’s top five Web hosts. In September 2008, 1&1 opened a 55,000 square foot data center in Lenexa, Kansas.

Since it was founded 26 years ago, 1&1 has successfully established its product range in many different international markets. Its products are available in the following countries: Germany, Austria, Great Britain, Spain, France, Poland, United States, Canada, Italy and Mexico. Worldwide, more than 7,000 employees work for 1&1.

Source: http://about.1and1.com/

Related links

Special pages


1and1.com Facebook Cover
Website research for 1&1 Web Hosting on October 6, 2016 by WebHostingTop

Promotions

No website coupons announced! Looking to get a great webhosting deal using vouchers ? Checkout our current web hosting coupons list!
If you manage this brand, you must be logged in to update your promotions!

Add your promo code

Promotion:
Provide the start date
and end date if the promotions expires!
Your email
(will not be displayed)
How much is 2+2 ? Respond with 4
 

PlansWebsite Products

Linux - Shared Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
Unlimited featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : CDN
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Other features : PHP 7 + OPcache
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IP's : 0

FREE Included Domains :: 1
Domain Types :: .com, .net, .org, .info, .biz, .website, .club, .me
Host Multiple Websites :: unlimited
MySQL 5 Databases (1 GB each) :: 20
1&1 Click & Build Applications (over 144 Apps) :: YES
Memory :: Up [...]
Plan URL : https://www.1and1.com/linux-web-hosting
$0.99/mo.
($ 6.99 after 12 mo.)
unlimitedunmetered 1 / unlimited
Unlimited Plus featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : CDN
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Other features : PHP 7 + OPcache
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IP's : 0

FREE Included Domains :: 1
Domain Types :: .com, .net, .org, .info, .biz, .website, .club, .me
Host Multiple Websites :: unlimited
MySQL 5 Databases (1 GB each) :: unlimited
1&1 Click & Build Applications (over 144 Apps) :: YES
Memory [...]
Plan URL : https://www.1and1.com/linux-web-hosting
$4.99/mo.
($ 9.99 after 12 mo.)
unlimitedunmetered 1 / unlimited
Unlimited Pro featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : [In-house]
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Other features : PHP 7 + OPcache
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IP's : 0

FREE Included Domains :: 1
Domain Types :: .com, .net, .org, .info, .biz, .website, .club, .me
Host Multiple Websites :: unlimited
MySQL 5 Databases (1 GB each) :: unlimited
1&1 Click & Build Applications (over 144 Apps) :: YES
Memory [...]
Plan URL : https://www.1and1.com/linux-web-hosting
$8.99/mo.
($ 14.99 after 12 mo.)
unlimitedunmetered 1 / unlimited
Linux - Dedicated Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedRAM /
Dedicated IPs
Performance S featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : CDN
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Other features : 1&1 SSL Certificate, SiteLock
RAM : 4000 MB
CPU : 4 Cores x 2.1 GHz
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IP's : 1

2x 750 GB Webspace RAID-1 (OPTIONAL change with SSD)
Unlimited Databases
Unlimited Websites
Unlimited Traffic
Unlimited FTP accounts
Unlimited E-mail accounts
1 domain included
140+ Click & Build Apps
SiteLock
CDN with Railgun

Maximum [...]
Plan URL : https://www.1and1.com/managed-hosting
$34.99/mo.
($ 69.99 after 6 mo.)
1500 GBunmetered 4 GB / 1
Performance M featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : CDN
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Other features : 1&1 SSL Certificate, SiteLock
RAM : 8000 MB
CPU : 8 Cores x 2.4 GHz (2.6 GHz Turbo Boost)
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IP's : 1

2x 1,000 GB Webspace RAID-1 (OPTIONAL change with SSD)
Unlimited Databases
Unlimited Websites
Unlimited Traffic
Unlimited FTP accounts
Unlimited E-mail accounts
1 domain included
140+ Click & Build Apps
SiteLock
CDN with Railgun
Plan URL : https://www.1and1.com/managed-hosting
$44.99/mo.
($ 89.99 after 3 mo.)
2000 GBunmetered 8 GB / 1
Performance L featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : CDN
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Other features : 1&1 SSL Certificate, SiteLock
RAM : 16000 MB
CPU : 4 Cores x 3.5 GHz (Hyper Threading)
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IP's : 1

2x 1,000 GB Webspace RAID-1 (OPTIONAL change with SSD)
Unlimited Databases
Unlimited Websites
Unlimited Traffic
Unlimited FTP accounts
Unlimited E-mail accounts
1 domain included
140+ Click & Build Apps
SiteLock
CDN with Railgun
Plan URL : https://www.1and1.com/managed-hosting
$64.99/mo.
($ 129.99 after 3 mo.)
2000 GBunmetered 16 GB / 1
Performance XL featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : CDN
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Other features : 1&1 SSL Certificate, SiteLock
RAM : 32000 MB
CPU : 12 Cores x 2.3 GHz
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IP's : 1

2x 2,000 GB Webspace RAID-1 (OPTIONAL change with SSD)
Unlimited Databases
Unlimited Websites
Unlimited Traffic
Unlimited FTP accounts
Unlimited E-mail accounts
1 domain included
140+ Click & Build Apps
SiteLock
CDN with Railgun
Plan URL : https://www.1and1.com/managed-hosting
$104.99/mo.
($ 209.99 after 3 mo.)
4000 GBunmetered 32 GB / 1
Linux - Emails Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
Basic featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : [In-house]
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7

20 Mailboxes
$0.99/month for 1 mailbox or $1.99/month for 20 mailboxes

2 GB of storage per mailbox
.email domain first year FREE
Ad free
E-mail retrieval via Webmail, POP3 or IMAP
2 GB of cloud storage for documents, etc.

Setting up a business [...]
Plan URL : https://www.1and1.com/email-address#email-tariffs
free
($ 1.99 after 1 mo.)
unlimitedunmetered
Business featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : [In-house]
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7

5 Mailboxes
From $1.99 per mailbox

NEW: 50 GB of storage per mailbox
.email domain first year FREE
Ad free
E-mail retrieval via Webmail, POP3 or IMAP
2 GB of cloud storage for documents, etc.
Team version: Calendar + Events + Addresses + [...]
Plan URL : https://www.1and1.com/email-address#email-tariffs
free
($ 14.95 after 1 mo.)
unlimitedunmetered
Windows - Shared Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
Unlimited Windows featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : [In-house]
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Other features : 1&1 SSL Certificate
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IP's : 0

E-mail Accounts 100
E-mail Storage 2 GB

ASP.NET/.NET Framework 4.5
ASP MVC 3 and 4
MS SQL 2012 Databases (1 GB each) :: 5
ASP.NET AJAX
SQL Import
(SSI) Server Side Includes

MS Access Database Support
1&1 WebApps

Design Software [...]
Plan URL : https://www.1and1.com/windows-hosting
$0.99/mo.
($ 6.99 after 12 mo.)
unlimitedunmetered 1 / unlimited
Unlimited Plus Windows featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : CDN
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Other features : 1&1 SSL Certificate, 1&1 SiteLock Basic
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IP's : 0

E-mail Accounts unlimited
E-mail Storage unlimited
1&1 Content Delivery Network CDN

ASP.NET/.NET Framework 4.5
ASP MVC 3 and 4
MS SQL 2012 Databases (1 GB each) :: 10
ASP.NET AJAX
SQL Import
(SSI) Server Side Includes

MS Access Database [...]
Plan URL : https://www.1and1.com/windows-hosting
$4.99/mo.
($ 9.99 after 12 mo.)
unlimitedunmetered 1 / unlimited
Unlimited Pro Windows featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : CDN
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Other features : 1&1 SSL Certificate, 1&1 SiteLock Basic
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IP's : 0

E-mail Accounts unlimited
E-mail Storage unlimited
2 GB RAM, 1&1 Content Delivery Network (CDN) with Railgun

ASP.NET/.NET Framework 4.5
ASP MVC 3 and 4
MS SQL 2012 Databases (1 GB each) :: 25
ASP.NET AJAX
SQL Import
(SSI) Server Side [...]
Plan URL : https://www.1and1.com/windows-hosting
$8.99/mo.
($ 14.99 after 12 mo.)
unlimitedunmetered 1 / unlimited
Windows - Exchange Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedFree Domain /
Allowed
Microsoft Exchange 2013 featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : [In-house]
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7

Unique mail domain
Coordinates your presence with an address that matches everything from your business cards to your company website
Gives your business a professional appearance in correspondence, whether by letter or e-mail
Easy to remember- [...]
Plan URL : https://www.1and1.com/microsoft-exchange
$5.99/mo.
($ 9.99 after 12 mo.)
unlimitedunmetered
Linux/Windows - VPS Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedRAM /
Dedicated IPs
Virtual Server M featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : Plesk, [In-house]
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 1000 MB
CPU : 1 vCore
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 1

Secure your customers data in accordance with the latest safety standards in data encryption with the 1&1 SSL Certificate - $49/Year optional
Hosted in one of the most modern data centers in the US
Monitor your server services via web [...]
Plan URL : https://www.1and1.com/vps-hosting-packages
$4.99/mo.
($ 12.99 after 6 mo.)
50 GBunmetered 1 GB / 1
Virtual Server L featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : Plesk, [In-house]
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 2000 MB
CPU : 2 vCores
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IP's : 1

Secure your customers data in accordance with the latest safety standards in data encryption with the 1&1 SSL Certificate - $49/Year optional
Hosted in one of the most modern data centers in the US
Monitor your server services via web [...]
Plan URL : https://www.1and1.com/vps-hosting-packages
$9.99/mo.
($ 19.99 after 6 mo.)
150 GBunmetered 2 GB / 1
Virtual Server XL featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal, AliPay
Control Panel : Plesk, [In-house]
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 4000 MB
CPU : 4 vCores
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IP's : 1

Secure your customers data in accordance with the latest safety standards in data encryption with the 1&1 SSL Certificate - $49/Year optional
Hosted in one of the most modern data centers in the US
Monitor your server services via web [...]
Plan URL : https://www.1and1.com/vps-hosting-packages
$19.99/mo.
($ 29.99 after 6 mo.)
300 GBunmetered 4 GB / 1
Virtual Server XXL featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : Plesk, [In-house]
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 6000 MB
CPU : 6 vCores
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 1
Dedicated IP's : 1

Secure your customers data in accordance with the latest safety standards in data encryption with the 1&1 SSL Certificate - $49/Year optional
Hosted in one of the most modern data centers in the US
Monitor your server services via web [...]
Plan URL : https://www.1and1.com/vps-hosting-packages
$29.99/mo.
($ 39.99 after 6 mo.)
400 GBunmetered 6 GB / 1
Linux/Windows - Cloud Keep mouse
over features!
PriceDisk Space Transfer UpdatedRAM /
Dedicated IPs
FLEX featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : CPanel, Plesk
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 1000 MB
CPU : 1 vCore
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 1

Unlimited traffic
Flexible firewall
Load balancers
Private networks
Private IPs
No minimum contract term
24/7 Support



The new 1&1 Server cloud product is a cloud hosting solution that allows companies to individually and dynamically manage [...]
Plan URL : https://www.1and1.com/dynamic-cloud-server#configure-server
free
($ 15.84 after 1 mo.)
20 GB SSDunmetered 1 GB / 1
Cloud Server S featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : CPanel, Plesk
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 512 MB
CPU : 1 vCore
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 1

Unlimited traffic
Flexible firewall
Load balancers
Private networks
Private IPs
No minimum contract term
24/7 Support
Plan URL : https://www.1and1.com/dynamic-cloud-server
free
($ 4.99 after 1 mo.)
30 GB SSDunmetered 512 MB / 1
Cloud Server M featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : CPanel, Plesk
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 1000 MB
CPU : 1 vCore
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 1

Unlimited traffic
Flexible firewall
Load balancers
Private networks
Private IPs
No minimum contract term
24/7 Support
Plan URL : https://www.1and1.com/dynamic-cloud-server
free
($ 9.99 after 1 mo.)
40 GB SSDunmetered 1 GB / 1
Cloud Server L featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : CPanel, Plesk
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 2000 MB
CPU : 2 vCore
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 1

Unlimited traffic
Flexible firewall
Load balancers
Private networks
Private IPs
No minimum contract term
24/7 Support
Plan URL : https://www.1and1.com/dynamic-cloud-server
free
($ 19.99 after 1 mo.)
80 GB SSDunmetered 2 GB / 1
Cloud Server XL featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : CPanel, Plesk
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 4000 MB
CPU : 2 vCore
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 1

Unlimited traffic
Flexible firewall
Load balancers
Private networks
Private IPs
No minimum contract term
24/7 Support
Plan URL : https://www.1and1.com/dynamic-cloud-server
free
($ 29.99 after 1 mo.)
120 GB SSDunmetered 4 GB / 1
Cloud Server XXL featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : CPanel, Plesk
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 8000 MB
CPU : 4 vCore
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 1

Unlimited traffic
Flexible firewall
Load balancers
Private networks
Private IPs
No minimum contract term
24/7 Support
Plan URL : https://www.1and1.com/dynamic-cloud-server
free
($ 49.99 after 1 mo.)
160 GB SSDunmetered 8 GB / 1
Cloud Server 3XL featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : CPanel, Plesk
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 16000 MB
CPU : 8 vCore
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 1

Unlimited traffic
Flexible firewall
Load balancers
Private networks
Private IPs
No minimum contract term
24/7 Support
Plan URL : https://www.1and1.com/dynamic-cloud-server
free
($ 129.99 after 1 mo.)
240 GB SSDunmetered 16 GB / 1
Cloud Server 4XL featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : CPanel, Plesk
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 32000 MB
CPU : 12 vCore
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 1

Unlimited traffic
Flexible firewall
Load balancers
Private networks
Private IPs
No minimum contract term
24/7 Support
Plan URL : https://www.1and1.com/dynamic-cloud-server
free
($ 249.99 after 1 mo.)
360 GB SSDunmetered 32 GB / 1
Cloud Server 5XL featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : CPanel, Plesk
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Live Chat, Available 24/7
RAM : 48000 MB
CPU : 16 vCore
Hosted domains : Unlimited
Free domains : 0
Dedicated IP's : 1

Unlimited traffic
Flexible firewall
Load balancers
Private networks
Private IPs
No minimum contract term
24/7 Support
Plan URL : https://www.1and1.com/dynamic-cloud-server
free
($ 349.99 after 1 mo.)
500 GB SSDunmetered 48 GB / 1
Domains Keep mouse
over features!
Price Updated
.com featuresPayment Methods : Credit / Debit / Prepaid Cards, PayPal
Control Panel : [In-house]
Category : DNS
Support Options : Email, Help Desk, Phone / Toll-Free, Forum, Live Chat, Available 24/7
Other features : SSL Certificate included

ICANN fee $0.18/yr.

Included with all 1&1 Domains
Register your domain with 1&1
for a full featured experience
1 email account with 2 GB mailbox space & unlimited email forwarding
Unlimited subdomains to structure your website
Advanced [...]
Plan URL : https://www.1and1.com/domain-names
$0.99/yr.
($ 14.99 after 12 mo.)

Contact information is managed by 1and1.com representatives online@1and1.com , christine.skiffington@1and1.com , kem.odike@1and1.com , affiliates@1and1.com [login] | Last company update:

Web stats

Targeting: Austria, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Mexico, Poland, Spain, United Kingdom, United States
1&1 Web Hosting daily Global Rank trend
Daily Global Rank Trend
1&1 Web Hosting Search Visits
Search Visits

TestimonialsCustomer testimonials

"1and1 helped me put image to reality with their easy, efficient and very cheap managed WP. The 1 year introductory trial has made it affordable whilst I find my feet."
Richard ( rich@c... ) / www.cashsavvytips.com
"I have used 1and1 dual unlimited since June of 2010. I have had no problems and really like their hosting."
Chet King ( webdesign@c... ) / www.chetkingventures.com
"I'm a 1and 1 customer, I find 1and 1 to be a good company, I subscribed to the Dual Advanced package,2 domains were included, at the time I called when they had a promotion so the 1year has been free..can't beat that. when they have promotions with domains they always mark the price down quite a bit."
Duane Buford ( dbuford981@g... ) /
Some peoples are born to be negative. 1and1 is the best and I use them since 4 years without any problem. If you have problems at 1 and 1, or you do not know nothing about servers or you are negativemaniac.

Add your own testimonial

This form is used exclusively for positive feedback, for a regular review click here

Your Name
Email(will be obfuscated)
One Hosted domain name with this company
Testimonial
(HTML tags are NOT allowed!)
Minim 100 characters!
How much is 2+2 ? Respond with 4
 

News

1&1 Unveils a New Generation of Cloud Servers to US Market - 1&1 Internet, Inc. (www.1and1.com), a global leader among Web hosts, today announces the launch of its new 1&1 Cloud Server line in the United States. Now companies, developers and integrators looking to move their Web projects and business applications to a flexible and efficient environment can take advantage of impressive functionalities and ease-of-use with this new Cloud solution. 1&1 Cloud Server is also well placed to satisfy existing Cloud users who wish to work within a fully flexible and affordable environment.
Deployed within 55 seconds of configuration, professional users can take control of the hardware and software infrastructure in real time. The intuitive and user-friendly dashboard enables users to activate and manage Cloud servers, storage systems and connectivity solutions such as firewalls, load balancers and backup. As projects evolve and resource demands change, adjustments to the configuration can be made with just one click. 1&1 Cloud Server ... [search all 1and1.com news]

Social Networks

https://www.linkedin.com/company/1&1-internet-ag
About: 1&1 Internet AG is a 100% subsidiary of the publicly listed United Internet AG.1&1 is positioned as the brand for home users, freelancers and small businesses.1&1's specialty are its internet access products and cloud applications which can be combined in numerous ways or offered as complete packages. These include DSL internet connections, mobile internet access via smartphones and laptops, domains, professional home page packages with design software, e-mail addresses with integrated virus protection, unified messaging, virtual hard drives, MS Outlook Web access etc.A wide variety of high-performance applications also serves the varying needs of Internet professionals: from the hosting of complex home pages and group work applications, to personal 0700 numbers offering permanent availability, Web shops designed to attract maximum traffic and dedicated servers at our data centers.On the basis of its comprehensive product range, competitive prices and excellent customer support, 1&1 has steadily expanded its customer base and is now represented in Germany, France, the UK, Austria, Switzerland, Spain, Poland, Canada and the USA.For more information on 1&1: www.1und1.de, www.1and1.co.uk, www.1and1.com , www.1and1.fr, www.1und1.at, www.1und1.ch, www.1and1.es, www.1and1.plwww.1and1.ca, www.we-are-1and1.ro, www.1and1.ro
1&1 Internet AG account is having 5362 followers on LinkedIn and 5001-10000 employees.
https://plus.google.com/+1and1
About: 1&1 Internet Inc. is a subsidiary of United Internet, a profitable public company with a market cap of more than $8 billion. Founded in 1988, 1&1’s global community is over 15 million customer contracts strong. The 1&1 Group manages more than 19 million domain names worldwide. More than 70,000 servers run in 1&1’s seven state-of-the-art, green data centers. The company’s U.S. headquarters islocated in Chesterbrook, Pa. For more information, visit www.1and1.com or contact the company at 1-877-GO-1AND1, on https://Facebook.com/1and1, or http://Twitter.com/1and1.
1&1 Internet, Inc. account is having 3709 followers and 6038 plus one count.. See recent Google+ Posts:
1and1.com GPlus Icon
- For a customized #minecraft experience, you'll need your own server. Find out which one fits you and how you can set it up in our 1&1 Digital Guide
- Google sees everything! Had enough of private data leaks? The #1and1 #digitalguide ... 1&1 Digital Guide
- Professional web hosting requires individually customizable configurations according to 1&1 Expert Hans Nijholt. Read why in his latest blog article. #1and1cloud From one-size-fits-all to customized solutions – new technologies enable more flexibility - 1&1 Blog US
1&1 Web Hosting Blog  Using Wordpress version 4.6. See recent blogs summary posts:
- Top Trends for Cloud Computing in 2017 - A recent study by Forrester Research shows just how quickly businesses are adapting to cloud computing. As the study notes, one of the most exciting forces in tech in the last decade has been the ...
- Expert Interview: When Online Marketing Goes Viral - The biggest goal for most published content on social media is to go viral in order to reach and address a huge crowd. Through this, a social media page gains fans, attention and influence. In this ...
- Busting Cloud Security Myths - Before migrating to the cloud, potential users nearly always ask the same question: is it safe? It's a common concern—in the past, e-commerce had to fight claims that entering credit card data wasn't

Domains trend

ReviewsCustomer Ratings

The quick stats of 1&1 Web Hosting profile shows a note average of 2.9 out of 10, counting 85 opinions. (few listed on the top of the page)
As visitor you can rate this provider directly here! If you are part of support team, you can respond to these reviews by going to login

Add your own review [Toggle to basic/advance form]

Required info

Select Hosting Plan
Overall Rating
Time Hosted
Features
Price / Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Your Social URL, Name or Usernameeg. https://twitter.com/YOURID or https://facebook.com/YOURID or https://plus.google.com/+YOURID
Your Email Or login and come back to this page
Customer identification(Not public visible. eg Customer=1120 or Account=2121 or Order ID=511AAS3)
Your hosted domaineg. mysite.net. If you have multiple domains, mention at least one!
Summary of your posteg. 1and1.com is best!
Your review HTML tags are NOT allowed! MINIM 100 characters!
Provide as much information as possible in your review! Too less information may be counted as not relevant and not approved!
How much is 2+2 ? Respond with 4
 
ChrisP (chris@p...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Unsatisfactory use of Virtual Technology
I have several packages with 1&1 and the shared hosting isn't bad so I took on 2 servers for specific high demanding work. We couldn't figure out why the servers regularly seemed to disappear for an hour or so. 1&1 tech just kept saying "well they are back on now" when I finally got a response back. This was no good when business was lost during these almost weekly blackouts. Eventually got a sensible response back after threatening to dock to their payment by the downtime and I paste directly from their email -

"As far as the general issues of maintenance, the current process is this: 3rd level support brings VPS's down for maintenance and upgrades, and it goes down when performing backups. This is normal, and unfortunately there's nothing our server technicians can do about it. It's standard procedure at this time. There are requests in place to change this with product development, however those changes have not yet been implemented.
"
Looks like they have never used [read more...]
Hi Chris, my name is Caitlin and I am a member of the Complaints Department at 1and1. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you have faced here. I can assure you the difficulties you have faced are an aberration of our service, and not the standard. We are here to help in any way we possibly can. If you would like you can contact myself or any member of the Complaints Team at complaints@1and1.co.uk; we will be more than happy to listen and discuss any issues you may be facing. Thank you so much and we hope to hear from you!
Marketing representative (kem.odike@1and1.com, ).
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
They are crooks. Stay away. If anyone here has anything nice to say about them it is because they told their employees to write it.
Hello, my name is Caitlin and I am a member of the Complaints Department here at 1and1. We apologize for any frustrations you have with our services. I can assure you that we are here and eager to assist with any inquiries or issues you are facing. If you would like, you can contact myself or any member of the Complaints Team at complaints@1and1.com; we will be more than happy to listen and discuss these matters even further. Thank you so much and we hope to hear from you!
Marketing representative (kem.odike@1and1.com, ).
cmarunde (chuckmarunde@g...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
1and1.com has horrible customer service.
I've been using 1and1.com to host a few websites for about 5 years now, and just a heads up for all of you who are looking for a good host, this has been a nightmare for me. Not only is website builder extremely quirky and inconsistent and full of program glitches, but even worse the tech support is the worst of any tech support I have worked with since my first website in 1995. 100% of the tech support folks speak English as a second language, and they typically don't understand what you are saying very well. Even simple discussions demonstrate that they do not understand. They repeat things many times, and you will spend 20 minutes and get absolutely nowhere. If this happened to me once or even half a dozen times in 5 years, I would just pass it off as life, but this has happened to me probably over 100 times in 5 years. Yes, I know, I am extremely patient and gentle in working with non-English speaking techs, but I've really had it with the nonsense, the glitchy programs, the [read more...]
Sarah (buntingfordbrownies3rd@h...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Very pleased with1&1
We had appalling service from previous web host and are very pleased with 1&1.
Easy to use, affordable and when I have contacted customer support very helpful.
-anonymous- (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Server runs great, no problems with it or customer service. Will be purchasing another server soon. This is a dedicated server, so you have to have some IT knowledge to maintain it.
Morgan Bryan (morgan.bryan@d...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Poor and getting worse
I have been with 1and1 for many years and they used to be a great hosting service. I think they were taken over a couple of years back and the quality of service has been in rapid decline ever since. They are reaching new lows.

Amongst my grievances are:
- The spam systems is pitiful and when you ring to complain they suggest that the mails you get for online doctorates and vialis are normal email newslettert that you have signed up for.
- The online dashboard is a collection of bits some good and some bad but there isn't a connected overview of the parts you would need. For example the managing domains interface in less than intuitive.
- Customer support. Forget email by the time it has been answered you could have learnt to programme, hacked the system and fixed it yourself. Recently I rang support as the webmail system was down. It was mainly engaged but when I did get through I was either hung up on (can you imagine how annoying this is?) or the operative just puts the [read more...]
Brian Morris (Brian.Morris@r...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Worst Technical Support on the planet
My opinion, after years of frustration with Phillippines based support, is you would begetter off trying to get you pet to help with a problem than calling 1And1's technical support line. They do speak excellent English and are pleasant to talk to but so is your average 6 year old. The fact is nobody I have spoken with can do anything but read what is on a script. If you don't say the right word or ask the exact question they have on their script then you are better off asking any six year old child for help, they will both have the same level of understanding of technology. Save yourself a great deal of heartache and use anyone other than 1And1.
Mike Adley (a284043@n...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Worst company ever
Their customer support is nonexistent. They will not answer your questions and just refer you to another person who will do the same. They want you to send them paper copies (by mail!) of information they already have just to stall the process so they can bill you more.

Their control panel is terrible. It is very difficult to cancel any subscriptions.

They do not follow the ICANN rules they should. E.g. they will not send you an email to notify the expiry of a domain name. They will just bill you.

Also note! Most of the payments are NONREFUNDABLE ! Even if they say you could be refunded, it is not going to happen because no one in their customer service is going to help you - they just refer you to another customer service person etc.

DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM 1&1 / 1and1
Sarel (noway@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
1and1 Web Hosting scam
Everything is fine when you join but do not try and cancel, then it is like joining the mafia. You will never leave without loosing time/self respect and most of all money. Support staff (or should I say call center staff) which are totally disconnected from any reliable backend which cannot help sort out even the simplest of problems. The online cancellation screen looks like it is working but as the support agents say 'it has known bugs' which means you will be billed again and again. The worst of all is that it then becomes your problem to get you money back. You can email sales/support or billing with no response. Be prepared to spend hours at a premium rate on the phone.
Thomas (sk8ingfreak@g...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
These guys really suck. They never send out confirmation email and they dont automatically register domains.. I registered a domain i was really worried about getting bought out by someone else and i called them they told me it takes 48 hours to register a domain name and that "any other hosting company will tell me the same thing" lol yeah okay, so they told me the domain was secure though... so i headed over to my boys at dynadot.com (excellent service btw) and bought the domain name WOOPS 1and1 hosting DuN GOOFED! that would have costed me my domain name.. these guys are so unprofessional its ridiculous.. their support on the website is listed 8am-11pm mon-fir... yet when you call the phone it says that their customer support is open 9am-5pm its jsut ridiculous..
USMarine (tali786@g...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have to say 1&1 internet hosting company SUCKS! They sent me an invoice 2 months ago. I immediately replied from the same email address telling them it’s not my charges and they need to cancel the service and issue me the credit. 2 months later, I am still calling them; sending them emails and nothing has been resolved. Their customer service people have been rude and hung up on my several times. I talked to Michael in their fraud department who was rude and very unhelpful. I talked to Victoria who hung up on me.
With all the guarantees on their websites, they are still big fraud. I would never recommend them. As the matter of fact, anyone who is reading this should think twice before opening an account with these crooks.
Laura (atrina13@h...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I'm relieved that I am no longer a client with 1 and 1 as of today, but am still worried I might get hidden fees from not cancelling my package properly despite having called 1 and 1 and asking them to cancel. I've heard of other users in my position who have, like me cancelled through the phone and received a confirmation email yet discover 1 year later through a collection agency that they are overdue in their bills.
The cancellation is very complicated and is not even linked to the administration page, and the customer service is apathetic at best.
Good riddance.
sharon goodson (sharon@j...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Customer Relation
My brother owned two domains and had hosting service with 1and1. He passed away in 2008 and at the time we didn't realize he actually owned the domains, only that he had been working on developing a website with someone else. Apparently his hosting service was paid through sometime in late 2009 since the site was no longer accessible then. Soon after we realized the domain was in his name and it was up for renewal in March 2010. I contacted 1and1 about transferring ownership of the domain name to his estate representative.

They initially told us told us the only way we could take ownership of the domain was to pay for the past due balance on the hosting account (nevermind that the site went down as soon as the hosting plan wasn't renew).

Then they told us they would make an exception, but we would have to open a web hosting account with them, so they had an "active" account on their servers to transfer it too.

I purchase it on my own after it expired. Wished I had [read more...]
youngblood (youngb10od@b...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
What a bunch of robbing **********, i have been with them for some time, can i cancel sites? nope, can i transfer? nope... can i pay my account before they send it to debt collectors.... NOPE! do their direct debits work? NOPE, do they screw you for every penny they can? YUP do they support their customers nope? do they answer emails? nope, do they rip you off? oh yeh

THIS COMPANY IS THE WORSE RUN INTERNET COMPANY I HAVE HAD THE MIS PLEASURE OF KNOWING!

to be honest i don't care if they try to fix it the damage is done, UK2.net reply to my support requests within the hour and at most, a day.
these guys are nothing but cowboys!

CHEAP (IN THIS CASE) IS NEVER CHEERFUL!
MD (miked@a...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
***WARNING***

DO NOT HOST HERE!!!!!!!!

UNBELIEVABLE.

Besides the customer service being fair, AT BEST, and the uptime being OK, AT BEST- they don't stop there at giving you a bad experience.

Whereas most hosting companies let domains you do not want simply lapse- this one auto renews for you and then sends a COLLECTIONS AGENCY after you if you do not pay.
If you think you're saving something, read the fine print.
Jeff Rogers (ino@a...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
You would probably not be allowed to print what I would like to say about 1and1. Don't bother to email complaints@1and1.com about billing when they shut down your site for three weeks due to their own billing server 500 error as it is the same office. Some of their support people are good but mostly from foreign. Too bad they did not outsource their billing. P.S. don't try to upload anything through PhP Admin.
Doug Horne (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I only use them for domain purchases, and they were cheap and pretty swift in having the domains ready for me so I could switch DNS, etc. Until last week, that is. It took them nearly 72 hours to have my domains ready. Yes, nearly 72 HOURS! What's more, they claimed that I purchased the domains on Saturday evening when I had actually purchased them on Friday afternoon (I even had to send them the email proving this!).

Now, I am having dns issues (yes, I'm not a monkey, and I know what I am doing.). This morning, I was able to successfully update my site. An hour later, it's no longer accessible. Pinging the domain, I see it's back to using their ip address. When I go into control panel to check the DNS, it's grayed out and not accessible.

Oh, and customer service? What customer service? All you get is some rude offshore call center guy or gal on a phone that will tell you when you bought the domains (with incorrect information, mind you), and the standard "you have [read more...]
Brian (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Mediocre service. Be prepared to pay extra due to poor customer service (cancellation policies/procedures, charging for services not requested, etc.) There are much better hosting services out there that are just as affordable -- if not cheaper.
Hi Brian, I’m sorry to hear that you’re not satisfied with our service and not sure what you mean by “pay extra due to poor customer service.” I am very interested in hearing your story and I would be happy to bring any open issues to a swift resolution. Please email me at “online[at]1and1[dot]com” and I will respond as soon as possible.

Christine Skiffington, 1&1 Internet

Marketing representative (online@1and1.com, ).
luke (luke.brett@g...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
All is ok with 1and1 until you need to talk to them.. or even worse cancel your contract. They will renew your account, then tell you your cc or other payment method is no longer valid. But they won't now let you cancel, as they have renewed your for the next year.

You can only cancel online, you can only make payment on line they won't take payment on the telephone.

Also, if you want to cancel, you will need to send a letter with photo copies of your signature.

They are very unhelpful and I wouldn't use them again...
Hi Luke, I am not sure of your specific situation, and deeply apologize if it was as you describe, but some of your statements are definite violations of our policy and may be the result of a miscommunication. Please allow me to clarify for other readers.

It is true that 1&1 automatically renews all services, unless they are cancelled prior to renewal. Payment is due for all renewals and is taken automatically around the time of the renewal. Because all payments are taken automatically, we require customers to keep a valid payment method on file – which, for security & authorization purposes, can only be updated online.

However, you can cancel at any time at http://cancel.1and1.com or by calling our Customer Advocate Team (877-461-2631). A fax/letter with photo ID/signature is only required if we are unable to verify you as the owner of the account.

Christine Skiffington, 1&1 Internet

Marketing representative (online@1and1.com, ).
justin (whiteeber@H...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
1and1 is the worst company ever. They are digital thieves. STAY AWAY . Their customer support if you manage to get to one are incompetent and rude. Instead of helping with my situation they dared me to take them to the BBB or do a charge back on my credit card. Please research this company before you use them *their BBB rating is an F btw*
Hi Justin, Sorry you feel this way about 1&1. I can’t imagine what might have happened to drive you to this conclusion. I would love to find out more information about the situation you were in and see if there is anything I can do to help you. Fill me in by sending an email to “online[at]1and1[dot]com” and I will get back to you as soon as possible.

Christine Skiffington, 1&1 Internet

Marketing representative (online@1and1.com, ).
Robert (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Customer Relation
1&1 is the worst nightmare, be away if you are not costumer, the took away one of my websites and charged me with 40 U$D to bring one of domain back.
I never see a rude and un-polite customer service, they are thieves, keep safe your credit card.
Alex (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
We were customers of 1&1 Internet for over a year using first managed and then unmanaged dedicated hosting services they provide. The first thing we noticed was the problems with our server regularly going down for no particular reason. We needed quite a special setup for our projects to operate, so we decided that this may be the reason for the unexpected faults. As a result we switched to unmanaged solution, where we were in the position to set up all things the way we wanted and believed to be most stable for our needs. This, however, did not solve the problems. Our server kept going down for no particular reason, but, possibly this time the faults were more intermittent. After some two months trying to figure out what could be the reason for this, we got completely clueless. Thus, after careful consideration we decided to switch to Leaseweb, a dutch dedicated hosting provider. In a week, we had our new server set up with most services moved to the machine. It took some time to [read more...]
john (john29@r...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I am very upset with them. They charge your credit card at their discretion and sometimes for amounts you didn't approve of and if you don't always keep money in the account you have on file with them, you will end up paying much much more than their bill because you will get overdrafts. They let you know at the LAST minute that they are about to charge your credit card. They don't give you any other option to pay. They are new and inexperienced. Every review about 1and1 on yelp is negative. Any good review you find, it was most likely written by 1and1.
Unhappy 1and1 customer (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Still can't believe I found this service provider in a top 10 list. So Here is my review to help other people know what is this company for real.

I have been their customer for 4+ years, I got about 10 domains and one beginner's package.

Horrible customer service. They will always have the reason. Bad communication with customers not letting you know when something happens to your account. They will always argue it is your fault. It is a headache to have to contact them for even a small issue/request.

Problems I had with them over the years:
1- Email not working.
2- Website down.
3- Domain cancel request didn't go through and I got charged another year for it.
4- Someone STOLE one of my domains (to put it for resale @ several thousand dollars) while in the process of transferring it to 1and1, ruining my company main domain (having to get the .net version), they off course didn't care and said it was MY fault.
5- My credit card was expired so my hosting payment didn't go [read more...]
G. Olley (dgolley@g...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
This is a company that is too afraid to let you speak to any member of its management. The company hides behind a single premium rate phone number that takes you to a call centre. Senior management display a clear lack of business acumen, being able simply to run an automated system. They make it difficult to even make payments to them and are clueless about how that should be organised. After they failed to get a payment from my debit card (the first time in many years) they emailed me. So I phoned Billing to discuss the issue (I wanted to pay them) but they told me that it had to be done their way. I said that that was not possible, and also rather odd, since I had no trouble with other internet companies, including 123-Reg. They then responded with an email telling me to call the Call Centre number. I wrote back saying that I had tried that without success and gave them my phone number asking them to call me to resolve the matter. They did not respond. After a while my account was [read more...]
David Roknich (roknich@e...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
The domains I used were hosted by a web design customer. She had 2 domains. A "free" one came with her account - so they charged her for the .com version of her name, and gave her the .net version "free", which means it will come up for auto-renewal, and she will pay because she is clueless.
In short, that is how they do business. At the start, you will be promised large numbers that are meaningless in reality, and then you will be stuck with them for life, and you will pay what they tell you to pay. Mach Schnell!
Too make things worse, my first contact with this company was via the IP addresses in my firewall - I recorded an immense number of script kiddy attacks coming from their server. They don't monitor for abuse - I never got a response to abuse complaints - although Yahoo, for instance, and Sprint IP will take immediate action if their IP spaces are being abused. I have to block the IP addresses of their servers in my htaccess files. (hint - don't just block ONE address if [read more...]
Richard (vodafone@h...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
The specs have not been upgraded nor has the price reflected the old specs that have been given. I asked for a price decrease or even a server upgrade instead due to being with oneandone for more than 18 months but its not possible. Either purchase a new package or move host. The BONUS is if you have attached domains to to your account then you must cancel or move these to close the server account package. What load of rubbish! Beware if you have lots of domains moved into your 1& account as you cant cancel server and just continue with existing domains. I`m paying £50 + Vat monthly.
Martin Donald (mhd@s...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Cost
Customer Relation
I have been a satisfied customer for 4.5 years. Everything has worked for my very simple needs (simple home web site, hand coded, for personal use and for our small trails association).

My original plan was upgraded (at higher cost). I downgraded to the basic home package with no hassles at all..
Steve K (usarmycwo@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Cost
Customer Relation
All I use 1&1 for is to host my personal website, which I write with FrontPage. On all three times when I had problems uploading or fixing a page, I got astonishingly capable hand-holding by 1&1 techs. Yes, they spoke with an accent, but who cares, really. Funny, because I work helpdesk now, and can better appreciate how awesome these techs were, fielding my unusual questions with such skill. They're the reason I'll stay with 1&1. Cost is immaterial when the quality is so high.
J. Goodpaster (jgoodpaster1@c...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Provided you don't need any type of support for your service, the hosting is ok. Billing, technical support, and customer service are incompetent robots that only reply with form letters and non-applicable information. The cancellation process for their accounts is vague, and difficult, to say the least. Items are hidden in many different location, email verifications are unreliable, response time (along with getting useless responses) was extremely long. My only fault in the cancellation process was not bombarding them with calls and emails to make sure my account was cancelled prior to the (automatic) renewal date. Questioning them about the confirmation email for the cancellation, which I did not receive, netted me blame from them, that it was my fault. End of story? I ended up paying for 6 months, and a late fee to boot, on a service that was cancelled after the 1st time I questioned them about the email verification.
Courtney (courtney415@l...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Prices and features are excellent and they always seem to have some kind of special offer that makes them even more affordable. Super fast and incredibly reliable servers. One of my websites went down for a few minutes a couple of weeks ago and that is the 1st outage on any of my sites in several years!

I would not recommend 1&1 for beginners as the control panel is terrible, support is worse and from what I've heard their web builder or whatever you call it is useless, but for web pros that don't need support or beginner tools it's an outstanding value and a host you can trust to keep your website up and available 24/7 as long as YOU know what you're doing.
Miriam Mulsow (miriammulsow@h...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Customer Relation
My son was required to sign up for 1and1 service for a web design class. He did so and when he signed up, he told them that he only wanted it for a semester. Now, withouth any contact from the company since he originally signed up, he has gotten two bills from a collection company indicating that he owes for services he didn't even know he had and has not used since the class ended. He called 1and1, thinking that the company would straighten things out, only to be treated rudely by someone in billing who said that it was his own fault if he didn't read every word of the Terms and Conditions before he signed up. I am a faculty member at the same university and I am advising my students to steer FAR CLEAR of this corrupt company. My son is letting his professor know about the situation so that his professor can do the same. I would think that a company would not want all of the future web designers from a large university to be steered away from their company!
Layne Ostrochovsky (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Everything was fine until 3 emails notifying me of an unpaid balance did not reach me. Without trying to call me or reach me via snail mail, THEY SENT MY ACCOUNT TO NCO - THE SLEAZIEST COLLECTION AGENCY OUT THERE! The customer service rep was wholly unhelpful and now my previously excellent credit is tarnished over a lousy 24 bucks. I don't recommend 1&1 at all.
Arthur (ArthurClancy@g...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
For 5 years I have hosted 2 accounts and a dozen sites, and many more domain names with 1and1. They used to be fantastic. Now I can't get away from them fast enough. Customer Service picks up fast and 1 out of 3 calls I get someone that is excellent. In between it is sketchy. Often automatons. I have no complaints about the hosting. I think they are great. The services are plentiful but not very useful. And once you get locked into a plan you are stuck with the outdated services. But the Billing department must be run from UK Prisons. Or else they are incredibly incompetent. Either way, it is a real nightmare. I get charges appearing that are not ordered. I've had my sites locked and them leave for the day after they post "illegal" charges. I spend days on getting it cleared up and then they are back again. I'm off to find the love again. It's no longer at 1and1.
David Paul (davidpaultx@y...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I have several websites with 1and1.com
1) Their "starter website" is a good price, but their online website builder is the slowest I"ve seen.
2) Downtime (especially their e-mail) is a lot more frequent than they like their customers to think (average about once a month). However, it's usually fixed within an hour.
3) The worst: I cancelled a domain that was being auto-paid - they take the money from my credit card automatically. However, I got a letter from a ncofinancial that I haven't paid my dues and 1and1 has sent it to them for collection (look up ncofinancial on the web to see what type of company that is). After that, the nightmare began - calls at night from different numbers. Never mind that I paid it already - twice. The company that 1and1 has hired still call me at all hours of the night for the large sum of $8!

I now use lunarhosting for my needs.

Stay away!
W.L. Hoag (info@w...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Horrific experiences with 1 and 1. If you are looking for quality customer service or expertise in web design don't choose 1 and 1. I have tried to stick it out with 1 and 1 simply due to the time consuming nature of changing, but most recently, it was the last straw. Here are a few of my experiences so that you don't make the same mistake I do. I created a basic website for my business using website builder. I published it, went in to website builder to edit it, and published it again. The project was erased due to a problem on their end (not the only time). When I called customer service to see if there was a backup of my website, they explained that there was a back up, but it was not available to them. ??? After multiple ridiculous errors/actions on 1and 1's part, I have given up and am changing hosting companies. Technically-they are challenged. If you need help with something, you will not find it with them. Last week, I requested to speak to a supervisor, I was put [read more...]
Hank Hankins (hwh@h...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I've been doing websites and using hosting companies for 12 years. 1and1 is the worst I've ever found. On average the server I rent from them has crashed every 4 days since early February. I have to go into the control panel and power-cycle it to reboot. 1and1's tech support (and sales, billing, and complaints) department claims you have to prove it's their fault the server is crashing before they'll repair or replace a server. These same websites ran for five years on an old FreeBSD box without crashing. You can read about it in my blog at http://1and1hostingproblems.blogspot.com/
T Dutt (Terry@p...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Poor customer service

Poor tech Support

Poor billing

Rude people to deal with when there is a problem. They do not listen...!
Peter Edmond (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Originally I used the 'normal' hosting, and it was painful getting things done correctly. I should note that I would consider myself a 'power user', so I was pushing what should be possible. Trying to get decent support under these circumstances proved virtually impossible.

I have now switched to root servers (to avoid having to deal with customer support), and to be fair I consider the package to be excellent value for money. Also, as a dedicated server user, you get access to a slightly higher calibre of staff. The problem is that trying to contact this small team is very difficult to do.

Worse still, I have now had 3 issues where domains (and the root server) disconnected from the internet. This was due to 'auto triggering' black listing and disconnection. Eventually it turned out that because the server was declaring itself as 'localhost.localhost', it was being treated as a compromised server. Unfortunately this disconnection contributed to my loss of a fairly important [read more...]
1&1 victim (erin_rogers@c...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Customer Relation
Do NOT use 1&1. I signed up for a basic account, never recieved any confirmation or information and assumed that the transaction had not gone through. Months later I discovered that 1&1 had been billing me for something I'd never used. I emailed to have my account cancelled. Yet they kept automatically renewing my account and billing me. Then without notifying me they sent my account to a collection agency. It's been a nightmare. Talking to customer service is like talking to robots--completely unhelpful. Stay away!
Derek Brown (dbrown.ceo@w...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Wow. one of the worst. These people have NO idea what they are doing. Customer service is a joke, their control panel is MORE of a joke. Run Run Run - do not look back. Actually worse than GoDaddy, which used to be on top of my worst list.
Mitch (dvdcatalyst@g...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
0 all-across

These guys decided to take my domain name while it was not even expired, and make use of the reasonably high google rating for their own SEDO parking company. I can buy my domain back for 3500 euros, but, since they took the domain, my business is nearly dead. These guys steal domain names, then offer a long bureaucratic process involving faxes and fees to extort more money from you.

Avoid like the plague.
Ken Hall (flntlock@r...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I've been with 1and1 for a number of years and always find the my sites up and available - I can't ask for more.
Suzanne (46jnk19@g...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Constant down time, extremely slow. I naively chose them because of their glowing magazine advertisements. Only later did I realize they have about the worst ratings to be found online of any other webhost. Stay Away!!
David Fibush (david@f...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Wow, what a lot of negative reviews. I have 8 accounts and 12 domains with 1and1. All are Home package so my requirements are probably not as complex as many of the reviewers. There have been a few downtimes but they didn't last long and the calculation would most likely put them within the expected uptime percentage. I have found customer support to be prompt and knowledgeable. I did cancel one account with no problems. Their FAQ is very complete and usually, but not always, have the answers I am looking for. I suppose with so many customers Murphy's Law is bound to affect some of them. It would be nice if more users with a good experience such as mine would post here to give a balanced view.
Patrice Booth (pb@c...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
1and1's hosting services are great until you actually NEED support. I maintained an account with 1and1 for almost four years, adding domain after domain until they were hosting 30 domains for me. Everything was fine until the time came that I had to contact support about a server-related issue.

It's all well and good for Benjamin to state that the "second-level support team is much better trained to handle the more complex issues," but just try getting there. Nope. Can't be done. I made repeated phone calls, sent e-mails and support-requested documentation, and literally BEGGED to have an issue (intermittent downtime) resolved for four months; it never did get resolved, and I never heard from a second-level support person, even though I was told that I would. I submitted unsatisfactory support surveys, contacted the billing department, and contacted the complaints department--all to no avail.

After finally giving up and finding a new hosting provider, I learned that [read more...]
Paulo Gabriel Coghi (paulo@m...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
We change to 1and1 in 2007, and since then all have been okay.

I found very good results in RealMetrics site both in uptime and load speed in my plan.

We have the Home Package, with 120 GB and 1200 GB of transfer monthly, for $ 4,99 per month, and the quality is very good.

All my emails and phone calls for support was answered fast and correctly.

I am an international customer and I have no problems in payment with credit card, that is automatically charged by a period of six months (of course the half of year price).

Note 10/10
Louis lang (Louis.w.lang@g...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Well I have read a few of the threads here bashing 1&1, and have just had my own problems with them culminating to today. If you are thinking of purchasing from 1&1 don't do it!

In the fall of 2007, a friend and I where going to start a small local website. We found 1&1 which offered cheap hosting with all of the server specs that we needed. I purchased 6 months of hosting from them using my CC. Unfortunately our website did not last any longer than a few months, and by the time those 6 months where up I no longer needed the hosting. Thinking that the host would simply expire (unless I authorized another payment) I just let it go, only to see a charge for another $29.95 on my bank statement.

I called them, and was sent to http://cancel.1and1.com (a URL that is suspiciously absent from their website) and followed the instructions to cancel the account. I requested that the site be canceled at the next billing date (figured I could use it as a development server or something since [read more...]
Mark (perew@f...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I decided to shut down my website, and cancelled my account with 1&1. However, 1&1 continued to charge me for the account. I had to call them every day for weeks before the refund was finally issued. At one point I stated that I would file a complaint with the credit card company, but was told that 1&1 would charge back to me the cost of researching and responding to the complaint. Every few days I would call and they would say that the refund would be issued that day or the next day, but no refund would appear on my credit card account. Of course, when I asked about the previous call they would state there was no record of any call or any such statement by anyone at 1&1. This is definitely a company to run away from.
Jim (jim@p...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
We have an account with 1&1. for the first 2 1/2 years there were no problems. The past 1 1/2 years have been a bad experience. The support staff is in the Philipines and they are pretty friendly but the sales staff in Chesterbrook, PA is rude and only reads from a script. If the sales people in my organization acted so irritating and discourteous, I'd hire a bull dozer and level that end of our building. My experience each time I've had problems (6 times this year alone) has made my blood pressure rise and set a bad tone for my whole day. These guys are the example of terrible customer service. I'm changing my host as soon as I can.
Owner (customerservice@c...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Filed complaint with Better Business Bureau. They already have and Unsatisfactory rating there.

I have been a customer for 2 plus years with 1and1 hosting 5 of my sites. In that 2 years they have had 3 major outages that lasted 24plus hours. The last straw was on 4/29/08 when my site/customers experience intermittent downtime which lasted until 5/13/08 when my sites were COMPLETELY down for 5 days. On 5/19 they came back up but have been experiencing intermittent downtime ever since. On 5/21 I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau since their customer relations department was unwilling to communicate with me. A company should not be allowed to operate this way.
steve tarnowski (starnowski@s...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
My site has been down for 3 days with no support from 1and1 at all.
Nobody will tell me what is going on.
This company should be avoided at all costs.
My site was intermittently down for 2 weeks prior to that
Please Please someone start a class action lawsuit. Google 1and1 and see millions of negative messages regarding 1and1.
Aaron (aaron@e...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Below are some complaints I sent to 1&1 after a very frustrating and trying experience with their company over the past week in 2008. As soon as my accounts are unlocked, I will be moving all hosted domains to another company. I have never had such poor customer service nor have I ever felt so helpless and frustrated. I have recommended numerous people to 1&1 and now am forwarding this to them as well. 1&1 has been a wonderful company to me up until this last week when I had to deal with their customer service. This is the letter I will also be sending to the US main office as well as United Internet in Germany. Hopefully they’ll take this information and change their system so this never happens again. Read below:

To Whom It May Concern,

Friday, April 11, 2008, I was baffled to learn three of my domains were not only delinquent but 1&1 had sent me to collections and locked my account. My credit card had been stolen in 2007 and I had forgotten to update the card on the [read more...]
Dave (-no email-)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
1&1 "rocks" until they DELETE all of your emails. On Sunday a customer service rep from 1&1 walked me through the process of changing my password and showed me how to imap to Outlook. After the process all of my emails disappeared. These are for my contracting business and were extremely important. Their customer service and complaints department refuse to answer my emails....to request that they search for these missing emails. I'M MOVING EVERYTHING OUT OF 1&1. i RECOMMEND YOU STAY FAR FAR AWAY FROM 1&1.
Sandy (welch@a...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Customer Relation
Control Panel
1&1 has a terrible user interface if you want to stop their service. The only way to cancel their use of your credit card is to FAX them. You think you have turned off automatic renewal but they don't really send you the email to confirm the direction, so it doesn't happen. Then you get charged. You have to remember to look for their email and recognize what DIDN'T happen.
Jim (jim@a...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I had very few problems when i had a free basic hosting for 2 years. then i switched to a business plan. the switch over was a pain as the site kept going down. The first of the year i switched to a new business account to get a discount and it has been nothing but problems. Tech support did absolutely nothing with 6 calls until i finally called billing and told them if it was fixed now i would leave.
that lasted about a month now as my sites are now down again.
talking to their support was more frustrating than the actual site being down. talk about getting the feeling that the person really could care less about you as a customer...
Smileys Trading Post (Burnettftsmith@y...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Boy what a nightmare it was. Tech support sucks. Downloads are very slow. Can,nt delete files ect: Read the other reviews. Beware before you buy. It sure cost me a full 2 days to get another provider, Plus sales. My god i could,nt even finsh my eshop, server errors, then i,m told by tech support nothing is wrong it works our end. I done test with other computers in other states,,,UUUMMM same thing cant log in to eshop. Then i get told the same thing. we will reset try again in a hour. 18 hours still the same problem.
Kelli (KJackline@a...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
1 and 1 is horrendous in every way! After transferring a domain to them and receiving confirmation from them that the transaction was completed, they sold the name to someone else without letting us know. They continued to bill us of course, and didn't even give the promised and advertised promotional discount. This national campaign for the site lost hundreds of thousands of dollars, and they have still not corrected their mistake. The Better Business Bureau and Pennsylvania Attorney General's office are investigating them, and so is the media. As an investigative journalist myself, I have been sharing my story with the print and broadcast community and my colleagues who are realizing how poorly this company conducts business. Hundreds of emails gone unanswered, phone calls dropped with no resolution, no support at all, and ethical issues are just the tip of the 1 and 1 iceburg. Caveat emptor!
Dessie (dessie_str@y...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I should have done some research before I moved my web site to 1&1...HUGE MISTAKE!!!! They trick you with low prices....Yes, unbelievably low - but when you get to the menues - 85% of the buttons are greyed out ( not accessible) because you will have to pay more...and more....and more....to get access to the basic ones at least... Then, customer service....There are no words to explain that...Horrible is probably close...but it is worse than that. My first week, I had to call them over 10 times...Because every time I called I was hung up on...But, I called their office in Chesterbrook ( I somehow managed to find the number) and my problem was solved within an hour. Do you know why? - Because I live in the area and I wanted to visit their office to take care of the problem on the spot. Well, apparently they did not want my resence - so , my issue was given the proper attention. After only a week, I started having problems again. I realize now that these problem could have been avoided [read more...]
trademaster remodeling (paul@t...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
the website worked ok, but the technical dept. was in another country, the phillapines, and did not understand me very well. They did not know what "microsoft publisher" was, so once I added photos and text and links to my website, they could not help me. So therefore they could not answer my technical questions. Once I switched to BlueHost.com they were able to get my site up and running. I got disconnected 6 times in one day. I was dissapointed and frustrated to say the least.
Benjamin Schloss (benjamin.schloss@1...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I am the Online Marketing Coordinator for 1&1 Internet. One of the responsibilities of my position is to review our affiliates websites. It is not my job to try and defend 1&1 from verbal attacks. In fact I am a realist and realize that not everyone is going to have a perfect experience with my company. In fact when you have over 6 million customers it is inevitable that you will upset a few.

I am sure that the pain that people complaining about support or is real. 1&1 like most big companies outsources it's first level support. Since most of the questions they field are very routine and 95% of people get the answer that they need it makes sense to do this.

Believe me I have had frustrating experiences dealing with other company's support and it is no fun when you speak with 5 different people and none of them can give you the answer that you want. Please understand that we have a dedicated second level support team that is much better trained to handle the more complex issues [read more...]
erik (tko22@h...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
1and1 has the most affordable hosting packages. Customer support are very friendly. Though there are downtime but updates are given on time.

Keep it up!

erik
Zafar (info@a...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I am with 1&1 since 2003. Services are very low cost. Domain names are cheap. Recently I upgrade my package into Business. This is my trust and confidence that I am still with them.
Twice I called 1&1 for help they responded quickly and solved my problem.

Zafar
Duane Crampton (-no email-)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
I stand corrected.

Eveidently there was a bug in the program. If I could remove my most recent rant, I would do so.

It is now evident, that when you can read all the review left by various individuals both positive and negative that it is a fair system, not biased or skewed.
Duane Crampton (duanecrampton@h...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Control Panel
Readers of this review site beware. I have previously left a review of 1&1 here that was negative. It only stayed visible for about ten days and then was removed.

If you read all the user reviews, they are all positive. Obviously there is a skewed reporting here.

1&1 internat hosts two websites for me. Recently I was not able to access them nor allowed to edit them for at least a week and a half. I had emailed and called tech support several times a day and never recieved any help. I did get many promises which were broken. In my original review that I left here, I also pointed out the fact that I had already paid for the services that I was not getting.

If you are reading this review now, I ask that you come back in a week or two - I am betting it gets removed like the first one.

By the way - there was two other reviews - one positive and one negative. The other negative review was removed as well.
Duane Crampton (duanecrampton@h...)
Time Hosted: over 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
This host has proven to be unreliable and the support has been unresponsive and unable to help.
For at least the last seven days I have been unable to edit my domains. Several emails to tech support have proved to be a complete waste of time - slow response time, and no practical answer. One told me that there was a bug in a program that they were running for maintenance on my account.
I have tried calling tech support several times. Obviously, tech support is outsourced out of country. I have recieved no actual help here, but I have had several tell me that my problem has been escalated and someone would be getting in contact with me. Not a single person has tried to contact me.
They have a great number of features that are supposed to be available. I am sure that if they all worked it would be great and wonderful. The reality is that they are not working, and no one can seem to figure out why.
O yeah....they have already charged me in advance for these services that [read more...]
Hava (havndoug@c...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
Cost
Customer Relation
Absolutely do not go with this company!!!!! They are a HUGE joke!!!! I just got off the phone with them for the sixth time in two days trying to get my service set up correctly, and either everyone I talked to didn't speak English AT ALL or they were passing me on to someone else. "Call this number." "Wait for an e-mail to come with the info in it." I was promised three different e-mails, and only received one. They treat you like you're stupid when you call, instead of trying to help you out.

I wouldn't work with 1&1 again if my life depended on it. I had heard that their customer service stunk from others, but I figured I wouldn't need much help, that I could figure it out on my own. Then I ran into a snag and did need customer service, and it was NOT there. Absolutely positively stay away from this company. They aren't worth a wooden nickel.
Hunter La (tshakaworld@y...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
1and1.com has the worst customer service of any internet related company I have ever done business with. I am ashamed that I have referred so many people to them. Their registration fees are low, but not as low as the quality of their customer service. I have been with the company for about 2 years and currently have about 44 registered domains hosted my them. I called today for the first time with a dispute. The Customer Service representative put the manager, Benjamin, on the phone. This guy was not interested in trying to resolve my complaint and nonchalantly told me to go screw myself and said he wouldn't care if I took my business elsewhere. I couldn't believe me ears, but he didn't have to tell me twice. I don't do biz with company's that don't put the customer first. This Benjamin guy must be the owner, because I cannot believe that an employee would have the guts to say that to a customer. I would not recommend any do business with this company. I wish I had read the all [read more...]
John (jw23_@H...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
This is the worst company I've ever dealt with, my site was down for 5 days (it's still down) and they refused to accept responsibility for it. THey claimed it was the code. Interestingly enough, today I bought service through another company, uploaded the site, and it works fine. Hmmm.

1and1, horrible customer service, site down for 5 DAYS, what more can I say. Oh yeah, one more thing, the girl on the customer service line didn't know what IIS was (I have a windows host package).
harnser (harnser@c...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Cost
Customer Relation
This company has many issues and the worst is when you try and move away. We found that although we followed all their instructions they failed to release the domains on transfer, then allowed them to expire without notification (going into redemption), then refused to help unless we paid them a fee and restarted another account with them.

Nice game of hostage. Buyer beware - don't trust this company with the domain registration they'll make you pay for it in every way possible.

We are formally complaining to the better business bureau - we suggest all other people who have been abused in this way do the same.

Mark
Joe (Jotopia2006@Y...)
Time Hosted: 6 mo. to 1 year
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
"You get what you pay for", and 1and1 is no exception. Control panel is difficult to use, and the customer service is GOD AWFUL (45 - 60 minute waits, and sometimes with hangups) and customer service ant technicians can't even speak ENGLISH. This summer, I moved, and thus my credit card info changed. In 9/06, 1 week after the end of my contract period, they couldn't renew me for the next 6 months (email changed also), and they locked my domain and account access (which is understandable). What really got my goat is when I went to pay the fee for the next 6 months, $29, they had already sent my account to a collection agency, and it would cost me $49 to get out of collections and have my domain turned back on. How can I be charged an additional $20 for $29 worth of service and sent to a collections agency for service I haven't received yet (you pay for service in advance)? I really hate this company. Do not do business with them!!!! I moved to HostMySite.com and am EXTREMLY [read more...]
Steve Crump (scrump@t...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
High number of outages (sites, IMAP servers, MySQL database connections), but very inexpensive and plenty of features. Also poor phone support - in the event of global problems a recorded script plays and then the call is disconnected. Okay for personal use, not recommended for critical business application.
Eddie Brown (eddie_brown@y...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Features are Great. Software provided free is good for new users. Internet login to account and control of account and features easy to use. The one single problem is the billing department.
They have shutdown my site for issues that they were not able to discuss in detail with me. You are not allowed to talk or email billing management or supervision. The customer reps in billing refuse to let you talk with superiors. Over charges seem to be common and reps are very rude when they are caught. Despite the excellent technical ability of the other departments, billing may be a good reason to stay away, if you don't have a few hours to conduct 3-way phone calls with you, your bank and their billing department. Even my VISA representative (after 1 phone call) suggested that I find another vendor for 1AND1.com's service because of their lack of customer service and professionalism. Needless to say, 1AND1.com's billing department and I are on first name basis. They also were [read more...]
drh (dan@a...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I host over 50 domains with 1&1. Overall, while access is sometimes slow, I have been happy with them.

Tonight I was working on one of my sites and started getting "Cannot find server" messages during an editing session. I shortly found out that I could not access *any* of my 1&1 accounts. After calling support I learned that they had locked my local IP address for too many FTP access attempts or something of that nature (I had not been doing anything using FTP at the time I got cut off). The tech rep told me there was nothing she could do about it other than to wait two hours for the lock to clear.

After hanging up I tried to get in through my SSH client -- only to find that blocked as well. I called back to see if I could escalate the issue -- and the tech I then spoke with did some checking and came back to say that their 2nd-level support people were not available (no 7x24 it seems!) -- and that, yes, I would still have to wait the two hours. You would think that if [read more...]
Russel (russel@a...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 2 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
1and1 started out looking like it was going to be fine, until I actually expected to host functional pages with them. It takes over 20-seconds to load a simple 4 page flash site that was created with their tools.

Their customer support is slow and painful to work with.

Their email spam filtering is non-existing and was only about 2% accurate, I have since moved my email elsewhere and see ~95% accuracy.

I will either go back to hosting it myself (even with managing the servers, it would be less of a headache since it would work!) or find a new hosting company.
Henry Simpson (henry@n...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
I had 2 hard disk crashes, over 2 years due to their poor hardware.
If that wasn't bad enough, the support service is that bad you'll end spending all the cash you saved (because there cheap for a reason) by using them on the 0870 support number. Which diverts you all around the world, I ended up talking to people in the phillapines, on a poor line trying to figure out what had happened to my server.

As a final insult, I had a verbal agreement to cancel my contract on a certain date. When it came to issuing the final refund (cause you pay in advance) they changed the date, and refused to acknowledge the date I agreed.

I'm trying to build a good reputation for my business, which was damaged by there appaling support, after around 30 phone calls and 3 days they finally got my server running after a hard disk crash.
Eddie Brown (eddie@s...)
Time Hosted: 2 to 3 years
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
My account (Eddie Brown) is 2 years old. Last week they shutdown all of my websites for the 24 hours that they had me locked out of my account. The account was locked out by "Admin". As you may know, users are NOT allowed to speak or email "Admin" directly. I finally got my account back in service by going thru billing and tech support. "Admin" is only open during the 9 to 5 hours. I have yet to get a satisfactory answer to who and why they locked out my account. They will not pay for the downtime. I have demanded answers but have only gotten the run-around.
mata hari (matahari@w...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
OK; their price is fine. But that's all. If one really needs support, he can forget it. Overall: frustrating and wasted money.
Frank Whittle (omeyas@n...)
Time Hosted: under 1 month.
Global rating
This has got to be the world's worst provider. If you are looking for support, avoid 1and1 like the plague!
Read their page, and they sound brilliant, trying to contact them is like trying to contact the dead! Nobody answers the phone, they'll just keep you on hold for ever. I've never got though yet!
E-mail, much the same, forget it! I've sent about 10 in the last week, never had a reply to any.
Unless you want to end up frustrated like me and many others, go elsewhere! 1and1 is abysmal.
John (voxel@m...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Good hosting services... *horrible* cancellation process that was extremely impersonal, and unneccessarily complicated
aenima666 (aenima666@v...)
Time Hosted: 1 to 3 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
Very bad service!

Got billed for a hosting plan registered to a guy in UK when i live in Canada. They let it go, when I saw that on my credit card, I called them and they said they couldn't do anything for me. I had to send them a registered letter saying the same and to contact Visa so they could contest the transactions.

This being said, I was a previous customer of them, so is there any security breach in their database? I do believe so, same thing happened with Yahoo, but they were kind enough to cancel the transaction right away. Those transactions happened after I had actually bought from them. So it's over for Yahoo and 1&1 for me. I'll deal with my own company now, and I GOT a SSL CERTIFICATE, which they don't have.

Later,
Rob Higgins (hostmaster39@h...)
Time Hosted: 3 to 6 months
Global rating
Features
Cost
Customer Relation
Control Panel
1&1 rocks! I will recommend them to anyone who asks. I got 5 free domain and $600 worth of software + more features than I know what to do with.
These 1&1 Web Hosting testimonial(s) and rating(s) are the subjective opinion of our visitors and not of whtop.com staff.
Trademarks, logos & names are properties of their respective owners and protected by law.
Disclosure: Although we attempt to provide useful and accurate information we can not guarantee that it is always right. This is a professional website that may receive compensation from some providers which we review and promote or advertise, however that does not affect our reviews ratings!